Find companies:
Pratt & Whitney
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
143 reviews

Pratt & Whitney Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed relationship building and helping others resolve issues
Customer Account Manager (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: benefits, salary
Cons: long meetings
A typical day at my previous position was filled with meetings, daily tasks and working with internal and external customers, operations, engineering and quality. The co-workers and management were team players. The most enjoyable part of the job was relationship building and helping others resolve issues. The most challenging part of this position – more... was time management, which I did well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Airport Warehouse environment
File Clerk (Former Employee), San Mateo, CASeptember 17, 2013
Pros: every month a department luncheon
Cons: no cons
• File records away in alphabetical or numerical order. Code files for proper placement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large aerospace company
Manufacturing Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), North Berwick, MESeptember 12, 2013
As with many companies there are pros and cons to working at Pratt and Whitney. The base salaries are generous, but the benefits are lacking. Days are always busy, which is always beneficial, but the management team is stretched thin.
It's exciting working on aerospace hardware and my coworkers are excellent, which is the most enjoyable part of the – more... job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and challenging work. Friendly and intelligent workforce.
Specialist, Financial Planning and Analysis (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: freedom to innovate, talented and motivated co-workers.
Cons: benefits were deteriorating every year. job security was also declining.
A typical day at work was the reporting and analysis of financial data. I constantly strove to improve our group's financial data extraction, organization, and analysis to better the decision making process.

I received all of my financial training from Pratt and Whitney. I also learned the importance of building mistake proofing into all the computer – more... tools and processes that I developed.

The management team gave their employees much freedom to perform their job duties, but also provided sufficient guidance and direction to keep everyone aligned with company goals.

Their really wasn't a hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was the freedom to grow and improve my job plus the talent and personality of the workforce. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer, great opportunities
Site Manager F117 LPM Depot Overhaul (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 5, 2013
Great place to work with worldwide opportunities to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work.
Invoice Analyst (Current Employee), Columbus, GASeptember 4, 2013
Company has excellent employees that make it enjoyable to come to work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally enjoyable workplace with productive passionate employees
Procurement - Account Specialist (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: pro active learning and personal development
Begin the day going through several emails as many international suppliers work on an opposite schedule. Have a meeting with the international supplier early in the morning and manage the on going projects. Look at strategic opportunities of how to develop the supplier. Track parts and place orders for material to be used in engine development/production – more... and for spares customers. Negotiate contracts for material as necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A world leader in jet engine industry with many opportunities for advancement. One of the best educational assistance programs in any industry.
Flight Test Instrumentation Engineer (Current Employee), Middletown, CTSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: educational assistance, on the job training, team environment
Cons: long hours, healthcare
1) Typically day - 1/3 meetings, 1/3 desk/office work, 1/3 lab work
2) Continuously learning, both on the job and specialized training.
3) Great immediate management team - fosters an environment for learning and career building.
4) Hardworking, intelligent and helpful co-workers. Most of my own the job learning provided by immediate team members.
5) – more... Hardest part of the job is extended traveling
6) Most enjoyable part of the job is when the engine is at test and the instrumentation is gathering the critical data needed to validate the design . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rocketdyne was purchased from Boeing by UTC
Project Lead/Systems Analyst - Quality Systems (Former Employee), Canoga Park, CASeptember 1, 2013
UTC was very strict with their investment funds into Rocketdyne. This had a negative affect on the future of Rocketdyne's business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
F117 Repair Management / Military Engines (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTAugust 29, 2013
Pros: they pay for your education.
Met some life-long friends working at Pratt. They are not afraid to reduce head count.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Class
Cooperation Engineer (Former Employee), Springdale, ARAugust 27, 2013
Pratt and Whitney is truly a world class company, and the know it. The company is full of pride, which has its pros and cons. The people are great at P&W, and mostly, the work among all departments is very intriguing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive work
MRP CONTROLLER-SAP Planning (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTAugust 20, 2013
Pros: cash awards
Cons: working through sundays and no compensation
co- workers are wonderful to work with
Meeting planning goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a rewarding place to work
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), san francisco ca 94128August 14, 2013
Pros: casual work environment but daily dead lines still needed to be met
Cons: sometimes breaks and luncheswere cut short to get back to work to complete daily workload
Arrive at 5:30 log into p/c then print out daily reports and e-mail updates from previous night on swing shift to the materials team. check emails for anything that needs special attention for today to meet marshaling deadlines. talk to warehouse lead to go over daily plans and oversee any issues that arise during the morning. After lunch coordinate – more... anything needed for swing shift with inspection to make sure parts are available for marshaling. Meet with swing shift to advise of anything that's needed for tonight. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company, Small feel
Engineering Intern (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTAugust 13, 2013
I was lucky enough to work in UTRC, so most of my experience was that of a small-company backed by a large capital. It was my first job, so I was not given as much responsibility. However, UTRC is an extremely motivated division and company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company, family orientated
analog development engineer (Former Employee), Canoga Park, CAAugust 13, 2013
Pros: good pay compensation
Cons: subseptable to government contracts
I enjoyed working at Rocketdyne. The people were nice and they struggled to keep people employed. There was a good severance package.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Analyst
Material Analyst (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 9, 2013
Provided aircraft parts ahead of time to the production team so they could finish there product ahead of schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electronics Engineer
Engineering Student Associate (Former Employee), Canoga Park, CAAugust 9, 2013
Very talented people at this company.
Being a student worker at the time, I learned very much about what it is to be an engineer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Team Member (Former Employee), PuneJuly 27, 2013
This Project involved in creating software for travels management system of octopus. Here the Customer Can book online or call us for booking hotels for staying anywhere in UK. The Customer Can search online for various hotels and they Can see the information about the hotels they Can book the desired hotel by filling members size ,check in and checkout – more... etc. The system contains 4 modules i.e. Admin, Customer, hotels and services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating products
Human Resource Associate (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTJuly 9, 2013
This was my first position out of graduate school. It was an incredibly unique opportunity to work as a human resource generalist supporting the assembly and test of jet engines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee satisfaction
Acting Cell Leader / Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTJuly 8, 2013
Pros: employee relations, team building, & customer satisfaction
The most enjoyable part of my job is when I create employee satisfaction. At least once a day, an operator will approach my desk and ask for assistance. The majority of the time, we are able to resolve the issue together. The feeling I receive when I notice the employee satisfication in the operator's face, is the reason I continue to come back to work – more... everyday. – less

About Pratt & Whitney

United Technologies (UTC) lifts you up and cools you down. Carrier, Otis, UTC Climate Controls & Security, Pratt & Whitney, Sikorsky, and Power – Read more

Pratt & Whitney Photos