Petro Canada Employee Reviews

Found 287 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
survival job
Sales Consultant for Accident and Health Insurance (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON26 November 2016
physical work, long hours, less salary, no benifits, no chance for career advancment. Good experience on customer service
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
lot of work related stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but not a good knowledgeable job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Viking, AB15 November 2016
I barely knew what I was doing and I had no one take the time to teach me how to do things properly. I worked my shifts alone and they were 8 hour shifts. I learned how to use a cash register and how to use a P.O.S system. The hardest part of my job was never having any breaks during my shift.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours and no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
In training for Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB11 November 2016
Hello well A typical was to make every one was doing what needed to be done including me,stock shelves coolers,make sure wash rooms where clean and garbage where empty or good,coworkers where great and never had any trouble,and management was assume,would have to say the hardest part would be big stock days shipments and the month end reports besides that was great getting to meet new people and help them,most enjoy part of my day or job was just helping people and learning new things felt great!
Pros
discounts on some things
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good workplace to develop interpersonal skills
Gas Station Attendant (Current Employee) –  London, ON8 November 2016
It provides better growth opportunity to an individual. As I am working part-time there, I can't demonstrate it completely. My overall experience with it is good so far.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kirkland, QC5 November 2016
*
** To be patient with all the customers
*** Good Management
**** Co-workers were helper
***** To cover second shift when the person didn't come
Pros
Free Cofee
Cons
Long hours somtimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing, progressive company have great opportunities
Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 November 2016
Excellent training programs. Well established Executive and highly trusted by peers in the industry.Change is a challenging pressure to management and employees. Prepare for very high work expectation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, busy and lots of lifting
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC3 November 2016
Good atmosphere to work around, coworkers were handy abd always helpful. Owner was very easygoing and understanding. Relativity easy work. Not alot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an good organisation with a friendly environment.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC1 November 2016
It basically has a good environment and we get opportunities to serve customers and get to know their feedback.So employees can improve their knowledge of customer relations.
Pros
Skill development in customer relations
Cons
Limited growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Place
Gas Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON31 October 2016
A typical day of work will be greeting customers, activating gas pumps, completing sale transactions, plus selling car wash features, providing point reward system information, making fresh coffee, stocking products and general cleanliness. Generally work alone the management is great. The hardest part of the job is to deal with disgruntled customers and to offer solutions to their issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Dundas, ON28 October 2016
Day at Petro Canada Goes Very Smooth Like as Follows:-

*Customers come with Questions About Everything to Anything & I Reply Them Very Correctly.
*It Taught Me How To Deal Even With Dangerous People Like Robbers.
*I Enjoy Talking To Customers & Giving Them The Best Service .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB26 October 2016
It was an ok fun job. But again I am in need of steady work. Bosses were ok. I made good friends there and enjoyed working with them. I have nothing more to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Guest Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 October 2016
Productive work setup customer service fast pace good hard working experienced coworkers and managers good benefits and lot of learning everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Keswick, ON21 October 2016
Interacting with new and old faces on a daily basis. Enjoyed assisting them with their needs. I learned to that organization when working in the administrative field allows the day to run much more smoothly. The hardest part of the job was working with certain people who were not in the best of moods.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so great
Gas Attendant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON21 October 2016
I typically worked the night shifts in a scary end of town. I worked alone at night and was responsible for my own safety. At times I would be yelled at by intoxicated people so I was very uncomfortable in this environment. I enjoyed the leisure time i would get in between customers because it was not all that busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall the management was good.
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 October 2016
improved my language skills.
got to learn about various people.
hardest part was to deal with that people who try to do robbery.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Guest Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Dixon, ON19 October 2016
It was a good experience working with petro canada, being new to the country this job thought me how to react to people and definitely improved my skills and built confidence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal retail job.
Customer Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  London, ON16 October 2016
day starts with processing transactions, cleaning, sales,
nice co workers
bad management
hardest part is dealing with angry customers
Nothing Enjoyable
Pros
none
Cons
Angry customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to start with
Retail Sales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 September 2016
Learnt the transaction details
Hiring and training staff
Teamwork
Time management
Courtesy
Professionalism
Problem solving
Best customer service
Compliments from the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier (Current Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC26 September 2016
Good place to work but far away from my house..Management is also good.Professional training was given to me. Salary is given at Time . Coworkers cooperate with each other by dividing work.
Pros
No
Cons
7 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely Sales Driven
Owner/Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 September 2016
Canada's Gas Station....NOT.
This company is completely sales driven and will utilize whatever means possible to achieve higher sales including colluding with the competition over gas pricing ( Pricing Centre knows what I mean)

I give this company 3 stars for its aggressive sales techniques and lack of benefits. They can afford it. Their ARL agreements are too stringent with constant pressure to perform and sell, but they lack the integrity of truly being Canada's Gas Station. They lead the pack in laying the framework for aggressive sales but lack the framework to set up their sites for individual community projects.
Pros
Good working conditions, clean sites, well stocked sites, great customer service
Cons
No benefits, Aggressive sales requirements of their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 291 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.6