Find companies:
Pratt & Whitney
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
162 reviews

Pratt & Whitney Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got laid-off...
Accessory Over-haul & Repair Senior Mechanic (Former Employee), Saint-Hubert, QCNovember 9, 2012
Worked on all accessories from all engine lines.
In the over-haul, repair, test and calibration of the unites.
Helped in the training of other mechanics in my department.
Assisted in plane crash investigations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some of the most intelligent people I have ever met.
Forensic Accountant (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTJuly 21, 2014
Some of the most intelligent people I have ever met. Great company for someone looking for the skills to be successful in business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Powerplant Mechanic (Former Employee), Columbus, GAJuly 15, 2014
Typical day at work was exciting I actualy enjoyed going to work.
I learned to hone my skills with a multimeter. learned minor electrical as replacing wires in a bundle and pin and socket removal and replacement as well as cannon plug removal and replacement.
the hardest part was working on the C117 engines that were for the air force we didn't have – more... any test equipment we had to test all by hand.
the most enjoyable part was working with co-workers. we actually a team and helped each other – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clock in and shut up & color.
Blender/Bench Mechanic (Current Employee), Springdale, ARJuly 10, 2014
Pros: pay, work atmosphere
Cons: professional satisfaction, lack of leadership
For a company that is so focused on benchmarking processes and improving the efficiency of their production line, their management is very reluctant to accept new ideas. Having a wide breadth of aviation experience and coming to P&W, I've been met with nothing but resistance to the ideas I've presented to new problems which have arisen due to the implementation – more... of a new production line. It's been frustrating to say the least.

Health insurance is mega-expensive and no where near as comprehensive as what other much smaller companies have offered me in the recent past. Not impressed UTC!

