Find companies:
Petro-Canada
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

Petro-Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work setting for high school, first job students
Gas Service Attendant (Current Employee), New Hamburg, ONNovember 11, 2014
Pros: outdoors, friendly customers
Cons: unfit for graduated or pursue as a career path
Gas pumper
Propane exchange
Car wash sales
1 Manager/ owner
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Clerk (Current Employee), calgaryNovember 8, 2014
good learning opportunities.
team work.
hectic schedule.
training new people
interpersonal skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service industry is good to work at if manager is good
Gas Service Attendant (Former Employee), MississaugaOctober 31, 2014
If manager is good, customer services industry is nice to work for. Some policies need to be looked at. Good place for survival job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 8, 2014
friendly customers and respected co-workers learned much about cash flow, balance, and budgeting, mostly handle cash till.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONOctober 4, 2014
Pros: it can keep you very busy which makes time go by much quicker.
Cons: night shifts, can be very slow, restrictions on cleaning since i work alone.
A typical day is very relaxing but can also become busy. I've learned how to work in a very fast paced environment, dealing with customers problems and how to properly greet customers.The management at Petro-Canada is very open on what you can do at work, as long as you get all your work done. Since I work night shifts, i am alone but when I see my – more... co-workers they are very friendly and enjoyable. Hardest part of the job is working throughout the night all by myself, it becomes very lonely on slow nights. Most enjoyable part of the job is it goes by fast when I get very busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Retail Store Supervisor (Current Employee), Grande Prairie, ABAugust 23, 2014
It's fun to interact with guests and co-workers. There is no boring day. Hardest part of the job is dealing with dissatisfied customers. At the same time it can give you the most rewarding feeling when they leave the store as happy guests because you were able to satisfy their needs. The most enjoyable part of the job is dealing with regular customers, – more... knowing their first names and their purchase habits (i.e. what brand of cigarettes they smoke, do they play lotto, etc.), chatting up with them, asking how they are doing, and them appreciating your work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and enjoyed the opportunity.
National Account Manager (Former Employee), TorontoJuly 25, 2014
Great place to work and enjoyed the opportunity. Very competitive market to compete and need to demonstrate the benefits of me and the product line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONJuly 24, 2014
I enjoyed working here, it gave me great work experience. it gave me customer experience along with retail experience, I gained alot from working at petro-canada.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have to pay much attention
Customer service representative and cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 20, 2014
Learned so many things.
strong customer service experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as smooth as pie
pharmacy assiatant (Former Employee), sarnia, ONApril 30, 2014
the work place
the colleagues
manager
pharmacist and patients everybody are nice and best place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enterpreunrial and Exciting
Fort Hills Architect / PM support (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 26, 2014
As an architect for numerous projects, this was company that listed to advice and made one feel a valuable member of the organization.

This was an exciting, dynamic and strong team oriented environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great experience amazing company!
Assistant Store Manager/Cashier (Former Employee), Uxbridge, ONMarch 23, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: very long commute, university conflicts
First of all, this was my very first actual job and great experience. My dad owns a 8 pump gas station with a convenience store. I was lucky to been given privilege as an assistant manager and also working as a cashier during the nights. It was very tough as I just turned 18 but the pressure my dad and his employees put me had made me succeed. My typical – more... day at work would be to start my shift which is usually in the morning around 8 a.m., I would first go into the office and burn a copy of the daily video recordings and keep it for future use. I would check every employee shift report to make sure daily sales matches with cash count and make sure everything balances. At times it can be a couple dollars off but there is a certain limit of not more than $20 more or less. I would then greet customers and try to have a friendly conversation with them as a tactic to bring in more business. I would make sure the store has a great overall appearance at all times and make sure customers have all their issues sorted out. The management was small but it made things a lot easier to handle. Not a big staff but it was the right size. My co-workers were great and I made sure we all had a friendly understanding. I really enjoyed working here! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfact work place for a customer service experience
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 17, 2014
•Receive payment in exchange of filled gas or goods from the convenience shop
•Shelf Incoming goods
•Calculate total payments received at the end of the shift to tally with goods sold
•Keep balance sheets of amount received and transactions
•Performed daily line checks of hot and cold food items for proper temperature and monitored food safety.
•Assisted – more... customers by providing information and resolving their complaints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Student Engineer (Former Employee), St. John's, NLMarch 1, 2014
Interesting work but the management in terrible. Working hours are very long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petro-Canada
Operator intern (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Petro-canada is a Suncor energy company and is no long its own independent company petro-canada was a good company to work for and it has gotten better as suncor completed its merger with the organization
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Retail Licensee (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 21, 2014
Overall the company is Great!

I owned the inventories of the gas station. I also have a share in the botton line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very reliable place to work at
Cashier (Former Employee), London, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Long shifts working alone is very hectic, bad management, unfriendly co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geophysicist working in a junior oil company
Senior Geophysicist (Former Employee), Calgary, AB, Tripoli, LibyaNovember 19, 2013
Pros: pros: highly motivated
Cons: cons: low salary, job security (junior company)
Basinwell is a junior oil company focusing on the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin. The company is putting emphasis on producing oil from old fields by re-entry/re-completion, water flooding, and drill step-out wells.

As a geophysicist, my work is to validate the leads /prospects /acquisition proposals from the geologists by using seismic data.

I – more... am also actively involved in the opportunity hunting process by analyzing well, land and engineering data (GeoScout) in combination with seismic data.

The hardest part of this job is to make decision based on limited data (seismic data is expensive here). The most enjoyable part is that your achievements are recognized and appreciated by the management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good starting job
Retail Customer Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 26, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: night shift
The work involved was customer service and sales assistance.I was the cashier ,aswell as took care of inventory and sales.The training was decent but the job description was vague ,the manager was rude and didnt really care about the store policies .The organizational activity of the store was weak.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Gas Station Attendant (Current Employee), Whitby, ONJuly 29, 2013
good workplace, can learn new thing, can make communication with customer