Find companies:
Pepsi Bottling Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
983 reviews

Pepsi Bottling Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office work
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Trenton, ONJuly 4, 2012
Pros: i was trusted
Cons: it was only a co-op placement
I was a CO-OP student and I was an office assistant. I faxed,photocopied and filed items. Everyone was amazing and I loved coming to work everyday. My boss was sweet and taught me a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
merchandiser&driver (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCJune 12, 2012
was a good job but a car accident put me out of work for 3 yrs and they didnt have anything they could put me to work at until i could return back to regular duites
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Workplace
Marketing Equipment Management System Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 17, 2012
This is the dream place that I want to work for. Everything is terrific.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for with lots of work in the summer.
Pepsi Merchandiser (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 26, 2012
Pros: work is done when you are done you work.
Cons: lots of driving with personal vehicle.
This job is great if you are focused and can work alone but in team if it comes up. Organisation is important and self motivation as well. If you are looking for a fast paced job but most of your experience is in retail, stocking shelves then this is a good step up. If you prove yourself they are willing to help you move up in the company to higher – more... positions. The pay is good, just be prepared to work weekends and travel around to the different stores in your own vehicle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours, hard work, but pays well and benefits are great
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 20, 2014
A typical day of work usually consists of a 12 hour day in which you are delivering beverages from anywhere to 8-25 stops a day. No matter what the weather conditions are. It is hard work and long hours, but what makes up for that is weekends off, great pay and benefits, and solid management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Environment
Supply Chain Operations Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 19, 2014
Fast paced work environment, constant change management

Learned all areas of the supply chain

Department driven goals and initiatives
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Zone Operations Administrator (Former Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great training
- Good leadership opportunities especially for those who take initiatives
- Great compensation and healthy bonuses
- Great work life balance
- Clear career path
- Great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with and for. Just pays low.
District Sales Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 15, 2014
Pros: the people.
Cons: pay
Long days but everyday there is something new. Great people to work with. The pay is low but it is a great place to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained good experience
Route Builder (Current Employee), Dubuque, IAAugust 13, 2014
Good place to work, would have to get used to the hours but pay is good and get plenty of overtime. Always kept busy. Management and co-workers easy to get along with. Very busy during holidays and the summer months. Job that's easy to get the hang of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for frontline jobs
GM Sr. Lead (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMAugust 11, 2014
Pros: pepsi perks
Cons: long hours, less pay.
Monday's are always payroll and reporting days. The rest of the week is monitoring processes and using compliance reports. I over see 3 direct employees but oversee processes in 6 other locations. The hardest part of the job is the compliance research. The most enjoyable is working with great people and the perks of Pepsi.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stack em up!
Salesperson/Merchandiser (Former Employee), Warrenton, VAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: salary + 8 hours a day
Cons: salary + 8 hours or more
the most enjoyable part of the job was building the display for sale promotions..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Repair Technician & Machine Operator (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 8, 2014
there pay is really good, but you will work very hard for it. over all it's a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a decent paying blue collar job but also very stressful. You have been warned.
Merchandiser (Current Employee), New YorkAugust 6, 2014
Pros: pays well for retail., full-time opportunities for those who want it., benefits for full-timers., a job that pays well for people with no schooling.
Cons: lack of communication., young, out of touch management., physically demanding schedule., poor treatment by in store managers.
You go into a grocery store and often see people filling shelves that don't work for the supermarkets, they are vendors. On the outside surface, it might sound like a chill, laid back job where you get to work by yourself, not have to have a manager constantly over your shoulder, and you can work at your own pace. If you think that is the job description – more... of a merchandiser, you couldn't possibly be more wrong.

Merchandising is a job that is very difficult and stressful, especially for the soda companies. You usually have to start at 3 to 4 in the morning and have to service an average of 4-6 stores a day (if it's 4 stores, chances are one of them are huge). The difficult part is managing your time because one store could take you 4-6 hours if the salesmen orders 8 pallets that you have to work by yourself with no help. By the time you get to the later stores, you'll be screamed at that you took too long but little did they know you just serviced many stores already and only have two hands.

For Pepsi, management is also a problem and there's a pretty simple answer on why there's such a problem. Most of your managers are young, 20 somethings, who may have a college degree but basically no idea on what your job entails because they never had to do the job themselves and they have almost no managing experience. This company thinks they can give someone an internship and then instantly give them a management title such as Territory Sales Manager. You got these TSMs managing the Salesmen and Merchandisers who have worked for the company for decades. You think that's right? I sure don't.

I believe most companies need managers with many years of experience or those who have worked for the company from the bottom up and have risen through the ranks. It may sound like I am a bit bitter because of their young age but the truth is they virtually have no idea on how your job is done and how hard you have to work. They just walk into a store and expect it to look perfect without any regard of how much time you had through out the day, how little or too much the Salesmen ordered, or what the in-store managers wanted. If you have a problem in the store, go to the grocery managers there. It's not how the TSM want you to do the job, it's about how the in-store managers want you to service the store. The TSM's need to get that through their heads because their way may not be the way the in-store managers want it done.

