Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.

Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work for students
Corn Detasseler (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON1 November 2016
This is an excellent option for students who need summer time work while in high school, or for those who just graduated. The hours are long, and the days are hot, the work is hard, but overall a great first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly
Agricultural worker (Former Employee) –  Coteau-du-lac, QC27 April 2016
As an agricultural worker, we were well furnished in tools and materials, and well taken care of. We had plenty of water to drink during the warm days in the field, and had free popsicles during our breaks.

The ambiance was very friendly and the supervisors guided us through the day.
Pros
Relaxed work environment
Cons
Need energy to walk all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not like co.
Pipeline Labourer (Former Employee) –  hope bc11 January 2016
i have no comment on this company i would not recommend anyone to apply because how things were handled work safe ethics.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved everything about the job.
Manager (Former Employee) –  South Mountain, ON13 November 2015
A typical day at work was opening up the business, and getting the coffee ready for the customers. Staff would come in to work there shift. I would place orders, and interact with the public. After orders were placed I would go to my office and start doing paper work and calling orders in. Assigning tasks for the next shift. Every day was a new day. I never did the same thing and always interacted with different clients and customers.
Pros
Wokring there for over 20 years
Cons
When my boss sold the business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing customers with fuel energy, snacks, other survices
Propane Attendant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON4 May 2015
Satisfactory working environment, working to sell gasoline, diesel and propane, tobacco products, lottery, and snacks to customers. Learned to manage a gasoline station. Stressful and demanding at times. Talking to customers is an enjoying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON29 April 2015
good company to work for well maintained and managed.
great experience and great people
great employees its like working with family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice crew leaders
Corn detasseling (Former Employee) –  Chatham, ON1 April 2015
harsh conditions but worth the money, easy job overall. nice bus drivers and crew members. team work effort. understanding when exhausted/have corn rash. able to clock out when needed.
Pros
easy summer job
Cons
corn rash / cuts / bugs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and productive workplace
Corn Detasseler (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON5 March 2015
I personally enjoyed this work placement. A typical day at work was surrounded with friendly co workers, all willing to complete the right task in a timely manner and efficiently. The management treated the employees fairly and appropriately, considering the work environment. I learned the important skills needed for a workplace such as working well as a team, working hard and efficiently and being punctual. The hardest part of the job was long hours but the earnings were well worth it.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Gas Station Attdendant (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON25 February 2015
Alright Job, Alright Work, Horrible People, Horrible Customers, No Money, No Benefits
Just Over All Terrible Place To Be Everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
snow plow drivier (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON13 December 2014
i must amit that the hours in the winter time seams long with snow storms going on and you making sure that the highways and roads are cleared but it may seam lonely at time but everyone is there when you need them for help I would not have past the chance to try this job. it give me an understanding of when every other snow blow worker has to put up with .
you would check out your truck to make sure every last thing on it works ..you have a log book to keep track your safety checks gas used sand ..and salt you learn how to use the tracker loader to put your sand/salt into your truck . you mind and eyes are always going and looking for things on the road of in the ditch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT IN MY FIELD
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON27 October 2014
ROUTINE WAS OK,Starts with tally the money and check reports, learned excellent customer service and the management was really supportive.Co-workers are really helpful.The hardest part was to do inventory and ordering,each week was different,,and the most enjoyable was networking through customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 September 2014
fun workplace
easy to get along with others
understanding management
Pros
flexible shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corn detassler
corn detassler (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON20 August 2014
I detassle corn stalks in a fast enivorment the hardest part of the job was the heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Prince Rupert, BC19 August 2014
cleaning rooms all day then laundry and wash bathrooms clean floors and walls hardest part was getting tasks done in time i enjoyed meeting new people form all around the world
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
worked alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corn Detassling
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON14 July 2014
Have to stand/ walk repetitively for long hours in the early morning dew and the humid hot air in the afternoons.
Cons
Very hot; standing on your feet for long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
detassiling
Corndetassiling (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON9 April 2014
- amazing new people
- all different types of weather changing
- outside at all times
- short breaks
- being at a different location every time well starting a new filed
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
getting sunburn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Service Station Manager (Former Employee) –  Milton, On16 January 2014
Good environment and got along well with the co-workers
Costumers are fairly nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
Detasseler (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent26 November 2013
Was like any typical farm job. Hard work, small pay, decent people.
Pros
Good people and fun working environment
Cons
Minimal days off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job details
Temporary Agricultural Worker (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON30 August 2013
- I worked long hours, rain or shine, hot or cold 7 days a week. It was a good way to gain experience being on my feet for long periods of time and getting used to waking up early every day.

- I worked a lot with large umber's of people and enjoyed it. My manager's were always helpful and kind and did their best to keep up with every workers requests and problems.

The hardest part was knowing it was only seasonal, My favorite part was working with everyone, training new people and keeping fit and motivated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working in the fitting room area
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, On27 July 2013
This job was a lot of fun, kept me on my feet. Ive learnt so much about keeping environment really clean and .organized. I learn so much about cash register tills and how to deal with money.
Pros
nice staff
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 252 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7