Powell - CDN

Powell - CDN Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, learn more skills, good team work, approachable to the management
4th year Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Acheson, ABMay 24, 2016
Must be arrived on time.
Having 5 minutes daily stretching for the condition of muscle being stretch.
Job box meeting, talking about progress. What you have done and what you are suppose to do next.
The hazard assistment. Make a plan with your team, eliminate hazard. Proper tools on the job. Proper PPE ( Personal Protective Equipment ) and etc...
Pros
Nice Lunch room, Fridge, Microwave, Lockers and also you can buy foods in the Cafeteria.
Cons
surely 40/week plus Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Man Army
Sr. Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 2, 2016
If you do not follow up with task that has been assigned, the task will not be executed. A Project Manager in Powell has no authority
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community
Buyer (Former Employee) –  AchFebruary 12, 2016
It was a great community, everyone was really friendly worked together to make sure everything was done and done right.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Journeymen Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 19, 2016
awesome management , great working atmosphere, best co-workers, It was a great time with powell canada. working with safe manner. I enjoyed my work with Powell canada.
Pros
timcards
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment (Buisness Units)
employee (Current Employee) –  Acheson, ABDecember 14, 2015
-Upper Management No Experience in Western Canadian Market.
-Bad decision making in forecasting and targeting new opportunity's.
-No training provided.
-Wow factor with facility appearance, but disappointing factor with completion on targets on projects etc.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable company
Ehouse (Former Employee) –  Acheson, ABNovember 30, 2015
There is no job security. One day they say lot of work, next day there is layoffs. Not good management. Last year too many people were hire and the plant extended too much. This year many people were let go when oil price went down. There is no work life balance, lot of stress to get work done when it is busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment great managers great coworkers
Switchgear (Current Employee) –  AchesonSeptember 11, 2015
I work there in switchgear and i love it! No cons in my opinion. My boss is on the ball, the work is clearly outlined. Safety and hr issues are strongly upheld
Pros
No micromanaging
Cons
Terrible employees get too many chances before they are fired
Was this review helpful?Yes11No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
second year electrician (Former Employee) –  edmonton albertaMay 14, 2015
If they ever get their behinds in gear i would work for them again in a second. Excellent company just not enough work. They would treat their employees like people, give you props for doing well and would always be positive.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes15No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Acheson, ABFebruary 13, 2015
supervisor's are very helpful to their subordinates. co-employees are happy and fun to be with. willing to give a hand for those that are not so familiar with the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Electrical Designer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 28, 2015
good working environment with good co-workers.
easily gets broad
Cons
lunches are expansive
Was this review helpful?Yes9No20
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
electrical
3rd year Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  achesonJanuary 8, 2015
good company

wish they had more stable work
on day they tell you layoffs the next day the will say lots of work
Cons
small lunch room, work with labours from other countries who know nothing and lazy
Was this review helpful?Yes26No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American run..
estimator (Former Employee) –  Acheson, abNovember 12, 2014
Spent three months there. Great place with a ton of potential. . Unfortunately the American Management team is not in touch with the Canadian culture.
Pros
new office
Cons
confused management
Was this review helpful?Yes29No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsafe management asking employees to be unsafe.
welder (Former Employee) –  achesonNovember 5, 2014
What a joke. No organization. No communication and super super unsafe . Foreman that want you to stand underneath forklift forks with no lock out in place. While employed there an employee had his foot amputated from an i- beam rolling over in it. Powered by safety is only there logo. Not there mantra.
Pros
good co workers
Cons
unsafe unsafe unsafe.
Was this review helpful?Yes38No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming atmosphere
Electrical and Instrumentaion Purchaser (Former Employee) –  Acheson, ABJuly 28, 2014
I enjoyed the open and comfortable environment; the hardest part of the job was communication with unqualified employees in the same position.
Pros
relaxed work schedule
Cons
lack of organization and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes15No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Field Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton ABMay 13, 2014
It was a good place to work.
The co-workers were great and worked as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work but out of town
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 22, 2013
-12 hr days work on putting together e-building
-terminations
-fort mac management unorganized
-north sask management very good and organized
-easy going hard workers
-cable pull
-hard work makes time go fast
Was this review helpful?Yes13No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my work
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 22, 2013
I enjoyed my time with Powell. The duties preformed day to day kept my mind active. I enjoyed the team I worked with in my department as well as communication with other departments.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
poor human resource
Was this review helpful?Yes27No17

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.8
Culture
3.4

Powell - CDN Reviews by Location