Find companies:
Queen's University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Queen's University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment with lots of opportunity to learn and gain more skills
Summer Student (Former Employee), Kingston, ONMay 8, 2014
Pros: flexible work time
I learnt a lot while working at Queen's University. I gained skills in Molecular and Cellular Biology techniques. The laboratory was very friendly and the collaboration between co-workers enabled a professional environment. The hardest part of the job was to leave it because my co-workers became my friends and the projects became my source of knowledge. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was to go into the laboratory and start the experiments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST
Research and Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Kingston,ONApril 27, 2014
BEST University to me for the work I do here. Office environment is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain Valuable Experience
Clinical Trials Assistant (Former Employee), Kingston, ONMarch 24, 2014
Always was busy.
I was able to learn valuable job skills from numerous departments.
Management was always changing and decreasing due to cut-backs.
Co-workers were great in the beginning then morale was down as cut-backs set in and job security became a thing of the past (in the department where I worked).
Hardest part of the day was hearing others – more... complain.
The most enjoyable part of the day was feeling as though I made a difference and had helped others along the way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed and learned from my experience at Queen's: I find a new challenge is necessary now.
General Surgeon, Attending Staff (Former Employee), Kingston, ONFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: a friendly environment in a beautiful city.
Cons: long hours of call as one ages becomes a challenge.
Queen's has offered a rewarding and challenging work opportunity that has been carried out in a collegial manner that involves clinical, teaching and administrative work. The most difficult part of the work has been trust in resident staff and co-workers. As always the reward of patiient trust and care is foremost. A typical day includes a variety of – more... clinics, surgery, endoscopy and call responsibilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with a Great Learning Curve
Lab Research Assistant (Current Employee), Kingston, ONFebruary 2, 2014
I do enjoy going into work every day (M.Sc. Graduate candidate) but as my time of completion nears, I need to start thinking about future workplaces and where I will settle down. I have learned many things while studying polymer chemistry at Queen's University, the most important being the skill of polymer coatings. I love my supervisor and I love the – more... people I work with. They are a very genuine and hardworking group of individuals that would do anything for you if you needed help. The hardest part of the job would be getting back up after an experiment doesn't work out the way you thought it would.. but I guess that's research. The best part of the job would be that feeling of joy when your experiment does work and you know it would look great in a publication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
student and then research assistant (Former Employee), kingston, ontarioDecember 3, 2013
One of the best opportunities that I had in my life was receiving my university degree and work experience from a well known university which was Queen's university. The facilities in the laboratories and knowledgeable professors were outstanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and collegial atmosphere
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Kingston, ONNovember 30, 2013
Pros: rewarding
As a teaching assistant, I facilitated group discussions and taught undergraduate students in the areas of animal behaviour, and evolution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best opportunity to work with researchers in order to gain experience. Very friendly environment.
Research / Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Kingston, ONSeptember 4, 2013
Co-operative workers
Good place to improve lab skills
Working time is appropriate
Lab meetings on weekly basis
Presentations and other discussion
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, lots of freedom to run the meetings
Project Manager and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJune 5, 2013
Cons: too many emails from supervisors.
Had lots of fun working in the Engineering department as a TA for first year design course. Really enjoyed meeting with first years to teach them in an informal way the "soft skills" not taught in engineering such as proper email writing, respect, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of shifts, pay is sub-par.
Food Services Representative (Current Employee), Kingston, ONApril 2, 2013
The people are great, hours are available but the pay leaves a bit to be desired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly knowledgeable Co-workers
Research Assistant, Professor Suning Wang's (Former Employee), Kingston, OntarioMarch 2, 2013
University lab atmosphere, incredibly friendly. Numerous resources were accessible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a wonderful place to work
Book Reviewer (Former Employee), Kingston, ONFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: spportive work ethic
A dream job in a dream town. I cannot praise it enough and I wish I were still there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Queen's University
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee), Kingston, Ontario, CanadaNovember 28, 2012
It is good. I have learned a lot from Queen's Chemistry, such as GC-MS and NMR.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Kingston, ONNovember 16, 2012
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job

DO NOT include any personally identifiable information, such as names.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 18, 2012
It's really good working here. Good co-worker. Good life style
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment that encourages personal and professional growth
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Kingston OntarioJuly 26, 2012
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: sometimes very long hours.
My typical day involved meeting with students, lesson planning, marking and leading tutorials. Queen's is a great environment to be inspired by great minds while shaping future ones. Flexible hours and a great balance of team and individual work. Management is always available to guide you and provide assistance when needed but is not overbearing. The – more... hardest part of the job was marking - only because it is very tedious. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing students develop into academics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Fundraising Caller (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJune 19, 2012
Pros: freedom to talk to people sitting around you
Cons: working till late
Working at Queen's Telefundraising Service was a fun experience. I would get to work in the evening an stay till night. The environment was very relaxed. We took our sets at our desks (there was always a new rotation so you got seated next to a different person every time which helped you get to know others) and after some updates from our employer – more... we started calling alumni. The hardest part was sometimes convincing alum to donate who had a bad experience at the university. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 16, 2014
I am a PhD student and RA at Queen's University. My supervisors give me great freedom, support, and help to make national, international, academic, and industrial collaboration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally good
Research assistant (RA) (Current Employee), Kingston, ONApril 18, 2013
I have made some progress during the Ph.D study, gaining experience in microfluidics study.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much internecine warfare
Instructor (Former Employee), Kingston upon Thames, ENGMarch 15, 2013
Great learning opportunity, but poor career prospects. Much of the staff ddidn't like one another