Find companies:
Pier 1 Imports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
365 reviews

Pier 1 Imports Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
CUSTOMER RELATIONS REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 27, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: changes as the company grows
Fast Environment
Develop Skills
Great Team
Great employee celebrations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many changes in management.
Provide Customer Service/ POS trainer/ Sales (Former Employee), Charleston, SCMarch 25, 2014
I as well as many others had worked for this location for almost 3 years. Within that time, we underwent changes with 5 different managers. The final manager told all of us that had been there that she was unable to give recommendations based on her lack of knowledge in our skillsets and work performance. There was no longer any opportunity for advancement – more... with this location. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Atmosphere & Fun
Sales Leader/Associate (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJMarch 24, 2014
The best part about working for Pier 1 imports is working with customer & having fun while completing tasks in between customers.
I never looked at any part of my job description as hard because there was always a way to complete tasks in a fun way, everything about the company & standards were acceptable, & easy to work for. I learned patience & understanding – more... in my time with Pier 1, most co-workers & managers were always pleasant at the various stores I worked at or other stores I filled in at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always a great day
Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 23, 2014
Pros: flexable schedules
Cons: payroll doesnt allow for over time or extra shifts
coworkers are awesome... manager leads with such great morale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
delicious greek food
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 23, 2014
a fun environment to work in, great learning experience in the serving business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but....
Sales associate (Current Employee), Los AngelesMarch 22, 2014
Pros: 25% discount plus things on sale/clearance, music
Cons: not commission based, pay is $9.00
I am currently employed by pier 1, the pay is fine if you are not living on your own. The routine is basic, greet customers, ask if they need anything, offer the p1cc, & do a quick checkout & get their email/ make them take our survey. The job requires patience, body strength, visual skills, & sleepless nights. Patience: some customers are the biggest – more... pain in the bum/ are super needy or OCD, or are rich snobby people with the occasional exception. You also get a lot of fraud. Body strength: p1 is a furniture store so you will at one point be carrying a 100-250lbs piece w/ help. As a 19 year old female this has caused me knee & back problems by which I told my manager I will no longer Carry furniture. Visual skill/ sleepless nights. Every month you are required to do a transition for the next months "sales" these are done on Sunday night from 8pm to as late as 2am. You change each statement with a crew of ppl to the new setting. Opening shifts include windexing tables & windows as well as making sure store looks great. Closing shifts are more demanding, you mop & sweep 3x a month, take out the trash, straiten items out of place. Make sure all the statements look like the magazine, do markdowns, fix pillow wall, candles & table sections. Overall I am looking for a new job since it's too much for little pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding sales pace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Davie, FLMarch 21, 2014
Pros: associate discounts
Cons: part time hours only, no benefits
Steady reminders of daily goals thru out shift - tolerate verbally abusive customers - lack of hours for employees affective product knowledge. Direct management is sensitive to our needs. A lot of carrying heavy items. Continual clean up of sales floor, including cleaning bathrooms, empting garbage. Very low pay scale. Considering mostly negative information, – more... my particular store has a great atmosphere and pleasant co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Staten Island, NYMarch 21, 2014
Pros: coworkers, easy going environment
Cons: management
The sales associates are great, however, certain managers are a nightmare. You will not get hours no matter what, and god forbid you miss a day they tell you that you are unreliable and they take hours from you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company in America
Sales Leader (Current Employee), Santee, CAMarch 19, 2014
I would recommend this company to anyone looking to continue school or their dream.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Daytona Beach, FLMarch 18, 2014
I enjoy working at Pier 1, I love how much they appreciate the associates, that's something I never had before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great store with amazing people to work with
Store Associate (Current Employee), Port Saint Lucie, FLMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, good music.
Cons: sparse hours
Working at Pier 1 Imports on any given day is great. The managers are all friendly and very helpful. All of my co-workers help each other with any problematic tasks, such as taking chairs off the side walls or moving merchandise from the top shelves in the stock room. I love working transition nights on Sundays when almost every employee is there and – more... we are all working to give the store an entirely new look. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet non-enjoyable
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAMarch 16, 2014
My typical day at work included completing check, cash, and credit card transactions, helping customers when needed, etc. I learned how to efficiently handle sales and conduct bi-weekly inventory. Management and my co-workers were all about getting the job done. Overall, this job was not enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive sales team and Positive learning environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Lansing, MIMarch 13, 2014
