Find companies:
PetSmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,255 reviews

PetSmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, terrible managers
Petcare associate (Former Employee), Champaign, ILJuly 26, 2014
Pros: great place to work. everyone loves animals!!
Cons: management
Great to work with all of the animals! Great environment! Management was crumbling while I was working there, store manager was fired, assistant manager used to yell at associates over intercom and did not even try to help customers. He ended up quitting soon after. New manager spoke disrespectfully to employees, when I put in my two weeks they got – more... upset and told me not to come in and they would give my hours to train another associate. Its a shame they ruined such a great workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and entertaining stocking shelves
Stocker (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: work experience and built confidence within myself
Cons: not enough hours
I would go to work everyday, unpack the products from boxes, and stock the shelves. I learned how to be organized and how not to eat so many dog cookies. My boss and co-workers were nice and helpful to me when I need help from them. The hardest part of the job was carrying the boxes. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting the money at the end – more... of the month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informatica / BI developer
Sr.Informatica / ETL Developer (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 25, 2014
• Collected the requirements from Business people.
• Designed and developed the required tables in Netezza and Sql Server Databases.
• Designed and developed Informatica Mappings based on the business requirements.
• Validate the data in the target tables once it was loaded.
• Fine-tuned existing mappings for performance optimization.
• Unit and integration – more... testing in both DEV and QA Environments.
• Worked on bug fixes on existing mappings to produce correct output.
• Developed workflows and sessions associated with the mappings using Workflow Manager.
• Running the workflows daily, quarterly and scheduling the workflows using tidal and monitoring them.
• Involved in writing complex queries for generating different reports as per client needs.
• Worked with all phases of the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC).
• Extracted the data from Flat files, Tables, Sap system and loaded the data into Data warehouse using Informatica Power center.
• Coordinating with source system owners, day-to-day ETL progress monitoring, Data warehouse target schema Design (Star Schema) and maintenance.
• Created shortcuts for source and target.
• Created Reusable Transformations in Shared folder.
• Worked on Informatica Power Center - Source Analyzer, Data warehousing designer, Mapping Designer & Mapplets, and Transformation Developer, Informatica Repository Manager and Informatica Workflow Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Houston, TxJuly 25, 2014
My employment with PetSmart Inc. included performing duties such as: Outgoing and Incoming calls, Reserving Reservations, Checking in as well as checking out clients. It also included Glands Expressing, Teeth Cleaning, and Shaving Sanitary areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking place with a friendly staff
Pet Care Associate (Current Employee), Lexington, SCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: vacation time pay
Cons: not enough hours
Working as a pet care associate you have daily duties to accomplish. Medicating animals, watering and feeding them, and informing new pet parents of basic animal care taking skills to ensure their new pet has a happy home. I learned about different animals care taking and illness they can get, also how to treat them when they become sick and what kind – more... of medications to prescribe to them when they fall ill. The hardest part of my job is watching an animal get sick and not recover. What I love most about my job is seeing pet parents share the same love for animals as I do, and getting to really connect with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working with Animals and customer pets
General Manager (Former Employee), Frisco, TXJuly 23, 2014
Pros: good leadership
Cons: some very long hours
Great company to work for. I would go back and work for them again!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
bather (Current Employee), Decatur, ALJuly 22, 2014
super fun environment, great managers, great benefits! not like most retail jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love dogs
Professional Bather / Pet Stylist (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYJuly 22, 2014
I love dogs but this company treats its grooming staff like factory workers. No time for meal breaks and a very stressful environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter job
Petstylist (Groomer) (Current Employee), Lake Elsinore, CAJuly 22, 2014
Fun place to interact with customers and pets and to be around people of like minds
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace; trained by a highly experienced team
Grooming Assistant/ Cashier (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 21, 2014
