Popeye's Restaurants Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 November 2017
Negative environment full of verbal abuse from management. Would not recommend this work place to anyone. Also continuously short pay and dont pay for working beyond store hours.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
No free meals, no paid training unless you have connections, expected to pick up slack of other workers, verbal abuse from managers, negative environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day at popeyes
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON5 November 2017
A day at Popeyes would begin with selling chicken and end with selling chicken. I learned how to up-sell and communicate well with customers. I had to mange the store since i work well under pressure. The hardest job would be to deal with some customers who don`t communicate well. The best part of the job would be that i had a very good team and i was good at my job.
Pros
free food
Cons
not enough salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 November 2017
Good experience to learn how to work in a fast paste restaurant, learn a lot for example how to deal with un satisfied customers and to deal with pressure
Pros
close to my house
Cons
unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 November 2017
Hello!
I've worked at Popeyes for about a year and its not a place i would recommend to people to be employed at. You receive no benefits and there are no contracts involved. Theres hardly any room for advancement especially if you're part of a different culture to them. You get treated poorly and there's a terrible amount of gossip.

During the day i maintain lobby, work cash, prepare and hand out orders, make product, open/close the store, and food preparation.
Pros
free food every once in a while
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and attractive place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 October 2017
i had a very good experience there, with the manager and workers as well . I learned alot there and worked with expereinced people . i got to know how to do customer service .
Pros
free lunch
Cons
close at 3am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New set of skills and opportunities to learn,
CUSTOMER SERVICE/ KITCHEN ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 October 2017
Popeye's is not the best place to work at but is a good place with the moving pace and the chance to get a real insight in the food industry. Its a positive work environment where work is done keeping sanitation and health and safety standard in mind.
Pros
50% employee discount on the food.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very dirty place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 October 2017
never liked working there because of poor management and unfair policies, needs some work done to improve management and the whole store. I feel very bad for my friends that are still working there
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Very short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a nice experience working with Popeyes
CREW MEMBER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 October 2017
I learned management skills at this place. This restaurant was a very busy place, a fun place to work all the crew members are awesome and very fun to work with. Learned a lot and earned a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place to work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON11 October 2017
It was a good job for me to have as ive helped open new franchises before, it was a hectic start as the store is a bit small but over time its improved much more.
Pros
great food
Cons
a lot of cleaning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good environment, clean & the staff is super friendly
Full time cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 September 2017
when dropping off you’re resumer don’t be shy! The manger is really nice and funny. Make sure you’re serious about the job. You’ll also need a pair of black shoes and dress pants
Pros
50% off for employees
Cons
they make you clean alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 September 2017
Management are always so strict that you cant have fun at work. Because the majority of workers are Filipinos, everybody talks in their language and cant understand them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Cashier and Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON12 September 2017
You have to beg to get hours. Overall horrible working experience. They hire you for a certain position and they don't train you properly for it then the boss gets mad at you and gives you less hours.
Pros
50% discount
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Store Manager/Payroll Assistant (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON11 September 2017
It has been a great experience to manage a team of employees everyday. By training them to managing payroll activities, I have learned a lot. It is sometimes difficult when dealing with rude employees but its a good learning experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No benefits, no personal life, no privacy
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON29 August 2017
The management there calls out names of the employees who made a mistake in front everyone. Employees are humiliated and not treated right. The management constantly invade the personal space of employees. It sucks!
Pros
Discounts on food
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great paying job
Kitchen Crew (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON25 August 2017
i loved the job very easy going staff you always have something to do and you always have great staff if you are good with people id work there again any day
Pros
discounts, good management
Cons
long hours some times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and agility
Cashier (Current Employee) –  London, ON20 August 2017
- One typical this is a lot of order and satisfied customers
- The most enjoyable part is the customer relationship.
- I learned different and very interesting style of working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Chef (Current Employee) –  1739 walkley rd11 August 2017
The food may take some time but it's worth the wait. The place is always busy
From morning to afternoon but the staff, the employees and the employers are all nice people.
Pros
50% off lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable workplace at Popeyes
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2017
I learned a good amount of skills which i have never applied before
Team Management is workable
The culture is great everyone works well together
Hardest part of the job is when its busy which requires you to work at a much faster pace
The most enjoyable part of the job is getting free lunches and the overall fun environment
Pros
Free Lunches, Occasional Breaks
Cons
Long Hours, Dealing with certain customers is a hassle
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Cashier Associate/ Server (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 July 2017
it helped me grow my customer service skills.
None benefits, and the hardest part of the job is you stand for so long, and mostly do all the jobs because not much people work i a shift
Pros
free food
Cons
less hours, pay cheques are always late
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON3 July 2017
a typical day would be very busy serving customers by taking their food orders and preparing the order ad packing it. very fast paced environment.overall good place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Popeye's Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,891 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4