Queensway Carleton Hospital Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Queensway Review
Aide (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 21, 2016
Great overall job. Great pay. Great benefits.

Working at the Hospital you really learn a lot about personal hygiene.
Due to the amount of different germs and viruses throughout the facility you are instructed to be extra cautious with washing your hands and keep from spreading germs.
Pros
Great benefits, great pay
Cons
Casual position. On call
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend institution for employment
Administrative Control Clerk (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ONMay 3, 2016
Institution not employee focused. Overall mood of employees is constantly negative, complaints of unhappiness from all areas, too many stress leaves from all areas.
Employee concerns or opinions not respected. If you ask too many questions you run the risk of being fired.
Too many employees on modified due to lack of hospital responsibility to administer better standards of work.
Cons
Lack of Respect for all employees by institution executives
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice small hospital
Registered nurse (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJuly 7, 2015
I had a great team of nurses to work with. The hours were absolutely brutal, however, until you gain any seniority. I was new to the area and this made it difficult to establish a life outside of work. I was exhausted by the time I left. The nurses I did work with, however, were fantastic and a very fun group.
Pros
Good benefits, great pay, fun co-workers
Cons
Bad work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional working place where I can grow from work
Registered Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONNovember 13, 2015
Very busy work and long hours working with 12 hours shift.

This is a place I can perform, practice nursing skills to help patients to resume their function. Working and co-operating with other healthcare provider is a challenge sometimes.
Pros
good pay scale
Cons
physical and mantel heavy at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant working environment
Registered practical nurse (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONDecember 6, 2014
A very busy work place with nice people work together. I do learn some thing new every day from peers, co-workers,and patients. Dealing with highly demanding patient is the hard part of my job. The most enjoyable part would be for instance, a very complcated wound healed in 1-2 months due to my hard work; or, save patient from DVT, hip fracture or pheumonia, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized financial documents by serial number and date
Administrative Support Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 3, 2015
I enjoyed working here. My co-workers where able to assist me when called upon.
There was any part of this job that was difficult. It was time consuming.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Administrative Control Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONDecember 22, 2014
Everyone is very friendly, nurses and other clerks are always there to help with any clarification. Friendly staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management - good leader management was missing for the nursing department
Program Coordinator - Outpatient Mental Health (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ONJuly 18, 2013
Was able to work fairly independently which I loved; felt - in general, my work and input was valuable, and valued.
Pros
independent work, but feedback provided on request
Cons
lack of office space
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good financial system
Software Meditech Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONDecember 7, 2013
Obtained excellent experience on Meditech software, involvement in upgrading the software. Excellent experience in accounting cycle, preparation of financial statements and improvement in present system amd procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and productive environment to work in
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ONApril 15, 2014
straightening and cleaning up the shop
take sales and talk with customers
help out customers with directions
deal with phone ordering and delivery
closing and opening of shop
making the shop money deposits
inventory
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working on contract for short duration
Financial Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 21, 2014
It was great working for health care providers for short duration during year end preparation, and reconciliation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Importance of Teamwork
Operating Room Ward Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONOctober 23, 2012
In a Hospital setting and any Healthcare Teamwork is the upmost importantance. The QCH demenstrates that and strives to keep us together.
Pros
constant group huddles that keep the team aware of whats goin on.
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
medical laboratory technologist (retired) (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ONNovember 6, 2012
great place and people. Hardest part was increased workload with no increase in staff. Most enjoyable part was that I learned something new everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the Birth Unit
Birth Unit Aide (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJuly 10, 2013
The Birth Unit at the Queensway Carleton Hospital is a warm and vibrant place where everyone works as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture