Find companies:
Praxair
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
146 reviews

Praxair Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Client Service Manager (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 25, 2013
Not much to say other than not really a good company to work for. They say one thing but end up doing something else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and challenging work.
Route Co-Management (Former Employee), Cahokia, ILJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: free lunches, recognition for a job done well & safely.
Cons: the selling of their co2 division.
Praxair, Inc. was a great place to learn about the compressed gas distribution industry. There was an abundance of federal, state, and industry regulations and rules to be mindful of while performing my duties. I would deliver liquid CO2 that customers used in the carbonation of various consumer drinks. Our area was large and spread out in two states, – more... Missouri & Illinois, so there were many, many customers to provide with our services. Management would do there best to help us out with solutions to onsite issues, but because of the physical distance some routes were from the plant, it was on us to problem solve and work independently. I learned a great deal working at Praxair. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE TO WORK
CYLINDER FILLER/ TRUCK LOADER (Former Employee), Geismar, LAJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: day job
Cons: working in the rain
MY WORK CONSISTED OF 8 HOURS AND I MET ONE OF MY CLOSES FRIENDS WHO IM CURRENT STILL IN CONTACT WITH
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Cryogenic Plant Operator (Current Employee), Fairfield, ALJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: good compensation package
Cons: health insurance
No complaints good work enviroment. Friendly and helpful co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Cryogenic Plant Operator (Current Employee), Fairfield, ALJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: good compensation package
Cons: health insurance
No complaints good work enviroment. Friendly and helpful co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun person to work around.
Operations Technician (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INDecember 9, 2012
Typical day at work consist of setting up torch and run robot arm to coat parts. Rebuild torches when they are no longer running and clean out the cubicle. Check and make sure the the parts are being coated properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to broaden understanding of industrial gas business.
NAmerica Dist. & Fleet Business Processes (Former Employee), Burr RidgeNovember 19, 2012
Pros: field personnel are subject matter experts in their field.
Cons: robust processes challenged by decentralized business structure.
There are so many positive things happening at Praxair - in large part because there are so many smart people who work in the field. This is an excellent place to learn the industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Stinks
Helium CSR (Former Employee), Bushton, KSNovember 17, 2012
Culture is ok, management is a joke. Very immature, childish, high school like atmosphere.

Shaneice – April 8, 2013

That same managment was moved to Houston and I concure 100%. Houston has more job opputunities than Bushton so the turnover has been crazy.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work and caring people.
Infusion Confirmation Specialist (Former Employee), Aston, PAOctober 30, 2012
Pros: location
I haven't worked there in some time so I feel that a review would be unwarranted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Electronic Technician (Current Employee), Speedway, INOctober 18, 2012
Pros: very flexable and fun to work at
Cons: very short breaks
Great place to work with many opportunities to excell within the company. Very friendly environment and everyone being treated equaly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety is priority 1,very well benefits and profit sharing.
Lead Supervisor (Former Employee), Roseville, MNOctober 3, 2012
Pros: great benefits, great pay.
Cons: cold weather and sickness was a part of the job.
3rd shift, Loading and unloading of route trucks, and semi trailers, preparing load manifest for hazardous materials to be loaded, Working in Minnesota with sub zero temperatures, going in and out of the cold after being in a warm place caused many sick days.on the job performance incentives like employee cookouts during work hours, with employee choice – more... of menu items. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Copy has very good benifits
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Greenville, TXSeptember 29, 2012
Work days where very good.
learned many thing about, excel,word and others.
we had a very good management.
had a good group of people to wrk with.
dealing with our patients that pass on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Posted in Resume
Plant Technician/ Driver (Former Employee), Hopewell, VASeptember 24, 2012
typical day at work, hours would vary from day to day, Plant manager and coworkers all worked toggther to get the job done for following days orders. Some days I would drive 300 plus miles delivering dryice, other days would watch pressures and make dryice or do maintance on machines as needed.. At the end of each day me and coworker cleaned and secured – more... building. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to get your career started
Process Technician (Current Employee), Taft, LAAugust 31, 2012
Pros: fast and easy to learn
Cons: low pay
It all depends on how diliveries are the night before, It can be extremely easy or a very very heavy work day.

You can learn as much as you would like to. Not all job task are required to be done by everyone.

Managemen is good.

