Find companies:
Praxair
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
172 reviews

Praxair Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Praxair
Transportation Compliance Manager (Former Employee), ChicagoMay 22, 2013
Pros: great vacation plan
Cons: higher health cost
Praxair Inc. was a great company to work for. They offered a lot of opportunities to advance yourself.
A typical day consisted of solving problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
DME Clerk (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 21, 2013
Pros: benefits, pay
My work day at Praxair consisted of processing DME orders that came from different doctors offices. I learned to process these orders fast and effectively so that the patient could received their product in time, as well as what the different equipment is used for. The managemet was great as well as the co-workers.

The hardest part of the job was attending – more... to the drivers needing new work order tickets when only one customer service person was on duty. I did enjoy my co-workers and the work environment was not stressful at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very ethical company
engineer instrumentation (Former Employee), toranagallu, bellary indiaMay 15, 2013
Pros: good and proven procedures followed in completing hazardous tasks
It's a privilege to work in this company. The job offered was very hard but the procedures company followed made it easy and at end of day it offered more satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
“Left Company to beter myself.”
Operation Manager (Former Employee), Long Beach Ca.May 14, 2013
Pros: a wide variety of people to work with. plenty of o.t. if you want.
Cons: while integrity is talked about as a value, there are unethical situations that are tolerated, people are very aware of these situations which ultimately results in a hefty amount of skepticism, of management and hr. people are afraid to bring anything forward due to fear of retaliation
Time is flexible based on your manager. While there is always the potential to get a micro-manager, clock-watching is not the norm. You end up working more than your fair share of hours anyway.

Advice to Senior Management – There is a breaking point to all changes that are made and you have exceeded that point.. Accountants run the Company based on – more... numbers and make adjustments according to those numbers without looking at how it is going affect your company long term as well as your customers.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Standard remote plant technician (Former Employee), Tonawanda, NYMay 8, 2013
Pros: they take care of there employees.
Cons: really can't see one.
Great benefits and paid well. Autonomy granted to employees. As a plant technician I was always on the road and working alone. I needed more interaction with other people on a daily basis. I changed careers. For the right person this is a dream. I stayed 5 years and don't regret it for one moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Quality Control Laboratory Technician III (Former Employee), Kingman, AZApril 29, 2013
Nice place to work. Good work/life balance and safety culture. Would like to work there again.

Knowing – May 2, 2013

Interested in finding a review of Remedy Staffing agency, in the Tonawanda, New York area. i.e. did they find you work? how long did it take to get placed in a position? what type of work did you get?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun family oriented group.
A/R Credit & Collections/Customer Serv & Support (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAApril 27, 2013
Pros: enjoyed personnel.
Cons: location not easy for parking.
Very easy going personnel. Great team environment. Very safety conscious.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company values and ethics.
Bulk Operations Manager (Current Employee), PRApril 21, 2013
Pros: company car, good retirement program.
Cons: work load vs salary.
Praxair is a world leader company with excellent values and ethics. They encourage employee development and career success. They will show you different company areas where you will learn about process management and operation, as well as, inventory and finance control. Good workplace and disciplines from peers and supervisors.

Work intensive company. – more... Will require a lot of hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that strives for safety while meeting the demand of their customers
Plant/ Facility Engineer (Current Employee), Groves, TXApril 20, 2013
A typical day would consist of working in a plant environment working in engineerinig as a support to operation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Praxair
Credit and Collections II (Former Employee), The Woodlands, TXApril 16, 2013
Praxair was a good company to work for, for the short time I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great people to work with.
Jr. Material Handler (Former Employee), Speedway, INApril 15, 2013
prepping parts to be powder coated, operated grit blaster.
I learned how to run the grit blaster. The management was good considering work was slow and they were under a lot of stress. My co-workers were great. The hardest part of the job was when we needed to work 19 days without a day off. Doing the job correctly and trying to beat my own goals. Being – more... with a group of hard workers that care about each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Cylinder Processor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 9, 2013
Pros: good training
Cons: not much room for advancement
This company was a good start for me to learn the industrial side of the medicdal field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another body
Processor (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 25, 2013
Pros: overtime
Cons: too many hours, no personal life
A company that preaches safety but doesn't back it up. The pay is at the low end of the industry.

