Phoenix Building Components Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad envirenment
Builder (Former Employee) –  Utopia, ON24 August 2017
Always issues here machines break down constantly
Intimedating staff and management
I didn't I feel safe in the envirenment
no training if you get something wrong they yell at you. Always someone tattling on you for listening to music
No cell phone time allowed
Pay is low and no one nos how bonuses work or what you get. Favertism happens all the time. Not a safe envirenment
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience and management
Builder (Former Employee) –  Utopia, ON29 June 2017
During my time working for Phoenix I had a blast. Great group of people that made going to work fun.I was happy to be able to work there while I did. Would recommend if you are willing to work hard and work steady hours
Pros
Steady hours
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Builder (Former Employee) –  New Lowell, ON14 March 2017
Worse place ever. It's like a high school environment. If they like you your in if not watch your back.
Bonuses are horrendous. They tell you you'll make all this extra money but you won't. They are relying on what happened 5-10 years ago.
Builders make out like they are your friends then backstab you every chance they get. Very negative environment. They make it seem like they are doing more then what they are. They are slapping trusses together.
Pros
Bring your own equipment
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and
TRUSS BUILDER (Current Employee) –  New Lowell, ON30 September 2016
High turn over rate, harder to keep and find solid employees.


The steady employees only wish for faster efficiency.
High pace environment was the best part of the job.
Low level management was also a positive.
Pros
few strong employees and good low level management
Cons
pay for heavy work because its considered factory work instead of construction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past work that needs to be done perfect
Builder (Current Employee) –  New Lowell, ON10 June 2016
working a phoenix was gret the people were awesome the management was great, just the location was too much after one of my co workers had found a new job unfortunately he was also my ride.
Pros
Gaining great working experience
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work
Plate Picker/Assembler (Former Employee) –  New Lowell, ON28 April 2016
* drive to work, at 3:30pm get there at 4:15pm
*Get my work boots on
*Punch in( clock in)
and start my job as a plate assembler for trusses putting the plates in boxes finish jobs that need to be picked for the trust builders
Pros
work for the best truss building company in Canada, the people
Cons
unsafe work areas in place
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible employer/employee relations. Less then par company.
Flatbed Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  New Lowell, ON11 March 2016
If you decided that you want to drive for this company I would think twice. There equipment is less then par. The dispatch/ supervisor does not care for you or the the equipment. HR is never there which will not help you when you have a issue. If you decided to work for this company remember your always wrong.

If you value your cvor and abstract I suggest do not go here for a job.

However if you like to get pulled in at every MTO site and at the border this job is for you. Enjoy the tickets, if you let the company take care of it you will end up witha very bad cvor.

Do no trust this company!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect too much for too little
General labour/truss assembler (Former Employee) –  New Lowell, Ontario6 July 2015
The company pays labours $12/hr for 12 hour long shifts. Granted you get what seems like a 3 day weekend if on night crew but you spend most of your Friday catching up on sleep. Your work is hard and at a very pressed fast pace, and balancing work life during the week with your home life is near impossible with start and finish times of 4:30pm - 4:30am, leaving you little time to do much during your wake time.

This job is defiantly an in between jobs kinda place, you won't want to stay long for the small incentive they offer, which is a possible $500/month production bonus that depends on your entire crews performance, and the $0.80/hr attendance bonus which tells you they have a hard time keeping employees.

All and all a sound company from the out side but on the inside of those doors you have alcoholics and drug users as I have noticed on my breaks. These poor souls probably driven there by the soul crushing job that is Phoenix building co.
Pros
Perfect for a single man with no life expectations
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more short days then long
Driver (Former Employee) –  new lowell, on13 December 2013
the drivers are friendly and always willing to help. The job is all flat bed work with 95% being oversized loads.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going place and fun
builder (Former Employee) –  New Lowell, ON29 October 2013
typical day would start by doing inventory and helping customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible hours,poor management.WOULDNT RECOMMEND IT TO MY WORST ENEMY.
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  New Lowell, ON4 September 2012
Leave my house by 3:30pm and get hame after 4:30am depending on traffic.
I learned not to get comfortable with a poor company.
The management was terrible,I cant believe the way they treat theyre workers.
My co-workers were great.I loved working with them.
The hardest part of the job was not having a life outside of work.
The most enjoyable part of my job is that I learned my lesson.
Pros
my car pool
Cons
management&my hard work ethic not getting me anywhere
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Phoenix Building Components. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Salary/Benefits
2.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.1
Management
2.2
Culture
2.4

Phoenix Building Components Reviews by Location