Find companies:
PPG Industries
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
212 reviews

PPG Industries Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Industrial Coatings Field Rep (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 29, 2014
PPG was very instrumental in tracking a particular business segment, as well as projecting and documenting current trends, leads, and prospective clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No day is ever the same
Territory Manager (Current Employee), Greater Boston AreaJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: getting to work autonomously, seeing business plans implemented and succeeding
Cons: salary and chance for growth
A typical day at work is not a typical day at all. In any one day I can be dealing with part time workers all the way up the chain to upper regional management, and end consumers with in my territory.

I focus on product training, plans to grow the business and help end consumers feel comfortable with my products.

I am on the road but have access to – more... my management with and email or phone call and they are always helpful. All the reps talk to one another and share success and help solve problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Richmond, TXJanuary 27, 2014
- productive
- mixing colors for customers
- good management
- good and fun loving co-workers
- color matching a paint chip for customer
- busy all day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no supervision needed
Hourly Employee (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: pacesetter unlimited overtime
Cons: 2nd shift
Pick up the pigment preassembly tickects from the factory office , fill the orders as formulated, go about my shift til complete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding Place but Good Benefits
Production Specialist (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: benefits and vacation time
Cons: not enough of proper equipment to perform the task more efficiently.
For 33 years I did about every job in the plant. I also worked in a Lab, developing custom colors for OEM.
Eight hours of hard work. Adequate breaks and lunch break. Provided enough materials but not enough equipment to do your job ergonomically.
Learned from every position I held at PPG. The most enjoyable part of the job was troubleshooting. I knew – more... enough about paint that I could figure things out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work enviornment, flexible with schedules
Laboratory technician I (contract) (Current Employee), Oak Creek, WIJanuary 21, 2014
An average workday may involve any variety of sample preparation, testing, and analysis of industrial coatings for a wide variety of clients. This also could include the daily stocking of supplies, and maintenance of equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good compnay to work for long hours
container operator (Former Employee), glass departmentJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: no family life
a lot of overtime and the overtime was 8 hours there for u work a lot of 16 hour days close container of glass for shipment with metal banding or plastic wrap in which you put containers on plastic wrap machine
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPG was a great job with great benifits
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee), East Point, GAJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: health problem
PPG bought out the best in me Some days I ran the line alone and when there was a break down on the assembly line I knew how to fix it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Position
Technical/Research & Development (Former Employee), Cleveland, ohioJanuary 3, 2014
PPG is a great place to work, but since the company reconstruction it takes a while to get hired in as a fulltime employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced productive
assembler (Former Employee), Newark, DEDecember 30, 2013
Pros: excellant healyh care
Cons: short breaks
great team players it made going to work a pleasure. Second shift I enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Again
Store Manager (Former Employee), MerseysideDecember 17, 2013
Cons: working on own
I found management untrustworthy. Slow at paying money owed to you and still waiting after 6 months. A lot of the time you work on your own struggling to serve customers. answer phone place and receive orders many times not having lunch on visits from area managers they watch while you struggle. not a good firm to work for .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environemt with friendly happy workers
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 15, 2013
Pros: had a kitchen for lunch time
Cons: smell of paint
Came to work with smiling faces and people were ready to tackle the day with positivity and poise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Material Handler (Former Employee), Shelby, NCDecember 4, 2013
Pros: rough, nasty environment
Cons: money
Working in a fiber glass plant is pretty nasty. Everyday you take work home with you. your clothes get ruined, skin gets irritated. But it is a secure job, Every week i had a pay check and there is always knew things to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unworthly of review.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), McAllen, TXNovember 14, 2013
Fast pace. No managemant support. Very unfriendly. I do not wnts to review this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty but good job for the area.
Electronics Technician (Current Employee), TXNovember 13, 2013
Pros: work with a wide variety of obsolete to high tech equipment
Cons: lack of training, low compensation, lack of advancement opportunities, very little overtime.
Working as an Electronic Technician in the glass division is rewarding and frustrating at the same time. There is basically zero training - you are just thrown into a facility that covers hundreds of acres and learn as you go. If you want to work hard and excel, or if you want to hide out and never progress you are able to do so and there is no difference – more... in pay. It is a great place to get some trial by fire experience, but the advancement opportunities are few and the compensation is not that great. That being said, I have learned alot and have worked with some great people. Management is just concerned with the bottom line and does not invest in their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all, PPG was a good place to work.
Senior Technician (Former Employee), Springdale, PANovember 9, 2013
Pros: free lab coats, safety equipment, good health benefits.
Cons: my last 10 years with the company, was spent in a department that did not value their employees.
My history with PPG Industries was an enjoyable one for the first 26 years. In 2003, I took a position within the company that was life changing. The management was not fair to anyone who did not have a four year degree and we were treated like second class citizens. Though I had been a loyal employee and rather enjoyed my employment with PPG during – more... those 26 years, this last department squelched my creativity and one by one, the jobs of those without degrees, were eliminated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Glass Winder/ Packing and Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee), Shelby, NCNovember 9, 2013
PPG is a great place to work, but nneds to keep their employees instead of laying them off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Porter Store Manager (Former Employee), Blue Springs, MONovember 6, 2013
I would not work for PPG again. sales are expected to continue grow when the corporation is unwilling to invest in advertising and the things needed to help the store grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Lead
Porter Paints (Former Employee), Greenville scOctober 29, 2013
I enjoyed this job because of the interaction with customers. I enjoy selling!! The best part of this job was actually going to the customers job site and helping them determine what steps they needed to take to get the job done in a sufficient manor for both the painter and their client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, IllinoisOctober 28, 2013
Pros: fosters team work
A typical day is anything but typical. From day to day you are always working on something different. You are always on your toes and always busy. But when you need assistance someone is always around to help. We have a good team who is willing to help out any one of us. I would say the hardest part of the job is keeping it all together, on the right – more... track to meet that goal at the end of the day. – less

About PPG Industries

PPG Industries, Inc. (PPG) is a global supplier of protective and decorative coatings. The Company operates in six segments: Performance – Read more