Find companies:
Pet Valu
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
51 reviews

Pet Valu Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with some great people
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Barrie, ONJune 27, 2012
Pros: paid lunch
Cons: unloading the truck by hand.....no room for a forklift! :)
I worked in all areas of the store from opening to running cash, sales, ordering inventory, stocking shelves, supervising staff, dealing with returns and complaints, all the way to closing up and making the night deposit.
The most enjoyable part of the job were the people I worked with. We just had a reunion this past summer and we all still keep in – more... touch. We were very close!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), White Oak, MDNovember 5, 2014
Pros: paid lunch break
Cons: not strong pay
Worked cashier, did stocking, opened and closed store, made daily bank deposits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Customer Service/Cashier/Key holder (Former Employee), Phillipsburg, NJSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: discounted animal products
Cons: not enough hours
I was a key holder.
I would open and close the store.
I was able to open and close the register.
The best part was that you would pretty much get a workout at work always being on your feet, especially on shipment days.
I truly enjoyed working here.
I would of stayed if I would of made more money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with the animals
Customer Service/Key Holder (Former Employee), aberdeen, mdJuly 7, 2014
Pros: working with animals
Cons: wish i could have stayed there, not making enough money to survive
does not pay well, alot of customer and animal interaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job and for school.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Gambrills, MDJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, education and skills training, reasonable part-time pay
Cons: small workforce (but dependable), not a life-long job (unless manager)
For the entire 7 years that I have worked at Pet Valu, I never could have asked for a more rewarding part-time experience. I was 16 years old in High School when I was hired, and I stayed with the company all throughout school and into the present day because of their flexibility in working with me during my school schedule as well as with my school – more... workload outside of classes. Pet Valu is not an enormous store as compared to it's competitors, but on a normal day to day basis, there was always something that needed to be done. Even when everything that needed to be done was finished, I would still seek out extra duties to attend to and would take on responsibilities to help out as much as I could around the store The hardest part about this job was also the part that made this job worth being a part of, and that was learning all the products we sold, and most importantly exploring pet food and pet nutrition. Even outside of working at Pet Valu, I had found a passion in researching brands of pet food, pet nutrition and pet food ingredients. By doing this I was able to recommend foods and products to my customers with research and information to back it up. Customers were not blindly led to buy any product, as I would make absolutely sure that they found exactly what their pet needed and that they would come back satisfied and happy with our service. Overall, I may have only worked for this one company for seven years versus bouncing around between jobs, but I felt committed to it and sought to do my best to make a lasting impression while working there until I am able to find a permanent career path. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet Store
Customer Service Sales Associate (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAAugust 20, 2013
Not your typical pet store. Must go through a lot of training and deal with customers. They sale upscale dog and cat food. Specializes in their brand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment dealing with customer's and their pet's,
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee), Lemoyne, PAJuly 29, 2013
Pros: company was very into working with local rescues, to help with placing homeless pets into permenate homes. all about their community.
Cons: company was growing at such an alarming rate, that all the technology was not up to current day standards. alot of technical difficulties with it.
I really enjoyed dealng with pet parents and their pets. Wasn't a highly stressful atmosphere. We had a lot of freedom to plan our own in-store events and work together with local shelter and rescue organizations. I was very proud of what I did and took a lot of pride in my job. Company just was so far behind in technology compared to the rate that – more... they were growing and that was frustrating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job very shady management and company
sales associate/keyholder (Former Employee), Lititz, PAJuly 19, 2013
Pros: envoriment, customers, other employees
Cons: pay, management, benefits
Very fun job, They teach and train you numerous things about animals which if you have pets is awesome you have a ton of regular customers that come in and you get to know them and they help pass the day by. Co-workers there are awesome as well all down to earth and laid back, Management on the other hand was horrible treated their employees badly would – more... never work weekends refused to train you, I was trained by one of the other fulltime employees, The DM/RM played favored the women employees and left the men in the dark, They promise advancement and raises but never follow. Benefits were only given to fulltime employees and no if you worked 40+ hour's does not make you a fulltime employee its their way of not spending more while spending less

The hardest part of this job was dealing with management as long as you can bite your tongue (unlike me) you'll be fine

Best part of this job was the things you learn and the people you meet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time job, single staffed
Part Time Keyholder (Current Employee), Flourtown, PAApril 23, 2012
Pros: interaction with customers
Cons: single staffed
This job is ideal for the full time student. However as summer approaches I will be looking for something more. A typical day at Pet Valu consists of opening or closing by yourself with the help of somebody from a mid-shift that is there for some of the time. I learned best how to interact with customers in a friendly and helpful way. My manager there – more... is nice and would be a personal reference to me. My co workers are all friendly and I get along with them. The hardest part of the job is being single staffed and not having co workers to interact with. The most enjoyable part of the job is dealing and interacting with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, great employees and great atmosphere
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wyckoff, NJJanuary 6, 2012
Pros: good benefits and vacation plans
Cons: room for advancement is slim
Pet Valu was a great place to work. It was fun atmoshere. The animals could come in shop with their owners. I loved pet care. The customers were very nice to service.

About Pet Valu

The Pet Valu family of stores includes Pet Valu, Paulmac’s Pet Food and Bosley’s, and together they are one of the – Read more