Find companies:
Powell Industries
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Powell Industries Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Help Desk Support Technician Internship (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 29, 2014
Co-workers make it a great place to work. Everyone is nice and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work enviornment is good, pay and advancement are awful
Quality Assurance (Current Employee), N Canton, OHSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: free coffie
Cons: poor pay, no orginaziation
poorly managed, poor pay, poor advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in all a good compant to be employed with
Welder/Fabricator: (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 15, 2014
Pros: onsite cafateria, 6 month reviews, profit sharing bonuses, excellent vaction and sick day was generous
Cons: short 20 minute lunch breaks, micro-managment of employees
Excellent benefits and good working conditions, I felt the attendance policy was not being governed correctly and need to be clarified to the employees more in-depth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Assembler/ Forklift Operator (Former Employee), houston txJuly 19, 2014
i start my day with a tool box meeting, talk about safety concerns and issues. we assemble switchgear and mcc. The co-workers are great an knowledgeable. The hardest part would be when we dont have parts to build units. the most enjoyable part of the job would be after a good day of production i get to go home safe,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good day at work
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 16, 2014
Pros: opportunities to advance to a better position
Cons: not enough overtime
In all my 7 years with Powell, I successfully achieved by rising to a better position for every opportunity given. As the years passed, I learned a lot about the company and how to be independent. Some skills are from forklift operator to computer skills. Thanks to management and my co-workers a lot of my tasks and my responsibilities were accomplished. – more... The hardest part of the job was when there wasn't enough time to complete an assignment, but the most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that I would complete the duty in time making me proud of my effort. I can say that I never had a bad experience since all my tasks were completed prosperously. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
STEEL SHOP/MATERIAL HANDLER (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 8, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: short breaks not enough pay
Great people great bosses just not enough pay Im not used to it No over time im used to 55 to 65 hours a week not just a flat 40
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunity for advancement
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 10, 2014
Pros: laid back for the most part
Cons: slim advancement opportunities
Pay is okay for college grads starting out their career. Opportunity is limited. They will pick a "golden boy" and treat them well, then the others are cast aside.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day
wiring tech/parts assembler (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2014
Pros: working with a good group of people.
Cons: no overtime
Clocking in for 6:30 am .Joining my work team having a toolbox meeting at the start of the day ,learning the safety topic of the day and what job needs more details before it is tested by Quality Control. Had the harness to back pan . Check for changes and changes from the Build Of Material to ensure everything is correct . I have learned to be patient – more... and check all that requires with my task to be safe on a daily basis. My co-workers and I work together to get the job done on time , helping each other if need it. The hardest part is when the work load is low and you have to work slow just to look busy . When your used to a steady fast pace. Being on the Safety Quad and knowing we all are getting the job done while being safe on a daily basis, while also receiving the lowest of Osha incident rates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Sr. Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2014
Powell is a company where a typical day is never a dull moment. One learns a lot from working at Powell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co workers
CNC Machinist/Programmer (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 14, 2013
Pros: job stability
Cons: little opportunity for growth
My co workers are a great group to work with. Most of my co workers are family people like myself. Hardworking, smart and great attitudes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned and experienced working at Powell Industries, Inc.
Inspector and functional tester (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 27, 2013
Inspect and test functionality of power control room.
I have learned reading and understanding 1-line, 3-lines, and control schematics.
I learn to figure out the combination of customer's 1-line, specification, and the BOM to create a specific power control room drawings.
I learn most from my co-workers and from engineers who I have chance to contact – more... during work.
My AutoCAD experience is useful for me when reading drawings from the workplace's computers.
I learn more day by day working in the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concern this place as a training or school
wireperson (Former Employee), MoselyOctober 12, 2013
Pros: benefit and 104k
Cons: 25 min lunch break, 10 min break, 10 hour work, and weekend no lunch break
It started out great until they decided to changed the way thing work. They use the phrase "Knowledge, Skill and Ability" if you want to get better pay or move up. In reality the person who would let you move up the supervisor of each department. From the first day I was interviewed, I was tested on just tools and nothing on Powell products. Even if – more... you have a degree in the field of switch gear you will still get paid low. They only promote people within and only if you are will the company for 10+ years. A person working for Powell for 6 years only gotten paid $12.50 and this is a person only doing wiring and nothing else. The title that you get has been downgraded to wireperson instead of Wire I, II, or III. IF they have a class for you department and you want to take that class you will not get picked. It's all based to favoritism. Supervisor does not supervised instead go around talking to other people in other department and make an excuse saying they are busy. Your only supervisor is your leader. Leader get paid a low as well no more than $12 an hour. same as other co-worker. If you plan to work in weekend you will not get a lunch break and you will only work 8 hours. Overtime are only picked if the supervisor likes you. They will not train you. Supervisor will not trained you nor anyone. If your job require you to push, pull, or lift you will have to do it and also assisting female co-worker even though they have the same position and same pay as you. You will work twice as much as others and the same pay level. Newcomer beware, you will work more than those who been there for more than 1 year. They will walk around while you end up doing all the work for those who been there for a long time. They will not get fired because they are supervisor favorite.

Only thing good is the benefit and 104K. Benefit kicks in when are with the company a month. Even with that you will get an occurrence if you miss a day of work. They will only give you 3 strike. So be sure that if you have doctor appointment that you doesn't affect your work. 104K they will match what you put in. Always after 6 months with the company you will get 1 week paid vacation.

Conclusion, Good for people who are 18-25 and 50 and up. Why? young people who doesn't know what they want to do can start here. 45 and up are those who are ready to retired. Other than that, if you work in the office you are set.

Note:
The pay it not based on Knowledge, Skill and Ability but how much upper management get in there pocket before everyone does. This was supposed to be my future with company but it seem that what they told me seem like there are no future for me with the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ACCOUNTING & AUDITING, SUPERVISING
Regional District Manager (Former Employee), JACKSON TNOctober 3, 2013
Pros: loved it
A TYPICAL WORK DAY WOULD BE AUDITING EACH STORE AS WELL AS HELPING EACH MANAGER.
MANAGEMENT PROCESS WAS FAIRLY EASY WITH SEVERAL DISTRACTIONS DAILY.
MY CO-WORKERS UNDER ME WERE VERY PRECISIVE IN THEIR DISCISION.
THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WAS, TRAINING YOURSELF HOW TO UNDERSTAND PROFIT AND LOSS WITH OUT TRAINING.
MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB WAS – more... A DAY OF A SMOOTH AUDIT, FINISHING TASK, MEETING GOALS AND DEADLINES ON TIME, AND GREAT REMARKS FROM CORPORATE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Development Group Lay-Out Civil Engineer/Designer (Former Employee), North Lake, ILAugust 12, 2013
Pros: good benefits, bonuses, free lunches.
It was my home for over 17 years.
Unfortunately IPB production line nearly closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
paint shop (Former Employee), houston txJuly 13, 2013
Cons: short breaks. 25 min lunch
Do not recomend to work there.. Supervisors have their favorite people if ur late or want a day off and ur not his favorite ginnie pig good luck. To much pressure. I caint beleave i waisted a year of my life working there. The raises suck youll get 10 cents a year
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Wireman (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 28, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: pay
I enjoy being at work I really like what I do the first thing that I do before starting a job is to check all paperwork (blueprints), according to tha prints we start working in a safely manner always. I learned a lot in this company working as a team , in a safe way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday new challenges rewarding in meeting targets
Supervisor (Current Employee), BradfordMay 8, 2013
Pros: pension and longevity in employment
Cons: daily recurring problems ( not getting resolved)
Planning workload working with team leaders ensuring project meets customer requirements in quality and time and in budget.Impending redundancies reason for looking for alternative employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun place to work
Assembler-low Voltage (Former Employee), Houston TXMarch 20, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: short breaks
Learned how to part together switch gear for the Oil and Gas Industry, Management is top notch on getting everyone what they need to get the job done. Co workers are very helpful on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secured employment
Production Worker (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: advancement only if management chooses you
Great benefits but managment is very bias when it comes to advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Voltage Electrician
Electrician (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 26, 2012
Currently work in the High-Voltage capacity and responsible for overall power to building to allow aslittle down time as possible.

About Powell Industries

Powell engineered-to-order solutions are developed with safety in mind. Through the years we have proven our reputation as an – Read more

Powell Industries Photos