Purolator Employee Reviews

Found 141 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Utility courier (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC17 July 2017
Read many reviews about how awful the management was but gave them the benefit of the doubt. Turns out that management is as bad as the reviews. In a union environment the managers feel the need to push employees far past human capabilities, They expect you to be super man and go above and beyond while being treated very poorly. The one thing they do care about it productivity so be prepared to work.
Pros
Lots of OT
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really a joke now
am sorter (Former Employee) –  calgary29 June 2017
lets just say the people you work with are amazing , everyone comes in does their jobs and you can make it a fun time . however the management team is a complete joke. I swear they pick them out of a barrel of monkeys , if you want to stress about your position and be used for everything your worth then this is the job for you.
Pros
good people
Cons
no hours and horrible managment, no thank yous
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and focused hard working place
Mail Sorter, Shipper & Receiver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 June 2017
A reputable company that encourages you more on how to work safe around your work environment. Continue to treat your employees like the important piece that they are, and those employees will work harder for you. Moral was a big factor in Charlottetown and the employees outlook of the company and its management usually reflected most recent events. Positivity would have everyone in high spirits at work, while any negativity would rally the troops from the inside.
Pros
adequate breaks in between shifts
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lousy place towork at
Utility Courier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 June 2017
The only place I ever worked at where I did not look forward to being there . Managers are clueless as to what is required for the couriers to successfully complete deliveries . Company is disorganized and overwhelms the couriers with so many deliveries that they have no choice but to fail !!
Pros
None
Cons
Clueless management, always set up to fail, customers constant complaints .
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work with full benefits
Courier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 June 2017
A typical day at work as a owner operator would be long hours of driving by yourself,and it can get very boring but at least there is no one yelling or telling you how to do your job , you are your own boss. As a owner operator I learned how to work under pressure in severe weather conditions and still make it on time and deliver all the goods to their rightful owners.
Pros
Working on your own
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the near future there will be no full time employees.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC12 May 2017
I worked for purolator for 12 years, i worked hard and got 40 hours after 5 years of working for purolator, then few years went by and they took the work away and shut the building down, and gave everybody 20 hours a week 5 hours a day with 1 day off, even when busy they will call on call people so you cant get 25 hours and have benafits, purolator will do anything to get you off benafits, only a few places with benafits if you like working weird hours. Management does not last at purolator because if your not heartless you wont lost. Human resource at purolator is the worst they will not help you only take your hours away and job, for example i drove forklift for 9 years and when i asked that my other job wanted to see my lincess in my job folder at purolator they didnt have anything under file so they told me sorry but we dont care about your other job, and we dont have anything on file even thoe i drive for 9 years. Worst place ever whoever said you will move up is lieing..where are you going to go to the next trailer!
Pros
None
Cons
Theres no future here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way downhill in the last 2 years
Sorter (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON5 May 2017
I have been working for Purolator for almost a decade now and it is a really bad place to work now. Many drivers and now even management have been or are on stress leave in recent months. I've been cut down from driving 8 hrs a day to just 2hrs a morning sorting in the warehouse. Way too much micromanaging these days. Not a good environment to work in. Thunder Bay depot is always short staffed and they won't hire anybody.
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Strangely a stressful workplace in recent months. It shouldn't be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Don't Work Here
AM Sorter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 April 2017
If working night shift is something you like to do, then come here. If lifting, and only lifting, is what you enjoy doing, then come here. If being ordered around, treated like a robot and being yelled at is something you like to do, then come here.
Pros
None
Cons
Long Hours, Very Physically Demanding, Poor Management Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace productive health and safety
Shunter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 April 2017
Excellent unionized job for all backgrounds pay is great, fair benefits company strives on the safety of its employees.
Company is fair in training its employees.
Pros
Family like environment
Cons
Unuion
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail securitaire
Trieur (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 April 2017
Le travail est securitaire et facile a executer cela consiste a decharger les remorques et a les placer sur une ligne de convoyeur
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see body
Delivery Relief Driver (Former Employee) –  Duncan, BC9 April 2017
Sort Parcels in the morning and organize for delivery. Most drivers can have anywhere between 60 - 130 stops per day and there isn't any vacation time within this job as it's up to you to find relief drivers. Management pulls the trump card when it suits them. For example if they really need something they will spin the verbiage to suit their needs.

May life up to +80lbs per box but the most enjoyable part of the job is the customers. Being an owner/operator you will have to provide you're own 1 ton or sprinter vehicle depending on job description and mileage isn't paid at a competitive rate.
Pros
no micromanagement
Cons
limited 2 day training, long hours, no work coverage
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place
PM Sorter (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 March 2017
Hard work but easy concepts. Not a bad environment in terms of characters, most of the people are friendly. Job consists of Moving skids using pump trucks, loading and unloading trailers and scanning and processing boxes
Pros
Good pay for students
Cons
very cold in winter, very hot in summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work.. they will break you either way
PM Sorter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 March 2017
earned 18 an hour, but only worked for 3 hours a day
back breaking work, injuries often and they simply don't care, because you can be replaced.
safe is not an option, many pinch points, and heavy material over the weight for the scales. its a hush hush world..
and don't send your packages, they will get broken!
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for younger people
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 March 2017
job was good when i was younger lots of lifting pay was ok managment was good hours were hard lots of jobs to apply for within the company all in all not too bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first stop
Health & Safety Specialist Atlantic Operations (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS3 March 2017
Purolator is a great place to get your feet wet and gain some experience but not much room to move. I enjoy working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC1 March 2017
i have excellent customer service skills . I can speak english hindi and punjabi fluently.I am very quick leaner and very hard working. I am flexible most of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail et ambiance de travail très agréable
Trieur (Former Employee) –  Val-d'Or, QC23 February 2017
beau travail d'équipe et ambiance de travail très agréable.
le seul point négatif est devoir supporter le froid l'hiver
Pros
avantages sociaux
Cons
température
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work with love making others smiles and ask if everything is okay with them.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 February 2017
it was fun working there grave yard shift and i like it. the manager was great and make me work and fun place to work cause we work has a team and helpful cause there is many people who always are there to help you fit in.
Pros
always bring my own lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Localisation
Agent d'entrepôt (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 February 2017
Rythme instable de travail et peut de pauses loin de transport en commun
Cons
courte pause
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Sorter/driver (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 February 2017
Working here is good, decent pay, and good benefits, also great people to work with. Work load is good, gets heavier around holidays
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Purolator. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 175 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

75%
65 ratings
Add your rating