Find companies:
Pier 1 Imports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
496 reviews

Pier 1 Imports Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only a good place if there is good management
Salesperson (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALNovember 25, 2014
Pros: discount, some good people to work with
Cons: short, sporadic shifts, lousy management, no employee loyalty
I worked as a sales associate at a Pier 1 several years ago and did all the typical sales stuff you would think of. I worked under more than one manager and I have to say, this makes a HUGE difference.

The first manager was wonderful. She was sweet and kind and was able to balance being the boss and being a friend. She always made sure to talk to you – more... when there was an issue to straighten it out.

The other manager I worked under seemed pretty great to start off with but the second a problem came up, her reaction was to tell me to quit without talking about it first. It turned out she'd gotten some misinformation about a situation from some coworker basically saying that I was saying I was injured to get out of working at a time I wanted off but wasn't given.

I really had been injured (not on the job) but I hadn't said anything until I knew for sure from the doctor to avoid making an issue out of it if I didn't have to. I had a legitimate doctor's note and explained the situation to the assistant manager (the manager wasn't there when I went in) but she still went with what some other associate said and made up her mind without even talking to me, She also accused me of purposefully avoiding her so I didn't have to talk to her about it and have her find out what was really going on. In fact, I'd called at least 4 times but she was never there when I did and I was told that they would leave messages for her, which apparently they never did. So instead of trying to call me and ask what was going on, she just made assumptions based on third hand information. And I'd been working there about 3 years when this happened so needless to say, I was angry and betrayed that after 3 years of good work, they'd just say see you. I ended up quitting because of this because that is just completely outrageous in my opinion.

If you want a fun job for a little extra cash but don't really need it for the money, check this place out but I wouldn't recommend working here if you want something serious. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Customer Relations Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXNovember 22, 2014
Pros: free coffee, fitness center
Cons: shift work
They are a very employee centered employer. The amenities in the home office are awesome. My only complaint, working in customer relations, is the schedule. If you need set hours customer relations isn't the department for you. Your availability needs to be OPEN. Everything else is awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and they have the best staff!
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Huntington Beach, CANovember 21, 2014
Pros: busy and positive work place. they're also very flexible.
Cons: pay is lower than i would expect.
Every day is filled with a positive work environment, which is always nice. I have learned so much about all different forms of design and I really do feel that I have built my creativity skills. I love Pier 1 Imports!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term yet interesting experience
IT Technical Support Associate Tier 1 (Former Employee), Ft Worth TXNovember 20, 2014
This was contract work so I didn't have the opportunity to interact with the workers for long but the time I was there was exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had fun at Pier1 Imports
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), San Rafael/VallejoNovember 20, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
When I worked at Pier 1 Imports everything was amazingly good. Helping costumers was fun because your not just selling things to them you're helping them match and design things so that their homes will not just look good, they will feel more relaxed. My co-workers were nice, teaches me things that I didn't know at first and always ask me If I needed – more... some help in some things. The hardest part of the job is carrying heavy stuffs but your co-workers even your manager is always there to help you carry stuff. The most enjoyable part is when I'm learning new things and knowing different names of different items. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Sales (Former Employee), Carle Place, NYNovember 18, 2014
Pros: good discounts for employees
Cons: no full time positions
As a part time job I cant really complain. Family oriented atmosphere, great co-workers. Above average pay. Ability to move up in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work environment
Sales associate Sales Leader/Manager On Duty (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSNovember 18, 2014
Pros: great opportunities to be promoted
Cons: very physical
I like this company and the people that I had a chance to work with. This was a great opportunity for me to learn the retail business and also it utilized my interior design skills. This job also allowed me to gain management skills as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pier 1 Imports
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALNovember 13, 2014
Pros: good co-workers, meeting customers, good manager
Cons: not enough hours, slow most days in store
A typical day at work was boring, and standard. I sold standard store items to the public. There was not much to learn. I would have to say the main thing I took away from that job was a slight confidence boost while dealing with customers. My manager was strict, but fair. My co-workers were not so sociable with me; non the less they were still kind. – more... The hardest part of my job was convincing people to sign up for the store credit cards. The most enjoyable part of my job meeting new customers needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work in sales.
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Paradise Valley, AZNovember 11, 2014
A typical day at Pier One is assisting customers find what they need.

I learned how to decorate your home for different seasons.

We had a great energetic team.

The most challenging part of my job was getting customers to open a pier one credit card.

