Find companies:
Pier 1 Imports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
418 reviews

Pier 1 Imports Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Yuma, AZApril 23, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: short breaks and health care
: A typical day at work was unpacking merchandise, putting up displays, helping customers decorate their homes.
: I learned to be more creative with d├ęcor
: Hardest part of the job was not being able to afford all the nice stuff the company had.
: Most enjoyable part of the job was helping customers decorate their homes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my Job
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), CaliforniaApril 23, 2014
Pros: rapid advancement, lots of perks and great people.
Cons: people get transferred very often and i know people that drive over 50 miles to work everyday, raises are very small.
The company is great, their compass is fantastic and for the most part, everyone in the company is amazing, The moral is upbeat, we are based on motivating and inspiring and the product is so fun!

Con is that people get transferred very often. I know people that drive over 50 miles to work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt really enjoy it
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ridgeland, MSApril 22, 2014
Pros: if you really need some change in your pocket then sure
Cons: everything else
Typical day at work was being assigned to a area and having to sit there. Learned that I did not want to work in retail anymore. Management was ok. Of course there were things that I didnt like but I just smiled and continued on. My co workers were the only thing that didnt stop me quiting the week after. Hardest part was dealing with too many women – more... in one place, things tend to become very catty. As I said my co workers were the only thing I enjoyed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail Sales Business
Store Team Leader (Former Employee), Edgewater, NJApril 20, 2014
This business is your averaged retail store that sells shelf goods that sell them selves.

What I've learned, that I continue to support this theory, customer service is vital aspect of the any businesses growth and development. Without the attention to details the cost will always affect your bottom line.

Management. There is a lot to be said about – more... leadership. Any business that lacks support and vision will endure pitfalls of the business growth potential.

Coworkers. People reflect environments.

The hardest part of the job, instilling positive direction and maintaining a positive focus for others.

Enjoyable, I enjoyed meeting and working with everyone. I looked forward to challenging sales associates to reach their potentials by exceeding their goals and meeting them with realistic expectations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pier 1 day
SALES ASSOCIATE-PART TIME (Current Employee), Denville, NJApril 18, 2014
When i go into work, i go and get on my apron on and clock in. I am always greeted by my fellow associates. When i get out onto the sales floor i am checked in with how we are doing, current sales, and current promotions. From there on it is my job to make sure every customer has the "Pier 1 exPIERence". I have to greet, make sure they are finding everything – more... okay, and if i can assist them with anything. I am very knowledgeable about our products so i do my best to make sure they know everything about the product they are buying whether its a candle or a couch. At the register its my job to inform them about our Pier 1 card and all its benefits to help them get the best deal and after i always encourage all customers to come back soon! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement not available
Store Manager (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 18, 2014
Pros: easy going atmosphere
Cons: unloading semi trucks
Advancement not readily available, Salary is low Easy going atmosphere, co-workers were pleasent, Hardest part of job, unloading Semi trucks of furniture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Everett, WAApril 15, 2014
Enjoyed meeting new people and loved my co-workers. Loved seeing new products come in and fill the shelves. I enjoyed putting together decorating ideas for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Marketing analyst (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 11, 2014
Pros: 4 weeks vacation
Pier 1 is a solid place...Management is good, not much job duplication. Culture is excellent
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing great customer service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 11, 2014
Provide great customer service in a retail environment.
Working with positive and out going people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good with room to improve.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), McAllen, TXApril 8, 2014
Depending on the flow of customers and what still needs to be processed determines if I work on the floor or in the stockroom. Nice atmosphere with ever changing inventory and friendly coworkers. Furniture pieces can be heavy depending on the collection with little space to move. Prefer working in the back for I can listen to my own selection of music – more... and items need to be processed no matter what. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Stocker (Seasonal) (Current Employee), Aurora, ILApril 3, 2014
a typical day of work was very pleasant , and they worked with my work schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Burleson, TXApril 2, 2014
I loved my co-workers. We all had different strengths and areas of expertise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
go pier1!
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Culver City, CAMarch 28, 2014
Pros: fun customers
Cons: short breaks
I love working here. Management is great. Co-workers are fun. I enjoy setting up displays. It's kind of hard to clean. I've learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
CUSTOMER RELATIONS REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 27, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: changes as the company grows
Fast Environment
Develop Skills
Great Team
Great employee celebrations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many changes in management.
Provide Customer Service/ POS trainer/ Sales (Former Employee), Charleston, SCMarch 25, 2014
I as well as many others had worked for this location for almost 3 years. Within that time, we underwent changes with 5 different managers. The final manager told all of us that had been there that she was unable to give recommendations based on her lack of knowledge in our skillsets and work performance. There was no longer any opportunity for advancement – more... with this location. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Atmosphere & Fun
Sales Leader/Associate (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJMarch 24, 2014
The best part about working for Pier 1 imports is working with customer & having fun while completing tasks in between customers.
I never looked at any part of my job description as hard because there was always a way to complete tasks in a fun way, everything about the company & standards were acceptable, & easy to work for. I learned patience & understanding – more... in my time with Pier 1, most co-workers & managers were always pleasant at the various stores I worked at or other stores I filled in at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always a great day
Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 23, 2014
Pros: flexable schedules
Cons: payroll doesnt allow for over time or extra shifts
coworkers are awesome... manager leads with such great morale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
delicious greek food
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 23, 2014
a fun environment to work in, great learning experience in the serving business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but....
Sales associate (Current Employee), Los AngelesMarch 22, 2014
Pros: 25% discount plus things on sale/clearance, music
Cons: not commission based, pay is $9.00
I am currently employed by pier 1, the pay is fine if you are not living on your own. The routine is basic, greet customers, ask if they need anything, offer the p1cc, & do a quick checkout & get their email/ make them take our survey. The job requires patience, body strength, visual skills, & sleepless nights. Patience: some customers are the biggest – more... pain in the bum/ are super needy or OCD, or are rich snobby people with the occasional exception. You also get a lot of fraud. Body strength: p1 is a furniture store so you will at one point be carrying a 100-250lbs piece w/ help. As a 19 year old female this has caused me knee & back problems by which I told my manager I will no longer Carry furniture. Visual skill/ sleepless nights. Every month you are required to do a transition for the next months "sales" these are done on Sunday night from 8pm to as late as 2am. You change each statement with a crew of ppl to the new setting. Opening shifts include windexing tables & windows as well as making sure store looks great. Closing shifts are more demanding, you mop & sweep 3x a month, take out the trash, straiten items out of place. Make sure all the statements look like the magazine, do markdowns, fix pillow wall, candles & table sections. Overall I am looking for a new job since it's too much for little pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding sales pace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Davie, FLMarch 21, 2014
Pros: associate discounts
Cons: part time hours only, no benefits
Steady reminders of daily goals thru out shift - tolerate verbally abusive customers - lack of hours for employees affective product knowledge. Direct management is sensitive to our needs. A lot of carrying heavy items. Continual clean up of sales floor, including cleaning bathrooms, empting garbage. Very low pay scale. Considering mostly negative information, – more... my particular store has a great atmosphere and pleasant co-workers. – less

About Pier 1 Imports

We believe we have something special going on here at Pier 1 Imports. Our culture is about our attitude toward business, how we – Read more