AlexN – April 30, 2013

Your Pro and Con is the same thing...which one is it good or bad?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
filled medical tank
Filler Operator (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 12, 2013
Am a hard worker, fill tanks, load them on truck, learn to work alone and use my time wisly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and safety-conscious
Facility Manager (Former Employee), Deer Park, TXFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: organized and safety-conscious
Cons: job security not strong
Safety - Maintained good overall safety program with Zero Accidents objective, Implemented successfully tools and processes that met company ZERO ACCIDENT and local strategic objectives, including
maintaining a safe workplace, Developed and Implemented (with assistance from Corporate HSE) annual HSE plan, Followed without exception Praxair's standard – more... operating procedures, including compliance to all recordkeeping requirements, Maintained site's compliance with FDA, DOT, OSHA, EPA and any other
regulatory agency, Led and attended monthly plant safety meetings.
•Employee Development - Provided opportunities for on-going training through LMS.
Technical Expertise: - Possessed Technical degree or equivalent experience in an applicable fill plant
operation and cylinder distribution processes, Possessed supervisor and employee management skills,
Extensive working knowledge of FDA, DOT, OSHA, EPA and other government regulations, Knowledge of "Best Practices", and Knowledge of how to apply principles of root cause analysis during Quality Incident Report closures.

Additionally, refer to Customer Service, Plant Efficiency, Accounting and Quality sections below under Airgas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice company to work for. The Managers treat you like a friend.
CNC- Lathe Machinist/Programmer (Former Employee), Orangeburg, NYFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: good salary and lots of overtime.
Cons: long time employees are not able to akcept and create new work techniques.
I worked for 1 year for praxair. The Salary was great also the people.
Thank you Praxair!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total joke!
Shipper (Former Employee), Edmonton, 34 stFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: decent pay
Cons: managment is a joke, no job security, safety hazards
Hmm let's see.
The management is a joke!
The so called senior workers treat anyone below them as just that!
Have an opinion on how to improve production? Keep it to yourself!
I worked in a winter location, requiring outdoor forklifts, what did we get to work with? Indoor lifts! Absolutely useless in the snow!
Employees like to talk behind your back, – more... like a junior high environment.
Management would constantly tell you one thing and do the opposite.
When you bring your concerns up, safety or otherwise, your basically shunned for doing so.
Great pay, if your willing to sacrifice your dignity, otherwise, stay away!
This place is an accident waiting to happen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely dispicable hiring practices and appalling management.
Shipper (Former Employee), Edmonton, 34stFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: wage
Cons: unstable, inhospitable work environment
I applied to the night shift position, as I was already employed at another job, the night shift seemed ideal.
The first two weeks went well.
Training was a fairly simple process, as anybody can move cylinders from point A to point B.
Within 2 weeks of doing very well, on the night shift, I was moved to the morning shift, against my will.
I expressed – more... to the management my concerns about this, as it would conflict with my other job.
Management assured me I had nothing to worry about.
I was then placed on a 3 week trial period, where once again I was assured a secure position. (management shook my hand on this!)
During those 3 weeks I felt a general sense of disdain from other employees.
I enquired to my manager as to what would happen after the 3 weeks were up.
He said "come in Monday, we'll work something out".
Upon returning from my first break on Monday, I was released, with no explanation as to why.
This is a great job to have one foot out the door!

This all my personal experience and opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh...
Inside Sales (Current Employee), austin, TXFebruary 6, 2013
its ok....but not a lot of future opportunity outside of Houston
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
F.A.A. Certified Repairman, Quality (Former Employee), North Kansas City, MOFebruary 4, 2013
Praxair was a very good company to work for until Sept. 11, 2001. After the 911 tragedy, the company started the process of selling our part of their busuness which is the Aviation Component Repair Services.

About Praxair

Praxair makes lighter than air and heavier than air gases available for practical applications. The largest North American industrial – Read more