Find companies:
Public Storage
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
270 reviews

Public Storage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
somewhat ok
Relief Manager (Former Employee), Upper Darby, PAJuly 26, 2014
Pros: on site apt
Cons: you do everything no help
While I was working there it was great but I had to do everything they are short staffed doesnt make the schedule a month in advance u neverknow what days u had off unless a district mmanager took a vacation they constantly quiz u on scripts not to mention scheduling u by yourself at an A property that requires 2 or more ppl then the property is down – more... the road they expect utoo watch for ppl dumping trash when u have an office that is packed oh and if your car breaks down and u can't get it fix they look for ways to fire u – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
CUSTOMER SERVICE SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Glendale, CAJuly 22, 2014
Great company with room for advancement with great management and benefits. Many opportunities for extra hours. Fast-paced work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place to work
Relief Site Manager (Former Employee), salt lake city, utahJuly 21, 2014
Pros: working with customers
Cons: no time off
helping customers, renting storages, selling materials that are need for rentals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Relief Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: health care
Cons: short breaks and homeless people
Well we had to start on paperwork and then start cleaning and walk the permitter and my co-workers were great to work with and i did not enjoy this job due to me calling and calling customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Relief manager/Front desk (Current Employee), Long Island, New YorkJuly 12, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: work all weekend
My typical day at work could have always been different depending on the property I was managing that day. I would start off my morning by printing daily morning reports and handling the cash. I was in charge of the property and the cleanliness of it as well. I would do sales and focus on customer service. I learned a lot from this company. I had previous – more... time management skills before this but this job definitely taught me many more time management skills. I worked with several different co-workers since in my district there were nine different properties. The hardest part about the job was probably when you worked at a property alone and it was incredibly busy. Every little you do the office had to be locked up. The most enjoyable part about my job was that I was constantly seeing new faces, being either co-workers or new customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relief/property manager
Property Manager (Former Employee), Glendale, CAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: living on properties if they have an apartment
Cons: scripts that are constantly tested on verbatem
worked at 9 different locations cleaned facilities, sales in moving supplies in month to month rentals in storage spaces, some administration duties but customer service issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security and great employees to work with
Property Manager (Former Employee), Pasadena, MdJuly 2, 2014
Pros: relationships with coworkers and district manager, friendly atmosphere, great training program with an awesome trainer, great sick/holiday/vacation pay, all full-time positions
Cons: incentive program, 9-6 shift, high rotation with upper management
I enjoyed my time with Public Storage very much. I loved the people I worked with including all of the upper management. Public Storage is great for self starters, I took great pride in the properties I worked at. I treated them as my own property. It feels great when your bosses recognize the hard work and achievements you've accomplished. I also really – more... enjoyed the goals being set every month...it gave us property managers something to work towards each month besides offering the best customer service. The hardest part would be dealing with maintenance issues that the property managers weren't able to take care of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service, Sales and Collections
Resident Property Manager (Current Employee), Bloomington, CAJune 30, 2014
Pros: living onsite
Cons: short breaks and compensation
A day at Public Storage includes helping customers, via phone and walk in, cash handling and generating new customers. I am able to work indoor and outdoor. I clean units and property everyday and maintain a high level of security. Responsible for documenting all communication between manger and customer. Keep District Manager up to speed on daily operations – more... of property. I have become more confident to present and sale services and merchandise. Co-workers are an essential part of the job to help you with questions to policy or customer questions.The hardest part of the job is meeting required percentages of merchandise sales, delinquent accounts and rented spaces. The most enjoyable part is being able to help people in a time of need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Property Manager/Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 30, 2014
Pros: nice people to work with
Did not like to rent trucks. Ok workplace.
Busy, working with nice folks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're going nowhere fast
Relief Manager (Current Employee), Concord, CAJune 29, 2014
Pros: coworkers are cool
Cons: go nowhere, deal with idiot bosses
Hired as a relief manager. All you can do is become a property manager, and go no higher. They cut your pay $2 and give you an apt on site, so you get to live at work. management is a bunch of sheisty number driven morons who don't care about anything but themselves. don't get stuck here. oh, and at some locations you literally clean up fecal matter. – more... often. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work at
Relief Manager (Current Employee), Griffith, INJune 22, 2014
Pros: nice starting pay
Cons: always short staffed
A typical work day is getting all set up by running reports and opening up the store. The management teams is not a good team my co workers were ok but lazy because they been there longer they get away with a lot of things. the hardest part of the job was been rude to the customer. the most enjoyable was helping out the customer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If anyone ask me how do i rate my job with public storage.
Property Manager (Former Employee), Columbia, SCJune 13, 2014
Pros: what pros there are none.
