Find companies:
PetSmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,303 reviews

PetSmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture for caring for the associates
Store Manager (Current Employee), Newport News, VAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: merchandise discounts
Cons: long hours
Upper Management are sneaky and find ways to get rid of store management teams
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place
Cashier/Floor Associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAAugust 10, 2014
I would work back here in a heart beat.
I loved working directly with animals and I learned a lot working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for teenagers to get a start
Pet Care (Former Employee), Lake Mary, FLAugust 9, 2014
Pros: fun seeing all the pets and helping pet parents
Cons: pay, management, profit at all costs environment
It's all about the bottom line. Everything is about pushing extra sales on customers who don't want it and making the shareholders as much money as possible while you get minimum wage even with years of experience. They have gotten so greedy they even cut out the music in the stores just to save a buck.
If you are young and starting out you could probably – more... go there for the experience but no bill paying adult can live on their wages even in the specialty areas. Employee moral is nonexistent and management is totally disconnected from reality so good luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Stocker (Current Employee), Machesney Park, ILAugust 8, 2014
Its a really good job. the people are great. i'm usually out before the store opens. the only bad thing is waking up at 4am to go to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun and Entertaining Work Environment!
Pet Care Specialist (Current Employee), Slidell, LAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great energy and message generated in store to share with the community.
Cons: habitat designs hamper work efficiency
I was fortunate enough to be part of the opening crew of a brand new store in my town. The Crew we have is amazing, our management is fantastic, and we've got a brand new store to call our own. Primary responsibilities are taking care all of the animals in store and selling as many Puppy Kits and Moss Balls as you can. I work in the PetCare Department – more... which can be stressful at times but rewarding when you have down time with some of the critters in store. The Chameleons like to rest on my shoulder and we take a few trips around the store to finish opening duties which is pretty cool. (Playing with the Cats is awesome too!) While our in store management is fantastic, I just feel like whoever designs the stores has no idea what it's like to be a PetCare associate. Everything looks nice... until we go to use it. The designs of the Tank system, Cat Adoptions, and Small Animal Habitats are all aesthetically pleasing... functionality wise... very poor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet Stylist
Pet Stylist (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 7, 2014
Pros: healthcare, awesome staff
A typical day at work consists of engaging with pet owners in regards to instructions on how the owner wants their pet to be presented. Also, working with members of the staff as a team. In this company, I have learned time management, creative skills, how to further my experience with customers, and interpersonal skills. The hardest part of my job – more... is that it is extremely labor intensive. The most enjoyable part of my job is connecting with the pet owners as well as the pet. Also, with my creativity, I am able to show them my passionate and creative side through my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experiance with dedicated staff
seasonal dog bather (Former Employee), Tustin, CAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: very approachable and hands on managment
-Fast paced work with rewarding tasks
- Great, very friendly management
- Fantastic experience provided, training for future jobs
-pet friendly environment where co workers worked to please pets and pet parents very well
- great first time pet care position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the animals
Pet Stylist (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 6, 2014
Most enjoyable part of my job is being able to connect with the pets one on one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was rewarding to help customers fill the needs of their pets.
Pet Care Specialist (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAAugust 6, 2014
I enjoyed Petsmart, I was primarily in the aquatic/small animals department and in charge of monitoring aquarium chemical levels and ordering fish and such. I also cleaned and took care of all the small animals including, but not limited to feeding, watering, medicating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable animal sales
Pet Care Associate (Current Employee), Midlothian, VAAugust 6, 2014
Within a day, cleaning, feeding, and care, are provided to the need of the animal. Managers make sure you're are provided with information on how to properly take care of each animal and provide information to keep giving on to clients; they also consider the work you provide with giving a raise. If finding trouble with anything, some co-workers will – more... provide me with help that have been there longer then me. Between helping customers know more about there pets and helping animals have a healthy life, I enjoy my job because I am the cause of a healthy animal and a happy pet parent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Recommended
Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee), Stockton, CAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: if you like animals there are pets in store.
Cons: management, pay, hours
Stocked early mornings, work hard, nothing is ever good enough horrible management, went through about 3 or 4 supervisors for stocking crew. They try different ideas and they don't work, love to complain though about anything. If you want to work here just get some experience and move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School Culture - Revolving Door for Management
Products Manager (Current Employee), CAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: you get to help some generally happy people learn how to better care for their pets.
Cons: rigid p&p's. no room for creative thinking. too much paper. poor technical tools.
PetSmart is probably a good place to work if you have never worked for a company with a solid culture. Little to no empowerment. Complete lack of trust for managers and associates. Paper heavy environment with redundant work and sign-offs for everything you do. All motivational programs (get ready for lots of silly acronyms) are geared toward high school – more... mentality, yet, they don't hire anyone under 18. My least favorite job ever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment is bad.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 5, 2014
Nice workers, not so nice management. I loved this company but had to leave due to environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an acceptable transistion job. Definitely not a career path, unless you want to join management.
Pet Care Specialist (Current Employee), Grandville, MIAugust 5, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: low pay and low hours
At a typical work day you punch in and complete your daily task list and the rest is all customer services and making the store look presentable. From this job I learned a lot about pet care. The co-workers are great. Everyone is very caring and helpful. The hardest part of the job is cleaning the animal cages. The most enjoyable part of the job is – more... interacting with all of the animals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs work done
Sales Representative (Former Employee), glendora CAAugust 4, 2014
Pros: pay and hours were good
Cons: tons of drama and never know where a new member of the "pet smart family" fits
i was tossed around the work place every week until i was fired for "working over time" i started as a cashier than was moved to the salon than to the hotel than to fish birds small pets and reptiles and each area lasted one to two weeks, obviously in their minds i just "didn't fix anywhere" but everywhere they put me there was drama between the workers – more... and hearing about that didn't make my work time enjoyable and it was a shame because my heart is with animals, but it was more about work drama than caring for the pets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, fun atmosphere
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Castle Hills, TXAugust 4, 2014
Pros: better pay than most
Cons: take advantage of staff some times
PetSmart is one of the most fun places I have worked yet. The managers treat you with great respect, while also making it a welcoming and just fun place to be. The customers help this as well, as people that come in with pets to shop for said pets are typically on the nicer end of the spectrum when it comes to customers. The pay is also better than – more... most retail, my only complaint is that they refuse to move me to full time, which I can only assume is to save them money on benefits. Overall it is a great and fun place to work with an awesome staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Groomer/ stylist (Former Employee), Royal Palm Beach, FLAugust 4, 2014
Setting up grooming equipment, and bathing area for the day. Receiving customers for the day. Bathing and grooming dogs.
Confirming customers for next day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced retail environment
Regional Associate Relations Manager (Former Employee), Lantana, TXAugust 4, 2014
Pros: working from home
Cons: working from home
PetSmart was a fantastic place to work. They are going through some changes right now and I was recently laid off. I worked with a great group of District Managers as well as a strong field HR team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with Animals
Dustin Gooden, Supervisor (Former Employee), Monroe, LAAugust 3, 2014
Pros: part-time job during summer
Cons: job was not permanent
I learned how to take care all different animals from cats and dogs to snakes. I helped customers find what they were looking for either to purchase an animal or products for animals. The hardest part of the job was having to cleanup after the animals but i grew to acclimate to the ransad smells. My job in petcare aloud me to work with all different – more... sorts of animals and leanr about things like their behavior, how to take care of them, and what to do if something was wrong with them. I enjoyed it! Very educational. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with animals
Lead Cashier (Former Employee), Conway, ARAugust 3, 2014
Pros: working with animals
Cons: pay and beneifts
I loved working with the animals at PetSmart. Especially the cats and dogs that come in for adoption. My co-workers were great, but management was mediocre. The work was fun though and I loved having guests that would come in regularly and talk to me about their pets.

About PetSmart

PetSmart, Inc. is a specialty provider of products, services and solutions for the lifetime needs of pets. The Company has identified – Read more