Find companies:
PPD (Pharmaceutical Product Development, Inc.)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

PPD (Pharmaceutical Product Development, Inc.) Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable professional atmosphere.
Support Services Technician (Former Employee), Morrisville, NCJune 11, 2014
My view of working at PPD is that there's a lot of collaberating and team work in the department that I was in. Everyone communicated well with one another in order to complete the daily tasks. In addition I noticed that they kept their staff trained properly. The department I was in we very well organized in who doing what with the amount of work that – more... was present every morning. They have a cafe whice was great, I really didn't have to run out for lunch much. The parking was great as well, plenty of room for employees to park. The pay just wasn't that great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Technology Limited Funding
Business Systems Analyst II (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCJune 11, 2014
Pros: good benefits, management with open door policy and flexible work location
Cons: limited budgets for projects and lack of internal promotions
While the innovation culture thrives the funding to follow through with ideas has become rather limited. I prefer a work environment where skills are leveraged and employees are challenged. I believe culture that is open new ideas strengthens the employees and the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Sr. Document Tech (Current Employee), Morrisville, NCJune 10, 2014
Good people to work with and a good environment. You can get your work done in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCJune 4, 2014
Pros: flexiblity to work from home, parking garage, fitness center, supporting different departments
Cons: temporary assignment and no benefits
I have been in this position for 6-months and have had the opportunity to support 3 very different executves, as well as working with other executive assistants and meeting several amazing and talented individuals.

Being in the small town of Wilmington and able to work within the CRO environment has given me a totally new window to the world. This – more... is completely outside of my previous work experience that revolved around supporting DOD contractors.

All my time here as been a great learning experience and I'm thankful for the opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Commercial Coordinator- Contracts & Proposals (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCMay 23, 2014
A lovely place to eat, but the kitchen is rather demanding. All the managers are career restaurateurs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a long term job
Associate Scientist (Current Employee), Wayne, PAMay 21, 2014
Pros: nice people, fun events, good location
Cons: not a lot of opportunities for advancement
Not a lot of opportunities for advancement or career growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good atmosphere to work
Publishing Specialist (Current Employee), Morrisville, NCMay 12, 2014
I'm able to keep busy in this environment, but everyday is a new challenge. I've been able to expand my document publishing skillset.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPD was a learning and fun experience.
Records Management Quality Control Specialist (Former Employee), Morrisville, NCMay 4, 2014
Pros: spring fling, christmas parties and ice cream socials
Cons: when work would sommetimes get backed-up.
Enjoyed every moment of the ten years working at PPD.
Relationships with co-workers was like family.
We learned to work as a team. If work backed-up, we worked together to ensure the task was completed in a timely fashion, in doing so everyone was very pleased.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace and productive call center
Sr. Business Support Analyst (Former Employee), Durham, NCMay 2, 2014
Pros: work life balance and friendly working environment
Cons: compensation
Evaluations and problem investigation. Work closely with colleagues to try and identify data related problems and solve them. Conduct research and collect data which will help in continual product development that will meet client needs. Ensuring high quality data is collected and integrity of the data. Processing of data and coming up with reports – more... on various projects. Analysis of information using various statistical methods, trying to see patterns in data. Conceptualization of data and sharing this knowledge through effective presentation of the data output with the rest of your team. Developing and preparing information products to be used by the organization. Database design, security, data storage and management. Upgrading of database systems to meet the needs in the market. Ensuring smooth and proper running of database. Assisting in the marketing of products and working in close liaison with the marketing department – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don.t work there unless your homeless
Senior Scientist (Former Employee), Middleton, WIMay 2, 2014
Cons: long hours and no appreciation
Mmanagement has no science background and clueless. They expect you to work long hours and holidays
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Manager, Corporate Communications (Current Employee), Morrisville, NCApril 25, 2014
Great company focued on growth and service. Good people on multiple teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and stimulating atmosphere
Site Intelligence and Activation Associate (Former Employee), Kyiv, UkraineApril 16, 2014
This company gives you a lot of opportunities to get ahead in your career and at the same time you can enjoy very friendly and creative
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great position, great training program
Training Manager (Former Employee), Morrisville, NCApril 12, 2014
Pros: great people; good compensation
Cons: ever changing mgt. expectations
Worked with a fabulous group of people and learned many new marketable skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
continuous learning
Scientist (Current Employee), Middleton, WIApril 10, 2014
I have learned numerous techniques, fun group of people, most difficult part is the continual change since the company is growing at a fast pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here will SIGNIFICANTLY reduce your life expectancy!
Medical Communications/Quality Assurance (Current Employee), RTPApril 7, 2014
Pros: some job security if you make it past the first year.
Cons: micromanaging, ambiguity, poor pay. offensive salary increases.
Worse company I've ever worked for in my 20+ years in Pharmaceuticals. Amazing the FDA hasn't closed this place down yet. Adverse events are routinely overlooked and the frequency of changes in SOPs and reporting guidelines make it easy for employees to confuse what is and isn't a product complaint or an Adverse event. It's a sham and a shame to say – more... the least. They purposely create more cumbersome and complex procedures to complicate the workflow in order to justify increases in staff and billable hours to milk their clients for more money. Big pharma must be loaded because no one has caught on to this except PPD and some of the smarter employees. However, management is fully aware of these tricks. In the Medcom department, statistics and metrics and manipulated to paint a pretty picture or ask the client for more money depending on the order of the day. They encourage the use of IM which employees use to discuss personal issues and send rude and oftentimes inappropriate messages. If someone were to check the nature of some of these communications, as someone from their IT department once put it, 80% of management and staff would be terminated. The degree of micromanaging in some projects makes it very difficult to perform your job efficiently and they treat everyone like you are in preschool. Giving them cookies and non-compensatory tokens to avoid any actual pay increases. They hire you to work on one or 2 products and by the 4-6 months they start to pile on more and more without any increase in pay. I could say so much more, but I don't want to waste more time on this place. It will steal your soul if you let it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Behind the times
Associate Director (Former Employee), WilmingtonApril 3, 2014
Pros: opportunity to learn the cro industry, decent training, big office
Cons: there is no work life balance - as a line manager, i was told if "staff break, we'll get more", technology is behind and systemically run off spreadsheets, secret layoffs, hr is inept
The state of PPD is sad to see after being a tendered employee. Hostile work environment, fear and intimidation are taught from the top down.

