Find companies:
People's United Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
71 reviews

People's United Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Financial Services Associate (Current Employee), st james nyDecember 5, 2013
great staff and good enviorment. training is a little slow but overall company cares about its employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with a great deal of customer service.
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Bangor, MENovember 11, 2013
I worked a Monday Though Friday shift with a Saturday shift once a month. Training was required to maintain banking compliance on a monthly basis.
Our branch was very busy with one manager above my positon and I would over see tellerline of three staff members.
The hardest part of my job sometimes was not being able to focus more on the customer needs – more... versus selling additional products as I really enjoyed helping people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company ethos in theory.
Finacial Services Associate (Current Employee), Baldwin Place, NYNovember 8, 2013
Pros: good learning experience.
Cons: little to no breaks, interference with home life, vacation scheduling and two day weekends are exceptionally difficult.
-A typical day at work involves taking care of immediate sales goals, while preparing pipeline for the future. Maintaining customer issues, and engaging with current and prospective clientelle. Conformance issues are a priority in a banking environment. Conference call involement and meeting ever-changing and exceeding expectations.
-Knowledge of banking – more... products, state and federal laws, and an expanded knowledge of exceptional customer service and increasing sales initiative.
-Micro-managing increasing and making lower level management irrelevant. Good for immediate profit increase, but creating a destabalization of evenly distributed and strong management. Very formatted managerial training (may be the result of redundant jobs in upper-management increasing expectation). This creates very blueprint new managerial staff which leads to a disruption in sales environment.
-Co-workers are well-hired and have created a healthy environment of in-branch competitiveness, as well as, supportive and consistent in-branch training.
-The hardest part of the job is meeting expected and constantly increasing goals which leads to every in-branch bonus (team incentive, not individual). There is no curve, bonuses are paid out on a black and white system. This leads to in-branch shaming and disdain. There are many scheduling expectations, which make it near impossible to send out staff members to necessary training (short staffed, and constant staffing needs). This leads to hourly employees commuting for 6 day weeks with very rare two day weekends.
-The most enjoyable part of the job is the learning experience and challenges faced on a daily basis. There is a strong appreciation for your clientelle and there is a great fulfillment in knowing that you can provide a good product and help someone, while building a relationship. Banks often take advantage of the consumer, but it's nice to know you can minimalize this and provide a service that otherwise would be overlooked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Sr. Java & J2EE Consultant (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTNovember 8, 2013
Pros: .....
Cons: ........
People's United Bank is a diversified financial services company which provides consumer, commercial and wealth management services through approximately 375 branches in Connecticut, Massachusetts, Vermont, New York, New Hampshire, and Maine. Through additional subsidiaries, People's United provides equipment financing, asset management, brokerage and – more... financial advisory services, and insurance services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
financial service associate
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee), Greenwich, CTOctober 1, 2013
Peoples united bank is a great place to work. it is a local community bank so you really get to know all your clients very well. Management is great they are very understanding and accommodating when it comes to work and personal life. It was a great experience and all extra achievers are noticed and rewarded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what they make you think it is.....
Former Financial Service Associate (Former Employee), MassachusettsSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: great co-workers(before taken over) we were like family
Cons: upper management stink, comp is awful, everyone is replaceable.
I was with them for 4 years, well we got bought out by them(very typical) They seemed awesome at first, very friendly, very interested in YOU....it all went downhill from there. They got rid off people and never replaced them, which meant, more workload for you. They will take you and squeeze every little bit of you, and make promises, which will NEVER – more... come true. They train every employee to be flexible in every area without compensating them for it. I was doing a Supervisors roll with a teller salary. Had the responsibilities of one but that was pretty much it. Like some people have said, the turnover of their workers is ridiculous. Just in 6 months, we had 4 managers. We lost so many customers because of this. The only reason some of them stayed was because of us. Which, by the way, the employees that are there now, are looking to leave soon. They want us to do sales but their products truly do stink. Upper management doesn't care about their employees. We are all replaceable. I really wouldn't lie about his bank, it just isn't what I thought it would be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not something I would consider again
Lead Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Bangor, MESeptember 17, 2013
Pros: great co workers and customers
Cons: no room for advancement, managers could not do their job
Typical day would be assisting customers with deposits, new accounts, loans and mortgages as well as coaching staff to sell, sell, sell.
I learned that even though I may have been told I would go higher it would never happen. I was made many promises and nothing ever came of it, In my last few years there management did not do their job and it made – more... more work for me. It also created tension in the branch but no one would listen to or fix the issues. Co workers were great - they put up with so many changes and issues but still continued to wait on their customers with a smile on their face.
Hardest part of my job was not having any help in my duties and still having to help others with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), MAAugust 28, 2013
It's a good bank. Management is always encouraging employee development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment.
CDD\EDD Compliance Analyst (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTAugust 27, 2013
Pros: flexible, volunteer opportunities
A typical day will include reviewing 200-400 new accounts to insure the branches are following bank policy\procedures. Some days we also reviews high risk business accounts to determine if the business would be a risk to the bank before the account is opened. My co-workers are a fun group of individuals, we keep each entertained with laughter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A driven, innovative Customer Service Manager
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Medford, N.YAugust 24, 2013
Cons: non competitive salary
10 Hour work day, seven day work week. Last of standing. The environment is very streesful being that it is very short staffed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Bank to Work For
Customer Relations Manager (Current Employee), MassachusettsJuly 2, 2013
This institution exemplifies customer service and treats every customer like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job
Merchant Services Account Specialist (Former Employee), Rutland, VTJune 14, 2013
Pros: challenging and busy
Cons: negative work environment
My job consisted of taking and making phone calls. I did some data entry, financial research and supporting businesses. I learned a lot about the behind the scenes information of credit card processing.

