PriceSmart foods Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, Scheduling Problems
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cloverdale, BCJanuary 27, 2016
This was a very fun job working with amazing people and an overall good experience. There were issues with scheduling errors and being scheduled on my unavailable hours (that the store was given), as well as no notice to online scheduling changes.
Pros
Fun Workplace
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice paced work environment with wonderful employees
Cashier (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BCDecember 9, 2015
It was a wonderful place to work with excellent managers and customers. Was a fast paced job that i enjoyed. Would work for the company again.
Pros
Very friendly
Cons
Was hard with school so I had to quit
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment & not fair in giving shift work
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCApril 17, 2015
Stressful
There are biases existing
There is almost little or no recognition
Blaming is common
I was charged with an offense which was not proven existed
2 Male Supervisors "lied" telling me I should have been written off for leaving a customer but I was on holidays that time.
Most of the employees cannot be trusted & only a few are real people or friends
Back biting is common
Pros
Benefits & Vacations
Cons
Favoritism exists especiall when it comes to "white people"
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy Assistant
Pharmacy Technician, Front store cashier (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCSeptember 16, 2014
greet customers, entered patient information, counted pills/medication, prepared compound prescriptions, met new and interesting people, handled cash transactions, otc products
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cloverdale, BCJune 17, 2014
Working in the bakery department of PriceSmart Foods allowed me to gain time management skills and getting orders out on time by a certain deadline. A lot of creativity was required when decorating cakes and other food items based on customers ideas and needs.
Pros
full time hours, pay, vacations.
Cons
unhappy customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a 3
Food Clerk (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCDecember 12, 2013
The people and customers were all different but that is was makes the job rewarding, there is to much management and overall disorganized to many chiefs no enough Indians, they treat everybody like children and there is favoritism, it is supposed to be based on seniority but it isn't they want open availability and offer nothing,and the management lies, so good luck the jobs themselves are straightforward!
Pros
most of the staff are good
Cons
open availability
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pricesmart foods
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Cloverdale, BCSeptember 10, 2013
somedays can be very busy but i learned that you need to be calm and relaxed, because if you get uptight and frustrated then you will be having promblems with cutomers and line ups..i find in every work place that there will always be co-workers who like you and dont. the hardest part of the job is handling customers who get mad at you and swear at you..
enjoyable part of the job is hearing that you did a great job..
Pros
free lunches on tuesdays
Cons
different hours for each day
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Cashier, Floral Dept. and Bakery (Former Employee) –  Langley, BCApril 29, 2013
Great customer experience. I enjoy working with customers one-on-one.
Pros
staff lunches
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun great place to work
Service Specialist/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCJune 28, 2012
I am a hard worker so no problem there. The pay is not the greatest but I love the people I work with. I love helping in every way I can with the customers which is the most enjoyable part of the job. I have learned a new skill being cashier.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No11

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture