Find companies:
Pier 1 Imports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
496 reviews

Pier 1 Imports Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 24, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Management allows you to make critical decisions without looking over your shoulder while completing any tasks. They trust the decisions you make.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviornment
Sales Leader (Current Employee), Albany, GAOctober 21, 2014
I love the people I work with. Its a great environment and friendly people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Doral, FLOctober 21, 2014
Greet customers, suggest merchandise, and ring customers up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, high standard work environment.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wichita, KSOctober 20, 2014
Fun, high standard work environment.
The associates are hard workers that are able to do many jobs and tasks and have fun doing them.
The customers are the best because you get to meet so many different people from all over the country and make them happy by sharing your ideas of home décor with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive work place
Sales Leader (Current Employee), Plymouth, MAOctober 8, 2014
While working at Pier 1 Imports I learned many new things that have helped to to develop my professional career. A typical day at Pier 1 Imports involves greeting customers, helping customers pick out merchandise, ringing transactions, and managing associates. Managing associates involves assigning them tasks and making sure those tasks are completed. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE !!! DO NOT BE TRICKED!!
Customer Relations Representative (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 5, 2014
Pros: hour long lunch benefits vacation time
Cons: everything else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
TERRIBLE PLACE TO WORK..THE MANAGEMENT IS ABSOLUTELY UNREASONABLE THE CALL CENTER IS THE MOST DYSFUNCTIONAL PLACE I HAVE EVER WORKED IN MY LIKE THE MANAGEMENT IS A BUNCH OF LIARS AND THE ATTENDANCE POLICY IS THE WORST!!! THE TURNOVER RATE IS EXTREMELY HIGH THE PAY SUCKS THE WHOLE CALL CENTER NEEDS REVAMPING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT BE FOOLED BY WHAT – more... THEY TELLYOU ALL IN TRAINING, WHICH ALSO SUCKS. WE ALL OUR DISGRUNTLE EMPLOYEES AND ARE VERY UNHAPPY WORKING HERE BUT MANY OF US ARE SINGLE MOMS WHO HAVE NO OTHER CHOICE. ABSOLUTELY NO ROOM FOR ADVANCEMENT UNLESS YOU KISS TONS OF BUTT AND ACT LIKE THE MADNESS YOU WITNESS DAILY HERE DOES NOT EXIST!!!!!!
We have many different programs tht do not work well outdated..this is sad for a company in 2014 that do not have a way to use their Gift cards on their WEBSITE!!! ??????? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day making a customer satisfied with their purchase while meeting sales goal
Store Manager (Current Employee), Manhattan Beach, CAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: great discounts on merchandise
Cons: lifting of heavy furniture with no machinary
Every day consist of meeting sales goals while providing training opportunities for all employees while delivering great and satisfying customer service. In this position it taught me great organization and great multi-tasking skills. I was successful in developing a strong management team to increase sales as well assuring each and every customer was – more... satisfied. Ensuring employees are well trained in company policies and procedures being held accountable for there individual results. The hardest part of the job was getting big items in small spaces while lifting very heavy and odd shape objects. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to run a high traffic location servicing customers while giving them great customer care and developing a strong employee team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Machesney Park, ILOctober 1, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere
Cons: part time only
home decor headquarters so fun with the seasonal decor and scents
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Pier 1 Imports
sales associate (Current Employee), williamsville, NYSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: short shifts (4 hours)
Cons: limited hours for sales associates
The staff and management are like a family; I enjoy working with everyone there. I love listening then assisting customers with decorating their homes. The hardest part of this job is climbing very tall ladders to retrieve dining chairs, tables, papasan chairs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun place to work with great management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: always free breakfast or lunches, great discount for employees
Cons: need more hours
I give the store I worked at an A+ on everything. It is really a fun place to work and most everything that I learned about retail I picked up at this store.

Area manager, store managers and co-workers all beautiful people.