The most enjoyable part of my job was giving customers ideas on what to buy and putting up new store – more... items out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part time or First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Pearl City, HINovember 10, 2014
The company was very passionate with helping others in need and donating to unicef.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hours
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Redlands, CANovember 9, 2014
hours are not reliable.I was told my hours were going to be flixible with my school hours, once my original manager left it all went down hill everyone quit with our new manager lori.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Energetic.
o Sales Associate (Current Employee), Wellington, FLNovember 6, 2014
How to deliver customer service, cash register , greeting customers, helping to order or locate merchandise, restocking shelves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time consuming
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Waterloo, IANovember 4, 2014
-Very difficult to balance with family life
-Terrible work hours
-Pay is not very good
-Time consuming
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work wouldn't recommend working for this company!
Customer Service (Current Employee), Yonkers, NYNovember 4, 2014
Pros: nothing they are horrible
Cons: nothing hate these company!
They never have you on a set schedule and it's always flex and they never call you in. I was just told because I haven't worked in 30 days they where going to terminate me. How do you want me to work when everytime you say you don't need me for my flex. If I hadn't gotten a temporary job at Party City in October I wouldn't have any money in my account. – more... It's not my fault for not working when they keep saying they don't need me!!! Pier 1 Imports is a horrible place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sale Associate (Current Employee), Hickory NCNovember 4, 2014
I love working here. It is an awesome place to work. On a normal day here I help customers to meet their needs. If they need help with an order or finding a product, I am there. I also help with truck and stock. The hardest part of the job is when you cannot find something but someone wit=ll eventually find it. My co workers are awesome. we are a team – more... and always willing to help one another. The management is also awesome. Everyone is on the same page which makes for a stress free work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Humble, TXNovember 3, 2014
I worked there over a year and found it to be fun but a challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant Memories
Floor Sales (Former Employee), Midland, TXOctober 29, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: cruddy management style
During my time at Pier 1 Imports, the only thing I was looking forward to was Truck Day. I wouldn't have to work on the floor and would finally be around a fun crew. Otherwise, every other day of the week was pretty dreadful.

During the day, I would usually help open the store. Meaning, while the Manager counted and opened the register, I would be – more... the only other person there. I would have to clean the mess that the closing shift didn't want to do: I would have to organize the pillows, sweep up by the doors, fix up the back room so it was manageable to move through, and make sure that there wasn't any broken glass anywhere... all before the store opened its doors for its first customers of the day. Even though the Manager had opened up the register, if I customer wanted to buy something before another staff member clocked in, I would be the one having to ring them up and help them with their every need.

There were times that I would enjoy working at this store, despite everything I have said. I did enjoy being able to talk with my friends at work, going out to the warehouse, and I especially enjoyed the bonds I made while working here.

I was not pleased with the managers, whom (as I saw) didn't really help out much on the floor. For the most part, I only ever saw them in the backroom, typing away on the computer. That is, when the door was open. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZOctober 27, 2014
Pros: awesome discount!
Cons: retail hours.. compensation not great..
Worked all positions from Sales Associate to Store Manager. Great Company and Fun Culture!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke of an Employer
Customer Relations (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 25, 2014
Pros: nothing special
Cons: pier 1
Worst call center I have ever worked in, the person doing the scheduling has no clue how to schedule, training is 2 weeks long, but they don't train you on what you need to know. They tell you, your insurance will start in 90 days, thats a lie, even though it is written in their offer letter. They have no concept of how to run a call center, The pay – more... is way below average for a call center. Look else where for employment. I have been putting applications in left and right just to get out of here. And their vendor for home deliveries is awful, you would think a company would do much better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very eccentric, dedicated team work, extremely fun, and I gained a lot of experience working there!
Retail Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Cupertino, CAOctober 24, 2014
Pros: had 401k plan and urned bonus bucks to spend for opening up pier 1 accounts for customers
Cons: needed assistance in taking heavy merchandice to customers vehicle.
I made sure I provided customers with excellent customer service by making them feel comfortable while shopping. Also, I helped customers find what they needed. Furthermore, I did a variety of multiple tasks such as making displays and putting out new merchandise. I had a lot of experience using and operating a cash register efficiently. However, my – more... co-workers and I worked as a team to both satisfy customers and meet daily sales goals.I strongly believe that working as a team with both co-workers and management is very important to make the store a success. I also learned how to both open and closed the store with my supervisor. I was eager to both follow directions and learn new ways to improve my performance. When I was unable to assist any customer, I found it extremely helpful to go to management to further assist the customer. I really enjoy working retail a lot, we sold furniture and sometimes I would need another co-worker and/or manager to help me take heavy merchandise to the customers vehicle. Honestly, I felt that was the hardest part of the job. I learned how price and tag sale merchandise by working with a manual pricing gun. Also, I learned how to maintain a clean and tidy store by doing a thorough job at memorizing where the misplaced merchandise goes. I enjoy working to satisfy customers by making their shopping experience pleasant and rewarding. – less

About Pier 1 Imports

We believe we have something special going on here at Pier 1 Imports. Our culture is about our attitude toward business, how we – Read more