Find companies:
Progress Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 reviews

Progress Energy Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dependable Employer
Production Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLDecember 17, 2014
Pros: paid holidays
A typical day was:
receive a job order, pull tools and stage job for work.
Work the job until inspected and approved at completion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee), Hartsville, SCNovember 16, 2014
The hardest part of the job is getting all materials onsite when needed due to only one procurement individual working with Major Projects. From start of the day until the end of the day it is all go, no stop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very proffessional work environment
Accounts Manager (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCNovember 15, 2014
Pros: every month end free give away
Cons: non flexible lunch breaks
Continue review and data entries.
Different accounting software.
Proactive management.
Very professional coworkers.
Glue to a computer screen.
Advance knowledge of assignment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Raleigh Call CenterNovember 11, 2014
Changed ownership. Progress Energy was a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall ok place to work
QA/QC (Former Employee), Crystal River, FLOctober 16, 2014
The fellow employees were a lot of fun to work with. Management however, a bunch of idiots!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity
Project(s) EHS Manager (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: good work life balance, treated the employees well
Cons: bieng a contractor, your job was always in jeopardy and oudl terminate contract at any time
As a contracted employee the company was very good to work for. Good experience and learned new disciplines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Intern (Former Employee), Hartsville, SCAugust 11, 2014
Was given many different opportunities to further my knowledge of the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhere you look forward to going to work each day
Auxiliary Plant Operator (Former Employee), Hartsville, SCAugust 9, 2014
Pros: great schedule & 12 mile round trip commute
Cons: coal fired power plants are targeted to be closed by the epa.
Enjoyed my job, got along with co-workers in an almost family way. During non-busy times we were allowed to cook meals. Shutdowns were challenging and the supervisors recognized this by being flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company with great employees
Accounts Manager (Former Employee), Raleigh, North CarolinaJuly 26, 2014
Pros: proffesional development
Cons: sold out
Prepare, examine, and analyze accounting records, financial statements, and other financial reports.
Analyze business operations, trends, costs, revenues, financial commitments, and obligations,
Report to management regarding the finances of establishment
Establish tables of accounts, and assign entries to proper accounts.
Develop, maintain, and analyze – more... budgets, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting and rewarding career.
Home Efficiency Specialist (Former Employee), Lake Mary, FLMay 23, 2014
Pros: able to interact with people in their homes, was educating and saving people money
Cons: had to go in attics of temperatures over 150 degrees.
In this position I was fortunate to go into clients homes do energy audits and show them ways to lower their energy cost. There were many success stories of how customers were please with our services because of savings and tips gained to conserve energy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Procedure driven, Safety is first
Senior Nuclear Security Specialist (Current Employee), Hartsville, SCApril 9, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: non
I work 10 hour days. Review e-mails, Review and approve Engineering changes, Attend various meetings, Review Cyber Security Critical Digital Assets. Coordinate projects, Attend Human Performance Review boards, Review Procedure changes. Co-workers are great. Management seems to do a good job. Hardest part of the job is getting employees from various – more... departments to agree on the same issue. Most enjoyable part is when a task or project is completed without error. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
QA/QC Lead for NGDR Projects (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: great company and management
Cons: weak communications
Excellent work place great people and challenging work produscts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and your career developement is encouraged.
Reconnect and Disconnect Field Technician (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: you can have a great career with this company with great benefits and great pay.
Cons: the changes the company makes that may make your job a little more difficult to perform
Each day I was given the opportunity to use my experience and expertise to do what was required of me as a lone worker.

Learning came with the changes necessary for technology improvements for my job.

Management was good.

Team work and communication was always encouraged from all of us.

The hardest part of the job was cutting the power off where – more... there were little children, the elderly and irate customers.

When you are rewarded and commended for your professionalism and accomplishment for a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if u like change and i do
Mechanic (Former Employee), flJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: makeing the company new letter safety lunch
Cons: it was drity coal dust everywhere
I learn something every time I went to work .very good times.i enjoyed the people and the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and professional workplace where individuals are recognized for ideas and contribution to work processes.
Customer Service Representative I (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLNovember 22, 2013
Pros: healthcare, bonuses, unlimited available overtime
I was able to grow as an employee in a professional, business setting. I was also able to polish my telephone customer service skills. Co-workers remained in a professional manor at all times and there was NO negative "water cooler talk". The most challenging part of the job, which happened to be my favorite, was to console/calm customers who were irate – more... due to billing inquiries. I was able to explain the billing, have patients with the customer, and turn their attitude from negative to positive and most of the time before we ended the call they were laughing and apologizing to me for their attitudes in beginning of call. Having a customer laugh or smile due to something I'd said was the most enjoyable part of my job at Progress Energy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Plant Operator (Former Employee), Holiday, FLOctober 15, 2013
Pros: great job to have
Cons: miss out on life at home working shift work.
productive
don't take thing for granted
could have been better
great bunch to know and have worked with.
the heat and long work days but rewarding
the people was the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Inbound Call Center, Temp Position/Contract (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLOctober 11, 2013
I enjoy talking with new people and staying busy at work. once have completed a task I an always looking for more work to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work and enjoyed my career
Senior Power Trader (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 27, 2013
Progress Energy was a great place to work. I enjoyed the challenged of working in a fast-paced diverse environment. Great people, great culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with something to do at all times.
Administrative Assistant II/Corporate Operator (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 13, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: having to leave your family and love ones during bad storms
A typical day at Progress Energy is never typical. With never knowing what the weather is going to be like you could be extremely busy with dealing with customers wanting their electric service turned back on after a storm or dealing with customers trying to pay their bills or setting up service for the first time. You will learn something new everyday – more... no matter how long you have worked there. The management has an open door policy. They do their best to keep employees informed as much as they can. Co-workers work different schedules from month to month. For the most part co-workers get along with each other. The hardest part is trying not to take what the customer say to you in a difficult situation personal. At times they can be very negative and you must be able to diffuse the situation. The most enjoyable part is knowing you helped the customer get their power on. You learn something new everyday. Your co-workers work together to get the job done. They don't stop till everyone has power back on after a bad storm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progress
Turbine Specialist (Current Employee), Goldsboro/Wilmingtoon,NCJuly 17, 2013
Overall an excellent company from management down. The management gives you everything to be succsesfull

1 2 3

About Progress Energy

The Palmetto state and Tarheels both have Carolina Power & Light on their minds when they need some power. The company, which – Read more