Find companies:
Pier 1 Imports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
496 reviews

Pier 1 Imports Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enthusiastic
Sales Associate / Cashier / Inventory Manager (Former Employee), Kingston, ONNovember 24, 2014
Everyone was a pleasure to work with. The manager at that time was very willing to work with my hours of availability. Very hands on opportunity to be up and moving with other employees and customers, sharing insight and everyone helped each other. Great Team environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glittery fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), St. Catharines, ONNovember 19, 2014
I enjoy the store and people here
4 hour shifts
Very friendly management
Co-workers are all nice people
Fragrance department is a bit stifling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dull boring and micro managed
Sales Associate (Former Employee), torontoAugust 5, 2014
Cons: men are considered to be moving people essentially
my head manager was great but everyone else was basically just trying to force you in to the jobs they didnt wanna do
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing products, fun place to work.
Shipper receiver and CSR (Current Employee), London, ONJuly 21, 2014
Pros: the ladies i work with always bring in baked goods.
Cons: not enough hours.
A typical day of work would be unloading the truck with new merchandise, receiving product up to and including proper pricing and then out onto the floor. I have and continue to learn a great deal about the various products as they come in which ofcourse makes it easier to sell if you know the items inside out. My co-workers are a blast and we all work – more... together as a team. The hardest part of my job is when my shift ends and I have to go home. The most enjoyable part of my job is just being a part of the Company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and great management
Seasonal Cashier and Sales Representative (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMay 5, 2014
At Pier 1 Imports I had my first real introduction to cashier skills. The management was very kind and easy to work with. They took the time to teach all necessary skills. The work environment was great, all co-workers worked together in a efficient team. Overall a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, no job security
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Windsor, ONApril 16, 2014
Pros: great staff, working around your available hours
Cons: no job security
A typical day at work involves prepping the store for opening, and greeting our customers upon their entering the store.
Helping them find great pieces to enhance their home is the objective!
Great staff, goal oriented, fun environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive buisness, could use more shifts.
Sales Associate/ cashier (Current Employee), St. Catharines, ONFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: short shifts nice people, easy work to do, good environment to work in.
Cons: not busy some days, can be slow. sometimes too many people working, not enough work to do.
A typical day on the floor: Selling and promoting sales and events, helping customers and team members or managers with tasks when needed, working on cash.

A typical day on the truck: Unpacking items, repricing items, stocking items onto trolley for distribution to store shelves.

Management: Nice individuals, assigns positions and zones in the store, – more... explains what needs to be accomplished and goals for the day.

Co workers: Easy going, nice people.

Hardest part of the job: Not busy enough

Most enjoyable: Busy days with lots to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to work for
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONJanuary 9, 2014
Overall I enjoy working for this company. Great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place
Stockroom Coordinator (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 13, 2013
Pros: very nice place to work
Cons: i just could not get full time hours there
A very nice and fun place to work
I just could not get Full Time hours there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun and rewarding job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Langley, BCJuly 15, 2013
Pier one is a wonderful place to work. Everyone I work with feel like my second family and they make coming to work enjoyable. There is always something to do and that makes the shifts pass by quickly. The management are there to help and are always willing to. The hardest part is when displays need to be done. There is a guideline to follow but sometimes – more... we don't have the product. It always turns out okay though, because we make it happen! The easiest part is coming to work and being there. The atmosphere that has been created is welcoming and fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awfull workplace
Sales associate (Former Employee), ottawa, ONMay 14, 2013
only girls working on the floor with me. Manager was so rude, clearly favored the girls over me. was never happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere, good management, and stimulating.
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee), Pointe-Claire, QCDecember 17, 2012
Pros: great co-workers and management, has given me valuable experience.
Cons: varying hours, little room for advancement.
Outstanding environment to work in due to helpful management and strong staff bond. The company as a whole takes great pride in their merchandise, as well as their employees and customer service.

I work as a sales associate and cashier, but very often work in the stock room as well. I typically replenish merchandise, set up merchandise displays, tag – more... sales and liquidations, and organise overstock items. Every week I help to unload, unwrap, and price new/replenishment merchandise, as well as verify customer orders.

