Petro-Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
petro-canada
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC19 November 2017
-mostly 8hr shifts and working alone..
-no benefits or pay increase
-highlight of the day is seeing the regular clients
-expect clients to get annoyed of hearing the same promotions for min 2 months
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same company
Customer service (Former Employee) –  North York, ON14 November 2017
Petro Canada was part of the Pitney Bowes Contract. good environment lots of work and challenges. My immediate supervisor there was very helpful in getting me settled.
Pros
Helpful Staff
Cons
Was a short contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Food Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON14 November 2017
This was a challenging job trying to keep a close eye on 14 gas pumps as well as inside the store. It was always super busy which made the time pass by quickly. The manager was very easy to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good productive and fun workplace
Retailer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 October 2017
Worked for over 13 years as a retailer and it was great. I have to say that the work itself is a breeze & friendly atmosphere. Its enjoyable and the head office staff who you are surrounded with are mostly enjoyable with lots of knowledge and helpful.
Great friendships made with the other managers and guests.
There's lots of room for advancement.
The only one challenge you may have some times is dealing with upset customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint-Lazare, QC6 October 2017
When I started in the morning I would get things ready for the day and tidy the place up if needed. If I cam in the afternoon all that was done was being a cashier until closing time where we had to clean up and take stock of the days sales. Hardest part of the job was dealing with some of the customers, as there would occasionally be some interesting people. Most enjoyable part was pretty much everything but dealing with the odd customers. The job itself was relatively simple and straightforward, i worked as a cashier selling snacks, cigarettes and gas for the most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NS3 October 2017
I enjoyed my time there, the people were friendly and my boss genuinely cared about the employees. I dealt with a large variety of customers but every day I left knowing I's been helpful and useful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon travail
Caissière (Current Employee) –  Saint-Raymond, QC27 September 2017
Le travail chez Pétro canada m'a appris beaucoup de choses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnment
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Ouest, QC25 September 2017
its s good compagny and they let me finish my studies and i was woring part time
Pros
free meal
Cons
far from my place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned
Volunteer Shalimar Club, Punjab, India (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 September 2017
I learned a lot of things from Petro Canada. First of all, I learned how to operate cash and lottery machines. I learned how to clean the store. I also learned how to make coffee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement mouvementé
Commis de dépanneur (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 August 2017
des clients qui entrent sans arrêt, des clients joyeux qui savent dire bonjours et b au revoir
Pros
café et pâtisserie gratuite
Cons
les shifts de nuits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job, not the hours
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS9 August 2017
Enjoyed the job, just didn't enjoy working nonstop for minimal pay. No offering of employee health or medical benefits. Lots of responsible and its not reflected in the pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON6 August 2017
I worked at a PC for 3 years, things I learned:
- They prefer that you harass regular customers with the same questions/promotional offers that you already know aggravates them just in case a mystery shopper is somewhere in the line, basically no discretion allowed in trying to improve customer service, threats of dismal occur if you don't harass everyone with promotional offers;
- Some mangers intimidate you to pay for "apparent" losses from inventory counts (ie. cigarettes, lottery, etc.);
- They typically try to select the people they know they can take advantage of to put on a salary. They make it feel like it's a promotion to the person, but the person ends up working way more hours for no additional pay, are expected to come in on a moments notice for any issues, and get blamed more when things go wrong.

One benefit though: I knew in my heart there were employers/companies who didn't treat employees like this, it inspired me to go to college. I have had absolutely great employers since.

Advice: Look, I realize you might just need a job, there's nothing wrong with that. Just please don't buy into any career promises they may make to you. Let me put it this way, if you're doing a great job there, you would be even more appreciated at some other company that involves customer service.
Pros
Night Shifts if you need to study
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun co-workers
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 June 2017
Great customer service experience, Fun co-workers, flexible hours, getting to eat the expired candy, good management and it covers some of the greatest offers any gas station can offer. Even though I have only worked there for a year now I feel like I'm part of a family that stands very strong. I will continue to work at Petro Canada with pride.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working there I was sad I had to retire.
Dispatch analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississuaga Shridan Park.27 June 2017
Good people to work with.
lot of fun activities for summer and Christmas.
Nobody uses foul language.
Opinions are always respected.
They are results oriented and reviews are fair and honest.
Pros
Great salary
Cons
Too far from my home.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly management but poor training and unclear guidelines
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 May 2017
I enjoyed working the nightshift and interacting with the customers but the lack of communication from management led to conflict with coworkers over who was supposed to do what. High levels of gossip and employee theft led to a high turnover rate for workers.
Pros
Free drinks and discount meals
Cons
Poor chain of command
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customers are worst part
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 May 2017
Their policy are worst, very low pay.. every other month there is a mystery shop where u have to be 100 % otherwise u will loose ur job, as a employee u have to deal with 800 to 1000 customers per 8 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management, fun place to work, developed good relationships
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC17 May 2017
The management was fantastic, concerns and issues were address immediately.
A typical 8 hour work day included cleaning, stocking, inventory of tobacco and lottery, end of day closing responsibilities.
The most enjoyable part of the job was our regular customers and the relationships that were built.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
envirennement du travail, exigent et penible
Gerant magasin (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Est, QC16 May 2017
simple caissier, mais qui fais tous, avec un salaire minimum
Pros
proche de chez moi
Cons
courte pause
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emplois étudiant
Caissier (Former Employee) –  Drummondville, QC15 May 2017
bonne employeur , tache accessible a tout le monde
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emploie pour ceux qui aime le public
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Shawinigan, QC10 May 2017
-Emploie facile

-Aspect le plus difficile étais de surveiller les motoneige hiver
-J'ai appris a me servir d'une caisse enregistreuse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Petro-Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 102 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5