Find companies:
Princess Auto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Princess Auto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
lead cashier (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 27, 2013
This was an amazing company to work for, they cared very much for each and every employee they had. Just wasnt enough room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: lots of events
Cons: management
Typical day at work would start with a meeting, and our goals or the day. I would be at the cash register for most of my day ringing in customers from farms and from companies and general public. My co-workers were really helpful in doing my job and they all worked really hard.I learned that not all businesses are 100% solid in the way they do things. – more... Management was good but at times they had people confused on what they were supposed to work on. Most enjoyable part of that job was the people and how i was able to learn new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good job to start with
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 9, 2013
the pay wasn't very good but it would be a good place to start before moving on to bigger and better things
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good values and family feel
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: benefits, work hours.
Cons: pay
Hardest part of the job is getting up at 5am for shift that starts at 6am. Enjoyable part of the job is the people I worked with. Typical day at work is putting stock out, receiving trucks, doing customer orders, shipping, organizing warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work at.
Sales team member (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABOctober 28, 2012
Pros: the over all company is amazing
Cons: employees at this particular store are not nice to work with.
The team leaders there need trailening, and need to know how to treat others "below" them. I was picked on and treated very badly by my team leader.

As well as my horrible experience working for Princess Auto, the management in the interview promised flexibility and promised that this company was "family oriented". Its not to say the least, atleast – more... for the people who are just team members and cashiers. It was not a fair enviornment at all, I did not feel as if I was working on a team what so ever. I loved my job at first then after I was done being the "new girl" I saw everyones true colors and how the store was really ran.

Having the company promise things in the interview to the employees that are working there or are going to be working there and then when an employee has a conflict or needs time off for family purposes it is not an option. I was told when I was hired that I could work my weekends around so I could be off the same weekend as my boyfriend was (because I just moved here with him and its just him and I) and when I asked after I had got hired I was not aloud to switch my weekends around.

I believe that not the whole company works this way, but this store needs attention. A specific team leader as well, she picked on me and treated me very badly to the point where I could not deal with it anymore and decided to quit. – less

laterly – July 15, 2013

Very true, there is alot of belittling at alot of the stores, and the managers think they are king and will fire you for any reason, I am a former employee and could not WAIT! to get out of there! the best part of the day was the customers!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I absolutely loved working for Princess Auto
Cashier, Sales and Warehouse Team member (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCJune 5, 2012
Pros: paid training, quarterly bonus and awesome retirement program
Princess Auto is all about their employees. Great opportunity for training and advancement. Look up "team" in the dictionary and you would find Princess Auto!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overwhelmed
Shipper Receiver (Current Employee), Lloydminster, ABMay 24, 2012
Pros: profit sharing, 3 weeks vacation
My days are very busy and frustrating. The work I am doing is very physically demanding and is a job for more than one person. I do not have a back up for my position for when I have time off so I have twice the amount of work to do when I return. I have been doing this for years and I am just not happy anymore. :O(
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place sucks to work in.
@#$% disturber (Current Employee), Red Deer AlbertaNovember 5, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: management is terrible, dirty, kids run it and know nothing! unprofessional
There was NOTHING dynamic or special about this place. The management team needs to get their #@$% together!!!! they have ppl training (If you call it that) that are from other countrys with accents.. WTF!!! HOW do they expect anyone to learn from that. NONE of the prices are marked so it puts more stresses on the people working cash,, They have 3 or – more... 4 ppl training you in a day so every time someone goes on a break and someone else helps, they ask what you are doing, no don't do it this way do it that way. It is one of the most unprofessional places I have EVER worked. Where do you go nowdays and have cashiers yelling over customers that they are doing a return. The kids they have working there don't know much about the products they sell, I have seen them blow off customers before they have checked with someone else to see if they knew what a product is and where it is. But yet correct a page when a person says customer instead of guest. The cashiers are catty and one likes to bully others, and management does nothing. I will never recommend anyone to work nor shop here. The management team ( if you call it that) are little girls who never got to be in their own club so now they have one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no respect for employees!!!!
floor (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABAugust 29, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: management is terrible!!!!!!
I was hired at PA in Red Deer just after my dad passed away. Like maybe a week. So I during my training I needed a day off to go to the lawyers and get stuff signed up. And I also had an absessed tooth which needed an emergency root canal because my face was swollen. I brought in a medical note for missing that day. I was let go today because I was – more... a half hour late for work due to a cab being 20 minutes late so I ended up calling a different cab company! The store leader is not a leader! They knew prior to hiring me that my dad passed away!!!! And I had a medical note for missing work!!! The store leader needs a lesson in working with people!!!! Instead she has some Mickey Mouse course called women in steel toes! Really?????? Wow!!!' why does princess auto hire idiots like this! Especially to do a job that she isn't qualified to do!!!! Red Deer needs an over haul in management!! And I have overseen such dis organization of product in my life!!!! Like products apparently do NOT go with like products in RedDeer!!!!! I will be calling the regional manager and giving him an update of the store!!! Red Deer is awful and I was warned by 2 different people not to work there!!!!' I DO NOT suggest to anyone to work there!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Princess Auto is Exciting!
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 16, 2012
Cons: shift work
Princess Auto creates an exciting environment to work in. It is fast paced and challenging at times but offers so many ways to benefit from a hard days work. For starters they offer full benefits which is rare in a retail environment. We have a pension plan, excellent profit sharing quarterly, and Deferred Profit Sharing Plans on top of it all. There – more... is lots of room for advancement. You can be transferred anywhere in Canada as there is a store in practically every province now. With Princess Auto you will always get back what you put into it. If you want to succeed they will help you do it!! – less