The job has taught me how to multitask effectively, and the importance of organisation and teamwork. I have been helpful in keeping the store productive, and I am proud of my contributions. The hardest part of the job is the continuos upkeep of both the floor and stock room. Displays are not only updated with every holiday/season, but are constantly altered in order to accomodate fluctuations in merchandise quantities. This requires off-hour work late into the night, as well as starting early in the morning, so as not to cause interference when the store is open. That being said, there is always something to be done, which means the job never feels stagnant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and unique merchandise
sales associate (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: 25% employee discount
Cons: no hours
Hard work but no appreciation. i like my work at pier 1 imports but i am not getting enough hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, friendly staff, positive surroundings.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: amicable, civil, tolerable, good quality products.
Cons: unstable shifts, sometimes inflexible with personal schedule.
They strive to have a positive atmosphere and they get that. If it's not working, we worked at it. Communication is key.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job ever!
Sales Representatives (Former Employee), Lakewood, CODecember 13, 2014
Pros: great incentives (free product at christmas/selling certain items), working with great people, working in a beautiful environment, learning how to decorate
Cons: none really
I have nothing but praise for Pier 1 Imports. Not only was it fun to learn about the furniture and trinkets inside the store, being able to get hands on building furniture during downtime, dealing with trendy people, and always compiling a pile of items to turn my home into a spiffy place was always a treat. Most of the coworkers were my age, and we – more... got along like peas and carrots. I am still in contact with my boss, though we both have moved on from Pier 1, she remains a great friend. The hardest part of the job was the on-call days. Once a week you were expected to call 5 hours before your shift started to see if you were needed to work. Most of the time you could count on having to work a few extra hours on these days (which also usually fell on a weekend day). Delivery days were also hard to do as I would have to wake up at 4am to be at work at 5am so I could help unload the delivery truck. There was also the dreaded up-selling of credit cards. The spiel had to be said to every customer, and you had to know that card inside and out. There were contests every week and I hit the best 'sell' a few times which brought in good prizes. Everything was enjoyable about this job, though. Even the tedious work, like being on-call, or making sure I didn't oversleep for delivery days was worth waking up in the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Legal (Current Employee), TXDecember 12, 2014
Great Place to work. This company takes care of its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward-focused, Positive, Creative, Visual,
Sales Leader (Current Employee), Hattiesburg, MSDecember 11, 2014
If opening the store, I would perform the manager morning duties such as opening the registers, checking tasks for the day, checking emails for updates, and ensuring my opening associate is on task with his or her morning duties. I have learned how to look at a store through a visual standpoint. I am familiar with ADA regulations, and I can typically – more... notice a store's visual standards. My time as a manager has also increased my confidence in delegating tasks to my associates, solving customer service issues, and maintaining my responsibility as the store's visual merchandising leader. The hardest part of the job has honestly been the lack of hours. I am currently working part-time. While I would love to stay with this company, if I were to be offered a full-time position at another retail company, I would be willing to move. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the Environment of this Job
Manager (Former Employee), Peoria, ILDecember 8, 2014
Cons: overnight store transitions were difficult with young twin girls at the time.
 Ensure customers have the best experience possible incorporating the core elements of the Pier 1 guidelines and efficiently process transactions within busy, fast-paced retail environments.
 Manage cash register transactions, scanners and computers for customer purchases and special orders.
 Conduct end of shift transactions including balancing – more... the drawer, preparing deposit, verifying schedule and ensuring a clean and organized work environment for the next shift.
 Demonstrate excellent interpersonal skills and a commitment to customer service
 Employ excellent critical thinking and problem solving skills to diagnose problems and implement corrective actions.
 Assist with store stocking, floor-sets and opening/closing procedures.
 Supervised and aided in late night store transitions

Overall experience at this company was positive – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What can you say?
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Florissant, MODecember 1, 2014
I've been here for quite some time, but man .. Pier 1 Imports.. So many employees can relate to one thing.. "Pay Rate" .. Their pay rate is the main issue to working at this job, but it's like you're being unemployed with the amount you're making.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 1, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Greeting customers, assisting with cash and credit card purchases in exchange for sold items and inform customers of sales and discounting prices in the store.

Management and co-workers are the greatest!

Positive atmosphere

1 2 3 4 5

About Pier 1 Imports

We believe we have something special going on here at Pier 1 Imports. Our culture is about our attitude toward business, how we – Read more