Find companies:
Pier 1 Imports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
464 reviews

Pier 1 Imports Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dull boring and micro managed
Sales Associate (Former Employee), torontoAugust 5, 2014
Cons: men are considered to be moving people essentially
my head manager was great but everyone else was basically just trying to force you in to the jobs they didnt wanna do
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing products, fun place to work.
Shipper receiver and CSR (Current Employee), London, ONJuly 21, 2014
Pros: the ladies i work with always bring in baked goods.
Cons: not enough hours.
A typical day of work would be unloading the truck with new merchandise, receiving product up to and including proper pricing and then out onto the floor. I have and continue to learn a great deal about the various products as they come in which ofcourse makes it easier to sell if you know the items inside out. My co-workers are a blast and we all work – more... together as a team. The hardest part of my job is when my shift ends and I have to go home. The most enjoyable part of my job is just being a part of the Company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and great management
Seasonal Cashier and Sales Representative (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMay 5, 2014
At Pier 1 Imports I had my first real introduction to cashier skills. The management was very kind and easy to work with. They took the time to teach all necessary skills. The work environment was great, all co-workers worked together in a efficient team. Overall a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, no job security
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Windsor, ONApril 16, 2014
Pros: great staff, working around your available hours
Cons: no job security
A typical day at work involves prepping the store for opening, and greeting our customers upon their entering the store.
Helping them find great pieces to enhance their home is the objective!
Great staff, goal oriented, fun environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive buisness, could use more shifts.
Sales Associate/ cashier (Current Employee), St. Catharines, ONFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: short shifts nice people, easy work to do, good environment to work in.
Cons: not busy some days, can be slow. sometimes too many people working, not enough work to do.
A typical day on the floor: Selling and promoting sales and events, helping customers and team members or managers with tasks when needed, working on cash.

A typical day on the truck: Unpacking items, repricing items, stocking items onto trolley for distribution to store shelves.

Management: Nice individuals, assigns positions and zones in the store, – more... explains what needs to be accomplished and goals for the day.

Co workers: Easy going, nice people.

Hardest part of the job: Not busy enough

Most enjoyable: Busy days with lots to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to work for
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONJanuary 9, 2014
Overall I enjoy working for this company. Great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place
Stockroom Coordinator (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 13, 2013
Pros: very nice place to work
Cons: i just could not get full time hours there
A very nice and fun place to work
I just could not get Full Time hours there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun and rewarding job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Langley, BCJuly 15, 2013
Pier one is a wonderful place to work. Everyone I work with feel like my second family and they make coming to work enjoyable. There is always something to do and that makes the shifts pass by quickly. The management are there to help and are always willing to. The hardest part is when displays need to be done. There is a guideline to follow but sometimes – more... we don't have the product. It always turns out okay though, because we make it happen! The easiest part is coming to work and being there. The atmosphere that has been created is welcoming and fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awfull workplace
Sales associate (Former Employee), ottawa, ONMay 14, 2013
only girls working on the floor with me. Manager was so rude, clearly favored the girls over me. was never happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere, good management, and stimulating.
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee), Pointe-Claire, QCDecember 17, 2012
Pros: great co-workers and management, has given me valuable experience.
Cons: varying hours, little room for advancement.
Outstanding environment to work in due to helpful management and strong staff bond. The company as a whole takes great pride in their merchandise, as well as their employees and customer service.

I work as a sales associate and cashier, but very often work in the stock room as well. I typically replenish merchandise, set up merchandise displays, tag – more... sales and liquidations, and organise overstock items. Every week I help to unload, unwrap, and price new/replenishment merchandise, as well as verify customer orders.

