Find companies:
PTI Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

PTI Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good area too work
PTI Camp Services as Camp Manager (Former Employee), Northern BCApril 12, 2014
Pros: working with the customers daily
Cons: hours were long but very acceptable
I enjoyed the work as I was able too work directly with the contractors as well as your company at the Geetla Lodge Camp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good job
Electrician (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 11, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: no paid flights
learned heat trace 120v, transformers, how camps operate. My co-workers were great team players.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity, short term.
Supervisor Field Services (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 21, 2013
Isolated environment.
Self contained camp.
Military presence.
Olympic experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer job with great people and amenities
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 12, 2013
Pros: free accommodations, meals, and fitness equipment
Cons: were sacrificing family life while out there
we worked between 8 and 12 hour shifts (mostly all 8 in second summer) for 21 days on and then 7 off. You were in a secluded location (2 hours north of Fort Mcmurrary), so adapting to the environment was a must. I learned to be away from my family and respect days of. I also learned to work alone and according to a quota. Management was awesome, co-workers – more... became family.
The hardest yet most enjoyable parts were working alone (or in small groups) and meeting/surpassing the expectations of some of the personnel I dealt with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wages, good people, Hard to be isolated for 21 days
Housing Retail Worker (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 3, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: working out of province, had to pay for flights home
I loved this job, I just wish I got to go home at night. Being away from all your loved ones for 21 days can only be tolerated for so long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management Sucked
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: nice rooms
Cons: a little dick who was a boss and had no clue what he was doing
I worked for PTI from 2 1/2 years and was treated like a no body from my Manager! I was the maintenance manager for 4 lodges for them and I had a great working relationship with my maintenance crew and the lodge managers, but the little guy I had for a manager made it hard to get up and go to work everyday. My wages sucked for a Maintenance Manager – more... because of the high wages they paid the union staff. I liked my people but the upper management did not no how to take care of the maintenance , if the little guy was gone and he let people who new how to do there jobs do it there would be no problems? I also watched a guy get electrocuted as the manager for construction was never around and he had a kid with no exp running a job. All in all they have to make changes if they want to keep good people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Groundskeeper (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 6, 2013
it was a unplace to work but it was to far from family.
hardest part was working out in the winter
my coworkers were awesome to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning and growing expreance
Kitchen Worker/Dining Room Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 4, 2013
Pros: great teams, great comuacation with mangement, good pay
Cons: when the food truck was late with orders .. and politics but its every where .
filling ,stocking preparing lunch room , or working sandwich line ,making sure that clients had enough verity in lunchroom .making sure all areas where clean and safe for working and for clients .
I learned how to deal with high volumes of clients demand's how to meet food safety standers at all time ,how to deal with managements requirements and work – more... with a team or on my own , hardest part of my job was dealing with out of control clients but management would always step in to help , the best part of my day is knowing that im did a great job and it showed by the Clint and management team thanking me . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small camp, but had tv room, gym, and pool tables
Kitchen Worker (Former Employee), Fire Bag, AlbertaApril 20, 2013
I would be scheduled for either morning or evening shift. I would get along with all my co-workers, and I learned so much from them. Also I learned a lot about different cultures and languages while I was working there. I greeted everyone I seen with a smile and I could always laugh. I think that was my most enjoyable part about the job was loving the – more... job. I enjoyed everything. I smiled in the morning at the beginning of my shift, and I was smiling on day 21 at the end of my shift. I would have to say the hardest part of the job was always being switched back and forth from morning shift to evening shift in the same rotation. It was hard on the body, and took a toll on my sleeping patterns. I made a lot of friends from all over the world while I worked there, and I got a long with managment as well. Over all, it was a great experience, which I hope to have again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cook (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 2, 2013
Pros: great food
Cons: when there is shortage of work
The job is very easy and the people are pretty fair and i learned new techniques to make my job better
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enough
Plumber (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 5, 2012
Pros: good schedule. good hours
Cons: management
pti used to be a great way to pay the bills. They cared about their employees. now they have had management changes and just worry about cutting the budget.