Cons: they promise bonus's you will never get, u don't get raises unless ............
typcial day is meeting and greeting customers, renting units, selling packing supplies. i learned how happy i am helping customers, my store was close to the university and that was an experience meeting students and their famlies. i met a few local famous people as well. Like the number one baseball coach.
most of my coworkers were good people, made – more... good friends with them. the hardest part was those stupid scripts we had to learn and when we got those down pat they a word or two and u had to learn it again. WE DON'T TALK LIKE THAT HERE IN THE SOUTH. seeing management every week was just an interuption in my day. some were nice some were bull dogs, some of the regional district manager needed to stay in his old job.
the best part of the job was meeting the customers, making friends with them and getting off every day at 6 pm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
00
Customer service/ retail sales (Former Employee), fort myersJune 11, 2014
to much work for the salary they provide. some coworkers are nice some are to bossy. the hardest part to work in the heat outside.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to start if you need csr or sales experience
Relief Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 8, 2014
Pros: working independently
Cons: the pay
it was a great place to work as far as your coworkers are concerned but the pay is ridiculous. you do EVERYTHING from cleaning, leasing, landscaping, janitorial work, moving furniture i.e. mattresses, couches, TVs, etc., and cleaning up ungodly things like human feces. its just a lot to do for $9.00 per hour and you don't receive a raise until 6 months – more... later, if you last that long and its only 50 cents! the Google surveys and "scripts" that they make you follow is a bit over the top. as a previous sales professional, I've realized that people feel more comfortable when YOU are comfortable and not being a robot when your managers are around. to sum it up, I really enjoyed my coworkers, my DM and a couple of customers I got to know but the stress and pay of this job is not worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy Business
Property Manager (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 7, 2014
Pros: get to go outside and not just sitting all day.
Cons: have to work in all types of weather.
Come into work and check phone for messages and return calls. Count cash drawer making sure there's 100.00 to start with. Customer come in to make payment post the payment in the computer, print and give customer receipt. Customers come in to rent storage space, Ask them what their storing to get them the right size at the best price. Type their lease – more... up and give them gate code to access property from 6am to 9pm. Customer comes in and states their finished storing, You go out and make sure unit is empty and vacate them out of computer system thus removing their gate code to get onto property. Drive gold cart to the unit they vacated out of and sweep unit out, check light make sure it works, put mouse packet in corner of unit close the door and put lock on unit. Sell merchandise from boxes to tape to bundle of boxes. End of day print report that shows amount of money and check and credit cards taken in daily and write out deposit slip for next day of going to the bank. Put daily deposit in safe and lock front door and go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty cool job
Relief Manager (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJune 5, 2014
pretty cool job, very easy, nothing is complicated. Days go by pretty fast if your at a busy location. We get to interact with our coworkers at different locations, very close knit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employees treated poorly
Relief Manager (Former Employee), South CarolinaMay 30, 2014
Pros: medical benefits, admirable co-workers, variety
Cons: constant discouragement, discrimination, lack of maintenance
I have nothing but good to say of my fellow employees, and the work itself was interesting and varied. But some of the company's policies are somewhat troubling. First, managers have little discretion in managing their properties, even though they are the most familiar with their customers and the property itself. Secondly, it involves sales, but do – more... not expect a commission; your hard work primarily benefits the supervisors. The supervisors will set goals for you, not with you, that are arbitrary and do not take into account the customer base at different locations. The result is that you are constantly reminded that you are a disappointment overall even after you have been praised for certain successes. There were also some troubling trends in my district- older employees tended to be let go, no male employee was made a property manager, property managers wait months for important maintenance that effects the overall safety and security of the property and the livability of their apartments, training materials are sometimes in error or missing. I was reprimanded for making repairs that affected safety, even though I did them at my own expense and operated in a safe manner. Managers are expected to tout the security of the property even though the cameras were not operational, electrical hazards went unrepaired, gates often were nonfunctional, and much of the lighting did not work. I spent day after day picking up remodeling debris deposited on the property by a tenant who was never stopped by the supervisors, and just about begged for a 30 yard dumpster to be removed since it was overflowing. It was not removed for months and then only after the town cited the property with a thousand dollar a day fine. I never once object to having my schedule changed or being sent to six different properties in a 20 mile radius. Out of consideration for the district, which was short-handed, I gave my notice in advance and offered to work a few days a week until a new employee could be trained, only to be terminated the next day. The gratitude I got? I was told I could keep my company shirts and name tags. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Build Profession Skills
Property Manager (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYMay 30, 2014
..Great Company to work For
Leadership team was great to work with
Learned a lot while working there
Co-workers easy to get along with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job for in between jobs.
Relief Manager (Current Employee), Lewisville, TXMay 21, 2014
Pros: good training, good inbetween job with steady work.
Cons: low pay, hard to get time off, pressure on merchandise sales and google reviews.
Hours are ok but you can work any day of the week. OT based on two week period. You could work 9 days in a row but no OT. Performance based on sales of over priced locks, boxes and merchandise with no compensation on sales. Pressure to get instore Google reviews, quota required every month. No job advancement and low pay scale compared to competitors. – more... Two days off a year open 7 days a week while some competitors closed on Sundays. Hard to get time off which you are required to arrange yourself. Some people have not had a vacation in two or three years. Good training provided and day to day operations delinquent calls are scripted. Dealing direct with public and will face unruly and unhappy customers at times. High turnaround on employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot about Property Management
Property Manager (Former Employee), Clayton, NCMay 10, 2014
Pros: learned about property management
Cons: working alone
I enjoyed working at Public Storage I just didn't like being there by myself when customers came in to pay their rent.

1 2 3 4 5