Providence Health & Services Employee Reviews

Found 45 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Registered Practical Nurse Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 4, 2016
As a nursing student I learned a lot about rehabilitation and stroke management. Staff members are helpful. I had opportunity to learn nursing skills. good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Practicum Student (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCAugust 30, 2016
I worked as a practicum student at Providence Health Care, Vancouver. It was an unpaid internship. My supervisor was great. she was very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very good experience in friendly and educative environment.
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 17, 2016
Our practice was very good organized and it gave me a lot of new skills and experience. Staff nurses were very helpful and friendly. Feedback from our clinical instructor was constructive and positive. We were working on the floor and had conference after that. It was discussions of all what we did during the day plus some new knowledge which we obtained from books, articles, internet research. Everything was produstive and very good for educational process. Atmosphera in the facility is always important for students' pratice. Most important that we got feeling that we belong there yet we can have help when it needed. This was my very good clinical practice in one of the best hospitals of Toronto.
Pros
Excellent expirience
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly structured management, not supportive
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMay 20, 2016
I had a horrible experience with this company. I was bullied by management to the point of being called an idiot. Many employees on my unit were scared of management. I found that management was not professional.

Coworkers were great, and supportive. The nurses, doctors and other workers give 110% every day.
Pros
great nurses and co workers
Cons
not supportive with education and training.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place as a student
Admitting Clerk (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BCJanuary 5, 2016
Phenomenal work environment for a student. As a casual employee you aren't entitled to benefits or stat holidays off, you are however paid 11.8% in the lieu of these, which is a great jump in hourly wage, hours are plentiful and flexible for people in school and everybody is very helpful to new hires.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 17, 2015
Everyday is a same routine, that we open the doors, do front desk positions, assist everybody with their needs within my capabilities. Reception duties.
Pros
get invited to free lunches
Cons
big place and huge workload for minimal security
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
LNL property management (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 1, 2015
I did not work there, I volunteer there over the summer.
I help out with the other works, I learned how to work hard and do my best work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job is always rewarding and fun!
Finance Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCOctober 1, 2015
Providence Health Care is wonderful place to work - everybody is extremely friendly and humble . My manager is always helpful and understanding - The benefits such as extended health care and pension plan are impressive. Everyone is treated the same here and we always have fun inside and outside our job.
Pros
Great work enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to Work
Records Processing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCSeptember 17, 2015
My experience here was fantastic, as I was able to learn and advance my skills to help better myself as a person and as an employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Registered Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  torontoAugust 27, 2015
Providence overall is an excellent place to work where there is lots of learning opportunities and fortifying nursing skills. On the down side, job security and advancement is difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware!!!
Admin. Assistant (Former Employee) –  ScarboroughAugust 6, 2015
No room for growth. Management dictates very strict. A lot of office politics. Too much gossiping for an organization. Job security is definitely not there.
Pros
Lots of holidays
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes21No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good at the beginning
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJune 24, 2015
It was a great place to work in the beginning but as the years went by the work load and number of patients one was responsible for increased and it became a strain on providing quality care.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun working environment
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, OntarioApril 22, 2015
Amazing experience with fantastic co-workers and supervisors. Had an amazing opportunity to work one on one with patients in the health facility where I was able to with there quality of life during their stay as a the facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
NURSING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONApril 1, 2015
people are very friendly and productive, however some management could serve to be a bit more polite. A typical day is 8hrs long but passes very quickly with good company.
Pros
coworkers and events
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
senior food
Dietary Staff (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 31, 2015
typical day at work will be preparing or prepping food for the senior.
everything has to be organized and on time, or it can be stressful.
I'm neutral with all my co-workers.
Pros
nice enviroment
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes20No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet place, watching movies and escorting residents afterwards.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 29, 2015
Providence is a lovely residence, with nice residents and a friendly staff. Volunteering there was decent and only required kindness and patience when communicating and assisting the elderly.
Pros
Wasnt too difficult
Cons
was at night around 7pm. Would be home by 9:30
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a supportive and wonderful organization to be apart of
IV Infusion PICC Therapy RN (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMarch 25, 2015
I believe that Providence Health Care is a leader in patient care and medical research. The management is supportive and that provides strong job satisfaction
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced
NURSE /PATIENT EDUCATOR HOME IV PROGRAM (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMarch 16, 2015
lots of lunch and learns,lots of jobs available,big city hospital, lots going on,lots of research...most positive thing I can say is that I went back to work there!!
Pros
up to date
Cons
very political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, but good productivity
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 19, 2015
Quiet workplace, lots of communication, nice atmosphere.
Pros
developed communication skills
Cons
co-op placement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasent experince
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scarborough OntDecember 9, 2014
Serving the Elderly
Ordering supplies for sale
Everyone is very pleasant and helpful serving them it was interesting at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 625 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

Providence Health & Services Reviews by Location