Honestly for me nothing is too difficult to do in my daily job task.

Our safety meetings are probably the best, not at – more... all boring. helpfull info. every time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and enhance one's technical capabilities.
Development Associate II-OTM Membranes (Former Employee), Danbury, CTAugust 31, 2012
Big Fortune 500 company, great place to start a career....company offers the flexibility to chalk out person's own career path. For mid career hire it's a different story. Expectations varies depending on the position, technical expertise sought and delivered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRAXAIR INC.
Project Management Design (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYAugust 20, 2012
Pros: there was generally a good report conveyed thru management.
Cons: there was no back-up technical person available when i was on required company travel.
Work was always interesting in that there were challenging duties that required prioritizing of daily tasks that resulted in making certain that all of them were addressed.
I learned that the customer was the most important part of the job at hand.
Management internal and external were constantly seeking my expertise and I was proud to attend to their – more... individal needs.
Co-workers were team players that added to the bottom line in solving departmental technical issues and assignments.
The hardest part of the job was being able to balance the work required at the office while on required extended company travel.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and working with new customers during company presentations in order to win new business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
INSPECTOR (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 15, 2012
Pros: 12 hrs
Cons: / benefits no good
all i would do is inspect rotors blast rotors coated the rotors and then check them with a i.d. or a o.d. mic to make sure the size is right.

i learned a lot from blasting to finaling

managment was always thinking about u

kept a way from co workers

nothing was hard about my job

•the most enjoyable part of the job is lunch
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job fun and enjoyable to work for
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fresno Ca.August 9, 2012
Pros: great hours
Cons: some wekend work
start day pretrip count my load. And drive to my destination.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ENJOYABLE WORKING ENVIROMENT
Collector (Former Employee), Cuyahoga Falls, OHJuly 26, 2012
Pros: the hours you worked and the pay
INBOUND AND OUTBOUND CALLS I LEARNED A LITTLE MORE ABOUT INSURANCES AND THE LAWS OF COLLECTIONS. MY COWORKS WERE HELPFUL AND KNOWLEDGEABLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud Tradition of a Great Company as it Slides to Ruin
Cust Serv Tech III - Industrial Gas Operations (Current Employee), Tonawanda, NYJuly 23, 2012
Pros: excellent pay, good benefits (which are slipping away), mostly great working hours, good work environment
Cons: poor management from the top down, too much emphasis on corporate mentality and not on being the best in the industry, slaves to the stock price, poor relations with ground level employees
While Praxair is a solid company, and very reputable in this industry, they have shifted their mentality in a very short amount of time from "good employees provide good work with good results for the customers" to the idea that "we can lead the industry by being in the middle of the pack so long as profits stay high". The company amazingly makes record – more... profits routinely, and they do so with one of the surprisingly safest records in the industry, considering the amount of employee turnover they have. Yet with all that cash rolling in, employees have difficulties in procuring basic items like printer paper and chairs. Management from the top down emphasizes the most useless things in an attempt to catch up with all the other corporate jargon and junk that other companies provide. Middle level management is terrified of losing their jobs, scared to make any kind of meaningful decision, and most are only focused on how to get promoted, not on how to make Praxair the best company it can be. That being said, I appreciate the opportunity to work there, as this is a great company with good benefits and pay for people with the right skills. Unfortunately, this company finds people with the right skills, and then either uses them mercilessly until they quit or forces them to leave because they find these people to not be "team players". The hardest part of your job here is not the day to day grind, which is actually quite easy for most competent employees; it is the constant search every day for the "company line" just so you know where to put your toes before they get chopped off as the company removes support for its employees. It seems in just my time here, Praxair has gotten very bloated and top heavy, and that it is only a matter of time before stock prices just can't support the payroll of VPs and executive fellows. Too bad it will probably come on the heels of a bad accident that they are overdue for, and it will show just how poor of a quality of training and care they provide for their employees in an attempt to please share holders, most of whom are also executives. – less

Tommy – June 18, 2013

Just make the stop and don't get hurt- if its not safe don't do the job-----RIGHT do the stop even if its not safe-- you get hurt its your fault. Its always your fault no matter what. A very very long term employee told me it wasn't always like this just the past 5 years or so.

About Praxair

Praxair makes lighter than air and heavier than air gases available for practical applications. The largest North American industrial – Read more