Find companies:
Princess Auto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Princess Auto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff, extremely varied products
Cashier (Former Employee), Windsor, ONAugust 8, 2014
The job itself was great but I found it very difficult to become familiar with all of the varied products and how they were priced
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and energetic place to work. customers always left happy
Night Receiving Leader (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 30, 2014
Pros: full benefits and profit sharing
Cons: non
always busy yet fun. great team atmosphere to work. Management always willing to help and product knowledge on going
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Employee (Former Employee), Sudbury, ONJuly 18, 2014
Pros: free work boots every 6 months
Cons: the leaders, employees, work load, benefits, organization
Working for Princess Auto is a bad choice. Period. The benefits they offer aren't as great as they say, and you have to ask someone at head office to get any real info about it. They do offer profit sharing which is in theory a great thing, but if you were hired a few days after one, you may have to wait up to a year before you see a half share.

The – more... leaders are all unorganized and don't communicate well with one another, the staff suffer because of this lack of communication, and are ultimately blamed for the end result, which is completely unacceptable. The staff gets no respect and are heavily under paid for the work load that is asked of them.

Most of the staff are almost as bad as the leaders. Talking about each other behind their backs, stealing from one another, passing blame. No one can trust each other as a result, and end up hating each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worst place ever..
Sales Associate / Team Member (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 16, 2014
Very busy, with rude grabby customers. Coworkers acted like they were in high school despite being well over 35. Management never showed recognition for a job well done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a company for part-time employees
Guest Services Representative/Cashier (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONJune 14, 2014
Pros: freindly co-workers and customers
Cons: demanding all your availability so no time for your kids or family
*Great co-workers
*Lack leadership and opportunities for advancement
*Demanded open avaiability then gave you few hours
*Customers were the best
*Promised you the sun, moon and the stars when hiring you then never came thru with anything that was promised (eg training in other areas of the store, amazing profit sharing, benefits)
*Hardest part of the – more... job was knowing that customers were praising your work to management and not getting recognized for your hard work
*Management treated you like you didn't have a brain in your head
*All management is not on the same page. Every manager wants things done their way. Made for a very long day trying to please all of them.
*Not a friendly company to work for if you are trying to work more than one job--they demand all of your time and then give you very little back in return – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 12, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: disorganized
Good people but bad management. Overworked, underpaid. Leadership is unorganized and bossy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, hard working enviroment
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 29, 2014
Pros: worked with great people in managment.
Cons: not much of a long term future
Call center enviroment, new people comong and going every week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newfoundland location is a joke..
Night time stocker ( apparently ) (Former Employee), EverywhereMay 20, 2014
Pros: a 20% discount, and free work boots every 6 months.
Cons: everything else
They may look good on paper, but be warned... They offer you everything when you start. If you dont play "their game ". You wont make it past the 3 month mark. Trust me. I know.. Dont be fooled by the offer of benefits either .. You'll never see it. Ever...

At the end of the day.. The nl location is a breading spot for mental illness. Your just a number – more... to these guys. They dont care about you whatsoever. When you do try to change things for the better.. You get shafted in the end.

