Find companies:
Pfizer Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,048 reviews

Pfizer Inc. Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Blister Packaging Team Leader (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYOctober 28, 2014
Loved my job. Hated the hours Pfizer Brooklyn. Want to go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits averall
Warehouse Aide (Former Employee), Dominican RepublicOctober 27, 2014
Pros: great healthcare, opportunity for advancement, free lunch
Cons: too far
Pfizer offered great benefits and there was plenty of opportunity for advancement. The management offered opportunity for professional and personal growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over 9years of experience working in various roles including project management, capacity planning, process improvement, financial analysis, vendor ma
Associate Project Manager (Former Employee), Lagos-NigeriaOctober 27, 2014
Over 9years of experience working in various roles including project management, capacity planning, process improvement, financial analysis, vendor management. Project delivery by ensuring integrity and delivery of multiple projects with respect to time, budget, scope, change, risk and resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A multinational Pharmaceutical Company for marketing High Science Pharmaceutical products
District Manager (Former Employee), Dibrugarh, ASSAMOctober 27, 2014
A multinational Pharmaceutical Company for marketing High Science Pharmaceutical products to Doctors,Chemists by disseminating scientific knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
District Sales Representative (Current Employee), LouisvilleOctober 25, 2014
Solid work experience and the people are amazing. I work hard at taking care of my healthcare providers and their offices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Run
HQ Employee (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 25, 2014
Well run company with friendly colleagues working toward an important mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but poor career choice
Professional Healthcare Representative (Current Employee), Pocatello, IDOctober 24, 2014
Pros: the pay and the daily freedom to create business.
Cons: the volatility of the industry.
Pharmaceutical sales has changed dramatically over the years. I do not feel that this is singular to Pfizer but is industry wide. The job itself is still enjoyable but the impact that sales reps have on changing behavior is weakened by the power that insurance companies have on what is prescribed. Federal and state health agencies also apply great pressure – more... to hold down healthcare costs. But with that said, Pfizer continues to try and remain relative in this ever-changing market. They have very talented people in all levels of the company and the sales organization is no exception. I learned early on that regardless how good you are as a salesman if research cannot bring products to the market in a timely fashion you become a financial liability. The hardest part of the job is the fear that sits in the back of your mind causing you to wonder if this is the year that you will get displaced. But the relationships you build with healthcare providers, their staffs and your co-workers make it worthwhile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not the company it used to be, unfortunately.
Microbiologist (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MOOctober 22, 2014
Pfizer is now a marketing company, not a science one. The research, design, and manufacturing of pharmaceutical products is no longer a priority. This started with Pfizer's acquisition of King Pharmaceutical, and has only accelerated in recent years with the merger with Wyeth and others. I'm sure the sales and marketing guys are doing well, but scientists – more... should be wary of the place.

Pfizer has positioned itself as a middle man in the business. Drug development is being outsourced to the universities and startups. Manufacturing and clinical work is being outsourced to various CMOs. Even their buildings and equipment are mostly owned by Caribbean holding companies and the tax loopholes which accompany them. Scientifically, very little at all is being done in house.

The work environment is rather steady, and there seem to be few constraints financially; but the stress is quite high. The merger with Wyeth has resulted in a bit of a corporate culture war internally; with Wyeth legacy groups competing against Pfizer legacy groups. There's a lot of teleconferences between sites but very little in the way of information sharing. During the project I worked on, there were instances of my group investing weeks researching a particular aspect of the microbe, only to be met with "yeah, we already knew that" when we presented our findings during the teleconference. Later, managers from the other team tried claim credit for work we had done during a larger teleconference.

