Find companies:
Petro-Canada
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Petro-Canada Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have to pay much attention
Customer service representative and cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 20, 2014
Learned so many things.
strong customer service experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as smooth as pie
pharmacy assiatant (Former Employee), sarnia, ONApril 30, 2014
the work place
the colleagues
manager
pharmacist and patients everybody are nice and best place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enterpreunrial and Exciting
Fort Hills Architect / PM support (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 26, 2014
As an architect for numerous projects, this was company that listed to advice and made one feel a valuable member of the organization.

This was an exciting, dynamic and strong team oriented environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great experience amazing company!
Assistant Store Manager/Cashier (Former Employee), Uxbridge, ONMarch 23, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: very long commute, university conflicts
First of all, this was my very first actual job and great experience. My dad owns a 8 pump gas station with a convenience store. I was lucky to been given privilege as an assistant manager and also working as a cashier during the nights. It was very tough as I just turned 18 but the pressure my dad and his employees put me had made me succeed. My typical – more... day at work would be to start my shift which is usually in the morning around 8 a.m., I would first go into the office and burn a copy of the daily video recordings and keep it for future use. I would check every employee shift report to make sure daily sales matches with cash count and make sure everything balances. At times it can be a couple dollars off but there is a certain limit of not more than $20 more or less. I would then greet customers and try to have a friendly conversation with them as a tactic to bring in more business. I would make sure the store has a great overall appearance at all times and make sure customers have all their issues sorted out. The management was small but it made things a lot easier to handle. Not a big staff but it was the right size. My co-workers were great and I made sure we all had a friendly understanding. I really enjoyed working here! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfact work place for a customer service experience
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 17, 2014
•Receive payment in exchange of filled gas or goods from the convenience shop
•Shelf Incoming goods
•Calculate total payments received at the end of the shift to tally with goods sold
•Keep balance sheets of amount received and transactions
•Performed daily line checks of hot and cold food items for proper temperature and monitored food safety.
•Assisted – more... customers by providing information and resolving their complaints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Student Engineer (Former Employee), St. John's, NLMarch 1, 2014
Interesting work but the management in terrible. Working hours are very long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Retail Licensee (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 21, 2014
Overall the company is Great!

I owned the inventories of the gas station. I also have a share in the botton line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geophysicist working in a junior oil company
Senior Geophysicist (Former Employee), Calgary, AB, Tripoli, LibyaNovember 19, 2013
Pros: pros: highly motivated
Cons: cons: low salary, job security (junior company)
Basinwell is a junior oil company focusing on the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin. The company is putting emphasis on producing oil from old fields by re-entry/re-completion, water flooding, and drill step-out wells.

As a geophysicist, my work is to validate the leads /prospects /acquisition proposals from the geologists by using seismic data.

I – more... am also actively involved in the opportunity hunting process by analyzing well, land and engineering data (GeoScout) in combination with seismic data.

The hardest part of this job is to make decision based on limited data (seismic data is expensive here). The most enjoyable part is that your achievements are recognized and appreciated by the management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good starting job
Retail Customer Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 26, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: night shift
The work involved was customer service and sales assistance.I was the cashier ,aswell as took care of inventory and sales.The training was decent but the job description was vague ,the manager was rude and didnt really care about the store policies .The organizational activity of the store was weak.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Gas Station Attendant (Current Employee), Whitby, ONJuly 29, 2013
good workplace, can learn new thing, can make communication with customer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place for employment
GSA/Cashier (Former Employee), Welland, ONMay 30, 2013
Pros: independence, chance to learn new skills
Cons: long shifts
At Petro Canada, for the duration of my employment with this company I worked the midnight shift, however when I first started out I would work a typical day shift. The main duties were to attendant to customers, keep the store tidy and assist any suppliers that would come into the store. Once I started to work a midnight shift, the duty list entailed – more... a little more than the day time shift, stocking the shelves, cleaning all parts of the store, newspaper inventory, cleaning outdoors, etc. For the most part I worked a lone, as each shift was only assigned to one person. The hardest part about the job was working a lone a night, when your trying to clean but making sure that customers are attended to, but I did enjoy the job overall because I was able to gain more skills and experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Cashier (Current Employee), Whitby, ONMay 22, 2013
The management, co-workers are friendly, nice and cooperative. The job is stressful sometimes due to the duties assigned and the big number of people served. The most enjoyable part of the job is the ability to greatly enhance my communication skills, build networks and serve people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, flexible schedule
Gas Station Attendant (Current Employee), Victoria, BCMay 16, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: zero opportunities for advancement, no raises ever
This job was alright for the first bit, then the customers start to get to you and you lose all faith in humanity. The only reason I stayed with them was because I was going to school at the time and they were very flexible with hours. There was also a very high turn over rate (which is surprising considering how easy the job was) so I was forced to – more... train a lot of people who would end up quitting within a month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a great work place
Crew (Former Employee), KitchenerMay 6, 2013
When I worked at Perto- Canada a typical day would be to clean around the pumps, change the garbages , make coffee, stocked the shelfs, I have learned that sometimes if the pumps don't work right we get yelled at by the customers and its not our fault. The Management was okay they were never really there when we were working so it was hard when the – more... customers asked to speak with the manger because they were never there, My co-workers work great, they always helped me when I needed it or I would help them when they needed it, the hardest part of the job would have been the lotto because sometimes I get the 2 mixed up. The most enjoyable part of the job would have been working with the people I worked with and just having a part time job and getting out of the house – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time Job During Study
GSA (Cashier) gas-station (Former Employee), BurlingtonFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: i can pay my bills during study
Cons: minimum wage
About Job: Part Time Job During Study
a typical day at work: Work as Cashier and Gas Station Attendant
what you learned: How to serve Customer
your co-workers: Mostly work single at station
the hardest part of the job: Continues monitor everything
the most enjoyable part of the job: None
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee), Prince Rupert, BCFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: christmas bonus
Cons: erratic shift work
I love working with the public, I'm definitely a people person and working at Perto-Canada I was able to build a rapport with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a safe workplace especially at grave shift (11pm-7am)
Guest Service Attendant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 26, 2012
Pros: free coffee
Cons: not safe to work at grave shift. the location is not safe
working at grave shift is not a busy but a lot of things to do. Since it's my first job to work as a cashier i learned to deal with customers. The management is good as well as my co-workers. The hardest part of the job is when I worked alone during grave shift and it is not safe to work. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you met kind customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean workplace
GUEST SERVICE ATTENDANT (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 26, 2012
A good job to enhance your interpersonal and communications skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot by working with supervisor and ARL
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Windsor,ONSeptember 2, 2012
Pros: learned simply accounting, helpful supervisor
Cons: long hours
This job actually made my mind to pursue a degree in Accounting and then go for an Accounting Designation. I learned all about the accounting cycles ad how Retail businesses are affected my Accounting policies and procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its all about the customer.
cashier/ (Current Employee), Bowmanville, ONJuly 1, 2012
Pros: free coffee.
serving customers,selling lottery, carwash tickets,redeaming lottery tickets, Upselling sale items.