Of course it's not Pepsi management that's all bad. Some grocery managers can be absolutely unpleasant people to deal with. That's the nature of retail workers/management. Some are miserable people who hate their job so they take it out on you. They constantly ride you and call your bosses if you aren't perfect or make one small mistake. Having to worry about being called by them on a daily basis makes this job stressful to no end.

My final advise is for people to carefully understand what they are getting into because this job is no picnic. I would say it's not a bad part-time gig because there's much less things you have to deal with if you are part-time. The pay for part-time work is not bad. But be aware that if you go full-time, be prepared with the burden of having to answer to 5-10 people a day and being on the phone with management all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dailey Routine
Lead Tech (Current Employee), Nashville sales Nashville TN.August 6, 2014
In a typical day I am the parts person, receiving and posting parts, checking invoices against work orders.Correcting inventory in parts room.Keeping shop supplies for other Techs at work stations for daily useage. Going after units from outside vendors.Placeing units in shop trailers for detail touch up.Repairing ,OTR trucks, forklifts ,pallet jacks,changing – more... tires ,making road calls,admidstrative fileing, intercepting and working through break downs,changing tires,watering batteries for pallet riders,p/m on what ever is due by hours ,or milage,answering phone and refree hot tempers on some ocasions. But mostly Lead Man snd running the dailey routine of a fleet shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just was good place to work pepsi was like a second family atmosphere everyone came together when needed
swingman (Former Employee), Lake City, FLAugust 3, 2014
Pros: pepsi events christmas parties going to nascar
Cons: didnt really have any
I never knew what I was going to be doing for that day learn how to run a route rotate stock ect. management was very supportive co workers good to work with the hardest part of the job was most of the time you never knew where you were going or doing for that day most people don't like being a swingman because of that but that position fit me best – more... the enjoyable about the job was just being there being needed for help when needed working special events on weekends and representing pepsi cola – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT,S HARD TO WORK IN SUNNY DAY,MUCH HARD IN RAINY DAY
Driver Sales Representative (Former Employee), BACOOR CITYAugust 3, 2014
Pros: meal allowance and gas allowance
Cons: coffee time, benifets
IT'S FUN AND ENJOY,ALWAYS PREPARED FOR WHAT HAPPEN OR FOR THE UNEXPECTED.RESPECT THE MANAGEMENT AS WELL AS THE CO-WORKERS,THE HARDEST PART OF MY JOB ARE THE ACCOUNT WHO DON'T PAY THERE CREDIT OR THE ACCOUNT RECEIVABLES,I THINK THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF MY JOB IS THE BONDING OF MY CO-WORKERS AS WELL AS THE MANAGEMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're just a door mat
Driver Merchandiser (Former Employee), Pleasant Prairie, WIAugust 3, 2014
Pros: other drivers are cool.
Cons: you're just a door mat
Way, way, way, way, way, way, way......way too much merchandising! Store managers expect you to do all the work in the messy/trashed coolers. Pepsi management will treat you like dirt. Sales reps are lazy, don't do what they are supposed to and will try to get you in trouble/written up every chance. Insurance is decent, BCBS, you will need it to get – more... those back problems fixed.

BTW, DID I MENTION WAY TOO MUCH MERCHANDISING? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good job.
General Operations (Current Employee), MissouriAugust 2, 2014
Pros: driving a forklift, nice pay checks, good benefits, the people
Cons: working in the heat and cold and constant lifting
A typical work day is lifting case after case after case of soda and a bunch of other stuff pepsi distributes, loading that stuff onto a massive pallet and then loading the pallet onto a truck.
I got a forklift certification on my 2nd day there so that's always a good thing to have if you ever decide to look for another job.
Management is fine. I don't – more... have any complaints.
The people that work there are all pretty laid back.
The hardest part of the job is the constant lifting, but after a couple of months, you get used to it and it isn't so bad.
The most enjoyable part of the job is, of course, getting that nice pay check at the end of the week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked under paid
sales account manager (Former Employee), twinsburgh ohioAugust 1, 2014
Pros: meet great people in my accts
Cons: no help more workload.no raise and lost money every year
Worked like a slave with no help on running my roure.was t here for 13 yrs ane jus walked away it was so bad.do more work for less pay every year.if you were not in the click you never got promoted or any help.management was corrupt and played f avorites to their friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), Buena Park, CAJuly 31, 2014
Assemble product in a timely manner, load and unload trailer's, inventory control, operate forklifts and pallet jacks.

About Pepsi Bottling Group

The Pepsi Bottling Group, Inc. (PBG) is a wholly owned subsidiary of PepsiCo, Inc. PBG operates carbonated soft drinks and other – Read more

Pepsi Bottling Group Photos