Find companies:
Providence Health Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Providence Health Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and challenging work environment
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 5, 2014
Terrific co-workers with similar values.
Not a lot of engagement with management
12 hour rotating shifts
Difficult client, real mix of cultures
Love the sense of team work and camaraderie with my co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A possitive educational opportunity
PSYCHITRIC NURSE (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 17, 2014
Pros: very good access to nursing educational opportunities
Cons: long comute to work
A typical day would include report from the previous shift, greeting my patients and administering medications. I would also lead groups and assist patients in personal care when required. Other duties would be to take vitals and perform other skills such as wound care and oxygen administration, safety checks and behavior care planning.

My co-workers – more... make up a team of caring and enthusiastic people who are dedicated to making the stay of our patients as positive and healing as possible.

I have learned that the most important element of this job is treating patients and families with respect and empathy with the vision of improving their ability to cope with mental illness.

The hardest part of the job is having to discharge patients to a shelter as well as the unfortunate reality of patient suicide.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the satisfaction of making a difference in the lives of patients and families however small. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Program Administration Assistant (Former Employee), VancouverMay 12, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: dealing with some shaddy clientale
Catholic organization.
Team environment
Reporting to Director, and maintaining their calendar, scheduling meeting, ordering cater, A/R, A/P, and any other duties required
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace where you get to make people happy
part time (Former Employee), torontoMay 9, 2014
Pros: free lunches, working with seniors
Cons: long hours, bad smell
A typical work day was me interacting with seniors , making them feel welcome , getting them what they want like food or water. I gained a lot of communication skills ,i learned how to interact with different kinds of people from the grumpy ones to the sad ones.I really learned how to react to certain situations that occur during my work hours & solve – more... problems. My co-workers were always in a positive motive really energetic and fun to work with. The hardest part of the job was taking the seniors for a walk. The most enjoyable part of the job was trying to entertain the seniors – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nurse at Rehab Floor
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 6, 2014
Pros: pot luck lunches
Cons: part time
I was responsible for 5-7 patients, which included providing daily care, medications, overall assessments, transcribing medications.
I have learnt how to work in a team setting.
Co-workers were a team. We always helped each other in difficult situations
The hardest part of the job was it was part-time. Thus, it was very difficult to know clients as – more... per nurse-client relationship.
the enjoyable part of the job is that we all worked as a team. so even in stressful circumstances, i did not find it stressful, because there was always co-workers and manager to guide and help me – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional work place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 15, 2014
Pros: gym
Loved working for this company. Excellent management style. The most enjoyable part of this company - I had a great boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Resident Care Aide (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCNovember 12, 2013
Pros: meeting many different people co workers and residents
Cons: emotionally draining
A day at work consist of helping people to do daily activities like eating dressing and washing. I love working with people and problem solving cause each day comes with a new set of difficulties. The staff is amazing to work with they work like a team helping and supporting each other allowing for the best care to be given. Sometimes there are bad – more... days but most are good I believe the hardest part of this job is watching people pass away but at the same getting to meet and learn from these people is the best. For working in such a big organization it is an amazing job some Managers take the time to get to know you where others do not take the time to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work hours and assignments
Volunteer (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioJuly 26, 2013
Pros: helping others, close to home
Cons: didn't pay
As a volunteer at Providence I was able to select the type of work I wanted and the days / hours I was able to come in to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive work environment
Project Lead (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 18, 2013
Good place to work with lot of challenges and exciting growth opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Educating work enviroment
RN full-time and left as casual (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 22, 2013
Pros: education
Cons: 12 hour shifts
Best place to work. 12 hour shifts. Good salary. Motivating work enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great variety of duties.
Engineer (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 26, 2013
my job consists of variety of duties. from doing chemical tests on the boiler to changing electrical ballasts on tube lighting. I have learned a wide variety of skills that help me in everyday life. Management is very organized and fair. my co-workers are very helpful. Hardest part of the job at times can be at times the most enjoyable part. Usually – more... a major water leak in the building. Most enjoyable part of my job are the many different skills i have acquired working in this environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, amazing volunteer work
Volunteer associate (Former Employee), Scarborough ontarioDecember 20, 2012
Pros: free coffee
I signed up for summer volunteer program at the gift shop and I had a wonderful time working there. I got to meet so many other volunteers in the healthcare and had an amazing management team. Now, my sister is volunteering there currently and she enjoys it just as much. Overall, it was a fun experience and I am glad I was given the opportunity to explore – more... it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Values
Registered Dietitian (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCNovember 7, 2012
Pros: downtown vancouver
Cons: advancement limited
The staff of Providence Health Care are incredible in their dedication and caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Volunteer (Current Employee), scarborough OnAugust 17, 2012
Pros: free coffee
Cons: nothing
I was a part time volunteer. i love senior citizens.
daily rituals with them having them accompanied and help the nurses take care of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student nurse
Student Nurse (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 16, 2012
Pros: i loved working as a student nurse
Cons: not enough hours, no pay
7-730 getting reports for 5-6 patients
730-1200 providing care to patients, administering medications, getting them ready for therapy, assisting with AM care.
1200-1230 lunch
1230-1500- doing other chores, like administering afternoon meds, answering call bellls, changing wound dressing, other medical procedures.

I loved working at providence with – more... the team, it was enjoyable and fun. The hardest part of the job was not getting paid because i was a student. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of management
floor tech (Current Employee), Palos Heights, ILJuly 15, 2014
Cons: a lot of people are quiting to go to real jobs!
no oversight by bosses, of workers that just sit around and do next to nothing for 8 hours!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse environment with skilled and knowledgable employees
RN (Current Employee), 5A/5B Heart CenterMay 2, 2014
Loved working with such an incredible team, definitely more than just using nursing skills, you become a case manager here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The project is on Healthcare provider's revenue generation cycle and supports the revenue capturing services like patient access, charge description m
Pl/SQL Developer (Former Employee), Portland, ORMarch 26, 2014
• Involved in Design, Coding, Development and Implementation.
• Loading data from flat files into database tables using SQL* Loader.
• Wrote SQL Queries (Sub queries, correlated sub queries and Join conditions).
• Write many Stored Procedures, Functions and Packages.
• Performed the uploading and downloading flat files from UNIX server using FTP.
 – more... Involved in developing interactive forms and customization of screens using Oracle Forms.
• Involved in designing numerous Oracle Forms and Reports by interacting directly with End Users and Business Analyst
• Translating business rules into procedures, packages, database triggers and functions using PL/SQL.
• Worked with performance and tuning issues. Creating tables and loaded the database on the views.
• Customized the properties for the users in the embedded options based on the privileges using Interactive reporting.
• Develop various Complex Queries, Views for Generating Reports.
• Involve in Unit testing PL/ SQL Stored Procedures and Functions.
• Code Application Program from the Specifications using PL/SQL and Shell Scripting.
• Involve in writing Procedures, Functions, Triggers, Packages, Cursors, Dynamic SQLs, Views and data loading using SQL Loader utility for new/enhance requirements.
• Prepared status reports and attended status meetings on a daily basis to understand the resource utilization and assignments progress.
• Develop Test Plans and participate in unit testing, system testing, thru production implementation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Patient Registration Clerk (Current Employee), Waco, TXFebruary 13, 2014
A very good place to work. Coworkers were always there to help with any problems. The benefits are outstanding. Management is always there to listen to you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Family-run business
Nurse (Former Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 7, 2014
Such a warm, close and supportive staff and management! I really enjoyed working for them!