The job has taught me how to multitask effectively, and the importance of organisation and teamwork. I have been helpful in keeping the store productive, and I am proud of my contributions. The hardest part of the job is the continuos upkeep of both the floor and stock room. Displays are not only updated with every holiday/season, but are constantly altered in order to accomodate fluctuations in merchandise quantities. This requires off-hour work late into the night, as well as starting early in the morning, so as not to cause interference when the store is open. That being said, there is always something to be done, which means the job never feels stagnant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and unique merchandise
sales associate (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: 25% employee discount
Cons: no hours
Hard work but no appreciation. i like my work at pier 1 imports but i am not getting enough hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, friendly staff, positive surroundings.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: amicable, civil, tolerable, good quality products.
Cons: unstable shifts, sometimes inflexible with personal schedule.
They strive to have a positive atmosphere and they get that. If it's not working, we worked at it. Communication is key.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive work place
Sales Leader (Current Employee), Plymouth, MAOctober 8, 2014
While working at Pier 1 Imports I learned many new things that have helped to to develop my professional career. A typical day at Pier 1 Imports involves greeting customers, helping customers pick out merchandise, ringing transactions, and managing associates. Managing associates involves assigning them tasks and making sure those tasks are completed. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE !!! DO NOT BE TRICKED!!
Customer Relations Representative (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 5, 2014
Pros: hour long lunch benefits vacation time
Cons: everything else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
TERRIBLE PLACE TO WORK..THE MANAGEMENT IS ABSOLUTELY UNREASONABLE THE CALL CENTER IS THE MOST DYSFUNCTIONAL PLACE I HAVE EVER WORKED IN MY LIKE THE MANAGEMENT IS A BUNCH OF LIARS AND THE ATTENDANCE POLICY IS THE WORST!!! THE TURNOVER RATE IS EXTREMELY HIGH THE PAY SUCKS THE WHOLE CALL CENTER NEEDS REVAMPING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT BE FOOLED BY WHAT – more... THEY TELLYOU ALL IN TRAINING, WHICH ALSO SUCKS. WE ALL OUR DISGRUNTLE EMPLOYEES AND ARE VERY UNHAPPY WORKING HERE BUT MANY OF US ARE SINGLE MOMS WHO HAVE NO OTHER CHOICE. ABSOLUTELY NO ROOM FOR ADVANCEMENT UNLESS YOU KISS TONS OF BUTT AND ACT LIKE THE MADNESS YOU WITNESS DAILY HERE DOES NOT EXIST!!!!!!
We have many different programs tht do not work well outdated..this is sad for a company in 2014 that do not have a way to use their Gift cards on their WEBSITE!!! ??????? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day making a customer satisfied with their purchase while meeting sales goal
Store Manager (Current Employee), Manhattan Beach, CAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: great discounts on merchandise
Cons: lifting of heavy furniture with no machinary
Every day consist of meeting sales goals while providing training opportunities for all employees while delivering great and satisfying customer service. In this position it taught me great organization and great multi-tasking skills. I was successful in developing a strong management team to increase sales as well assuring each and every customer was – more... satisfied. Ensuring employees are well trained in company policies and procedures being held accountable for there individual results. The hardest part of the job was getting big items in small spaces while lifting very heavy and odd shape objects. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to run a high traffic location servicing customers while giving them great customer care and developing a strong employee team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Machesney Park, ILOctober 1, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere
Cons: part time only
home decor headquarters so fun with the seasonal decor and scents
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Pier 1 Imports
sales associate (Current Employee), williamsville, NYSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: short shifts (4 hours)
Cons: limited hours for sales associates
The staff and management are like a family; I enjoy working with everyone there. I love listening then assisting customers with decorating their homes. The hardest part of this job is climbing very tall ladders to retrieve dining chairs, tables, papasan chairs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun place to work with great management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: always free breakfast or lunches, great discount for employees
Cons: need more hours
I give the store I worked at an A+ on everything. It is really a fun place to work and most everything that I learned about retail I picked up at this store.

Area manager, store managers and co-workers all beautiful people.

The hardest part of the job is you get to go home and the most enjoyable I got to work on the D├ęcor Pillow Wall and my hard work – more... was always recognized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people to work with
Store Associate (Former Employee), Cranberry Township, PASeptember 24, 2014
The work environment is phenomenal! Constant change in products and an all around enjoyable work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low paying and No full time
Sales (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: peers are nice
Cons: pay, company
This company doesn't seem to care too much about their employees. Very small incentives if any. Management is unprofessional, but they are expected to work a lot of hours. Pay is only $8.00/hr. They know their front door is a revolving one for part time employees and that is probably why they are not too invested in their employees. They could solve – more... that problem by offering better pay and taking an interest in workers. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Pier 1 Imports

We believe we have something special going on here at Pier 1 Imports. Our culture is about our attitude toward business, how we – Read more