I spent six weeks just in safety and product information training. Everyday was very busy when I was working in the grooming salon as a groomer's assistant. I enjoyed being at work, and was surrounded by coworkers who were true professionals. I also worked on the sales floor, and was cross trained throughout the entire store. I learned how to quickly – more... and efficiently answer almost any question, or help any customer that came into our store. I also enjoyed working hands on with all of the pets in the salon. It was a great feeling when I started to receive request bath appointments. It was a compliment anytime a pet parent trusted me to take good care of their pets! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at PetSmart
Talent Acquisition Supervisor (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 21, 2014
I loved working here. Everyone is so passionate about pets that it makes everyone work that much harder. Plus pets in the office every day. Can't beat that!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start work
Cashier (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CAJuly 17, 2014
it was a motivational and opportunities for youth to have first job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, interactive
Inventory Manager (Current Employee), Martinsville, INJuly 17, 2014
Great place to work during school. Easy to advance, generally speaking. Pay is lacking until you find yourself in upper management. The higher the pay, the more stressful the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time job, not very close to home.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 17, 2014
Pros: worked with very good people.
Cons: part-time job, hours were different every week.
Working cash register, when slow I worked the floor. I enjoyed that a lot. Helping customers & keeping the store cleaned up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definately a Company that takes care of its employees
Professional Dog Groomer (Current Employee), Chambersburg, PAJuly 15, 2014
A typical day as a dog groomer includes lots of sloppy kisses and belly rubs. The interaction with the Pet Parents is largely focused on determining how they view the end result. I listen closely to what they are saying, repeat it back in my own words, and print out a service card with instructions that the rest of the staff would understand as well.
The – more... hardest part of the job would definitely be the multi-tasking and staying positive through out it. For example, I can be grooming a dog, with a set time to be picked up. All of a sudden, two phone lines can be ringing and three customers walk in for nail trims. It gets hectic, but the satisfaction of accomplishing all tasks and exceeding the customers expectations makes it all worth while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun First Job
Cashier and a Specialty animal caregiver (Former Employee), Parker, COJuly 15, 2014
This was a great first job to have. I learned customer service skills, stocking skills and cashier skills. It truly helped me with my people skills. Met a lot of great people and learned a lot about my self and others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun first job
Customer Service (Former Employee), Springfield, ILJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: hours could be anywhere from open to close
I loved working at Petsmart as my first job from 16-19 years old. I had every job at one time or another whether it be cashier, stock, maintaining the animals.
I learned everything I could about pets, nutrition, retail, cooperation as part of a team.
Management was fair and reasonable, kept me on my toes as well as worked along side to help me grow – more... as an employee and young man.
The co-workers were the people I would look forward to seeing and working with everyday. I loved my co-workers and became good friends with many.
The hardest part of the job was making the shelves look stocked consistently especially with small items like canned cat food.
The most enjoyable part was helping customers find the right products for their animals or talking about their pets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for animal lovers.
Lead Pet Trainer (Current Employee), Miami FLJuly 14, 2014
Cons: a lot of work for so-so pay. (depends on how much you love it)
This has been my first job and I am grateful to Petsmart for teaching me about the work place. I love the people who work there, most of the employees are fantastic. I have worked in several stores and just like any other corporation you have your managers that are fantastic and others that go by favorites/looks over qualification or actual work ethic. – more... Basically you can get lucky and work at a store with great managers or get stuck with a store that will make you want to quit after the 3 month probation period. Luckily if you survive the first couple of months the transfer process is fairly easy. Overall good place to work if you LOVE animals, if you don't then you might want to think twice about working there. The customers all depend on the neighborhood I have had fantastic customers and terrible customers, but that is the life of retail :). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, might have been wrong store.
Pet Care Associate (Former Employee), Boynton Beach, FLJuly 13, 2014
Management was a joke, job advancement opportunities VERY limited, and benefits where non-existent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, safe place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Arlington, TXJuly 11, 2014
Pros: regular breaks, opportunity to move up
Cons: long shifts
I greatly enjoyed my time at Petsmart. The only reason I left was because I needed to move and was not able to transfer.

About PetSmart

PetSmart, Inc. is a specialty provider of products, services and solutions for the lifetime needs of pets. The Company has identified – Read more