Petro Canada Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 258 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest part of the job
Owner/ Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBAugust 22, 2016
Have to keep everything running smoothly in order to keep the store on profitable side. Have to keep all the stock level up, make sure all the employees know their schedule and duties.
Pros
Able to work at my own pace
Cons
Long hours and lot of responsibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Guest service attendant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 15, 2016
encountered different types people..ive learned to be more patient..management is not bad..attends to employees concerns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  London, ONAugust 12, 2016
Its nice working and all have good communication within the employees working there. Nice management and the hardest part is to convince the customer to sell the ongoing deals with the period.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
till
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Valemount, BCJuly 19, 2016
its a great company to work for. easy to get along with everyone. enjoyed talking and meeting lots of different costumers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gas attendant
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BCJuly 14, 2016
Not the most exciting job in the world, basic cleaning and ringing people through tills. Paid minimum wage and tough to get hours sometimes. Its okay.
Pros
Free slushes and Coffee
Cons
little hours and low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice atmoshpere.
Gas Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONJuly 8, 2016
This is my first job in Canada. I was new here and did not know anything. They taught me everything. It was a very good time. I made a very good friends there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No breaks
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJuly 5, 2016
- You do not get break
- Too much work to do and not enough time
- No room for advancement
- Raises are hard to get
- Favoritism is very prevalent, not the way things should be done.
Pros
Flexible with school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive busy workplace but with relaxed/friendly elements
Guest Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONJune 29, 2016
Working at Petro Canada is a great learning environment for anyone looking to gain all around work experience. I learned much about customer service, sales techniques, general social skills, inventory management, shipping and receiving. in my experience all my co-workers and my manager were very nice and understanding. for a busy and hard working job it also has very relaxed elements and general vibe. hardest part of the job would be keeping up with a heavy customer flow while at the same time making sure every transaction is done correctly and accurately. Whether it be gas, lottery, tobacco or even general merchandise sales. The most enjoyable part of the job for me was being able to learn multiple aspects of a workplace. Not just one section for example customer service, and being able to work both in and outside.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Operative workplace
CASHIER/CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ONJune 26, 2016
Learn a lot of thing,like Team Work .Gain Sale Experience.Customer Satisfaction. Experience Cash handling experience.
Pros
Good Working Envoirment
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive day with different customers
Cashier/Customer Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJune 22, 2016
a typical day at work: cheerful
what you learned: how to give best services
management: managing team
co-workers: cooperative
hardest part: none if you have a zeal to learn things
enjoyable part: throughout
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
night shift
GSA- Gas Sales Attendant (Former Employee) –  London, ONJune 16, 2016
Had to keep shelves stocked up, clean floors make sure the store is up to management standards, had duties for lottery, selling cigarettes and certain procedures for night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn and Build
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCJune 14, 2016
I worked at Petro Canada for 5 years and for 2 of those I was a Lead GSA I loved my team and my managers and job. I loved my Guests the most. I learned all sorts of skills that helped to put me where I am today. I started as a cashier and ended doing everything including back office work. the training is awesome too!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, fast-paced work place
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCJune 12, 2016
Honestly really enjoyed working here!

Co-workers were nice.
Fast paced.
Great customers.
Active.
Expanded my knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learned lots of good experiance from Petro Canada.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Stouffville, ONJune 1, 2016
I learned from Petro Canada, how to care customers, how to keep stock into the store, how to keep clean in store, how to handle the co-workers, and how to satisfy the customers..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Truro, NSMay 25, 2016
Its an ok place to work, overall an easy job. A typical work day I go in count my cash, lottery tickets and cigarettes. There is a Robins donuts attached so we ensure all day we have fresh baked goods and fresh coffee and tea always on the go.When there are not customers pumping gas or purchasing merchandise we clean the store. My co-workers are great probably the best part of the job, there is a high turnover rate so there is a onstant need to train new staff which is probably the worst part of the job, it is hard to book time off due to lack of coverage and here are also never raises or room to move up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing was fun
Manager (Former Employee) –  West Vancouver, BCMay 23, 2016
I enjoyed the Managing of a independent Petro Canada station. It was fun. Keeping staff and keeping them motivated was a challenge but the rewards were worth it.
Pros
Good sense of accomplishment
Cons
Too far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't the greatest job.
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ONMay 22, 2016
I enjoyed the fast paced environment, unfortunately they were not very flexible when it came to school and the management was difficult to deal with most of the time, I gained a couple valuable skills with my time here though; patience, time management, etc...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fruitful, Creative
Guest Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 18, 2016
Working as Guest Service Attendant gave me a lot of confidence as now I am able to manage a whole store by myself. I gained a lot of experience and ability to work by my own and in a team. I have learned a lot about Canadian culture, workplace ethics and importance of hard work.
Pros
a whole new experience
Cons
no fixed shecdule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to do, great customer experience.
Gas Station Attendant (Current Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MBMay 15, 2016
A easy job, however very tiring, and sometimes stressful. A balance between trying to get your work done and serving customers. Great management, great communication. Overall a good place to start off with for customer experience.
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Not enough time or staff to complete work with the waves of customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starter job at minimum wage
Gas Station Attendant (Current Employee) –  London, ONMay 11, 2016
Its a starter job in my opinion, not much room for advancement, but the hours where decent, normally 6 hour shifts minimum, quite high stress environment because you work by yourself, if anything happens its all on you, overall, its just OK.
Pros
Normally pretty good hours
Cons
High stress
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 262 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.6