Find companies:
PPG Industries
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
185 reviews

PPG Industries Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work enviornment, flexible with schedules
Laboratory technician I (contract) (Current Employee), Oak Creek, WIJanuary 21, 2014
An average workday may involve any variety of sample preparation, testing, and analysis of industrial coatings for a wide variety of clients. This also could include the daily stocking of supplies, and maintenance of equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good compnay to work for long hours
container operator (Former Employee), glass departmentJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: no family life
a lot of overtime and the overtime was 8 hours there for u work a lot of 16 hour days close container of glass for shipment with metal banding or plastic wrap in which you put containers on plastic wrap machine
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPG was a great job with great benifits
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee), East Point, GAJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: health problem
PPG bought out the best in me Some days I ran the line alone and when there was a break down on the assembly line I knew how to fix it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Position
Technical/Research & Development (Former Employee), Cleveland, ohioJanuary 3, 2014
PPG is a great place to work, but since the company reconstruction it takes a while to get hired in as a fulltime employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced productive
assembler (Former Employee), Newark, DEDecember 30, 2013
Pros: excellant healyh care
Cons: short breaks
great team players it made going to work a pleasure. Second shift I enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Again
Store Manager (Former Employee), MerseysideDecember 17, 2013
Cons: working on own
I found management untrustworthy. Slow at paying money owed to you and still waiting after 6 months. A lot of the time you work on your own struggling to serve customers. answer phone place and receive orders many times not having lunch on visits from area managers they watch while you struggle. not a good firm to work for .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environemt with friendly happy workers
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 15, 2013
Pros: had a kitchen for lunch time
Cons: smell of paint
Came to work with smiling faces and people were ready to tackle the day with positivity and poise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Material Handler (Former Employee), Shelby, NCDecember 4, 2013
Pros: rough, nasty environment
Cons: money
Working in a fiber glass plant is pretty nasty. Everyday you take work home with you. your clothes get ruined, skin gets irritated. But it is a secure job, Every week i had a pay check and there is always knew things to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unworthly of review.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), McAllen, TXNovember 14, 2013
Fast pace. No managemant support. Very unfriendly. I do not wnts to review this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty but good job for the area.
Electronics Technician (Current Employee), TXNovember 13, 2013
Pros: work with a wide variety of obsolete to high tech equipment
Cons: lack of training, low compensation, lack of advancement opportunities, very little overtime.
Working as an Electronic Technician in the glass division is rewarding and frustrating at the same time. There is basically zero training - you are just thrown into a facility that covers hundreds of acres and learn as you go. If you want to work hard and excel, or if you want to hide out and never progress you are able to do so and there is no difference – more... in pay. It is a great place to get some trial by fire experience, but the advancement opportunities are few and the compensation is not that great. That being said, I have learned alot and have worked with some great people. Management is just concerned with the bottom line and does not invest in their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all, PPG was a good place to work.
Senior Technician (Former Employee), Springdale, PANovember 9, 2013
Pros: free lab coats, safety equipment, good health benefits.
Cons: my last 10 years with the company, was spent in a department that did not value their employees.
My history with PPG Industries was an enjoyable one for the first 26 years. In 2003, I took a position within the company that was life changing. The management was not fair to anyone who did not have a four year degree and we were treated like second class citizens. Though I had been a loyal employee and rather enjoyed my employment with PPG during – more... those 26 years, this last department squelched my creativity and one by one, the jobs of those without degrees, were eliminated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Glass Winder/ Packing and Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee), Shelby, NCNovember 9, 2013
PPG is a great place to work, but nneds to keep their employees instead of laying them off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Porter Store Manager (Former Employee), Blue Springs, MONovember 6, 2013
I would not work for PPG again. sales are expected to continue grow when the corporation is unwilling to invest in advertising and the things needed to help the store grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Lead
Porter Paints (Former Employee), Greenville scOctober 29, 2013
I enjoyed this job because of the interaction with customers. I enjoy selling!! The best part of this job was actually going to the customers job site and helping them determine what steps they needed to take to get the job done in a sufficient manor for both the painter and their client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, IllinoisOctober 28, 2013
Pros: fosters team work
A typical day is anything but typical. From day to day you are always working on something different. You are always on your toes and always busy. But when you need assistance someone is always around to help. We have a good team who is willing to help out any one of us. I would say the hardest part of the job is keeping it all together, on the right – more... track to meet that goal at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Olympic Paints Territory Manager (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COOctober 26, 2013
Very conservative company with a great culture and value system. Management is supportive and will help you as you move up the ladder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPG Industries Excellent place to work
Sourcing Agent (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: they focus on your personal growth and development
working at PPG is fulfilling and I would recommend working their to anyone....great place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPG
Fitter Welder (Current Employee), Natrium, WVOctober 20, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: long work hours, and not compensated well with pay
A day of work consists of getting jobs for the day and preparing to work and getting all the tools together needed for the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and wonderful company
SOD BATCH ADJUSTER (Former Employee), Delaware,OHOctober 17, 2013
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: hazardous environment
PPG is a great place to work and a great company with excellent compensation and benefits. It is a hazardous environment and the chemicals can cause health problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work just dead end unless you want to move all over the place
N/a (Former Employee), N/aOctober 16, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: terrible pay for promotion!!!
Learned a bunch about paint but got tired of same scene all day long every day! As a company it's self it is behind the competition! Ppg just bought out akzo Nobel. But it seems the other way around! Ive never seen a company buy out another one and implement the others polices! Pay structure could be a lot better! Ppg can hire someone off the street – more... with no experience and pay them more then someone with experience! Was actually told to quit and hire back to make more money! – less

About PPG Industries

PPG Industries, Inc. (PPG) is a global supplier of protective and decorative coatings. The Company operates in six segments: Performance – Read more