Find companies:
PetSmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,097 reviews

PetSmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and effective, enjoyable workplace.
Senior Manager Pet Care Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 2, 2014
Pros: pet parents bring us food, cards, letters, get to establish relationships with lots of different people and pets.
Cons: short breaks, benefits are expensive.
A typical day would be, checking in the dogs and/or cats for the day. Running Doggie Day Camp with the daily and boarding dogs signed up that day. Preparing meals, administering medications, checking on all of the pets to make sure they have clean water and bedding. Answering the phones to make reservations or respond to Pet Arent questions. File paperwork – more... after entering it into our system. Preforming other miscellaneous duties; nail grindngs, exit baths, washing belongings, conducting individual playtimes. I've learned to watch for proper dog behavior and how to correctly care for them. Positive ways to influence and benefit parents. the management is very fair, enforcing the policies but not making it miserable. There isn't anything hard about this job as long as you can manage your time and duties in an effective way. The best part of the job is spending all day with the dogs. You meet so many of them and grow to love them all, some very regular and some whom only come every so often. Being around them and taking care of them is very rewarding and just makes you happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disaster 0147!!!
Hotel associste (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 2, 2014
Pros: the few hard-working associates, woring with animals
Cons: management!!!, people being lazy, managers with severe favoritism
Alright store 0147 is a disaster in the hotel!!! The main manager chooses her favorites so the same five people are out of a playroom which is NOT far to the rest of the staff. She is condescending to the rest of the staff as well. I've had customers wonder why someone is always in a room and I've just had to shrug and change the subject. It bothers – more... me how they're supposed to train associates up front after a few months of working in the pet hotel, however, there are 3-4 associates that have yet to even get out of a playroom for more than their 15 or their half hour lunch. Also some of their staff will look to others to figure out what they should do (which normally would be fine) but then complain to a supervisor or manager that the person they looked to was being bossy or rude. Also a few associates are extremely lazy about the work in the hotel; like the cleaning. Or they don't pay attention in the playrooms. They just stand in the playroom, twirling leads in their hands, leaning against the walls or practically ignoring the dogs (even if they're doing something they shouldn't like eating another pups poo or humping another dog). The only thing that seems to phase them, is when a dog starts getting snappy.
Half the staff currently in the hotel needs to be fired and the same with the hotel management. The rest of the staff that agrees with me on this are looking for other jobs because they can't stand the management and the favoritism that occurs. Another thing, the main manager is slightly racist and pretty judgmental which isn't something that the main manager should be.
I am in the process of finding a new job because I can't stand the manager anymore. Happy job hunting. I would NOT recommend Store 0147 unless the management and half the staff quit or get fired; which sadly, is VERY unlikely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), chula vista, caApril 2, 2014
Pros: fun environment
Cons: could not work around my school schedule
very fun place to work, everyone was nice and supportive. very understanding staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail Environment
Presentation Manager (Former Employee), Joplin, MOApril 1, 2014
Nothing really special about this place. In all honesty it is entirely average in every way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Cashier (Former Employee), Knightdale NCMarch 31, 2014
PetSmart was the best job I ever had. I wish I hadn't left. Every one was really nice and the animals were the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
PetsHotel Manager (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 31, 2014
Always enjoyable, love the job. Fun environment and a lot of growth opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with the dogs
PetsHotel Associate (Current Employee), Orchard Park, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: working hands on with animals
Cons: pay is low
I watch the dogs and tend to their needs. Not what I had expected, I do not look forward going to work. I have learned a lot about managing 5-17 dogs at one time. Some of the associates could have been more sociable and friendly. The hardest part of the job is getting used to all of the different types of duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elisabeth's thoughts on working for Petsmart
Part-Time Associate (Current Employee), San Bernardino, CaMarch 31, 2014
Pros: the customers and their pets they will bring with them on a daily basis, the tasks and physical challenges that came with the job, and finally, i enjoy working with all the associates and most of the staff in management.
Cons: no benefits offered any longer to only part-time employees, including myself. poor scheduling, no steady set work hours for each work week, no chance ever for advancement from a part-time position to full-time. finally, being questioned on how handling customers by manager, when u r doing great, but not good enough.
I will deal with customers on a daily basis. Some examples of what I do when interacting with customers is:
1. Assist customers in finding the right pet food that meets the nutritional needs of their pet(s), the right size collar or collar for their dog, puppy, cat, or kitten, and assist customers on what products will help with fleas and ticks, keep – more... the pet(s) skin and coat healthy, with the shampoo, vitamins, hip and joint supplements, etc.
2. Assist customers with carry-outs
3. Gather go-backs and, depending on the chit ( tag), put the products back either on to shelf or back to our store's receiving area, located in the back of our store.
3. Clean and tidy store at the end of the business day, after the store has closed.

