Petro Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Assistante gérante (Current Employee) –  Saint-Lin--Laurentides, QC31 October 2017
Les experts verts est une compagnie chaleureuse à l'écoute des clients et employés. C'était un travail étudiant et je suis allée travailler chez Bulk Barn après qui m'a permis de financer mes études.
Maintenant, je suis chez Petro-Canada qui est beaucoup plus près de chez moi.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great basic entry level job for newcomers
Cashier and customer service part time (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE27 October 2017
Good basic entry level job if you are a student and are willing to make some money for the university. The only complaint is that there seems to be a lot of druggies and other characters walk up to you during the night shift so gotta be careful, although you are well protected with cameras etc
Cons
long standing hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC26 October 2017
Repetitive easy, other employees seem incapable of changing stock that is years old or organizing the backroom supply and the night shifts consist of standing for 5 hours for not reason.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time position
guest service attendant (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON26 October 2017
Work in gas station as the guest service attendant. Found nice work environment and good team. This post help me to develop various skills like communication and trouble shooting during work.
Pros
Good Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to encourage human interaction
Gas Attendant (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB20 October 2017
Duties as a fuel sales representative include opening or closing the store, fueling vehicles, running till, stocking shelves and cleaning the store. The hardest part is dealing with the customers who aren't very polite but most of the customers are personable and polite.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner
Owner/Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton15 October 2017
Good contracts , but changes can be costly . Freedom to operate your own hours as per business needs. Good for anyone to start a business turn key wise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agréable
Caissier - Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 October 2017
J’ai aimé travaillé avec mes collègues et nous étions bien
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 October 2017
Petro Canada was a good company to work for, They had great
benefits, good work hours, management was good and supported their employees. Over all work environment was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 September 2017
A typical day at work consisted of helping customers at cash, stocking shelves, cooler, cigarettes, magazine stands, coffee area, keeping bathrooms and store neat and tidy. I learned to use a cash register, lottery machine, make coffee and stock. Managemnt was good but was mostly just two people working. The hardest part of the job was working not being able to help everyone at once and the best was part was I got to learn a lot of new things that would help me in my next jobs to come
Pros
Fast paced environment help me learn everything quickly
Cons
Immature employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full_time
Full-time guest service assistant (Former Employee) –  Wandering River Petro Canda24 September 2017
Some franchises may not have fair shift practices of job distributions which as a result some GSA gets to get little more work load than the average
Pros
you get to learn a lot
Cons
some times its too much pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but many things to learn.
Commis de caisse/plancher (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC20 September 2017
I've learned several things since the beginning of my employment at Petro-Canada. Most of them were about being able to multi-task at an efficient and fast rate to fill the customer's needs as much as the employer's greed. Therefore, the work's ambience can sometimes be friendly and pleasant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace good summer job for student
Cashier, customer (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB11 September 2017
This company had 2 locations. Worked regular shift from 8am-4pm and on weekends. Always had other management available throughout the day. The management was very nice and easy to get along with. This job was very good and didn't feel there was a hard part. The most enjoyable part was how fast paced it was and the day went by.
Pros
Fast Paced
Cons
Ignorant customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, but happy enviroment
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  West Kelowna, BC1 September 2017
every day I got to meet plenty of locals in the area, i built interpersonal relationships with the customers which was the overall best part of this type of job, the management is family operated and are amazing people.
Pros
socializing was encouraged
Cons
no real set breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Caledon, ON22 August 2017
it is very good day of working at Petro Canada. i learned how to manage time, how to deal with the customers. management is overall good. it is the multicultural workplace. sometimes to manage time. enjoyable part is to deal with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good opportunity to start experiencing with customers.
Guest service attendant (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 August 2017
get lots of ideas to deal with customers without losing patience and solve their problems in a positive manner. improvement in an organizational skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Customer Care Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC18 August 2017
I would be at the store at 5:45am to prepare for the start of the day. I would open and turn on everything (gas pumps, coffee, lights, lotto) The day was never the same as we dealt with many different customers throughout the day. It was a great place to work and I very much enjoyed being part of the Petro Canada team.
Pros
Busy
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
excellent customer service (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC12 August 2017
i worked as a cashier at petro canada
i learned how to arrange things in proper manner and work regularly
they workplace is very good the hardest part is to lift weight which is sometime more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environement propre
Pompiste (Former Employee) –  Gaspé, QC12 August 2017
tres propre, aimer servir les clients etais tres gentil
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a really good work place to work with
Guest service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK9 August 2017
The management was really very good, good and safe place to work with. I really enjoyed my job over there. Everybody was good and co-operative. i didn't wanna leave my job. but i had to move.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager was a drunk.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC6 August 2017
Customers were mostly nice, only one person at night doesn't feel safe, ended up getting robbed. Manager was not around and was always mad when he was, he was a alcoholic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Petro Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 398 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.6