Find companies:
PetSmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,251 reviews

PetSmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun workplace that recognizes commitment and hard work
Presentation Manager (Current Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONApril 15, 2013
Pros: a family like culture
Cons: a large work load with sharp deadlines
There are three essential parts to working as a PetSmart associate:

1) greeting and helping costumers in any way possible
2) educating a pet parent
3) helping a customer find what they need and leave satisfied

It is a work environment that allows you to express your love for animals and work hand in hand with them as they visit the store daily. My – more... knowledge in pet food, pet management, and care of all animals as increased. The people I work with are almost always fun and friendly, many having pets themselves.The hardest part of the job is that it can be very physically demanding, but the best part of the job is making someone leave the store with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet trainer
Certified Pet Trainer (Current Employee), MississaugaApril 9, 2013
Cons: not enough hours. no benefits
This is a great part time job as it allows me to be helpful to people and make a positive impact in the lives of our customers and their pets. The people are wonderful and the animals are even better!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A structured workplace that recognizes commitment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 8, 2013
Pros: interaction with the animals that come into the store.
Cons: cleaning up animal waste, minimal training.
There are three main aspects about working as a PetSmart associate, greeting and helping costumers in any way possible, working the till, and keeping shelves stocked.While working there I learned storage and organizational techniques, how to face, how to safely operate a forklift, how to operate the cash register, as well as a great deal to do with – more... pet supplies, especially food. In terms of management, the first half of the time I worked here they ran the store like a well-oiled machine whereas the second half they were confused and disorganized. The people I worked with were almost always fun and friendly, many having pets themselves.The hardest part of the job was moving large amount of food and cat litter onto the shelves before the store opened. The thing I enjoyed the most about working here was meeting people and the pets they brought into the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 times a year bonus
Presentation Manager (Former Employee), Barrie, ONMarch 19, 2013
Pros: christmas party with staff / paid benefits/ good hourly rate paid
Cons: not appreciated for the hard work you do
Repetitive work / merchandising something different everyday / enjoyed the staff / Customers coming and asking for me / hardest part of the job - unsatisfied customer due to a co -workers mistake / what i have learned working at PetSmart hard work is never appreciated / Management changed once a year in the 12 years I worked there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Answer phone, groom dogs, clean. Overall not bad if your managers are decent.
Dog Groomer (Current Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 12, 2013
Pros: benefits, employee of the month gets a chocolate bar or a drink, sometimes there is a service selling competition and whoever wins gets a prize
Cons: long hours, even if extremly slow people who work on commission have to stay the whole day
At work I would answer phone calls, usually to book an appointment or to give quotes. During a check in, I would look over the dogs coat, skin, teeth, nails and ears and make suggestions\express concerns for grooming. Example, If a dogs coat is matted and I have to shave him\her I would explain to the owner what matts are, what matts do to the skin, – more... how it effects the dog physically and emotionally, what to expect and how to prevent matts in the future. Then I would suggest special shampoos and conditioners to help the irritated skin. During check out I will go over what the dog coat was like, how it is now, what to expect and how to maintain skin\coat at home. Other duties involved cleaning, helping other groomers if they have a difficult dog, showing customers the products we sell, training new employees.

Although I went to college for animal care I also went to the petsmart grooming acedemy there I learned how to groom dogs. I learned customer service skills.

Coworkers are great and we get along well.

Dog grooming in general is not an easy job. You definitely need patience with the dogs and customers, you need a strong stomach (its not a glamours job by any means), you also need confidence and knowledge about animal behavior. One of the hardest things is dealing with an aggressive dog. Not only do you need fast reflexes, but its important to be very careful. Sometimes it can not be done, but if it does get done it is very rewarding.

The most enjoyable part is building the relationships with the dogs and owners. Working in a team environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place very quiet environment
Pet Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 2, 2012
-stock shelves, help with carry-outs
-customer service skills
-friendly cowerkers
-hardest part would be cleaning cages/tanks
-enjoyable part interacting with pets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an enjoyable work environment with only a few cons.
Kitten and Cat Adoption Centre Volunteer (Current Employee), London, ONOctober 9, 2012
Pros: being around people, and animals, the environment
Cons: physical, and repetitiveness.
A typical day at work;
Busy, and sometimes wouldn't take that long to finish my task.

What you learned;
Team work, organizational, and multi-tasking skills.

Management;
Volunteers seem to be treated as if they weren't even part of a team.

Your co-workers;
Friendly, and kind.

The hardest part of the job;
Physical aspect.

