Find companies:
Pratt & Whitney
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
162 reviews

Pratt & Whitney Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was lucky to be involved in many Mfg/ and Program Areas
Product and Process Quality Manager (Former Employee), East HartfordDecember 24, 2013
Pratt & Whitney is full of opportunities. P&W is an ACE culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great aerospace company
Deputy Program Manager (Current Employee), GADecember 17, 2013
opportunity to work all aspects of engine development and mainteneance. Global locations. diverse workforce
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the company on F100 JET ENGINES
Component Repair Technician (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 16, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short lunches
prductive and responsable palace to work very instresting working on jet engnes.I learn how to inspect and repair jet engine parts,management was ok my co-workers was fun working with very dependable,my hardest part of the job was learning how to read tech orders and the most enjoyable part was working on jet engines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment working with great individuals who worked as a team to get the job done.
Flight Operations Engineer (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTDecember 8, 2013
This job was enjoyable in every way. There were many responsibilities associated with this position and it was very fulfilling. Tasks varied everyday and I enjoyed the ongoing challenge and working with all types of people. Our group was involved with engineering support, project management, operational control, financial management and mechanical engineering – more... disciplines. In order to meet customer demands and time constraints, prioritizing tasks was the biggest challenge. However, the mentality and the teamwork of the other co-workers and management made it easier. In conclusion, it was a great place to work, learn and contribute. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Midland, GADecember 3, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
NA: Worked as a temp moving boxes around..was able to learn some things from different skill sets of the full time employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities for growth, Lean Initiative Company, Competitive Salaries and Benefits
Controller / VP Finance & Administration (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 26, 2013
Pros: good compensation and benefits
Cons: none noted
Enjoyed working in this environment as we were allowed to run the business and determine our destiny. A typical day is 10 hours where I aspired to bye a major contributor to the success of the bottom line and grow its sales / profitability in the years I worked at Pratt Whitney. Overall the management team was excellent and the matrix organizational – more... structure made sense. The most hardest part of this job was to motivate the employee base as a result of sequestration pressures and awareness of the market place in the industry. I enjoyed the interactive decision making process and being a part of a successful company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Shipping/Receiving Coordinator (Former Employee), DFW Airport, TXNovember 14, 2013
Pros: very laid back and self controlling
Cons: lack of directions
Had a thrill working with aircraft engines. Just wish it lasted longer.
Loved the people and the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2.5 yr avg management cycle can create chaos!
Supplier Development Engineer (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTNovember 6, 2013
It seems in some departments, management cycles into a new position after 18 mos to 3 years. Sometimes that's good, sometimes it creates chaos!

Though you work long hours, it's a great company overall. I would go back in a heartbeat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cycle Counter (Former Employee), Irving, TXOctober 29, 2013
Pros: ability to learn new things daily
Employees and supervisors were nice and polite. Even though I was a temp I was always included in functions which made me feel like I belonged with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work everyone at every level was professional. The product and the customer requirements always came first.
Validation Test Prep Mechanic (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTOctober 20, 2013
Pros: good benifits
Everyone enjoyed their work. The work force was so diverified. Every employee seemed very knowledgeable in what they did . Everyone at every level always stopped and helped if you needed help. You never felt stranded or alone when you made a decison.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Class Aerospace company
QUALITY MANAGER (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 14, 2013
Pros: strong culture, well managed, professional and nurturing environment
Strong culture, ACE tools are well developed and implemented in all locations. People are some of the best in the business. Even though a large company, still maintains feeling of being in a family with excellent support, direction, and resources available. Benefits are World Class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security, overall decent place to work.
SENIOR PROCUREMENT ANALYST (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTOctober 11, 2013
Pratt & Whitney, though currently there is no job security, overall it was a decent place to work. I feel their is age discrimination when it comes to lay-offs and the hardest part of the job was coworkers complaining and not putting forth an effort in their work. The most enjoyable part of the job was the flexibility of hours. My direct manager showed – more... favoritism and it was clearly noticed throughout the workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've learned a lot over the years...
Sr Bus Support Analyst/Quality, Mtls & Ops (Former Employee), San Antonio, TexasOctober 10, 2013
Pros: paid educational program, 401k
As I moved and progressed with the company I have learned a lot! Purchasing/procurement was a great place to begin and I got my "feet wet" with dealing with many different types of customers, suppliers and vendors from all over the world. I expanded my horizon with scheduling and planning, which provided a different insight into the inner workings of – more... the company. Along the way I picked up more projects to lead and, eventually, led an important military contract program, which provided me with a lot of exposure. I am pleased to assist newer employees as they navigate the company and provide them with kernals of knowledge so that, hopefully, they too may have a long and fulfilling career at Pratt & Whitney! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very solid company. Can be bureaucratic. Conservative
Regional General Manager (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTOctober 8, 2013
Pros: excellent name recognition in the industry
Cons: very slow to get things done and make changes
Lots of meetings. Once you know the operating system and is willing to work within it, you can accomplish most goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on environment, could be a great place for one's career
Financial Planning & Analysis Manager (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTOctober 8, 2013
Pros: employees treated fairly, paid for graduate courses
Cons: hard to move forward in such a large corporate environment
I was employed at Pratt & Whitney for close to 10 years. During that time, I saw a lot of typical big company activities - both good and bad.
Through the ten years, I witnessed 5 rounds of lay-offs with 3 of these occurring in the last year and a half of my employment there. This is due to their revenue model in which all is keyed to the aftermarket – more... as opposed to new engine sales.

One of the things the company was generous on was funding education. To have a company pay for all courses towards a degree in this day is rare.

Overall, it was a decent place to work as long as you understand the advantages and shortcomings of working in a large corporate environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working enviornemnt
Design Engineer (Former Employee), Middletown, CTOctober 2, 2013
Pros: work environment, projects
Great place for new engineers entering the work force. Lot to learn, lot of work to do, everyone is willing to help and great room for proper advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but rewarding work
Instrumentation Technician (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLOctober 1, 2013
Pros: excellent compensation
Cons: facility is long way from home
Set up, installation and calibration of sensors. Job layout and safety issues discussed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly complex, diverse and challenging organization
MANAGER, EXPORT LICENSING and COMPLIANCE (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: highly complex business models that keeping the trade compliance learning curve active
Cons: no upward growth opportunities for non-attorney based practioners
-Typical day at work involves navigating though a multitude of complex crisis, usually very time sensitive and requiring very careful analysis of current U.S. export regulations to secure solutions.
-I have learned, and continue to learn how such complex business models (most directly related to Department of Defense Programs) create the most complex – more... regulatory environments to do business internationally.
-Management -Very Hierarchy based.
-Co-Workers - competitive and aggressive – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed relationship building and helping others resolve issues
Customer Account Manager (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: benefits, salary
Cons: long meetings
A typical day at my previous position was filled with meetings, daily tasks and working with internal and external customers, operations, engineering and quality. The co-workers and management were team players. The most enjoyable part of the job was relationship building and helping others resolve issues. The most challenging part of this position – more... was time management, which I did well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Airport Warehouse environment
File Clerk (Former Employee), San Mateo, CASeptember 17, 2013
Pros: every month a department luncheon
Cons: no cons
• File records away in alphabetical or numerical order. Code files for proper placement.

About Pratt & Whitney

United Technologies (UTC) lifts you up and cools you down. Carrier, Otis, UTC Climate Controls & Security, Pratt & Whitney, Sikorsky, and Power – Read more

Pratt & Whitney Photos