Princess Auto Employee Reviews

Showing all 157 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much for not enough
Evening Shipping/Receiving (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 September 2017
I feel that you work your a** off for nothing. Very poor pay, people are awesome only the people that you work with, management is poor! Again its a company that serves customers and a lot of the customers understand you and then again you get the Aholes too.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
poor pay break your back for nothing!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace with terrible management and leaders
Night receiver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2017
If you've applied for the night receiver stock position, prepare yourself for a gruesome experience. Princess auto north location was probably the worst experience I've had and personally I think they wanted me out soon as possible. Don't get me wrong the co workers were great but managements expectations for 13 per hour was pure disgustingly off the roof. I mean, if you see yourself making 13-16 per hour for the rest of your life stocking shelves then this place is for you. Ha. Don't get me wrong a jobs a job but management in the north location lack in decision making but then again they get paid trash.
Pros
Co workers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work as a student
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 August 2017
Princess Auto is like any other retail store minus the complexity of system. It is a fairly big store that tries to run a system of a small store. E.G no planogram, items have no permanent location hence workers will have to figure out and manage how and where to place received products from the warehouse. It goes without saying, tracking an item can end up becoming a pain if its not a promo item.

Management are often selected from the ranks. They are not what you would call a seasoned manager but some may have a talent for it. It is a hit and miss, some can lead, some cannot. Politics may be involved but if you are a lowly member, it may not be a problem for you.

On a team member level, you may find camaraderie. As for the management, you better be good at sucking up cause you will have to play ball.

The hardest part of the job, like any other retail store, are the customers if they chose to make your life hard for you. Otherwise, it can be the management as the store runs with multiple leaders that may tell you different things for the same thing which can have you changing something over and over again.

On a good day, you may be able to enjoy the job when you meet interesting people in-store and build a good rapport with your colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers awesome
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC4 August 2017
Management is a joke, family shouldn't be hired, Always hiring every few months it seems. I loved my co workers hated management. They do not know how to run a company
Pros
Profit sharing
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 August 2017
The only real complaint I have is that guests that come to princess auto sometimes have a tendency to act like royalty due to the motto 'no sale is final until you're satisfied'. Oh that and my training was warehouse when my job was sales rep.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workers management is number driven
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary DC, AB28 July 2017
work culture is get in line or be invisible. Management says workers are important and they will go out of their way , but if you'er not in their plans ..good luck to you
Pros
benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team member
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB23 July 2017
it was a wonderful job. the people i got to work with were amazing and knew a lot about what they were doing. the hours were great while i was in school and they included everyone in the company events.
Pros
company events, shift covers
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great place to start and advance a career in customer service.
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 July 2017
A Great place to start and advance a career in customer service. Customer service skills are highly promoted and honed as well as the ability to multitask and work productively alongside a team always striving for excellence.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Workplace with Great Coworkers, but Harsh Expectations.
Night Receiver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 July 2017
Princess Auto is great if you like meeting new people and creating new friendships. The team there is wonderful and friendly. But when compared to most retail jobs, the level of expectations and required hard work is much much higher. New team members are thrown to the wolves with little to no training and are expected to perform at the same level as somebody who has been working there for a few years. Having expectations is totally okay, but if you don't know what the expectations are then how are you supposed to do your job well?
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Bad Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team member enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 July 2017
Working with fellow team members is fun, majority are very nice and helpful, expected to do alot of different jobs on the day to day basis, always something new!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC4 July 2017
If the feeling at home office in Winnipeg extended to retail stores, this would be a great place to work.Very poor upper management.Lots of favoritism overlooking seasoned employees.Bullying abusive store manager
Pros
Profit sharing
Cons
Little pay for what you are expected to know
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Merchandiser and sales representive (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON26 June 2017
at princess auto a typical day is busy with lots to do but it is made fun by the fellow employees i accomplished a lot working here and gained a powerful work ethic.
Pros
good hours
Cons
very busy a times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail environment with good benefits
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 June 2017
A typical work day will involve helping customers locate items and make purchasing decisions. When not with a customer you will often be stocking shelves and cleaning the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 June 2017
Very caring fun fast paced work place always the ability to learn about new procedures and policies customers and staff are great to be with and around
Pros
Discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Working Environment
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 June 2017
Great management with a friendly and productive workplace. A typical day at work would consist of aiding customers, keeping aisles clean, and checking for returns.I learned how to effectively communicate and work in groups, and how to assist customers. The hardest part was getting used to product information from every department. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with in small groups to complete a task such as restocking or putting back returns and helping customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
hydraulic salesTeam member (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB7 June 2017
good company in general. Low wages to start depending which province you work in advancement depends on the store leader. they have profit sharing quarterly which is a nice bonus. Princess auto also does training in store as well as at home office, the training is a really good experience. Home office is great to deal with. Great health benefits for full time team members.
Pros
profit sharing, great training, great health benifits for full time team members
Cons
low wages as well as wage caps
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Learned much in my time at Princess Auto.
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB2 June 2017
One of the most enjoyable parts of working for Princess Auto was the ability to freely work with customers without trying to earn commissions. The small store and great team environment allowed me to learn a great deal about every product we sold, providing me with a valuable knowledge base which has helped me time and time again. Princess Auto is heavily team-oriented which creates a fun working atmosphere which improves productivity overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Front End Team Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE30 May 2017
went to work there with my shoulder broken in two places and taking pain meds. The new young boy who was the manager didn't see me as a good fit. Seemed to be geared to a younger crowd
Pros
staff disounts
Cons
Bad management team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkes bad managment
Hydraulic Technician (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB29 May 2017
Coworkers were great to work with.

Mangament was a joke.
Promises of wage increaces after additional training never filled
Changeing shifts after the schedule was sent out with asking
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON26 May 2017
The job is fun, co workers are great! Opportunity for advancement is always available. I have learned more than I imagined at this job in many ways.
Pros
Learning experiences are endless
Cons
wages could be better, but benefits make up for it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Princess Auto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 157 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.7
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

71%
66 ratings
Add your rating