The hardest part of the job is you get to go home and the most enjoyable I got to work on the Décor Pillow Wall and my hard work – more... was always recognized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people to work with
Store Associate (Former Employee), Cranberry Township, PASeptember 24, 2014
The work environment is phenomenal! Constant change in products and an all around enjoyable work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low paying and No full time
Sales (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: peers are nice
Cons: pay, company
This company doesn't seem to care too much about their employees. Very small incentives if any. Management is unprofessional, but they are expected to work a lot of hours. Pay is only $8.00/hr. They know their front door is a revolving one for part time employees and that is probably why they are not too invested in their employees. They could solve – more... that problem by offering better pay and taking an interest in workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive retail environment with outstanding customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Downey, CASeptember 23, 2014
Works well with fellow coworkers making sure the store looks clean and presentable. Greet every customer with a smile and give them great customer service by going above and beyond the "call of duty". Walk the store and organize product into correct homes and facing to make sure instock numbers are accurate for future orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the company and product
Part Time Sales Leader (Former Employee), Southbury, CTSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: incentives for meeting our sales goals
Cons: healthcare was expensive
opening and closing of store
coaching and giving sales goals to sales associates
reporting any problems to store manager
love helping customers, determining their needs and
and fulfilling them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at a Large Company is Not My Thing
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Boulder, COSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: great products
Cons: management
I worked at Pier 1 for a summer after graduating from college. I enjoy the eclectic feel of Pier 1 as I have bought many of their products. When I worked for the company, I felt as though I was not being paid enough for the amount put in. I was not rewarded with good praises for doing extra work. Even though I constantly offered my assistance, I was – more... not give positive reinforcement. With only negative reinforcement (ex. when I asked a question the manager would respond with 'oh, you don't know that already?') I started to feel resentment towards management and my work.

My co-workers were very kind and fun and all workers agreed with me that management made the job unpleasant.

The hardest part of the job was working late - sometimes past midnight - moving furniture.

The most enjoyable part of the job was organizing the new products when they came on the truck and working with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Care taking job.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Peoria,IllinpoisSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: careing girls
Cons: seasonal and not enough hours.
A typical day at work was unloading a truck before store hours while handling a manifest. I was also responsible for setting store products in bays upon staging for store display. What I learned at the job was reading from a manifest and helping customers with pick-up orders. My co-works worked with me all the way on keeping up with the necessities – more... of the job. The job was really laid back with splendid girls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but Hard work a must.
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Abilene, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: turn over in college town, management changed several times
You could have fun and joke around with co-workers as long as work was being done. Wednesdays were always truck days and if you were on the crew to do the truck you were there at 6 am to 10 am unloading, unboxing, and stocking product. Product ranged from napkin rings to large dressers. I loved getting to decorate for holidays even if you had a specific – more... picture you were following. Typical days were full of stocking product, moving furniture, hanging pictures, sweeping up broken glasses. The times were I was not at work because of being sick one manager was not very understandable about it. Others were patient and understood. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, nice co-workers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Greenville, SCSeptember 13, 2014
A typical day at Pier 1 is busy and productive. The co-workers are great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment
freight assistant-handled stock (Former Employee), Clarksville, TNSeptember 12, 2014
Early morning freight work, assembling merchandise that needs assembling, helping store associates with customers when needed! easy going job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lake Charles, LouisianaSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: meeting various types of people and working in a positive environment
Cons: not mentally stimulating work
I worked part-time as a sales associate. The shifts were short hours, but management was very accommodating to my school and coaching schedules. My co-workers had positive attitudes and were always willing to approach sales or projects as a team. The most difficult part of the job was communicating with customers without product knowledge, but as I – more... gained experience and confidence, sales became easier. I enjoyed the physical tasks of the job such as working freight, assembling furniture, and creating displays for event sales. – less

About Pier 1 Imports

We believe we have something special going on here at Pier 1 Imports. Our culture is about our attitude toward business, how we – Read more