Read the fine print and save your self some sanity people.. its a waste of time .. Thats my two cents worth ;) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
stock work (Former Employee), Barrie, ONApril 10, 2014
when i worked there i use to help other workers with there job if i was done my job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cylinder Assembler/Lead Hand (Former Employee), panet roadMarch 24, 2014
Pros: profit sharing
Cons: no cons
learned to build hydraulic cylinders and trouble shoot them. The people were great to work with and the owner takes care of his employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Team Leader Trainee (Former Employee), sudburyJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: staff, customers
Cons: manager
always busy
great customers
great staff
poor management
lots to learn
something different everyday
lots of challenges
great place to work if you like problem solving
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Sales Associate Specialist (Current Employee), London, ONJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits and profit sharing
Cons: no advancement opportunities
It easy to work for a company that allows you to truly provide real customer service. The best part of my job is the people both customers and coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Princess Auto
Cashier (Former Employee), Burnside, NSDecember 17, 2013
Pros: co-workers and managment
Princess Auto was a good place to work, in my short experience I found the management was great, very understanding and helpful. The interview process was very thorough for the purpose of having a great team and having co-workers who worked well and efficient together. The most enjoyable part of the job would have been the friendly staff, very helpful – more... and supportive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Team Oriented workplace.
Team Leader Trainee (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 5, 2013
Pros: great pay and benifits package
Cons: very fast paced and energy draining
If you like customer service and can handle a challenge, Then this is the place for you. Your customer service and task handling skills will be tested. This is a fast paced workplace but the co-workers there will make it easy as they are very team oriented. Hardest thing to get used to is the pace once you've got used to that the fun you have there – more... is unmatched in any other retail store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Team Oriented workplace.
Team Leader Trainee (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 5, 2013
Pros: great pay and benifits package
Cons: very fast paced and energy draining
If you like customer service and can handle a challenge, Then this is the place for you. Your customer service and task handling skills will be tested. This is a fast paced workplace but the co-workers there will make it easy as they are very team oriented. Hardest thing to get used to is the pace once you've got used to that the fun you have there – more... is unmatched in any other retail store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place sucks to work in.
@#$% disturber (Current Employee), Red Deer AlbertaNovember 5, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: management is terrible, dirty, kids run it and know nothing! unprofessional
There was NOTHING dynamic or special about this place. The management team needs to get their #@$% together!!!! they have ppl training (If you call it that) that are from other countrys with accents.. WTF!!! HOW do they expect anyone to learn from that. NONE of the prices are marked so it puts more stresses on the people working cash,, They have 3 or – more... 4 ppl training you in a day so every time someone goes on a break and someone else helps, they ask what you are doing, no don't do it this way do it that way. It is one of the most unprofessional places I have EVER worked. Where do you go nowdays and have cashiers yelling over customers that they are doing a return. The kids they have working there don't know much about the products they sell, I have seen them blow off customers before they have checked with someone else to see if they knew what a product is and where it is. But yet correct a page when a person says customer instead of guest. The cashiers are catty and one likes to bully others, and management does nothing. I will never recommend anyone to work nor shop here. The management team ( if you call it that) are little girls who never got to be in their own club so now they have one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hard to explain
Sale Team Member - Workshop (Current Employee), scarboroughOctober 28, 2013
Co-workers are great to work with
it too much to say and i work hard and i am very punctual and very honest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place was horrible to work for always drama and people being back stabbers
sales-shop and garage (Former Employee), Lloydminster, ABOctober 15, 2013
Pros: nice customers
Cons: snobby staff
assisting customers in my department (shop and garage) and setting up display items , doing inventory , and stocking shelves
management were never around only to chew you out for not doing something very disorganized place.
co workers were ok some you could not trust but for the most part they were ok
the hardest part of my job was dealing with the – more... rude customers and the rude staff
the most enjoyable part of my job was when i went out of my way for the customer the look on there face and the way they said thank you just made my day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Assistant Team Lead (Current Employee), MiltonSeptember 11, 2013
Great company. Some issues to work out at the DC's to make it more efficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no respect for employees!!!!
floor (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABAugust 29, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: management is terrible!!!!!!
I was hired at PA in Red Deer just after my dad passed away. Like maybe a week. So I during my training I needed a day off to go to the lawyers and get stuff signed up. And I also had an absessed tooth which needed an emergency root canal because my face was swollen. I brought in a medical note for missing that day. I was let go today because I was – more... a half hour late for work due to a cab being 20 minutes late so I ended up calling a different cab company! The store leader is not a leader! They knew prior to hiring me that my dad passed away!!!! And I had a medical note for missing work!!! The store leader needs a lesson in working with people!!!! Instead she has some Mickey Mouse course called women in steel toes! Really?????? Wow!!!' why does princess auto hire idiots like this! Especially to do a job that she isn't qualified to do!!!! Red Deer needs an over haul in management!! And I have overseen such dis organization of product in my life!!!! Like products apparently do NOT go with like products in RedDeer!!!!! I will be calling the regional manager and giving him an update of the store!!! Red Deer is awful and I was warned by 2 different people not to work there!!!!' I DO NOT suggest to anyone to work there!!!!!! – less

About Princess Auto

Princess Auto Limited (PAL) is a Canadian retail chain specializing in farm, industrial, garage, and surplus items. It was started – Read more