Find companies:
PETLAND
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
83 reviews

PETLAND Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting
PET COUNSELOR (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCJune 2, 2014
The hours are good the people are even better. The bonuses are easy to advance too and the learning never stops. very friendly costumers orientated environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Pet Counsellor (Current Employee), St. Catharines, ONDecember 18, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: no room to move up
Busy work environment.
Manage both customer care, as well as animal husbandry and care.
Open and honest work environment.
Many learning opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Messy Hours Left Little Time for Personal Errands
Pet Specialist (Former Employee), Vernon, BCJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: free pizza for lunch sometimes, employee discount, free bag of dog or cat food (though it must be from specific brands)
Cons: horrible seemingly ever changing hours, no employee education, poor management, not enough pay for amount of duties involved
The hours I was given at Petland were horribly erratic - there was absolutely no dependability of schedule, which meant that despite my best efforts, I was often highly confused, resulting in several times where I was either late or had no idea that I was supposed to be working - or not working. Despite having a recorded schedule for every month, I – more... swear that hours were occasionally changed without my knowledge, for that is how it seemed. The hours were also given inconsiderately - a coworker of mine with a young son who needed weekends off was often given weekend hours to work anyway and I personally often found it difficult to manage errands because of my hours conflicting with the time my ride had available to take me place. I often felt very rushed working here, told to do tasks which were impossible to accomplish in the amount of time that the management wanted us to accomplish them in. I worked very hard at Petland and got little credit for it. Once or twice, I was accused for something which I did not do.

I have worked in the pet industry three times now and this was the worst place. With so many animals to keep track of and clean as well as take care of customers, having to know about all of the said animals in order to help them, this was a much bigger job than the money it offered. You do double duty here - you're half retail salesperson and half animal caretaker/janitor and often the retail side takes over, resulting in less time for the animals who need it. Maintenance in the fish area alone could take all day and it was the heavy duty work which is not easily interrupted, yet it was so constantly. I never felt valued or trusted and it was easily to feel disloyal. Whereas at other pet stores I felt strongly driven to only shop at my store, I was happy to shop elsewhere and since leaving, I have rarely shopped there since. The store has very aggressive sales tactics, making you 'attack dog' customers right at the door and getting in their faces rather than simply greeting them and leaving them alone for a while before returning to them a few minutes later to see if they need any help. There was also an employee who was very religious and I would have liked it if the management would have asked her to keep her beliefs at home as they seemed highly inappropriate in the workplace. There also were not really many opportunities given to the employees so that we could freshen our knowledge about products as very few reps came in and we never went to product seminars. With the nature of this job, what with daily teaching customers, more proactive education of the employees would be very helpful.

