Petro-Canada Employee Reviews

Found 83 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly management but poor training and unclear guidelines
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 May 2017
I enjoyed working the nightshift and interacting with the customers but the lack of communication from management led to conflict with coworkers over who was supposed to do what. High levels of gossip and employee theft led to a high turnover rate for workers.
Pros
Free drinks and discount meals
Cons
Poor chain of command
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customers are worst part
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 May 2017
Their policy are worst, very low pay.. every other month there is a mystery shop where u have to be 100 % otherwise u will loose ur job, as a employee u have to deal with 800 to 1000 customers per 8 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management, fun place to work, developed good relationships
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC17 May 2017
The management was fantastic, concerns and issues were address immediately.
A typical 8 hour work day included cleaning, stocking, inventory of tobacco and lottery, end of day closing responsibilities.
The most enjoyable part of the job was our regular customers and the relationships that were built.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
envirennement du travail, exigent et penible
Gerant magasin (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Est, QC16 May 2017
simple caissier, mais qui fais tous, avec un salaire minimum
Pros
proche de chez moi
Cons
courte pause
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emplois étudiant
Caissier (Former Employee) –  Drummondville, QC15 May 2017
bonne employeur , tache accessible a tout le monde
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emploie pour ceux qui aime le public
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Shawinigan, QC10 May 2017
-Emploie facile

-Aspect le plus difficile étais de surveiller les motoneige hiver
-J'ai appris a me servir d'une caisse enregistreuse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job with good hours but no room for self-improvement
GUEST SALES ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 May 2017
Petro-Canada is a great location to work for younger individuals looking for work experience, or older individuals who have no desire to improve themselves and are accepting of a position with no room for further self-development or career advancement.
Pros
Easy Job
Cons
No Advancements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne esprit d'équipe
Journalière (Former Employee) –  Farnham, QC26 April 2017
J'aimais se que je faisait mais il me man jais dès heur donc jais lâcher
Pros
Des slouche gratuite
Cons
Mauvaise condition de trAvail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une Journée de travail typique
Gérant (Current Employee) –  Hudson, QC6 April 2017
Je commence à 9h le matin je vérifie l'état général du magasin je donne des taches claires à mes employées sur ce qui doit être fait en urgence je m'occupe de tout ce qui est bureau et par la suite je suis sur le plancher.
Pros
Bonne horraire bon salaire
Cons
embauche très dificile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Night shift cashier (Former Employee) –  Montreal-nord, QC4 April 2017
good environment to work in with good coworkers.
flexible hours
customers were very friendly and appreciated my service
workplace was always kept clean and safe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun enviroment
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2017
Shipping receiving; numbers driven on accuracy working with frontline supervisors very diversified workforce.Supplier of food stuff.
Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Gained strong customer service skills
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON29 March 2017
It was a great experience working with the team of petro-canada. The location where i was placed was one of the busiest center and hence I learnt great multi-tasking skills and handling number of customers with satisfying service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agréable
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 March 2017
Très bon esprit d'équipe
Bien appris sur le fonctionnement des caisses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place, but not the best either
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC10 March 2017
As with any convenience store job, aside from assisting customers, there is always cleaning. The management at the stores I worked with were very friendly and flexible. Hardest part of the job was dealing with the trouble customers and the typical shoplifters.
Pros
Easy going atmosphere
Cons
Not big for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experiene
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 February 2017
I mainly took care of customers but there is very big imbalance between the workers that work there an no one expresses it or does anything about it. It was my very first jobs and I learned a lot from it such as being calm in certain situations and knowing how to problem solve on the spot. It taught me how to treat customers in the most effective way to be able to have them back in the store.
Pros
learning experience
Cons
imbalance of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
je nest pas aimer lexperience
caissiere (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 February 2017
experience qui detruit, le gerant tres manipulateur une entreprise de voleur
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 February 2017
I enjoyed working for the company, the environment is very friendly and the overall professionalism of the company as a whole impressed me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON20 January 2017
dealing with customers directly, dealing with suppliers..
good experience directly with customers and suppliers
pricing, inventory, safety
dealing with different type of customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to Work for
Manager (Former Employee) –  Fox Creek, AB12 January 2017
I was really happy working for Petro-Canada (Max Fuel Distributors Ltd) Fox Creek, AB.

Petro-Canada has many opportunities and room for advance, most people are awesome and very professional, excellent team players and nice.

Petro-Canada is not just a job it is a university.

The hardest part of the job is as usual at the beginning to learn the main scope of work, but within the time becomes so easy and enjoyable, every day you can learn more useful things, networking and creating excellent customer relations is a key part of the success. As manager you have the chance to create a good profile, and you have all the support you need, hire people you believe are awesome assets for the company and loyal to Petro-Canada and the marketer you are managing for. If you work honestly and focused, they really value your contribution to the company. One of the things I love the most is the fact that they always listen to you and have respect for your opinion and help you to achieve your goals, projects within the company and always they like to accept your suggestions to improve every facility in all aspects, safety, health, use of PPE when applicable, I love the weekly safety meeting and the monthly safety meetings with the health and safety manager.
Pros
Flexibility, team work, room for advance, benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers all around
Customer Service Associate in Ottawa, Canada (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 October 2016
Great customer relationship experience with tremendous support from the management and co-workers.
The work hours are fun filled because I get chance to interact with people from all age and different working backgrounds.
The best part of working as CSA is that here people instantly give feedback and scope of learning is spontaneous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Petro-Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 85 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5