MikeKP – December 30, 2012

How much can a plumber earn with this company? Or in fort mcmurray?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needed better managment
plumber/gasfitter (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 12, 2012
Pros: accomodations/meals paid for
Cons: away from home
the people you work with are good people,sometimes long hours

MikeKP – December 30, 2012

How much money can plumbers make with pti?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for.
housekeeping (Former Employee), Casper WyomingDecember 10, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: horrible incompetent management
The only good thing about this company is the benefits. Very disorganized and management is incompetent and disrespectful. Don't expect to make a living working for this company unless you can work 40+ hours overtime. I do not recommend this company at all!! Very disorganized and they have a horrible reputation in the oilfield... Don't waste your time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT TRUST THIS EMPLOYER
Senior Chef I (Former Employee), Bakken Area, and UtahNovember 16, 2013
Pros: they paid for most of my travel expenses, except when i resigned did not pay for 4 past months which they were behind on.
Cons: awful company
This company is the worst employer in the Oil Industry. Upper Management is void of integrity, morals, and honesty. I was the Senior Chef for this company for 4 months, I personally saw 2 cases of sexual harassment that I reported after it was reported to me go undocumented with no follow up. Upper management will layoff people without any notice, over – more... promise under deliver to all employees, it is not a healthy work environment. I do not miss working for them at all. I was laid off for a period of 5 months as well before I was promoted to be the Senior Chef as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company fires/lays off with out notice
Senior Sales Lead (Former Employee), South TexasSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: no regard to work life balance, no notice of lay offs, manager was on vacation for 30+days of my 90 days with the company
Hired and laid off within 90 days. Company is getting ready to be spun off from Oil States and just RIF'ed a large chunk of US workforce. No stability or loyalty within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute lack of integrity
Environmental Health (Former Employee), Denver/CasperFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: met a lot of people who cared about what they did, just not in worker/management relations..
Cons: mid management lacked honesty, especially when dealing with workers.
Mid management has no moral values. Will lie continually to workers to get what they want. They want honesty, especially when dealing with state/fed agencies, but will not give it to workers who do their best to comply.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management, not enjoyable, look elsewhere for work
EHS Specialist (Former Employee), Englewood, CODecember 14, 2012
Pros: it's a job...
Cons: management, type of work, location, people
Management is clueless and disrespectful to workers. On boarding is the worst I have ever experienced; I came on with two other people and we were all more confused about the company, it's functions and our role. No one helped answering our questions. Management also does not recognize when they make mistakes and doesn't correct them.

I know it is – more... a tough market, but I would seriously look else where for work. It's just not worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great pay, long rotations
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee), North of Fort McMurray, ABNovember 15, 2012
Pros: accommodation provided, great pay, awesome benifits, great staff, fun atmosphere, job security
Cons: long work rotations, management changes too often, slow internet, safety during fire season needs revision, not much for recreational choices after shift
There are different divisions of PTI so experiences will differ.
I mainly worked large camps/lodges and love my job. The people are great to work with, the pay is good and as expected, hours are long.

The rooms were really nice and very well kept/clean, flat screen TVs with HDMI. Internet is there but slow at best, when everyone comes back from site/supper – more... - good luck with it working at all. Cell service with Telus works great out here, but not so much with others.

Management was sometimes hard to deal with and seemed to change often. I think the hardest part of this job is that the rotations were 21 days in with 7 off - BUT that seems to have become the standard with any catering outfit now. Job security is great if you can take it. Most PTI camps now run like 4 star hotels and expect the same professionalism from their employees.

Best part of working with PTI is the awesome staff/co-workers, job security (Full Time-Year Round work) and financial security with awesome benefits.

Only improvement I could see would to have an option of rotations to staff (21/7 or 14/7 etc) and instead of busing it all the time, have the option of flying to/from site (PTI in this area is the only employer that does not fly their staff to and from site) and better E VAC procedure during fire season. (ie. Forest fire was REALLY close to camp, clients were evac'd, staff was not - fire within 5km or less of camp)

I hear very little complaints from clients other than they are bored ( and I have to agree, not much to do out here rec wise) and no food complaints except from the few "picky" clients who forget they are in the bush and want "steak and lobster" level of food every night and need to realize they are offered better services and food than most other catering outfits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a honest place
Materials handler (Former Employee), Johnstown , Co.October 25, 2012
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: no breaks
Time clocks don't work properly
Employees very disrespectful to each other
Unsafe working conditions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse
Warehouse (Current Employee), Johnstown, CoOctober 22, 2012
Pros: hours are good pleanty of over time
Cons: respect
The management dont have a clue about materals in the construction field.
Safty does not meen a thing to this company.
I turned a guy in for doing drugs and drinking on the job, and they did nothing about it.
Also turned a guy in for exsessive speed on a fork lift, and the company did nothing.
Didnt follow rules on breaks and lunch breaks, most of the – more... time did not get the required time.
If your a woman, be perpared to take a beating.
Not an equal pay company – less

About PTI Group

Oil States International lends a helping hand to oil and gas drillers and producers through four segments: tubular services, accomodations, – Read more