Find companies:
PetSmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,336 reviews

PetSmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with animals
Dog Groomer (Current Employee), Panama City Beach, FLSeptember 12, 2014
Cons: pay
I love my job. I love working with animals and being able to help them in anyway that i can. I've learned a lot over the past years I've been with Petsmart and I continue to learn everyday. Management is ok. Still new but they do their best. My co-workers are new to the company as well, but they learn more and more everyday. The hardest part of the – more... job is handling a dog that does not like the whole process. Its not the getting it done part that's hard, I just want to make sure the dog has a safe and stress free visit. The best part of my job is meeting new dogs everyday. I love seeing new faces and new personalities come into the salon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive and fun work enviornment
Pet Groomer, (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 9, 2014
Pros: great benifits, fair commision, great people.
Cons: inconcenient work hours, blackout dates durring holidays.
i have worked at petsmart for almost 4 years. i love my co-workers and managers. this company has provided me with a solid foundation and salary. the best part of my job is working with people who are passionate about animals. the hardest part of my job is the stress of the service industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, great staff,amazing animals
Early Morning Stocker (Current Employee), Burnsville, MNSeptember 9, 2014
Honestly, this is thee best place I have ever worked!! hard to get full time, for me at least, due to my position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to get your foot in the door
Early Morning Stocker (Former Employee), Commack, NYSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: management
PetSmart is a good starter job just trying to get into the workforce, but after 3-4 years and becoming older, you get tired of just working in retail all the time. The pay sucks, management is okay, but overall its a good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School Job
Lead Stocker (Former Employee), Charlotte NCSeptember 9, 2014
It was my high school job was offered a management position after i left but didn't pay enough to leave the current job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work with animals
Pet care/sales associate/cashier-Fairlakes, VA (Former Employee), fairlakes, VASeptember 9, 2014
My day at work included, ensuring the store was clean for employees and customers, opening the register, customer satisfaction, up selling kits and products, ensuring the safety of all animals. I have a higher knowledge about animals including snakes, dogs, cats, lizards, turtles, fish. I enjoyed everyone who worked with me in the store we were a family – more... who tried our best to make the store more successful. The hardest part of the job was seeing injured animals come in and out of the pet hospital. The most enjoyable part was seeing a happy and healthy pet and an even happier pet parent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall running or store and traiing new store managers
Store Manager (Former Employee), Indiana, different locationsSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: overall work enviorement
overall running of the store and working with customers and training of associates, I also trained all new managers moving up in the company and new hires. I learned a lot about animals and the care for them. The hardest part of the job was seeing some animals pass away. I enjoyed problem solving issues with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with pet owners & their pets
Senior PetsHotel Associate (Supervisor) Part-time (Former Employee), Torrance, CASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: interaction with pets, close to home.
Depending on whether I was opening, working a mid shift, or closing, my immediate responsibility was to review (either in person or in a written note) what had been accomplished by the former supervisor.
I learned to multitask but also delegate when necessary. Communication between management and associates was crucial if we were to opperate effeciently. – more... Respect between co workers was equally important. The greatest responsibility of my job was to make sure each pet owner left the hotel pleased with our services. The best part of my day was interacting with the pets and their owners. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Pet Care (Current Employee), Danvers, MASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: ability to move up in management if desired
Cons: high turnover in part time positions
Management is always there if you need them and willing to work with you if any issue should arise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Part-time Manager (Former Employee), Hamilton, OHSeptember 6, 2014
This job helped me grow as a person and a professional. It taught me how to prioritize, communicate with employees and customers, how to gain and maintain a good work ethic and be professional. The hardest part about the job was dealing with customer complaints. It's very hard to turn around a very upset customer and not get upset yourself. The good – more... part about dealing with customer complaints is succeeding in making the customer happy regardless of whose to blame. The best part of the job was seeing customers leave with a smile on their face knowing you were a part of putting that smile on their face. I also had the opportunity to work with an amazing bunch of employees and managers along the way. One of the store managers I had the privilege to work with was a big influence on helping me grow as a person and a professional. He would always help me think outside of the box when I was narrow minded. He helped me with my critical thinking skills that I now have today. Everyone there, in one way or another, has helped shape me into who I am today!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Dog Bather (Former Employee), Washington, PASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: no communication between management. didn't make enough money for the work
Made some money but not enough. Friendly co-workers. No communication between management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, unequal employment
Customer Service, Pet Trainer (Current Employee), Wheat Ridge, COSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: being around animals
Cons: bad pay, poor management, unequal employment
This company needs improvement on management following corporate policies. They also need to teach them more about eoec.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work!
Pet Care Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Flowood, MSSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: meeting new animals
There will never be a dull boring day in Petsmart. You become very personable with people and their pets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good until they got a new manager
Bather/Cashier (Former Employee), Fayetteville, ArSeptember 3, 2014
Poor communication skills amongst the management
It was always complicated to get a day off
Management talks down to work team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and Bad
Petstylist (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: hourly or commission
Cons: overwelming
Petsmart has changed in the 12 years I worked there. Some changes were for the better others weren't. I liked that the job of a Petstylist was both hourly and commission based. You would receive which ever amount was higher. It just got to be too much with all the rules and regulations changing all the time and new ones being added all the time. It – more... was more about the money then the employees. I understand wanting to make money but not at the cost of safety and the petstylists sanity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fun place to work with great management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: learning experiences, great managers, relaxed environment
I worked as a cashier, along with helping to stock shelves and helping with pet care. I learned so much about customer service, things that I will be able to take with me wherever I go! I enjoyed my co-workers, and the management was wonderful! They enforced the rules, but weren't "mean" when they did. I loved going into work everyday, and regret that – more... I ended up leaving! I would work for this company in a flash if I ever got the chance again! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with animals
Receptionist (Current Employee), Chesapeake, VirginiaSeptember 2, 2014
Staff is friendly and customers are great. It's very enjoyable working with dogs. There are different tasks to do every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee), Marysville, WASeptember 2, 2014
As far as first jobs go, this was an excellent one to have. I started when it opened so i was privileged in being able to make friends with my co-workers before the store actually opened. My bosses where wonderful people who seemed to really care about their employees as well as the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people poor corporate managers
Sales Manager (Former Employee), OHAugust 31, 2014
Pros: working with animals and pet parents
Cons: corporate polices- expect top sign your name 100 times daily
The customers and employees are outstanding. Upper managers don't have a clue as to what really is going on in the stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company
NIGHT SHIFT PET CARE SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Southlake, TXAugust 31, 2014
Pros: paid weekly
Liked getting paid weekly but management seriously needed an overhaul.

About PetSmart

PetSmart, Inc. is a specialty provider of products, services and solutions for the lifetime needs of pets. The Company has identified – Read more