The article, "Inside Pfizer's palace coup" in Fortune magazine (July 2011), is a very accurate depiction; and many of the problems it describes have yet to be resolved in any meaningful way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work when merger came
Maintenance Coordinator (Former Employee), Pearl River NYOctober 22, 2014
Pros: prescriptions made by pfizer were cheaper to employees
Cons: gotta be one of the "good ole boys" to get promoted
Pfizer is a company that acquired Wyeth and it was a very difficult time and Pfizer decided to close the plant.
It was a very short and difficult time in the transition
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Procurement Analyst (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 22, 2014
Great place to work with great benefits, three weeks vaction and 401K beneftis matched.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company with lots of opportunities.
Assistant Controller (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 21, 2014
Good place for a career with lots opportunities for development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Account Analyst - Market Operations (Former Employee), Morris Plains, NJOctober 20, 2014
Great place to work that offers good work and personal balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Utility Operator (Former Employee), PROctober 17, 2014
good company, good co workers, good manangement, good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They build up your knowledge and allow you to use that knowledge to improve the company
Senior Manager of Operational Excellence (Former Employee), Andover, MAOctober 17, 2014
Pfizer is a wonderful place to work. The people, at all levels, are dedicated to helping the customer and each other. They invest in the education of their employees and ensure that they use that education to benefit the company and improve the work place. I learned a lot when I worked there. The hardest part for me was the constant travel which greatly – more... impacted my home life. I really enjoyed the people I worked with. They made the job fun and rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great people
Executive Assistant, Senior Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 16, 2014
Pros: brilliant people, recognition for great work, fantastic work environment, great benefits
Cons: limited advancement in certain positions
My time at this company was amazing. I had wonderful bosses who recognized my talents and looked for new opportunities and projects for me to expand my skill set. I worked at this company for 13 years as an assistant, admin and coordinator, so I had quite a few bosses and worked in many different departments. I was extremely lucky to always find myself – more... in a good position with a great supervisor. I learned from emotionally intelligent leaders, brilliant problem solvers, and fantastic people managers. I upped my own game while I was at this job. It seemed to me that whenever I would be in a situation where I was bored and not being challenged, I always had a manager who would help me find or promote me to a higher position that would give me a chance to learn knew skills areas of business as well as fully utilize the skills I already had. I had many great coaches, leaders and co-workers at this company and I will cherish my experience there. When I left this company, it was a tough decision, but I needed a new challenge and I had gone as far as I could there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place
Data Scientist (Current Employee), NJOctober 15, 2014
Cons: a lot
Good company. Horrible management. Expectation is to get all your work done while 75% of your day is full of useless meetings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pfizer
Professional Healthcare Representative II (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 14, 2014
Pros: great work life balance and training
Cons: need more products in our pipeline
* Very Initiative
* Learned about Health Care in the world of Primary Care and
Specialty divisions
* Fantastic Training
* Top Shelf Company
* Team Driven
* Driven Colleagues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean workplace. gym, cafeteria
Process Operator (Former Employee), rouses point nyOctober 14, 2014
Pros: health insurance, pay, close to home.
Cons: hazardous chemicals, old equipment, problems with leaky roof.
great hours busy some of the time and always had something to do. learned gmp, osha regulations, fda regulations,sops, and safety was very important. (ladder, hazardous materials, electrical, lockout tagout, confined space, proper ppe, sops. helpful and knowledgeable co-workers. keeping machines operating properly and safely. the challenges sometimes – more... that you have to deal with and diversity in what you did for work sometimes – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compnay
Northshore Territory Rep (Former Employee), Covington/Mande, Hammond, Slidell, outlying areasOctober 14, 2014
Pros: salary, benefits, vast knowledge, resources
Cons: downsizing industry
Working for Pfizer was a great experience. Pfizer is a top notch company run by trained professionals with a vast understanding of the Pharmaceutical Industry. I was part of the Wyeth merger and learned from my co-workers instantly. We looked at the business from a different model than I was previously accustomed to.

The hardest part was learning the – more... new computer systems and immediately being responsible for 4 new products. The training was intense and I was up to speed in no time.

I throughly enjoyed seeing Lipitor through to end of its life cycle. Most of my time at Pfizer was spent protecting the eroding market share of the most coveted product in the industry. The sales arena was highly competitive by the end of its product cycle.

This was a challenging and rewarding position. I was proud to have made it from Wyeth the Pfizer in the merger. The industry was ever changing at that time and down sizing rapidly. So I decided to pursue new ventures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging
Senior Associate Scientist Toxicology Technician (Former Employee), Groton, CTOctober 13, 2014
Pros: competitive and upward growth mobility
Cons: awkward/uncomfortable work environment
Great place to work. Mobility up the ladder was easy and competitive. Unfortunately like big business, the share holders take priority over employees.

About Pfizer Inc.

Pfizer pfabricates pfarmaceuticals pfor quite a pfew inpfirmities. The company is the world's largest research-based pharmaceuticals – Read more