On the plus side, the coworkers were pretty great and everyone is quite nice. The pizza rocked! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regina store has pets needs as first priority
Petland Supervisor (Former Employee), Regina, SKDecember 17, 2012
Pros: working with animals and other animal lovers, pretty good day to day work incentives (i.e. coffee, pizza). good staff.
Cons: slightly difficult district managing team, very impersonal and nonsympathetic or understanding to in store issues.
I ran the store typically as manager on duty: opening the store, managing staff, reconciling monies and closing the store. The manager in charge when I was first hired took advantage of my salary by promising me a higher wage and then saying it wasn't possible. Though I tried to stand for my rights and he treated me with little respect. He eventually – more... left and store operations ran a lot smoother in respect to employee conflicts or drama (I was not the only one who felt they'd been wronged by him). The job itself is unbelievably rewarding. Learning about animals needs and educating customers on how to create the ultimate human animal bond will forever be rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced busy with fun staff
Pet councellor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 8, 2012
Pros: flexible breaks
Cons: you meet your sales goals or else.
On shift you must take care of a to do list, meet hourly sales goals ( no exeption if the store isnt busy) organise shelves, mop floors and clean up after animals. Fun friendly staff, good managers but it is a retail job, be prepared.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work!
Former Employee (Former Employee), CanadaNovember 15, 2012
Pros: the animals you help
Cons: unfair managment. no hr department
DRAMA, DRAMA, DRAMA. The company likes to make decisions without thinking about them and then a week later change their minds again making things chaotic and very confusing. The policies and procedure manual was essentially just a joke! Head office is a joke. If the company was run better and they had people capable of doing their jobs properly and – more... efficiently I would recommend working for them but until then I would avoid it unless you want to deal with no structure, the politics, and a poorly run head office. The Entire operations team has no clue what they are doing and I really don't think that they are in this for animal welfare. Its all about money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace but not good living
Cashier (Former Employee), grande prairieOctober 23, 2012
Petland was a job that made learn how to take animals and it was hard work but fun as well but with 9 dollars salary it wasnt enough so this job was alright I still learned a lot from this jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great work experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 11, 2012
I loved working in the fast work environment of retail, interacting with people with a great staff to help you get through the day even when it was a tough day. Management was understanding and great at showing the essentials to work in that environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at, taking care of animals and interacting with customers and making sure they are educated about animal care
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), White Rock, BCMay 22, 2012
Pros: animal care education classes
A typical day at Petland would be to reach the end of the day sales target, time management is a must, helping more than one customer at once and being attentive and friendly to everyone without breaking the professionalism aspect of the job. Taking care of the animals, working around their schedule (feeding, bathing, walking, etc.) The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was seeing the look on customers faces when I deliver them with exactly what they were looking for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Pet Counselor/Reptile Manager (Former Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FlJuly 11, 2014
Petland was a company that was like a family to me. It was so much fun to work here. I had the opportunity at 18 to get a taste of management. This company was family orientated and amazing. I miss working for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive easy going job with commision
Pet Counselor (Former Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILJune 17, 2014
Pros: fun staff
Cons: commision
basically you have to sell products and animals to get commision, which for me was a downside and made you not want to work there. The employees were always fun and awesome. I gained alot of knowledge in my animals and products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Puppies are great! Selling them...not so much.
Pet Counselor (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJune 10, 2014
Pros: puppies, animals, lots to learn about pets, discounts on merchandise
Cons: pay, benefits, management
I am an animal lover, for sure! However, the management at the Wichita Petland is not the best by any means. You can tell how bad a job sucks by the constant turn over of employees. They are constantly hiring because no one wants to stay there longer than 1-3 months. The pay sucks! They say you get commission if you sell enough, but I never ONCE got – more... commission. And I was one of the best sellers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD enivroment
Kennel Technician (Former Employee), Naperville, ILJune 4, 2014
I was very comfortable in Petland. The hours were good and the people are friendly and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy free-flowing workspace
Pet Counselor (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLMay 30, 2014
Customers never got upset with any of us. Everyone would assist you with what you needed. If you did not know how to finish a task someone on your team would assist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, caring, and chilled out
work Experience (Former Employee), Adelaide, SAMay 29, 2014
Pros: i learnt alot, made new friends, enjoyed myself..
Cons: i didn't get a job out of it, because it was only work experience i did long hours but got no pay.
i started at 9 am until 5 pm,
would help set up the shop ready for the day, feed all the animals, clean their cages, set up displays,
measure all the food and bag it all up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with animals and educating customers about them.
Sales Associate/Pet Counselor (Current Employee), Blue Springs, MOMay 12, 2014
Pros: discounts on pet products
Cons: not enough hours
This is a fun job with commission opportunities. It has taught me a lot about being a good sales associate. I enjoy handling the animals and helping people learn about their care. My co workers are very nice and fun to work with. The hardest part of the job is trying to make commission if business is slow. I'm currently not receiving hours that were – more... promised, so I am looking for other opportunites. I will probably continue to work here if possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a alright place of employment
Kennel Technician (Current Employee), Chillicothe, OHMay 6, 2014
This company is a alright place of employment but since the new management came into play i do not enjoy my work anymore. A typical day of work includes the care of animals, the distributing of medication, and cleaning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't even think about it
Fish & Reptile Manager (Former Employee), Joplin, MOApril 1, 2014
If you value your sanity, go elsewhere. The management is very rude, uncaring, and would rather fire you than train you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fast Paced Work Environment
Pet Counselor (Former Employee), Chillicothe, OHMarch 18, 2014
Assisting customers with pet needs by determining and solving problems. I learned how to deal with a wide variety of people, as well as how to shape people into great sales people and managers. The management at the time I was first employed were amazing, they really cared about and were willing to help you advance through the company. However, a change – more... in management happened in 2013 and in my opinion store is now not running as efficient as possible. Very few adults who worked there, mostly high school students, but the employees are super outgoing and fun to be around. The hardest part of the job is making sure you meet the needs of every customer that enters the store, and meeting your sales goals. The most enjoyable part was being part of the management team and getting to shape the young employees to be better workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FLMarch 4, 2014
I learned QuickBooks and very friendly environment. Petland is very professional and respectful company

1 2 3 4 5