The work environment is always changing so it keeps the typical work day interesting. I've learned how to feel comfortable approaching strangers and was able to strengthen my customer service skills. Management is supportive and they take their time in guiding you toward a sales method that works best for you. The co-workers become family, and you learn – more... a lot from their own personal salesman methods. The hardest part of the job is probably talking about the Pier1 Rewards Credit Card; there's a little pressure on selling those which is very difficult at times since "Credit Card" tends to turn people away from applying. The most enjoyable part of my job is that even if I come to work grumpy I never leave that way. Pier 1 is a great part-time job especially for those who are just starting out in the workforce. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management, physically stressful
Stock/Customer Sales Associate (Former Employee), Somers Point, NJMarch 11, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, beautiful merchandise, organized.
Cons: the physical demand is harsh for a woman.
For the most part, I loved working here. Most of the staff was friendly and productive. The management was excellent, motivating and very organized. It was all about sales and convincing customers to apply for the credit card and buy things. The part that killed me was unloading the trucks and the constant heavy lifting. Furniture, giant glass mirrors, – more... heavy chairs, tall stacks of glass plates and vases... very heavy. And a lot of the staff were older women that weren't very strong, so I was always left helping them carry the heavy things. The physical stress left me with a knee problem, back ache and bad sciatica pains. I liked working here, but the constant lifting was brutal on the joints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Takes time to move up
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Coralville, IAMarch 8, 2014
Great Staff
Great Stuff
Good vibes
Management was great
Fun place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning expierience
Sales Leader (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMarch 7, 2014
Cons: pay, hours
What I will take away from pier one is a great experience and the change to work with incredible people. What Pier One really did for me was opened my eyes to my great skill and passion which is visual merchandising.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work - a challenge every single day
Store Manager (Current Employee), Texarkana, TXMarch 7, 2014
Pros: vacations, clean environment, fun people, decent pay for management
Cons: minimum wage for associates, high workload with minimal time
A typical store manager day at Pier 1 Imports deals with managing employees effectively - to be in the right place at the right time. Associates are bound by a set of values and Pier 1 Brand Standards. I have learned many things from this job. They are eager to elevate you to the next level of success and training is ok. The hardest part of the job – more... is managing the employees. You practically have to live with your employees and be a sounding board / counselor for any and all problems. My co-workers are great people. The company gives WAY WAY WAY too much responsibility and they execute too many initiatives at once. Many associates only work 8 hours a week and they are expected to perform at the rate of a full-time worker. It is very challenging but can also be rewarding. As a store manager, you have to dedicate your life to the store. You are always working. The most enjoyable part of the position for me is setting up displays and merchandising. I enjoy decorating and it is something I am passionate about. As a store manager, I have lost some of the passion for merchandising, because there is a lack of time and priorities change with this title. Overall, I highly recommend working for Pier 1. If you are looking to become a store manager, be prepared to be 100% committed to the store or it will reflect in your ratings down the road. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pier 1 Imports - Love my job, hate my benefits.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Kelso, WAMarch 4, 2014
Pros: fast-paced environment, changes monthly, constantly receiving new merchandise
Cons: minimal benefits, minimal wages, minimal wage increases, refusal of overtime, expectations too high for given wages, reviewed on credit card performance
As an ASM, you are expected to work 8-10 hour shifts, 5 days a week. If you work over 40 hours, you are penalized with guilt. Vacation time is generous and accrues quickly. Responsible for all store duties, processes, SOP's, with the exception of monthly office duties, and weekly conference calls. Not likely to make more than $15/hr, but expected to – more... act as equal to Store Manager. Survey results and instant credit performance monitored weekly. You are given high sales targets to meet, with decreases in traffic not taken into consideration. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly
GENERAL WAREHOUSE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Savannah, GaMarch 2, 2014
Pros: lunches, and positive encouragement
Cons: seasonal employment
By far the best warehouse I ever worked. Very organized. Fast paced lots of over time. Good management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST JOB EVER!!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), MSFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: discounts.
Cons: everything!
Pier 1 was one of the worst jobs I have ever had. You had to do too much for not enough pay. They wanted us to work overnight transitions taking us away from our families and we didn't even get additional shift premiums for working these overnight shifts. The management was HORRIBLE and very unfair to the hard workers. I dreaded going to work DAILY. – more... Well I wouldn't say daily because after not sucking up to the manager I only received about 1 day every 2 weeks. I wouldn't recommend ANYONE to apply to this establishment unless you were just trying to get a good discount on nice home decor. – less

About Pier 1 Imports

We believe we have something special going on here at Pier 1 Imports. Our culture is about our attitude toward business, how we – Read more