Management has taught me a lot. They taught how to close and open the register tills in the cash office. They taught me how to properly handle returns and exchanges. They taught me how to properly handle our daily customers with a smile and do all to them happy and returning. They taught how to handle the customers whom can be not so happy or don't want to except happy greeting or how we handle our store operations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots to do
Pet Care Department Manager (Former Employee), Framingham, MAMarch 30, 2014
Pros: good pay, gaurenteed hours
Cons: no reguard for personal life, high school atmosphere
very busy, in animal care position. too much division among departments. entire staff needs more training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
MANAGER, FINANCIAL PLANNING & ANALYSIS (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 29, 2014
I enjoy the culture of the company I currently work at and the daily challenges that keep my fulfilling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
re-consider
Salon manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: ok to work for where they are the dominant pet grooming salon, health benefits were good
Cons: bad upper management, rules are ridiculous
worked for the company for 9 years in the grooming salon, had only two good managers, throughout 6 different store. I was a salon manager for two of these years and was pushed around and told that the policies were there to protect the pets, but it was only to protect themselves. There were policies that did not make sense when dealing with animals – more... in a grooming salon. Do not work for this company in California, they do not compete with the pay scale. I made more in Arizona than I did in California. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Grooming Salon Manager (Current Employee), Sunset Hills, MOMarch 25, 2014
Pros: bonuses & stipends
Cons: extremely stressful enviroment at times
Great position to learn the basics of running your own grooming salon
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time with full-time ambition
Store Associate (Current Employee), Vernon Hills, ILMarch 25, 2014
Pros: fellow associates, working with customers and their pets
Cons: no difference in work
I am currently working with PetsMart on a part-time basis to earn a few extra dollars for some life changing events. Since working with this establishment, I have learned how the world of retail works when it comes to customers of the four legged type and I have found it to be quite enjoyable.
Even though my main priority with PetsMart is to keep the – more... store clean, I am still able to use customer service skills to see that the customer gets what he/she came into the store for and then a few added things.
When it came to my quarterly review, i was asked what I would like to do in the future with PetsMart if given a chance. I answered that with my communication background, I would like take on anything within PetsMart public affairs/communications – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Grooming Associate (Former Employee), Chicago South LoopMarch 24, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
The managers have their favorites , they don't know how to handle any situations and expect for you to do everything that they ask even if it isn't part of your job description . no room for advancement because the managers already choose who they want to go regardless if your a harder worker or been there longer . Seems to be very sexist too because – more... all the managers seem to be females with no experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work but some co-workers seek drama and favoritism.
Sales associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Alhambra, CAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: cool people definitely for pet lovers
Cons: poor benefits and drama filled co-workers.
Cool place to work with some mellow people but at times can be filled with drama from co-workers seeking favoritism from managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Orderfiller (Former Employee), Ottawa, ILMarch 22, 2014
Pros: they treated us to lunches and would donate product to shelters
Cons: i felt as though the rates were very dificult to keep and the temps on occasion were very hot.
When I came into this job the turn around rate of employees was very high, they were adjusting the production rate with in 4 months time they had adjusted the rate two times. The rates were very hard to keep up.
My days 5a.m. until 5p.m.
I learned how to order fill and drive a stand up pallet rider.
Management and co-workers were easy to work with.
Keeping – more... the rate was the most difficult to do.
Learning how to run the pallet riders and the hours I was able to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job has it's ups and downs....
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Leesburg, VAMarch 22, 2014
Pros: good pay, good hours, free food inside break room, friendly employees/customers, animals everywhere, fun environment
Cons: awful management
I applied for a long-term cashier and it was going well for a couple of months up until I realized the management is awful. Especially, the supervisor manager is nothing but a trash-talking, two-faced person swollen with pride and will get you fired for anything. All the other employees I have not had a single problem with along with any customers. – more... The weekdays are very tedious. However, the weekends are the times when it's fast paced. I admit, it's a fun place to work at and I loved interacting all the cute pets that walk in the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented and fast-paced work environment.
Stock Clerk (Lead) (Former Employee), Reno, NVMarch 20, 2014
Pros: paid 15 minute breaks, free lunch for employee of the month
Cons: interference with school
A typical day at work was a 4am to 11am shift that consisted of stocking, maintaining excellent store presentation, cashiering, and customer service. I learned how to operate a forklift, use an RF scanner, delegate tasks to associates to keep up the store's efficiency, handle money transactions (credit/debit, check, cash), take care of pets, and, most – more... importantly, provide distinguished customer service. My co-workers were hard workers that communicated their thoughts very effectively. They treated my ideas with respect and I treated their ideas with respect as well. We all worked very well independently and as a team. The hardest part of the job was balancing school with early work hours (4am). The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to see how my team and I perfected our jobs before the doors of the store opened. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and active job
Groomer (Current Employee), San Juan, PRMarch 19, 2014
Pros: i work directly with dogs.
Cons: sometimes is a tiresome work (fisically}
It is a fun place to work at. My favorite part is to give the right information to pet parents depending on the pet's necessities,
I work in the grooming area where me ans my co workers have to work as a team. Our tasks include, costumer service, evaluation the pets condition before check in, if we find an injury or aggressiveness on the pet, we recomend – more... to take them to a vet.
Then we proceed to do the grooming process, once finish we call pet's owner to notify them. At check out we show the pet to the costumer and fix anything that the owner doesnt feel completely satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you love animals
Pet Care Specialist/Cashier (Former Employee), Dothan, ALMarch 19, 2014
Pros: great for animal lovers
This was the only job I ever had that I looked forward to going to work. I loved being able to be around animals and taking care of them. I made friends and was able to cross train into three departments. I eventually left and found a job that paid more but was sad to go.

About PetSmart

PetSmart, Inc. is a retail chain doing business in the United States and Canada engaged in the sale of specialty pet supplies – Read more