1st best day of my career at PPD - date of hire

2nd best day of my career at PPD - the day I resigned
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Mangement
IT staff (Current Employee), USAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: can sit and wait to be pushed to do something if that is what you prefer
Cons: hr, qa, management
There is not a core of competent mangers to grow manager competence. The atmosphere works against anyone trying to exceed.

As with any place there are hard working and pleasant people who work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career potential
Associate Director, DM Clinical Listings Review (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCMarch 25, 2014
• Manage the resources and workload of direct reports in the global clinical listings review group and the coding group
• Oversee a broad range of clinical data management processes, ensuring timelines and contracts are adhered to and quality standards are met for assigned projects
• Support department infrastructure through leadership of various functions – more... which may include support services, database administration, performance measurement, application system development in conjunction with IT, or CRF design
• Support Department Head by successfully completing ad hoc projects to improve departmental quality and cost effectiveness
• Responsible for departmental profitability
• Handle key internal and external customer negotiations and communications for assigned CDM projects
• Coach project leaders on customer communications
• Manage complex problems where analysis requires evaluating various factors.
• Use independent judgment in developing methods, techniques and evaluation criteria for obtaining results
• Developed and implemented a Clinical Listing Review Team in the US and assisted with expansion of the group globally into Russia and the Philippines – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Clinical Data Associate III (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCMarch 15, 2014
Great company to work for. Plenty room for advancement. Management is very helpful and resourceful. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing what I do, is helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant
Senior Country Approval Specialist (Current Employee), Morrisville, NCMarch 12, 2014
Very Good
CTMS
Excellent Management
excellent
Good
teamwork

1 2 3 4