Find companies:
PSAV
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

PSAV Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team.
Camera Operator/Production Assistant (Current Employee), Montréal, QCJanuary 20, 2013
Great team and organization. Very professional. Pay is good. They are flexible to your needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very professional atmosphere with good people to work with.
Audio Visual Specialist (Current Employee), Boston, MAApril 3, 2014
Pros: always somewhere new
Cons: not getting enough hours
Early mornings are typical at PSAV. Sometimes its necessary to find the location in Boston where I'm most needed. I usually have a pre-conference meeting with the project manager and Client to see whats needed. I then see what we have in stock then tell the project manger what we will need to cross rent. On setup day i Usually will set most of the video – more... needs and collaborate with the in-house network representatives to tell them what the client needs and get routers and/or switches with any cabling needed. Once the rooms are set I operate to make sure things go well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total consumption of life ...& underpaid as can be. Shady.
Past Employee (Former Employee), PSAV SF Bay areaMarch 25, 2014
Pros: move up possiblilities (to use you even more), good/cool floor technicians
Cons: everything else.
This company will use you like a dirty rusted tool.

I worked for PSAV as a technician and moved up quickly to a higher position. Sometimes, I actually wonder if these art schools like Full Sail, Ex'pression, Pyramind, etc. are all owned by the PSAV company. It seems to be the only place to get hired after graduating from these schools; which is unfortunate – more... because I had a blast in college and paid about $100,000 to go to one of these. What a waste. But that's another story...

Anyways, back to PSAV...
You will work horrible up hours that "constantly" change from
day-to-day, and you'll get the next schedule from week-to-week, need I say more!? So, don't plan on ever having a life, family time, or friend visits again. You will never be able to
PLAN FOR ANYTHING, ever... while you're with this company!

Around the winter (down-time/months Dec & Jan) you will get very little hours because the hotels are so slow so you won't be able to pay your rent, buy presents, and/or eat.
Otherwise, when it's busy as can be (most all other months), you will be working your tail off working for (THE MAN) the snobby, high-maintenance clients that think and treat you like you're a
red headed step-child on the hotel floor.

You'll also be sent to many other hotels to work, if you're hotel is slow a couple days out of the week so that you're lost as can be while walking around that new hotel and learning your way around with a new crew, as if you are a blind man walking around trying to fit in with these guys. After, pray and hope that your paperwork of your hours worked there were sent correctly, given to your boss, and documented to your hotel computer because they have their heads up their you know what's, and don't have correct clock in/out capabilities between these hotels.

Did I mention that you have to wear a full suit to do this job?!
Yes, you will. You will be setting up lighting, full-sound systems, full video screen set-ups, taping down cables on your knees much during each day, climbing ladders, etc. Yes, ALL in a suit. Be ready to buy 'at least' a few suits and ALL of the MANY accessories (socks, ties, many long sleeve shirts, many short sleeve undershirts, nice shoes, etc) that come along with wearing a suit, to wear every day there, with your musty smelling, sweaty self. FYI: You'll never have time to get any of that stuff washed while working here, so you must buy multiples of everything!

I also noticed that myself and everyone there was very
MUCH UNDERPAID. PSAV technicians are working their tails off on the floor to get all of this gear set-up right and for big money! But, PSAV is paying peanuts for us to do this work. This company and hotel/s are making a huge amount of cash on this equipment that has been paid 1,000 times fold, back in 1990's ...and keeps on making huge money, and they charge extra high prices for this old beat-up gear to the client, plus >>> high labor, plus huge sales tax, plus plus, etc... so the client dislikes us from the get go when they arrive to do the event, and the event better go perfectly and seamlessly! The client paid SO much money to the company, so they expect the floor technicians to make EVERYTHING perfect or will ask for their money back (because they were charged so much) ...and then it's on you! No pressure.

The only good I have to say about working for PSAV is that there IS room to move up fast within (for the next PSAV lifer to be used to work harder and for less money). I will admit this though... I did work WITH (not for) some very cool guys (and by that, I mean the other hard working floor guys; as I was). We were only making PSAV corporate richer. Notice all of the young directors... that should tell you something. Poor guys.

If I've helped one person out by not applying and getting used by this company, I've done my job. Don't be a statistic. I have many good friends still working there now that aren't able to enjoy their lives because they are stuck there in the hotel, working every day of the week, working all day long, with much unpaid overtime every day there, and only making salary wages (not hourly). Many of these guys are alcoholics and have a hard time having time for a family and/or a girlfriend/boyfriend, and you wonder why?! Basically because they are working too many unpaid overtime hours. Not cool... and I have no idea how that's legal. But, they get away with it.

Take care my friends... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro managed company with a total corporate mindset
National Operations Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 20, 2014
My old company was "merged" with PSAV. Many of my coworkers had the good sense to leave for other employment within the first few months. I decided to stick it out and see how things would go. It was a very bad plan. The local branch is run by a DICtator who surrounds himself with friends who have been let go from other companies. This makes for a management – more... team of fools and morons who spend the majority of thier time micro managing the staff or just palling around with each other. It truelly doesn't take long in any sort of a technical conversation with one of them to realize that they didn't get to thier position with knowledge or hard work. I would say that the hardest part of the job was watching the basic day to day incompitance and overall lack of care for performance. I suppose it can only be expected when you pay as poorly as they do and offer such misserable benifits. Thank god they had to continue paying me my previous wage. Unfortunatly we were all placed on thier insurance program. I warn you to stay away from this company and hope that this is not the new standard for the audio visual industry. I will say that the only thing good about this company is the National division. It is a challenge to join this team but only because it takes a true profesional with knowledge and skills in our industry to join. If you are looking for an easy, underpaid gig with bad benifits go down to your local PSAV branch and grab an ap. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Event Technology Specialist UK (Former Employee), LondonJanuary 19, 2014
Productive and fun place to workProductive and fun place to workProductive and fun place to workProductive and fun place to workProductive and fun place to workProductive and fun place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're nobody
AV Tech (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch in most hotels.
Cons: not a livable paycheck. working most weekends
In the summer every second of your life is theirs. In the winter your paychecks will be about $300 short of your rent.

