Find companies:
ProNorth Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

ProNorth Transportation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don't work here. Save yourself the time...seriously.
Easy Target for Blame (Former Employee), North Bay, ONMarch 3, 2015
Pros: none. seriously.
Cons: working for pronorth
I'm being serious. Read the reviews. Take them into account, and just stay away. Usually people think that these are just bitter employees or ex-employees. It's not. It's anyone and everyone. This company is disgusting. I don't even mean that as a metaphor. Dirty management working in a dirtier environment. Smoke FILLS the office and the halls. I mean FILLS. The Vice President will give you a headache as he stands behind you tweaking and moving back and forth, and will give you more of a headache trying to even come close to understanding a word he says, seriously, if any teacher even let this guy pass grade 9 they should be ashamed. I'm not even worried he will read this and be upset because he doesn't understand the English language and can't spell well enough to read these words. Yet somehow the owner and president doesn't seem to catch on to the fact that this man is burying his company. Driving it into the ground. The turn around at a company like this is INSANE. It's UNHEARD OF. And it is solely due to improper management. Terrible, Terrible, Terrible undermarket wages. The worst training you could imagine, if you are lucky enough to receive ANY. EMPTY promises. Don't bother asking for anything, because you won't get any kind of response whatsoever for the next 12 days. It's a complete high school environment. Never have I worked at a place where blame gets passed so frequently. There are people there that will literally go back months to find somewhere that someone else made a small mistake, just so they don't get blamed for the smallest of things. Trust me, you will – more... be thrown under the bus at a moments notice without hesitation. (But that is to be expected from a guy who has a tattoo of the company... seriously...). Backstabbed immediately. Whether it be to management, or even BY management, or to a customer directly. They will blame you or put things on you to avoid looking bad RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU. Without blinking an eye, and then try to talk their way out of it. These people don't have the slightest idea how to run or manage a company. It's sad to watch sometimes. The constant missed promises made to clients and customers makes your head spin. The "it's someone else's problem" and "someone else will clean up my mess" mentality is ridiculous. And believe me it doesn't stop in office. The way the drivers are treated is completely horrible. The pay is laughable. Not just bad, laughable. The promised hours, runs, miles, pay... doesn't even COMPARE to what you will get. Not even ballpark. They don't deal with it though. They just make the promises and have someone else deal with the complaining drivers and try to explain to them why they aren't getting paid or what they were promised. Also, don't ever expect to get paid for the hours you work. Partly because the vice president can't do simple math. Fully expect to work SCHEDULED volunteer hours for this company without pay. AND if you don't, expect to get in trouble for it.
Again, people aren't reviewing this company like this for no reason. It doesn't have the laughable reputation around town that it has for no reason. I've actually been told by potential other employers that they have skipped past resumes because they see ProNorth on the resume. It's a cancer of an environment and potential career suicide. STAY AWAY... seriously. Or else come back here and let me say I told ya so right after. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BELOW MINIMUM WAGE EARNINGS!!!!
DRIVER (Former Employee), TorontoFebruary 12, 2015
Cons: pay
STAY AWAY FROM THESE GUYS UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE EARNING UNDER $10/HR BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT THEY PAY. THE HOURS WORKED DIVIDE BY WHAT YOU MAKE WILL EQUAL UNDER $10 DOLLARS PER HOUR. LOWEST PAYING TRUCKING COMPANY I HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED YET. NOT WROTH IT!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good group of workers but management is lacking
Dispatch/customer service. (Former Employee), North Bay, ONFebruary 2, 2015
Pros: sporadic pizza lunch
Cons: management, salary
Very poorly managed. Staff is not treated well. The boss likes to yell a lot, you will never get a thank you or any type of recognition. Very cliquey, if you are not a "yes man" you will be blatantly ignored and eventually forced out.
Company lacks structure all together. There is no proper training and no policies or procedures in place of any type. Lackadaisical at best. Employees are all treated differently with some getting special treatment and preferences.
Staff is often given promises that never come to fruition in order to try to keep employees. Huge turn over due to mistreatment and lies.
Day to day office management is left to employees to self manage most days. There is little guidance.
