Find companies:
Pittsburgh Glass Works
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Pittsburgh Glass Works Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work
Inspector Packer (Current Employee), Creighton PaJuly 9, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: no family time
I would pack different windshields into the racks that they needed to go into. I learned the proper way to pack through training. The management were easy going as long as you did your job. The hardest part was packing the 2490 windshield. They are the biggest and heaviest windshield we make at the plant. Knowing that I had a part in making the windshields – more... in cars today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hectic place
Manufacturing Service/Packer (Former Employee), evansville indianaJuly 2, 2014
good people to work with but needs better management and work life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hometown glass factory with very high standards
Inspector/Line Operator (Former Employee), Crestline, OHApril 18, 2014
Pros: close to my home, good pay, technical work
Cons: forced 12 hour days at 7 days a week for a season
Inspected glass piece by piece and packed it. Also, relieved the line operator(s) and different lines, which included machine operation and tooling and decimal calculations and cleaning equipment. I learned that factory work is very labor intensive and keeps you ever mindful of safety and keeping your mind focused on calculations and perfection. The – more... management is very "matter-of-fact" which I liked because I am a very technical person and like to have a standard to go by. I liked my co-workers and management and we worked hard as a team. Hardest part of the job was the actual inspection because it could become monotonous. I liked being a relief operator best. The most enjoyable part of the job was not the pay although it was good; it was being able to communicate with other employees and work as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From my experieance PGW is decent place to work.
Machine Operator and Inspector (Former Employee), Tiption , PAApril 14, 2014
My experience an PGW was positive. My foreman was an exceptional guy who was very helpful. I worked 12 hour shifts three days on three days off the shifts rotated between days and nights.
I learned how to operate three different automotive glass manufacturing processes.