The most enjoyable part – more... of the job;
Getting to be around animals, and people. Being apart of the general public. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conscientious towards environment and animal rights
Petcare Associate and Cashier (Former Employee), Whitby, ONOctober 1, 2012
Pros: fun enviroment
Cons: didn't get to work as much as i would have liked to
A day of work involves a lot of customer service. In-between that is chatting with the other employees and playing with the animals. I have learned so much about animal care as well as how to communicate with people, even the not-so-nice ones. My managers for the most part were nice, although sometimes a little overbearing. My co-workers were awesome, – more... there wasn't anyone I really disliked we all got along great. I think the hardest part of the job was probably dealing with customers who refused to listen or were not pleasant. The most enjoyable part of the job was teaching people about animals and helping them out with their pets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love animals
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Burlington, ONSeptember 1, 2012
Pros: smiles all day long
Cons: some customers just don't know what they're talking about sometimes
In the morning I'd clean the adopt-a-pet centre, all the cat cages, litter boxes, etc..
after that I'd stock shelves in aisles with products that were running low.
then I'd go around to the other departments, such as small animals, birds, fish and reptiles, and help with whatever needed to be done.
My co-workers were very easy to get along with and – more... I enjoyed their company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the job
Petcare Manager (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 15, 2012
Pros: good benefits, working with animals and customers
Cons: short staffed so you have to do more work, don't get paid enough for the responsibilities (even as a manager)
Love the job but not the upper management. Co-workers were great to work with but sometimes certain managers are not fair and can be rude often. When I first started there it was the best job I have ever had and being promoted 3 times was great, but then my manager went to another store and our store was being run by a manager that does not seem to – more... care about the staff or the animals which is very serious to me!!
BUT, not all stores are like this!!! Petsmart still is a great company to work for but not specific managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with genuine people who loves pets
SUPPORT MANAGER (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONJuly 11, 2012
I enjoy being among other people who truly loves animals. There are always interesting things going on in the store with a lot of customers and pets.
I am responsible for opening and closing the store a few days a week. This includes making sure the safe is balanced, counting the tills and making deposits, helping out on the floor and take responsibility – more... for customers and associates. During openings I make sure the store is ready for the day, inventory, reports and other things and of course always looking out for the safety and health of our pets in the store.
Customer service is a major part of my job, answering questions and concerns and taking phone calls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service and enjoy working with pets
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Austin, TXJuly 29, 2014
Pros: animals
Expect to work hard for the money. Great benefits. Fun working with animals. Great customers that love their animals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Stylist/Groomer (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 29, 2014
good management. Co-workers are friendly and team players.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work.
Pet Care Associate (Former Employee), Manchester, CTJuly 28, 2014
Overloaded work day.
Management very difficult to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful work place, great team players, wonderful customers
Senior Pet Trainer (Current Employee), Nashua, NHJuly 28, 2014
Pros: my co-workers, pizza parties in the breakroom, team players and my numerous clients
Cons: spending way to many hours on the registers, not having enough time for selling classes due to new management
my job is not a job, it is a joy to train pets and their pet parents to make sure they have forever homes and are not turned into a shelter. It is my love and compassion I have for people and animals that drives me everyday! I have learned more about life from the dogs I have trained and also making their owners more aware of how to enjoy their pets – more... and be responsible pet owners. My co-workers are wonderful, we are all team players, in work and in life. I find the most difficult part of my job is when a long time client tells me of the loss of their pet, I grieve with them because of the relationships that we build through the years. I am now training second and third generation dogs with the same clients due to the relationships that we have built together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like animals and Customer Service, this is a great company to work for
Lead of Small Animal/Aquatic Dept (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 27, 2014
Pros: working with cute fuzzy animals
Cons: not enough people to work shifts
Its just a really great company to work for, you have the chance to move up on the ladder of job choices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, terrible managers
Petcare associate (Former Employee), Champaign, ILJuly 26, 2014
Pros: great place to work. everyone loves animals!!
Cons: management
Great to work with all of the animals! Great environment! Management was crumbling while I was working there, store manager was fired, assistant manager used to yell at associates over intercom and did not even try to help customers. He ended up quitting soon after. New manager spoke disrespectfully to employees, when I put in my two weeks they got – more... upset and told me not to come in and they would give my hours to train another associate. Its a shame they ruined such a great workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and entertaining stocking shelves
Stocker (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: work experience and built confidence within myself
Cons: not enough hours
I would go to work everyday, unpack the products from boxes, and stock the shelves. I learned how to be organized and how not to eat so many dog cookies. My boss and co-workers were nice and helpful to me when I need help from them. The hardest part of the job was carrying the boxes. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting the money at the end – more... of the month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informatica / BI developer
Sr.Informatica / ETL Developer (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 25, 2014
• Collected the requirements from Business people.
• Designed and developed the required tables in Netezza and Sql Server Databases.
• Designed and developed Informatica Mappings based on the business requirements.
• Validate the data in the target tables once it was loaded.
• Fine-tuned existing mappings for performance optimization.
• Unit and integration – more... testing in both DEV and QA Environments.
• Worked on bug fixes on existing mappings to produce correct output.
• Developed workflows and sessions associated with the mappings using Workflow Manager.
• Running the workflows daily, quarterly and scheduling the workflows using tidal and monitoring them.
• Involved in writing complex queries for generating different reports as per client needs.
• Worked with all phases of the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC).
• Extracted the data from Flat files, Tables, Sap system and loaded the data into Data warehouse using Informatica Power center.
• Coordinating with source system owners, day-to-day ETL progress monitoring, Data warehouse target schema Design (Star Schema) and maintenance.
• Created shortcuts for source and target.
• Created Reusable Transformations in Shared folder.
• Worked on Informatica Power Center - Source Analyzer, Data warehousing designer, Mapping Designer & Mapplets, and Transformation Developer, Informatica Repository Manager and Informatica Workflow Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Houston, TxJuly 25, 2014
My employment with PetSmart Inc. included performing duties such as: Outgoing and Incoming calls, Reserving Reservations, Checking in as well as checking out clients. It also included Glands Expressing, Teeth Cleaning, and Shaving Sanitary areas.

About PetSmart

PetSmart, Inc. is a specialty provider of products, services and solutions for the lifetime needs of pets. The Company has identified – Read more