When an employee leaves the work load is usually shuffled onto existing employees on top of their own work. You are expected to handle large work loads without comparable pay. Salary ranges are very low for the positions and sick days are docked even on "salary" pay.
When submitted for vacation time expect to be told no or only approved the day before your expected vacation. You will never get a prompt response to any issue for that matter.
Drivers are treated unfair. Made promises and then brushed aside. Expected to run miles/hours that violate MTO logbook rules regularly. Equipment is not well cared for. Truck issues are put off until breakdowns occur and trucks have to be fixed/towed. Preventative maintenance is poor.
Customers are miss led regarding transit times and issues/delays. Dispatch lacks proper communication with customer service when orders will be late or missed prompting – more... angry calls from the customers on a regular bases. If it's not a corporate account then its not important seems to be a consistant feeling. Most days you will be ignored by dispatch when trying to get answers on customer orders.
Management likes to over commit on freight and consistently fail to meet scheduled deliveries rather than taking the volume they can 100% pickup and deliver successfully.
Poor quality, poor customer service, poor reputation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
North Bay's worst employer. Cult like atmosphere. A real gongshow!
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), North Bay, ONJuly 2, 2014
Pros: no longer work for pronorth
Cons: there isn't any
Worst place to work, they will lie to staff and clients, workload is too much for payscale and the expect you to stay 3-4 extra hours a day without getting paid for it or taking time in lieu. A lot of nepotism and favortism. the General Manager thinks he is god-like and some follow him as such-A complete moron. They are frequent offenders with the Labour Board and the MTO. The GM screams at staff to get his point across. Staff are unable to make their own decisions and choices- it has to go through the GM and he doesn't know what HE'S doing!!. The owner is nowhere to be found except on a boat in FLA. His two sons work at ProNorth and treated like dirt, although the IT son doesn't seems to be very motivated. The owners nephew, whom I believe is about 17 years old (acts as such anyways) is in charge of HR matters-which is scary and driver recruiting. This guy ditched two cars last winter. One son's 22 yr old girlfriend think she runs the place. Staff are divided in the office, a lot of backstabbing and chatter. Human Rights and bullying are prominent in the workplace.
They hire people for the same positions staff already hold and pay the newbies 5-7 thousand dollars more and the expect current staff to do the training without any compensation.
The GM fired the Operations Manager a few months after I began working there because he was a people person and was trying to better the place. They promise the moon and give you stones. The operations is a total 'muppet show' with 'animal' running the place. I worked there twice silly me and they screwed me until I had to sue them. In the – more... last 18 months I was there, there was 20 clerical staff dismissed, quit (there is only 30 office staff in the entire building), this doesn't even count the drivers and other branches in Mississauga, Timmins, Sudbury in those numbers.
Don't even bother applying at Pronorth, it will ruin your life. The General Manager should have been let go 15 years ago but he;s buddies with the owner. The drivers are expected to work miracles and are often playing logbook roulette to either make enough to live or to get the load on time because the planning in awful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is good
Local Driver (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 2, 2014
Job is good, and gave me a great opportunity
The hours are good
The pay is good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful group of guys at the timmins terminal
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Timmins, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Pronorth (timmns Terminal)is a great place to work, The salary was a little lacking on the run i preformed, and the hours for the run vs the salary was completely out of balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Job
Driver Trainer (Former Employee), North Bay ONJune 20, 2013
I liked the idea of going from a driver to Driver trainer with ProNorth it was fun to grow with company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same old, same old
Truck Driver (Former Employee), North Bay, ONDecember 11, 2012
Pros: north bay offers a friendly safe terminal that provides repairs and a drivers lounge
Cons: late model equipment, over loading, ny city
- pick up and deliver freight
- Northern management is so much more laid back and friendly
- a real mix of people
- hardest part would be dealing with overloading
- nothing enjoyable here

About ProNorth Transportation

Striving to re-infuse the trucking industry as an innovative contender in delivering the highest levels of services for clients, – Read more

ProNorth Transportation Photos

ProNorth Transportation