Pay is fair and overtime opportunities are almost always available. No one is getting rich there (except for management) but no one is starving either. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow in career growth
Staff Engineer (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTJuly 2, 2014
Pros: stable job
Cons: slow career growth
good place for a stable job, but with slow career growth.
if you are good at dealing with different people, this is a good place for you; if you are down to the earth working type, you feel very stressed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only drawback in work area was the work environment was severe heat in summer.
Warehouse Materials Analyst (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 2, 2014
Work with Pratt & Whitney was very enhancing in my career. The benefits and working conditions was very good. The management was very quick to take care of any problems that occurred and recognition of job performance was quick and worthwhile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Products, Antiquated Culture
N/A (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTJuly 1, 2014
Pros: lots of opportunity, training, employee scholar program
Cons: pay, culture, management, lack of transparency
Pratt & Whitney is well positioned for the future financially. Products are exciting. Culture and work/life balance is lacking. Strict hierarchy stifles creativity. For mid to lower level employees, most of the day is spent doing menial tasks in order to cater to executives without any clue about the overarching strategy. Corporate politics at their – more... worst. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company. Diversity, Education, and strong ethics
Project Engineer (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTJuly 1, 2014
Pros: exciting work, utc has excellent educational opportunities
Cons: lack of shaing in company profits
Company is trying to change its culture however it is overworking its people and holding engineer compensation down making the work/compensation ratio is radically declining.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pratt & whitney is an wonderful place to work
Coating Tech (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTJune 27, 2014
Pros: paid tuition
Cons: some jobs can be repetitive
Matching 401k with excellent pay. I miss working at Pratt & Whitney, it is an excellent place to work where the employees are treated with the utmost respect. the company will also pay tuition for any employee that is interested in furthering their education. employees also have paid sick and vacation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Working Leader (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 27, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: crazy schedules sometimes.
great place to work with well defined goals and objectives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented High Energy Friendly Work Environment
Earned Value Financial Analyst (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTJune 26, 2014
Pros: ergo work environment, health club memberships, good cafe's
Cons: long work hours, no benefits if you are a contractor
A typical day at Pratt involves heavy team communication and collaboration to meet weekly and monthly deliverables. I have learned alot in my 7 or so months at Pratt from my teammates who are always willing to lend a helping hand and give helpful tips and strategies. Management is very understanding, helpful, and easy to communicate with in regards – more... to work and personal issues. My co-workers are also very friendly, hardworking, goal oriented people. I have learned alot about my role as a financial analyst, Pratt and Whitney in general, and about the programs I support. The hardest part of my job I would have to say is the high pressure to meet deadlines at times. The most enjoyable part of the job is the feeling of being part of a hardworking team with a shared common goal. It is a great feeling when the collaborative effort day after day leads us to improve our strategies, deliver reports/required reviews in a more timely manner than the month before, and you never feel like you are alone when there is an issue you are having trouble finding a solution too. It's challenging and rewarding at the same time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and good people to work with.
Processing and Deveolpment (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTMay 15, 2014
Pros: they had a very good cook in the cafeteria.
Cons: having to do other peoples work when they didn't show up.
Enjoyed going to work and accomplishing what was required of me at any given time. I learned how to strip blast, how to use a fork lift and always kept my area spotless. I never had any problems with management, they always treated me with respect. I was also well respected by my co-workers and made some good friends. Taking the jobs out of the ovens, – more... because they were very hot so you had to be very careful not to get burned. Accomplishing a good days work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed this place
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Berwick, MEMay 14, 2014
I liked the fact that I was able to work with or independently of other personnel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with.
Analyst for all Military programs (Former Employee), East Hartford CTMay 10, 2014
A great work place. Working with others to complete the task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and great place to work until the down sizing started.
Materials Processing-Technical (Former Employee), Jupiter, FLMay 4, 2014
Pros: interesting and rewarding work with great people to work with.
Cons: mandatory 20% get no pay increase per year???
First 19 years was a fun place to work. As soon as they let the bean counters take over things started to get tough. Whenever GE laid off Pratt had to match it even though we were getting the contracts. The best part of working there was the people you got to work with until they were let go. The hardest part of being there was feeling like you had – more... a target on your back daily. Moving Military Jet Engines to Hartford was the biggest mistake ever made because so much of the high end talent walked out the door rather than go and it cost them 3x what it was planned. The worst mind set is that all engineers make good Supervisors. The buddy system is alive and well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting Edge Export Compliance
Export Audit Manager (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTMay 1, 2014
P&W has one of the sexiest product lines in manufacturing with jet engines on a variety of military platforms from attack helicopters to the F16, andJoint Strike Fighter. With a global footprint, it's a challenge to coordinate compliance with US Export laws.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very friendly environment
MC&O Financial Planning & Analyst (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTApril 25, 2014
Pratt & Whitney have the most welcoming and friendly environment for the new employee. The environment made my internship life to be easier and comfortable to ask questions when I was confused. This helped me to be solve my problem and be productive in what I was doing rather than just sitting and not completing my work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employees and management.
Sr. Tech A-EngSvc/Project Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 23, 2014
Great benefits and healthy workplace.//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a decent place to work.
Industrial Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Columbus, GAApril 17, 2014
Pros: company benifits, average pay for the area.
Cons: management, no room to move or advancement
Well , over the last ten years the starting pay hasn't increased much like it should have. They will hire who they can get for the least amount of money. You better get money out of them to start or you will not get it. They used to have a progression of money and evaluations every 90 days until you got to a certain level. Well they just cut that out – more... to keep down payroll Production people will make as much as you or more ! Benefits are really great because of the union up north. They get union benefits without having a union. If it were up to the guys in Columbus the good things would be cut out completely. Overall the maintenance dept has a very bad morale. The maintenance mgr has never done or been in maintenance, so if this is important to you, consider it . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super good company
Turbine Blades Blender (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXApril 1, 2014
Pros: organization
Cons: nothing
It is a great company to work for the pay is not exotic but it is OK and the co-workers are great, they like to help others.

1 2 3 4 5

About Pratt & Whitney

United Technologies (UTC) lifts you up and cools you down. Carrier, Otis, UTC Climate Controls & Security, Pratt & Whitney, Sikorsky, and Power – Read more

Pratt & Whitney Photos