Find companies:
PPG Industries
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
165 reviews

PPG Industries Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsat
Seasonal Worker (Former Employee), Louisville, KYApril 8, 2013
Pros: hrly. wage
Cons: unprofessionally hazardous
Not worth the time, energy nor effort due to lack of training and haphazard factory environment of 'seasonal' labor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only profit matters,any sort of loyalty doesnt
Manager (Former Employee), ScotlandApril 8, 2013
Pros: redundancy
Cons: time taken to be made redundant
Happy to be recently made redundant ! Management at Head Office short sighted,re-active and generally incompetant. Management at local level ignorant,small minded,ruthless and generally incompetant. Great products wasted and decent staff abused by PPG " chasing the dream ". Work for PPG if you have no self respect and self worth.
I repeat, happy to – more... be recently made redundant ! – less

Bodwin – June 27, 2013

As a current employee, I would say that this comment sums up the company perfectly - well said!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
respectful and a good place to work
Laborer (Current Employee), Burlington, IAMarch 21, 2013
A typical day is a meeting in the morning then on to your day of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are exceptional nice!
temporary worker (Former Employee), Berea, KyMarch 20, 2013
Pros: good breaks, they supply steel toed shoes
Cons: my feet hurt; but i do have flat feet -- arch supports were important for me.
I did not get to work there very long, they filled the order and then work slacked off. I was just a temporary worker.

I did enjoy the work and the people that worked there; including the managers

The hardest part of the job was when the windshields came out of a heat treatment and the molding around the edges were suppose to be pulled off, and then – more... the windshields lifted upon trays. There is a time limit, so I was always worried/anxious about being slow . The windshields weighed about 50 to 70 pounds so it is physcially demanding-- and they were hot!

I also inspected the windshields - marked blowouts with paper clips which was a great job.

I even was put in the warehouse to put together card board boxes, and steel boxes. I like to assemble stuff so I probably enjoyed that job the most.

I learned to be fast on this job. They taught me how to pay attention to details in inspection. The people that work there like to joke around while they work and they do work hard. I miss the place, but mostly the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, no advancement, but high values and job security
Lab Technician (contract) (Current Employee), PAMarch 11, 2013
Pros: good work/life balance, job security as they are "afraid to lose talent"
Cons: low pay, no/rare advancement
PPG's philosphy when it comes to contract workers is to keep them under contract and not hire them on after their contract expires (they opt to renew it under a different title to skirt the law). So far, been under contract for a year and only 1 full time position has became available (One of the other contractors who was here much longer than I got – more... the job). Pay is VERY low, think McDonalds Manager + 5 years expericence. Yes, I know this is on my contract company, but PPG is legally allowed to opt for pay raises, they just refuse to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPG was an outstanding company to work for. Retired in 2002
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee), Detroit, MIMarch 11, 2013
After retiring I have worked as a consultant in the fiber glass industry working with distributors that wanted expertise in developing the domestic markets with products from China.

I retired from that in September of 2012 but I want to get back working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that taught me a lot
Refinish Lab Technician (Current Employee), cleveland ohioMarch 6, 2013
After spending most of my adult life with this company I find myself under-stimulated, and my skills under-utilized. Multiple attempts to relocate within the company, to departments that will offer advancement, have failed. I enjoy my co-workers, and management staff, I just find myself wishing I were being challenged on a daily basis, and able to produce – more... work that I can take pride in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but fun
Order Picker (Former Employee), Aurora, ILMarch 2, 2013
it was hard work but i enjoyed working there and i learned a lot about paint
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organization to work with
Independent Consultant (Former Employee), DallasFebruary 25, 2013
I enjoyed collaborating with members of the PPG team rationalizing spray polyurethane elastomer development
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Management Trainee/ Career Development Program (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAFebruary 20, 2013
Learned a lot in my time there. Great people, cool products. Wish they had better growth potential
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Tow Motor Operator (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHFebruary 20, 2013
The work environment is fast paced, the employees are friendly and work as a team. the hardest part of the jobs are the hours you have to work (3) 12hour shifts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work history
Instrument Technician (Former Employee), Natrium, WVFebruary 14, 2013
positive place to work, good instrument apprenticeship,good management, wonderful employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that builds teamwork and efficiencies
Sr. Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: benefits and job security
Cons: lack of opportunity for advancement regionally
Support customer needs from a customer service and operational aspect. Learned about the importance of standard operating procedures and how they provide consistency to customers and to the organization. Regional management displays understanding of the satellite facilities and shows support for all needs and challenges. Majority of co-workers were – more... true team players who shared in knowledge and accepted team members input to make operations better for all. Hardest part of the job was balancing demands from sales with company procedures while always working to meet and exceed customer expectations. Most enjoyable part of my job was the strong relationships formed with long time customers and co-workers from all over the country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse company with many opportunities within various SBUs
Commercial Store Manager (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 9, 2013
Good opportunity to experience various parts of the business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it may have been hard work but it was also enjoyble
Packer/Picker, (Former Employee), Chester, SCFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: the health insurens
Cons: routaing shifts
it was a very plesant place to work for had to pack and keep up with the robots the management was very helpfull most everyboby got along with each other the routating shifts going to work and doing the very best that I could do for my counpany for I felt as if it where mine to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good company
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Noblesville, INJanuary 23, 2013
very good to employees. They understand having a work/life balance. I would have never left but unfortunately they had to downsize and I was a new employee
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat productive and enjoyable workplace.
Extruder Operator/Grinder Operator (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: company dinners 3 or more times a year.
Most days PPG was a productive place to work.Sometimes there would be some undue downtime due to a certain product that was being ran.You were cross trained on different jobs ,so you were not always doing the same job every day.Management could use more polishing,not the greatest communicators to everyone.Co-workers are great to work with.They try to – more... get together at times to do activities.The hardest part of the job was working overtime and saturdays when it made mandatory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People but Slow moving
Environmental, Health and Safety Intern (Former Employee), Allison Park, PAJanuary 20, 2013
While this job was a great learning experience from the Environmental stand point the overall work place was slow moving. The company as a whole had a older average age which lead to odd generational gaps and differences in the work place when dealing with computers and technology. I had a great experience with my co-workers but due the age gap nothing – more... really expanded beyond idle chatter. I think the hardest part of the job was keeping busy, I really wanted to working constantly but due to the lack of technology knowledge upper level management could not keep me busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, quiet, and excercise equipment
Plant Operator (Current Employee), Lake Charles, LAJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: time off, salary, 5 week vacations, management listens to my opinions
Cons: unsafe environment due to poor training, inexperienced operators, bad moral
My day starts with environmental paperwork, making unit adjustments on foxboro, optimizing setpoints to other units rates of production. Helping shift supervisor in coordinating production rates for several units in Plant-B. The hardest part of my day is not being able to run my unit to its full potential because of too many inexperienced workers and – more... maintenance budget.
The most enjoyable part is optimizing my unit at high rates so my relief doesn't have to operate for several days after my shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and good benefits with 12 hour rotating shifts.
Wet Chop/Inventory/Shipping Clerk (Former Employee), Shelby, NCJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits, 401k, overtime, and paid vacation.
Cons: fiber glass, 12 hour rotating shifts, not many weekends and holidays off.
Was a good place for me to start out in. The pay and benefits took care of my children and I til they was of age. 12 hour shifts rotating was hard at times.

About PPG Industries

PPG Industries, Inc. (PPG) is a global supplier of protective and decorative coatings. The Company operates in six segments: Performance – Read more