PTI Group Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work.
Kitchen Worker (Former Employee) –  Conklin, AB13 November 2016
Working for PTI was an interesting experience. Living and working in the same building, while being away from home for 21 days at a time can be difficult. From my experience, management in this company have a high turnover rate, but are not particularly bad. I enjoyed the people I met through this job and the opportunities I was given through the money that comes with rural hospitality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Family atosphere
Executive Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 July 2016
organizing and arranging for 4000 rooms a day are cleaned, scheduling 400 staff and working with a rotation of 21 days on and 7 off, payroll, ordering supplies, disciplines, working in a union environment. working awasy from home in a remote camp.
Pros
friendly and family oriented people
Cons
long hours, working away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  .3 March 2016
Great overall company to work for, job security is great but gets repetitive and boring. Rotations are usually 21-7 and that after quite sometime will take it toll on you.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad company to work for
2nd cook / sandwish maker (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 November 2015
the pay very small. the managers treath you like dirt . no room for advancemonet , SLAVERY WORK , LOW PAY, they don't car about the workers . they send you home any time .,
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Front Desk Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fort Mcmurray15 October 2015
The shifts were consistent. The pay was good. The vacation days provided were great. The Also great benefits package. The co-workers were friendly. Best part of the job was teamwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, small weight room, small rooms long hitches but good pay.
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 June 2015
Fast paced, learned a lot about kitchen work, management not very helpful, some co-workers good, some bad, hard physical labour putting away groceries. Laughs were the best part.
Pros
Free room and food
Cons
hitches too long, no time to enjoy personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense Working Environment
Customer Service and Wordpress Blogger (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 May 2015
Working 10-12 hour days, 21 days in a row with 7 days off. In a very remote area 45 minutes away from the city, a shuttle bus would go into town twice a day. The camp provided accommodation to those working on Oil Sand sites. I would work both in the Tim Hortons coffee shop that PTI owned within the camp, or Housekeeping. The Tim Hortons served those working in Oil Sand sites in the area, and thousands would stand in a very long line-up to get food and drink each day. The Tim Hortons was short staffed but well organized. Staff were incredibly hard working individuals who even in the most stressful of times, managed to greet customers warmly and provide services quickly. Staff became friends and family in such a close-knit environment. Although well paid, it was expensive to leave the camp (and charged to stay on days off), providing a low life-work balance.
Pros
Well Paid, Hours to Work, Good Benefits, Fed During Work, Community, Working With People from All Over Canada
Cons
Long Hours on Your Feet, High-Stress Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great People to work with
Housing Retail worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Mc Murray Alberta24 February 2015
Challenging work environment,Enjoyed team work.
Great company to work for.
Reliable in providing training
Management very helpful in problem solving
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Senior Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Edmonton12 December 2014
great forward thinking company
great co workers
understanding mangers
Pros
great mgmt
Cons
remote location
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun environment and pleasant people to work with
Recruitment Advisor, Civeo (Current Employee) –  Alberta31 July 2014
Productive, fun environment and pleasant people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
am very hardworking and enjoy working in a group
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  edmonton21 July 2014
cleaning dorm,washrooms and shower
cleaning floors by sweeping,mopping and vacuuming
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall experience very good
Dining room attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 July 2014
very friendly and fun people to work with
efficient, reliable
Pros
free room and board, lunches, travel
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good area too work
PTI Camp Services as Camp Manager (Former Employee) –  Northern BC12 April 2014
I enjoyed the work as I was able too work directly with the contractors as well as your company at the Geetla Lodge Camp.
Pros
Working with the customers daily
Cons
Hours were long but very acceptable
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good job
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 March 2014
learned heat trace 120v, transformers, how camps operate. My co-workers were great team players.
Pros
free food
Cons
no paid flights
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a remote area
1st cook/ camp manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 January 2014
A typical started about 4:30 am and ended about 8:00 at night. Long shift, and had a 2nd cook and staff.
The hardest part of the job was three meals for 200 man camp. Keeping up the demands of the clients, and getting two different lunches out to the Rigs,being transported on the Rig truck.
My co-workers had to work in sync with me. at all times.
Management would only visit me twice a month, I worked solely also did the office work.
Pros
Working solely on your own.
Cons
Remote area jobs can be lonely.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity, short term.
Supervisor Field Services (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 November 2013
Isolated environment.
Self contained camp.
Military presence.
Olympic experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer job with great people and amenities
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 November 2013
we worked between 8 and 12 hour shifts (mostly all 8 in second summer) for 21 days on and then 7 off. You were in a secluded location (2 hours north of Fort Mcmurrary), so adapting to the environment was a must. I learned to be away from my family and respect days of. I also learned to work alone and according to a quota. Management was awesome, co-workers became family.
The hardest yet most enjoyable parts were working alone (or in small groups) and meeting/surpassing the expectations of some of the personnel I dealt with.
Pros
free accommodations, meals, and fitness equipment
Cons
were sacrificing family life while out there
Was this review helpful?Yes28No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wages, good people, Hard to be isolated for 21 days
Housing Retail Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB3 November 2013
I loved this job, I just wish I got to go home at night. Being away from all your loved ones for 21 days can only be tolerated for so long.
Pros
Great Pay and Benefits
Cons
Working out of Province, Had to pay for flights home
Was this review helpful?Yes24No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management Sucked
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB29 September 2013
I worked for PTI from 2 1/2 years and was treated like a no body from my Manager! I was the maintenance manager for 4 lodges for them and I had a great working relationship with my maintenance crew and the lodge managers, but the little guy I had for a manager made it hard to get up and go to work everyday. My wages sucked for a Maintenance Manager because of the high wages they paid the union staff. I liked my people but the upper management did not no how to take care of the maintenance , if the little guy was gone and he let people who new how to do there jobs do it there would be no problems? I also watched a guy get electrocuted as the manager for construction was never around and he had a kid with no exp running a job. All in all they have to make changes if they want to keep good people
Pros
Nice rooms
Cons
A little dick who was a boss and had no clue what he was doing
Was this review helpful?Yes30No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 August 2013
it was a unplace to work but it was to far from family.
hardest part was working out in the winter
my coworkers were awesome to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes16No8Report

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9

PTI Group Reviews by Location