Find companies:
Pier 1 Imports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
489 reviews

Pier 1 Imports Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pier 1 Imports
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALNovember 13, 2014
Pros: good co-workers, meeting customers, good manager
Cons: not enough hours, slow most days in store
A typical day at work was boring, and standard. I sold standard store items to the public. There was not much to learn. I would have to say the main thing I took away from that job was a slight confidence boost while dealing with customers. My manager was strict, but fair. My co-workers were not so sociable with me; non the less they were still kind. – more... The hardest part of my job was convincing people to sign up for the store credit cards. The most enjoyable part of my job meeting new customers needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work in sales.
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Paradise Valley, AZNovember 11, 2014
A typical day at Pier One is assisting customers find what they need.

I learned how to decorate your home for different seasons.

We had a great energetic team.

The most challenging part of my job was getting customers to open a pier one credit card.

The most enjoyable part of my job was giving customers ideas on what to buy and putting up new store – more... items out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part time or First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Pearl City, HINovember 10, 2014
The company was very passionate with helping others in need and donating to unicef.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hours
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Redlands, CANovember 9, 2014
hours are not reliable.I was told my hours were going to be flixible with my school hours, once my original manager left it all went down hill everyone quit with our new manager lori.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Energetic.
o Sales Associate (Current Employee), Wellington, FLNovember 6, 2014
How to deliver customer service, cash register , greeting customers, helping to order or locate merchandise, restocking shelves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time consuming
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Waterloo, IANovember 4, 2014
-Very difficult to balance with family life
-Terrible work hours
-Pay is not very good
-Time consuming
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work wouldn't recommend working for this company!
Customer Service (Current Employee), Yonkers, NYNovember 4, 2014
Pros: nothing they are horrible
Cons: nothing hate these company!
They never have you on a set schedule and it's always flex and they never call you in. I was just told because I haven't worked in 30 days they where going to terminate me. How do you want me to work when everytime you say you don't need me for my flex. If I hadn't gotten a temporary job at Party City in October I wouldn't have any money in my account. – more... It's not my fault for not working when they keep saying they don't need me!!! Pier 1 Imports is a horrible place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sale Associate (Current Employee), Hickory NCNovember 4, 2014
I love working here. It is an awesome place to work. On a normal day here I help customers to meet their needs. If they need help with an order or finding a product, I am there. I also help with truck and stock. The hardest part of the job is when you cannot find something but someone wit=ll eventually find it. My co workers are awesome. we are a team – more... and always willing to help one another. The management is also awesome. Everyone is on the same page which makes for a stress free work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Humble, TXNovember 3, 2014
I worked there over a year and found it to be fun but a challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant Memories
Floor Sales (Former Employee), Midland, TXOctober 29, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: cruddy management style
During my time at Pier 1 Imports, the only thing I was looking forward to was Truck Day. I wouldn't have to work on the floor and would finally be around a fun crew. Otherwise, every other day of the week was pretty dreadful.

During the day, I would usually help open the store. Meaning, while the Manager counted and opened the register, I would be – more... the only other person there. I would have to clean the mess that the closing shift didn't want to do: I would have to organize the pillows, sweep up by the doors, fix up the back room so it was manageable to move through, and make sure that there wasn't any broken glass anywhere... all before the store opened its doors for its first customers of the day. Even though the Manager had opened up the register, if I customer wanted to buy something before another staff member clocked in, I would be the one having to ring them up and help them with their every need.

There were times that I would enjoy working at this store, despite everything I have said. I did enjoy being able to talk with my friends at work, going out to the warehouse, and I especially enjoyed the bonds I made while working here.