The management does not care about you as an employee or a human being. Support services (IT, HR) are slow and resentful about supporting you.

Sales and operations managers get rich, rich, rich off your sweat and you don't get a dime – more... of those commissions no matter how much you kiss the client's rear end.

If you're right out of college, it's better than being unemployed but go into it knowing it's a temporary gig and don't stop looking for a real job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think of a change in career
ets (Former Employee), London UKOctober 23, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no structure to hours too long hours and no overtime
after working for psav in london i actually had to change career, i had lost all passion for my job, the hours were terrible, pay was terrible management was terrible. their claim to using high end equipment is a massive lie, its all shoddy and ready to fail and the mark up they put on equipment is a joke. from experience the technical aspect required – more... a monkey could do the job and rigging in a full blown suit is not good on your wage packet if you have to buy new suits every other week.

STAY WELL AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Asst Director of Event Technology (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 17, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Must be able to multi task and have extreme attention to detail and be flexible to a changing environment. Must love people and enjoy helping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with new technology
Event Technology Specialist II (Current Employee), Norcross GASeptember 29, 2013
Making sure that optimum customer service is achieved
working with new technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creating Lighting Enhancements for Special Events
Event Sales Coordination (Former Employee), Anahiem, CASeptember 2, 2013
Pros: creating new excitement for events
Executed lighting and staging aspects for multiple events for social. corporate and large conventions. Maintained complete follow through of each event from conception to final product with post event correspondence with client for future events. Working closely with catering and sales departments of the hotel to successfully execute event to clients – more... expectations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun People & Hard Workers
Exhibits Services Coordinator/Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Coppell, TXAugust 19, 2013
Pros: audio visual company!
I loved working for PSAV! Nothing bad to review at all!
Unfortunately, my time was cut short due to the 2008 economy. Great group of folks!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting point
Audio Supervisor/Trainer (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 12, 2013
PSAV is a well organized company. It is a great way to start a career in audiovisual. The culture is getting better as the years go by. The recent merger with Swank Audiovisuals has proven to be good for both companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Assistant Director (Current Employee), DFWAugust 8, 2013
This was a great company at one time. Then it has become all about money and not about the employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace and Modern Technology
Freelance Technician (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 29, 2013
Pros: always wonderful food throughout the resorts."free"
Cons: health care and not always the first on call - "freelancer"
Working for PSAV is one of the most exciting and technical companies that I have ever worked for. From beginning to end, as soon as you walk into your office, you receive a lay out on how particular rooms are going to be set and orchastrated into becoming this master piece. Its really just all an envision that the customer comes to our company and has, – more... and then its on our behalf that we maintain and uphold that - come to life atmosphere, for where the client and their groups have a exciting and memorable time. Theres so much that you as well learn on a day to day bases , that your always inclining your brain to go further. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work...
Tech (Current Employee), TexasJune 7, 2013
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: terrible management, horrible work/life balance, inferior pay
PSAV is great to work for if you're a contract employee.

Full-timers, on the other hand, are treated like red-headed stepchildren. They are severely underpaid, compared to the freelancer working next to them doing the exact same job. When this is brought up, benefits expenses is always the answer. This "investment" by the company is so minor, I have – more... seen a freelancer make the amount of a full year of these costs in a few DAYS. Work/life balance is also abhorrent, usually regardless of what area of the company you work in. You may work 80+ hours in a week or 8. Depends on the time of the year. Also, unless you are actually on scheduled vacation or PTO, you are "on call" in a sense, but they never tell you that. There is no SOP for ANYTHING. Equipment is not QC'd as it should be...

I could go on, but I shall digress...

In summary, this is a VERY top-heavy company that is run by persons of questionable intelligence. I believe this is not sustainable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, encourages further education and knowledge, allows independence
Office Assistant (Current Employee), GrapevineMay 30, 2013
Great company, does not micromanage, encourages further learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive atmosphere
Sales/ Customer Service (Former Employee), miamiApril 10, 2013
friendly environment everyday, i enjoyed working there
professional atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee), Ledyard, CTApril 4, 2013
Cons: lunch breaks are automatically taken out of paycheck
Depending on the time and month it can be very busy which is nice. There are slow months as well. Co-workers are decent. The job can be very stressful at times and it could be from the amount of work that needs to be done. Pays well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun.
Temporary Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Elgin, ILFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: free lunches
A typical day at work at PSAV would start out slow, as in taking out the garbage, sweeping work areas, and checking batteries for forklift operation. Later, would have to put items away according to label. RF Scan the objects to certain location. Management was poor with little to no help in loading trucks. The hardest part of the job was keeping up – more... with the high volume with little to no help from management. The most enjoyable part of the job is the company would feed us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Director/Tech3 Certified /Audio (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: experienced coworkers
Cons: hard to speak with upper management
Kept me busy and always pushed me to be a better leader and a better employee.

About PSAV

This company puts a little show biz into business. Audio Visual Services Group, doing business as PSAV Presentation Services (PSAV), – Read more