Queensway Carleton Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great nurses to work with
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 May 2017
It is a community hospital, so everybody knows each other. The nurses who work there are trully dedicated to what they do. However, like everywhere they are overworked. The staffing, and nurse to patient ratios could be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unappreciated by all levels of management
RN (Current Employee) –  Nepean, ON27 February 2017
Heavy patient assignments. Support staff unable to help most of the time because of their own work load. Unappreciated by management at all levels. No time off for FT and PT staff, getting vacation is a nightmare.
Positive side is the staff that is working along side of you. Very supportive.
Pros
zero pros
Cons
long hours and heavy workloads
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working environment
RN (Current Employee) –  General staff8 February 2017
Culture change in past few years has made this once great hospital an unpleasant place to work. Understaffed and overworked. Patient safety compromised. Punitive management approach. I used to take pride in my job.
Pros
Team work in the trenches
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best summer job.
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2016
My position here was amazing. I got to work outside everyday for great pay and excellent hours. Monday to Thursday leaving me lots of time on the weekends to work elsewhere or to spend time where I like. Very organized and therapeutic.
Pros
Great hours, organized employers, pays well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great plce to work
RPN (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON17 May 2016
QCH is a great place to build skills and learn new things on a daily basis. They have a great team from all departments. I did most of my training at this hospital so it was very nice to be able to work there after with a lot of the people who helped to train me to be the best nurse I can.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend institution for employment
Administrative Control Clerk (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ON3 May 2016
Institution not employee focused. Overall mood of employees is constantly negative, complaints of unhappiness from all areas, too many stress leaves from all areas.
Employee concerns or opinions not respected. If you ask too many questions you run the risk of being fired.
Too many employees on modified due to lack of hospital responsibility to administer better standards of work.
Cons
Lack of Respect for all employees by institution executives
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Queensway Review
Aide (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 February 2016
Great overall job. Great pay. Great benefits.

Working at the Hospital you really learn a lot about personal hygiene.
Due to the amount of different germs and viruses throughout the facility you are instructed to be extra cautious with washing your hands and keep from spreading germs.
Pros
Great benefits, great pay
Cons
Casual position. On call
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional working place where I can grow from work
Registered Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 November 2015
Very busy work and long hours working with 12 hours shift.

This is a place I can perform, practice nursing skills to help patients to resume their function. Working and co-operating with other healthcare provider is a challenge sometimes.
Pros
good pay scale
Cons
physical and mantel heavy at times
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice small hospital
Registered nurse (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 July 2015
I had a great team of nurses to work with. The hours were absolutely brutal, however, until you gain any seniority. I was new to the area and this made it difficult to establish a life outside of work. I was exhausted by the time I left. The nurses I did work with, however, were fantastic and a very fun group.
Pros
Good benefits, great pay, fun co-workers
Cons
Bad work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized financial documents by serial number and date
Administrative Support Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 February 2015
I enjoyed working here. My co-workers where able to assist me when called upon.
There was any part of this job that was difficult. It was time consuming.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Administrative Control Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 December 2014
Everyone is very friendly, nurses and other clerks are always there to help with any clarification. Friendly staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant working environment
Registered practical nurse (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 December 2014
A very busy work place with nice people work together. I do learn some thing new every day from peers, co-workers,and patients. Dealing with highly demanding patient is the hard part of my job. The most enjoyable part would be for instance, a very complcated wound healed in 1-2 months due to my hard work; or, save patient from DVT, hip fracture or pheumonia, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working on contract for short duration
Financial Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 May 2014
It was great working for health care providers for short duration during year end preparation, and reconciliation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and productive environment to work in
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON15 April 2014
straightening and cleaning up the shop
take sales and talk with customers
help out customers with directions
deal with phone ordering and delivery
closing and opening of shop
making the shop money deposits
inventory
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good financial system
Software Meditech Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 December 2013
Obtained excellent experience on Meditech software, involvement in upgrading the software. Excellent experience in accounting cycle, preparation of financial statements and improvement in present system amd procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management - good leader management was missing for the nursing department
Program Coordinator - Outpatient Mental Health (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON18 July 2013
Was able to work fairly independently which I loved; felt - in general, my work and input was valuable, and valued.
Pros
Independent work, but feedback provided on request
Cons
Lack of office space
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the Birth Unit
Birth Unit Aide (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 July 2013
The Birth Unit at the Queensway Carleton Hospital is a warm and vibrant place where everyone works as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Importance of Teamwork
Operating Room Ward Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 October 2012
In a Hospital setting and any Healthcare Teamwork is the upmost importantance. The QCH demenstrates that and strives to keep us together.
Pros
constant group huddles that keep the team aware of whats goin on.
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Queensway Carleton Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

Queensway Carleton Hospital Reviews by Location