I was not pleased with the managers, whom (as I saw) didn't really help out much on the floor. For the most part, I only ever saw them in the backroom, typing away on the computer. That is, when the door was open. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZOctober 27, 2014
Pros: awesome discount!
Cons: retail hours.. compensation not great..
Worked all positions from Sales Associate to Store Manager. Great Company and Fun Culture!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke of an Employer
Customer Relations (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 25, 2014
Pros: nothing special
Cons: pier 1
Worst call center I have ever worked in, the person doing the scheduling has no clue how to schedule, training is 2 weeks long, but they don't train you on what you need to know. They tell you, your insurance will start in 90 days, thats a lie, even though it is written in their offer letter. They have no concept of how to run a call center, The pay – more... is way below average for a call center. Look else where for employment. I have been putting applications in left and right just to get out of here. And their vendor for home deliveries is awful, you would think a company would do much better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very eccentric, dedicated team work, extremely fun, and I gained a lot of experience working there!
Retail Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Cupertino, CAOctober 24, 2014
Pros: had 401k plan and urned bonus bucks to spend for opening up pier 1 accounts for customers
Cons: needed assistance in taking heavy merchandice to customers vehicle.
I made sure I provided customers with excellent customer service by making them feel comfortable while shopping. Also, I helped customers find what they needed. Furthermore, I did a variety of multiple tasks such as making displays and putting out new merchandise. I had a lot of experience using and operating a cash register efficiently. However, my – more... co-workers and I worked as a team to both satisfy customers and meet daily sales goals.I strongly believe that working as a team with both co-workers and management is very important to make the store a success. I also learned how to both open and closed the store with my supervisor. I was eager to both follow directions and learn new ways to improve my performance. When I was unable to assist any customer, I found it extremely helpful to go to management to further assist the customer. I really enjoy working retail a lot, we sold furniture and sometimes I would need another co-worker and/or manager to help me take heavy merchandise to the customers vehicle. Honestly, I felt that was the hardest part of the job. I learned how price and tag sale merchandise by working with a manual pricing gun. Also, I learned how to maintain a clean and tidy store by doing a thorough job at memorizing where the misplaced merchandise goes. I enjoy working to satisfy customers by making their shopping experience pleasant and rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 24, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Management allows you to make critical decisions without looking over your shoulder while completing any tasks. They trust the decisions you make.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviornment
Sales Leader (Current Employee), Albany, GAOctober 21, 2014
I love the people I work with. Its a great environment and friendly people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Doral, FLOctober 21, 2014
Greet customers, suggest merchandise, and ring customers up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, high standard work environment.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wichita, KSOctober 20, 2014
Fun, high standard work environment.
The associates are hard workers that are able to do many jobs and tasks and have fun doing them.
The customers are the best because you get to meet so many different people from all over the country and make them happy by sharing your ideas of home d├ęcor with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive work place
Sales Leader (Current Employee), Plymouth, MAOctober 8, 2014
While working at Pier 1 Imports I learned many new things that have helped to to develop my professional career. A typical day at Pier 1 Imports involves greeting customers, helping customers pick out merchandise, ringing transactions, and managing associates. Managing associates involves assigning them tasks and making sure those tasks are completed. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE !!! DO NOT BE TRICKED!!
Customer Relations Representative (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 5, 2014
Pros: hour long lunch benefits vacation time
Cons: everything else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
TERRIBLE PLACE TO WORK..THE MANAGEMENT IS ABSOLUTELY UNREASONABLE THE CALL CENTER IS THE MOST DYSFUNCTIONAL PLACE I HAVE EVER WORKED IN MY LIKE THE MANAGEMENT IS A BUNCH OF LIARS AND THE ATTENDANCE POLICY IS THE WORST!!! THE TURNOVER RATE IS EXTREMELY HIGH THE PAY SUCKS THE WHOLE CALL CENTER NEEDS REVAMPING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT BE FOOLED BY WHAT – more... THEY TELLYOU ALL IN TRAINING, WHICH ALSO SUCKS. WE ALL OUR DISGRUNTLE EMPLOYEES AND ARE VERY UNHAPPY WORKING HERE BUT MANY OF US ARE SINGLE MOMS WHO HAVE NO OTHER CHOICE. ABSOLUTELY NO ROOM FOR ADVANCEMENT UNLESS YOU KISS TONS OF BUTT AND ACT LIKE THE MADNESS YOU WITNESS DAILY HERE DOES NOT EXIST!!!!!!
We have many different programs tht do not work well outdated..this is sad for a company in 2014 that do not have a way to use their Gift cards on their WEBSITE!!! ??????? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day making a customer satisfied with their purchase while meeting sales goal
Store Manager (Current Employee), Manhattan Beach, CAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: great discounts on merchandise
Cons: lifting of heavy furniture with no machinary
Every day consist of meeting sales goals while providing training opportunities for all employees while delivering great and satisfying customer service. In this position it taught me great organization and great multi-tasking skills. I was successful in developing a strong management team to increase sales as well assuring each and every customer was – more... satisfied. Ensuring employees are well trained in company policies and procedures being held accountable for there individual results. The hardest part of the job was getting big items in small spaces while lifting very heavy and odd shape objects. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to run a high traffic location servicing customers while giving them great customer care and developing a strong employee team. – less

About Pier 1 Imports

We believe we have something special going on here at Pier 1 Imports. Our culture is about our attitude toward business, how we – Read more