Find companies:
PPG Industries
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
196 reviews

PPG Industries Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty but good job for the area.
Electronics Technician (Current Employee), TXNovember 13, 2013
Pros: work with a wide variety of obsolete to high tech equipment
Cons: lack of training, low compensation, lack of advancement opportunities, very little overtime.
Working as an Electronic Technician in the glass division is rewarding and frustrating at the same time. There is basically zero training - you are just thrown into a facility that covers hundreds of acres and learn as you go. If you want to work hard and excel, or if you want to hide out and never progress you are able to do so and there is no difference – more... in pay. It is a great place to get some trial by fire experience, but the advancement opportunities are few and the compensation is not that great. That being said, I have learned alot and have worked with some great people. Management is just concerned with the bottom line and does not invest in their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all, PPG was a good place to work.
Senior Technician (Former Employee), Springdale, PANovember 9, 2013
Pros: free lab coats, safety equipment, good health benefits.
Cons: my last 10 years with the company, was spent in a department that did not value their employees.
My history with PPG Industries was an enjoyable one for the first 26 years. In 2003, I took a position within the company that was life changing. The management was not fair to anyone who did not have a four year degree and we were treated like second class citizens. Though I had been a loyal employee and rather enjoyed my employment with PPG during – more... those 26 years, this last department squelched my creativity and one by one, the jobs of those without degrees, were eliminated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Glass Winder/ Packing and Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee), Shelby, NCNovember 9, 2013
PPG is a great place to work, but nneds to keep their employees instead of laying them off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Porter Store Manager (Former Employee), Blue Springs, MONovember 6, 2013
I would not work for PPG again. sales are expected to continue grow when the corporation is unwilling to invest in advertising and the things needed to help the store grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Lead
Porter Paints (Former Employee), Greenville scOctober 29, 2013
I enjoyed this job because of the interaction with customers. I enjoy selling!! The best part of this job was actually going to the customers job site and helping them determine what steps they needed to take to get the job done in a sufficient manor for both the painter and their client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, IllinoisOctober 28, 2013
Pros: fosters team work
A typical day is anything but typical. From day to day you are always working on something different. You are always on your toes and always busy. But when you need assistance someone is always around to help. We have a good team who is willing to help out any one of us. I would say the hardest part of the job is keeping it all together, on the right – more... track to meet that goal at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Olympic Paints Territory Manager (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COOctober 26, 2013
Very conservative company with a great culture and value system. Management is supportive and will help you as you move up the ladder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPG Industries Excellent place to work
Sourcing Agent (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: they focus on your personal growth and development
working at PPG is fulfilling and I would recommend working their to anyone....great place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPG
Fitter Welder (Current Employee), Natrium, WVOctober 20, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: long work hours, and not compensated well with pay
A day of work consists of getting jobs for the day and preparing to work and getting all the tools together needed for the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and wonderful company
SOD BATCH ADJUSTER (Former Employee), Delaware,OHOctober 17, 2013
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: hazardous environment
PPG is a great place to work and a great company with excellent compensation and benefits. It is a hazardous environment and the chemicals can cause health problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work just dead end unless you want to move all over the place
N/a (Former Employee), N/aOctober 16, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: terrible pay for promotion!!!
Learned a bunch about paint but got tired of same scene all day long every day! As a company it's self it is behind the competition! Ppg just bought out akzo Nobel. But it seems the other way around! Ive never seen a company buy out another one and implement the others polices! Pay structure could be a lot better! Ppg can hire someone off the street – more... with no experience and pay them more then someone with experience! Was actually told to quit and hire back to make more money! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Filler/Batchmaker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Alexander, AROctober 16, 2013
Started work at 9pm Finished at 5am. I learned how to make paint and fill the buckets with paint using a Neupak machine. My co-workers were all friendly king of like a family. The job wasn't really that difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very compliciated
Fiber Winder Technician (Former Employee), Shelby, NCSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: skilled technician
Cons: fiber glass
The making of fiber glass from a raw material into a fine fiber string of fiber glass to its nature form
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance
Industrial Mechanic (Former Employee), Fresno, CaSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: while in maintenance you get to learn a lot and encouraged to build unique projects.
Cons: the union and management are in a constant power struggle and the workers suffer.
It is a union job so slackers get rewarded while the ones that work hard and want progress get punished with more work. Some management will step on the back of your neck in order to get a step ahead and make themselves look better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPG
Order Processor (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: good pay, great hours ext...
Absolutely loved the job perfect work environment the benefits, pay ext... one of the best work fields I have experienced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Work Experience (Former Employee), Stowmarket, ENGSeptember 23, 2013
Able to assist in a project, and shadow staff in quality control. Good experience for the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company
Paint filler (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 15, 2013
Pros: good benifits, free soda if you have no accidents! wow
Cons: very long hours/ no time for self or family
No home life balance we work 12 hour days and on Saturdays 6 hours. They just gave us Sundays to ourselves!!!! Wow.

The management (micro manages) they are very incompetent and lack people skills....don't care what you think and want to talk to you any kind of way.

The Senior people that work there are no help at all they are in clicks.

The so-called – more... union is a joke if you aren't liked they go against you.

Can't wait until I'm a former employee! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sales Management (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 5, 2013
Pros: flexable
Cons: always busy
Good place to work. Great training and good people. Meet alot of new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regional Account Manager within Home Depot
Regional Account Manager (Current Employee), Denver, COSeptember 1, 2013
Pros: self management, flexible schedule.
Cons: lack of opportunity for advancement.
A typical day at work starts early in a Home Depot store driving sales to contractors and DIY customers. I then train all associates in paint and stain related products, interact with store management and discuss sales plans and promotions. During my time at PPG paints I have learned about product launches, retail management, cost estimating, inventory – more... control, merchandising and sales strategies. The management at PPG is autonomous and allows its sales force to work in a self directed manner. Our instruction comes via email and through a Sales Force Automated application on the computer. I normally work alone within the stores but interact with numerous managers / assistant managers within the Home Depot. The hardest part of the job is usually during product launches due to the vast amount of merchandising and resets required. The most enjoyable part of the job is the constant interaction with contractors and customers within the Home Depot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for established professionals
Senior Graphic Designer (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 26, 2013
Pros: work-life balance, benefits, colleagues, brands
Cons: career advancement, location
• work-life balance is great
• management is pretty good -- they give you authority to get your job done
• co-workers were fantastic -- best team of people I've worked with
• worst part of the job -- not many opportunities for career advancement

About PPG Industries

PPG Industries, Inc. (PPG) is a global supplier of protective and decorative coatings. The Company operates in six segments: Performance – Read more