I left this position so that I could continue my education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary = Complete Confusion
Production Employee (Current Employee), Evansville, INMarch 19, 2014
Pros: 30 minute paid lunches, some good fellow workers, decent wages
Cons: pretty much everything
I used to try to stay positive about my job, not anymore. It's depressing and monotonous. Some co-workers are great people, others are lazy, disrespectful and should probably be in the county jail or prison. If that isn't enough, our management is absolutely ridiculous. There are favorites, even though it's a unionized plant and jobs are supposed to – more... go by seniority. They also treat us like slaves, NOT like people and DO NOT care about anyone. All that is worried about is the bottom-line, even if it means straight up LYING to our customers (Mercedes Benz and Toyota, among others.) There is a 12-hour shift with 4 crews rotating, plenty of overtime to be had if you need it. Keep in mind, that is the only way you will make good money, by working 7 days a week. This place is mentally and physically draining. Processes change DAILY/WEEKLY and are very inconsistent, things are hectic and it is stressful. I feel like a robot, I miss family time. There is no respect or structure in your job. Please, don't come work here, you might make less money but you will probably be treated like a person, somewhere else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nonproductive, horrible place to work
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Evansville, IndianaMarch 16, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: upper management
Unskilled unethical management, will do whatever it takes to pass an audit even if it means falsifying information to pass customer expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production of Auto Glass
Production Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Crestline ohioMarch 12, 2014
Pittsburgh Glass Works is a company that has been spun off of Pittsburgh Plate Glass.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Automotive glass
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Evansville, INJanuary 19, 2014
Cons: 12, 4 shift rotating schedule, lay offs.
Employed in maintenance in support of production.
Lean personell staffing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
labor
laborer (Former Employee), Tipton, PADecember 18, 2013
inspected glass for defects and people was nasty didnt like working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweat shop - RUN
Production worker (Former Employee), Creighton, PaDecember 1, 2013
Pros: paid lunch break
Cons: horrible place to work
PGW ran by a bunch of incompetent managers. Only worry about bottom line. Upper management has no clue on what is going on. Forced to work overtime without prior notice. They treat the production workers like slaves. This company is a good example of corporate greed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many procedures / Upper managements not focused on the daily issues
PM (Former Employee), RochesterNovember 21, 2013
Pros: nice people at the lower level
Cons: managements more interested in processes rather than people
The overall company is okay. Too many internal procedures making it difficult to get any work done. Management is focused on 5S not the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect
Final Production worker (Current Employee), Creighton, PANovember 17, 2013
Pros: paid lunch and breaks
Cons: minimal health care, poor shedule, no home life, no chance of advancement
I hate the thought of driving to work each day. The management does not know what they are doing on the floor. The supervisors are all about discipline and not about fixing the many problems that we encounter on a daily basis. The hardest part of the day is showing up to work and then talking myself into not walking out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Required overtime. That's not compensated or paid. Awful place stay away
Storeroom buyer. (Former Employee), Evansville INNovember 11, 2013
Pros: 22%discount on your cell plan. some co-workers.
Cons: very short breaks. be prepared to work with out a break and work ot, "donna"
I was the storeroom buyer.
I nearly single handling kept the storeroom running after PGW took control back from the integrator (IDG) and I stayed behind with the company.
Initially we had a good staff of three. They then fired every body.
Be prepared to work overtime and not be paid or compensated for it. Be prepared to work with out a break as there – more... is no relief. Be prepared to do much much more than the Job description details.
They are asking one person to do the job of three people.
Start time is not flexible.
Strong accounting background is required as there is no accounting person there.
Supervisor will micro manage every aspect. Be prepared to help everyone do everything. The buck stops here.
There are more problems here than can be fixed there systems and procedures have them hamstringed them.
One review for this company nailed it. They have fallen and are trying to cut there way to profitability. This includes getting the employees to work more than they will pay them for. The atmosphere here reflects this.
Often corporate purchasing would call me to try to understand how their systems work as there is a very high turnover rate at the home office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Productive but deffinetly out of order place.
Part Picker (Current Employee), Chillicothe, OHSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: driving a mpe
Cons: terrible co-workers
Locate,prepare and finalize process of shipments for windshields. How to drive a MPE.Managment was alright overall. Co-workers very unmotivated and disrespectful. Hardest part of the job was workers based how long you would really have to stay over and they never tried to have work finished in the required time given. Most enjoyable part of job was – more... the Lunch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The mighty have fallen.
Multi-Site Manager (Former Employee), Albany NY & Hartford, CTJune 26, 2013
Pros: great schedual, conducive to family life.
Cons: closing locations, and not trying to grow or get stronger.
Use to lead the industry, now running scared and trying to cut their way to profitability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Shreveport, LAJune 25, 2013
Pros: no hands on management
Cons: no advancement
If you want a management oppurtunity with no adavancement or growth but prettty stable this is a nic job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady paced work place.
Utility (Current Employee), Cochranton, PAMay 31, 2013
Pros: plenty of overtime for those whom want to work it
Cons: high cost health insurance
This place has a seven day rotating schedual, there is alot to learn, management is not consistant between crews, most of the employees are pleasant and willing to lend a hand, no part of the job is hard once you are trained, alot of nice people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutthroat factory
supervisor (Former Employee), 1 yearApril 22, 2013
Cons: everything about the jpb
all they care about is red ir green, nothing else, the HPB valiue stream owner is terrible- no verbal or social skills, stay away from this place- a cvareer killer- had better bosses at walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Warehouse Lead (Former Employee), Homewood, ALApril 15, 2013
Pros: fun environment, 401k, vacation
Cons: no money in it, cut your hours, no advancement
You stay fairly busy and the people you work with are fun. The management is laid back and it isn't a crazy work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good steady work
Assembly line worker and packing operator (Current Employee), Creighton, paApril 5, 2013
Pros: easy work and decent over time
Cons: can be monotonous and some time there is a 7 day work week.
Work just about 7 days a week with sparatic days off. The work it's self is not hard at all but can be monotonous at times. The job consists of manucatuering and inspecting windsheilds in order to ship them out to the car dealers.

About Pittsburgh Glass Works

Pittsburgh Glass Works (PGW, formerly PPG Auto Glass) has your car's windshield covered. The company manufactures automotive OEM – Read more