The hardest part of the job was the lack of consistency. The rules were constantly changing and didn't apply to everybody equally.

I loved working – more... with the customers and putting smiles on peoples' faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enriching workload with great individuals
Portfolio Manager- Commercial Real Estate (Current Employee), Stamford, CTMay 21, 2013
Review several loans based on compliance metrics and create annual or quarterly reviews. Learned about banking procedures and real estate lending transactions. Co-workers are a fun and knowledgeable. Hardest part of the job is preparing loan documents for internal or external audit at a moments notice. The most enjoyable part is the management of a – more... variety of real estate transactions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Environment
Financial Service Manager, AVP (Current Employee), ConnecticutMay 14, 2013
Everyday is filled with something new! No day is the same from the other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn about Financial Services
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee), Hamden, CTMay 9, 2013
PUB is one of the strongest banks in the northeast. It's people are very knowledgeable on the best practices of Banking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Manager (Former Employee), ConnecticutApril 25, 2013
Pros: customers
Cons: compensation, upper management, benefits
People's is an organization that could care less about most of their employees. Upper management only favors those who go above and beyond to get their sales goals, by the way they are unrealistic; even if that means you have to be unethical. The unethical ones are the ones that get praised, raises and are on the promotion platform. If you care about – more... your customers is not enough, you must be a SALES MACHINE. Upper management do not care about you or your family, nor work quality. You get paid to work 40hrs a week and they make you work 50+hrs a week, without paying you extra. This company is the worst place to work for. Then they wonder why they have so much turnover in branch manager and employees! In this place is who you know and not what type of employee you are. Good luck if you want to work here, unless you want to live a stressful life, where they treat you horrible and don't appreciate their employees! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I planned to retire from there
Customer Service (Former Employee), Dover, NHApril 5, 2013
Pros: loved the customers
Cons: they don't care - you are replaceable
You give them your life 10+ years great reviews have a couple of bad days and your gone - they don't care you are replaceable - oh make sure you cross sell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The # of job openings=turnover. Just look at how long some jobs have been posted (and # of times the same job has been posted)
Would rather not share. (Former Employee), VermontMarch 31, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, learning & development
Cons: laughable pay scale, everyone is replaceable=no job security, training offered, but it's a joke- you can never go because you are usually short staffed
Worked for them for quite some time. Horrible management- ridiculous pay.
I worked for a successful department. What I saw over the years- they truly do not care about their employees. Everyone is replaceable (even the HR manager would tell branch managers that.)
They burn people out- and do not care, because they can be replaced. It sounds cliché, – more... but I guarantee you can even ask current employees and they would tell you the same (but may not out of fear of HR.) Example: Wilmington FSM job. They've been posting that since last August! Cannot fill it- people know what People's is like to their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Customer Service Associate and Banking Operations (Former Employee), Manhasset, NYMarch 7, 2013
Pros: good stability/benefits
Cons: lack of oppertunities/pay rate/poor working enviroment
A typical day at work was providing our customers with excellent customer service and welcoming atmosphere. I've gained a great amount of experience working at People's United Bank, especially when it came to reaching our quarterly goals. The hardest part of the job was being able to convince our customers to invest money to our products that we offered, – more... such as: Money market accounts, Home equity line of credits, mortgages, Cd's and etc.
Most enjoyable part of the job, being able to meet different customers each and everyday, and having our district meetings with our co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Senior Financial Customer Associate (Former Employee), Hicksville, NYMarch 4, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours
My typical day at work start out by planing out , How I would achieve my goals for the quarter. Make calls to generate business, keep a book of business, prospect in the aisle. Do transactions thru the day and make sure that I was am giving the best customer service that I can. cross sell and always asking for referrals

About People's United Bank

People's United Financial is the holding company for People's United Bank (formerly People's Bank), which was founded in 1842. – Read more

People's United Bank Photos