Find companies:
People's United Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
81 reviews

People's United Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveling and learning
Loss Prevention Representative (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTApril 20, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: travel time
Being a courier was a different experience. In a way, it helped me become a better driver and understand the value of being on time everyday. Tasks had to be done for branches at a certain time and I was trusted with confidential information to be handled in a professional manner.

Being a shy person, this helped me open up to people, as I was forced – more... to interact with the same people on daily basis. It helped me grow as a person – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to show off my customer service skills!
Senior Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Saint Albans, VTApril 9, 2014
Pros: get to work with great people and interact with customers.
Cons: the sales goals that have to be met quarterly.
A typical day at People's United Bank is interacting with customers, processing customers transactions, daily teller work, opening new accounts. I have learned a lot over the past 3yrs working at the bank, I have learned all of the bank products that we offer, complete yearly training, take classes to improve myself, how to interact with customers on – more... a daily basis and many other aspects of the job. My co-workers are a great team and we are always trying to brainstorm ways to attain our goals as individuals and for the bank as a whole. The hardest part of the job is trying to achieve all the goals that I am handed quarterly. Sales has always been a weakness for me. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with customers because over time I have gotten to meet a lot of great people and they always appreciate the help that I give them. Not all customers are friendly or easy to deal with sometimes but I always remain focus and try to help them out as much as I can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Financial Service Associate (Current Employee), Brewster, NYApril 2, 2014
• Hands on experience in providing exceptional customer service and resolving clients’ accounts issues and maintaining contact with clients regarding cash and checking services
• Understand the importance of providing excellent service, to maintain customer satisfaction, create trust, and generate return business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highlights
Customer Service (Former Employee), Nashua, NHMarch 3, 2014
• Provide exceptional customer service to all of People's United Bank customers
• Accurately identify customer needs and provide them with People's United Bank products that suit these needs
• Grow core deposits and lending portfolio through applying knowledge of the bank and its products to knowledge of customer needs
• Demonstrate behavior consistent – more... with customer service guarantees of People's United Bank – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profit oriented company
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Shelburne, VTFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: provide great education for their employees as well as individual insentives
Cons: set goals very high so advancement is difficult
Open account for customers, deposits, loans, mortgages, investments...They are a one stop shop for any customers needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong conservative banking culture
Senior Financial Services Associate (Former Employee), Long Island, NYFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: great culture of job security.
Cons: tight group-based incentive/performance based pay
Strong and stable company with almost 200 years of corporate, consumer experience-based culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for job advancement and career opportunities
Assistant Vice President (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTJanuary 29, 2014
Daily manages a large staff to ensure the customer experience is executed to exceptional standards. I also manage daily sales of my team to make sure we are on target to attain goals. There is also a focus to ensure that the branch is within budget which is managed by utilizing daily reports. There are many opportunities for job advancement with the – more... growing organization. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and getting to know the customer base. I am also responsible for training and developing staff, which I enjoy the most because of my background of education. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to do tasks but not challenging enough
Bank Teller /Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Spring Valley, NYJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: easy tasks
Cons: repetitive and not challenging for me
It was my very first job in the banking industry and I must say, it is not quite the place to grow as quickly as you would wish to. Overall, It was not a challenging environment for me. I chose to start as a teller in the hopes that it would lead me somewhere but it did not. I want to make my time valuable and that is why i left the company. At the – more... end, it is great company for people who like to be comfortable and doing the same thing every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service, teller
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Stratfield, CTJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: great opportunities to grow
I loved working for the bank, it's unfortunate that I left. I interacted with customers on a daily basis providing them with great customer service. My co-workers were great, we were all like family. The branch manager and myself became very close because after I had my first child, she became a grandmother and we had a lot in common. The hours were – more... great I was able to get out early enough to be home and spend time with my son. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people to work with!
ACH/RDC Risk Mgmt (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTDecember 26, 2013
People's United Bank has excellent people working for them!!! Everyone is very friendly and helpful, I built lasting friendships there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Financial Services Associate (Current Employee), st james nyDecember 5, 2013
great staff and good enviorment. training is a little slow but overall company cares about its employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with a great deal of customer service.
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Bangor, MENovember 11, 2013
I worked a Monday Though Friday shift with a Saturday shift once a month. Training was required to maintain banking compliance on a monthly basis.
Our branch was very busy with one manager above my positon and I would over see tellerline of three staff members.
The hardest part of my job sometimes was not being able to focus more on the customer needs – more... versus selling additional products as I really enjoyed helping people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company ethos in theory.
Finacial Services Associate (Current Employee), Baldwin Place, NYNovember 8, 2013
Pros: good learning experience.
Cons: little to no breaks, interference with home life, vacation scheduling and two day weekends are exceptionally difficult.
-A typical day at work involves taking care of immediate sales goals, while preparing pipeline for the future. Maintaining customer issues, and engaging with current and prospective clientelle. Conformance issues are a priority in a banking environment. Conference call involement and meeting ever-changing and exceeding expectations.
-Knowledge of banking – more... products, state and federal laws, and an expanded knowledge of exceptional customer service and increasing sales initiative.
-Micro-managing increasing and making lower level management irrelevant. Good for immediate profit increase, but creating a destabalization of evenly distributed and strong management. Very formatted managerial training (may be the result of redundant jobs in upper-management increasing expectation). This creates very blueprint new managerial staff which leads to a disruption in sales environment.
-Co-workers are well-hired and have created a healthy environment of in-branch competitiveness, as well as, supportive and consistent in-branch training.
-The hardest part of the job is meeting expected and constantly increasing goals which leads to every in-branch bonus (team incentive, not individual). There is no curve, bonuses are paid out on a black and white system. This leads to in-branch shaming and disdain. There are many scheduling expectations, which make it near impossible to send out staff members to necessary training (short staffed, and constant staffing needs). This leads to hourly employees commuting for 6 day weeks with very rare two day weekends.
-The most enjoyable part of the job is the learning experience and challenges faced on a daily basis. There is a strong appreciation for your clientelle and there is a great fulfillment in knowing that you can provide a good product and help someone, while building a relationship. Banks often take advantage of the consumer, but it's nice to know you can minimalize this and provide a service that otherwise would be overlooked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Sr. Java & J2EE Consultant (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTNovember 8, 2013
Pros: .....
Cons: ........
People's United Bank is a diversified financial services company which provides consumer, commercial and wealth management services through approximately 375 branches in Connecticut, Massachusetts, Vermont, New York, New Hampshire, and Maine. Through additional subsidiaries, People's United provides equipment financing, asset management, brokerage and – more... financial advisory services, and insurance services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
financial service associate
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee), Greenwich, CTOctober 1, 2013
Peoples united bank is a great place to work. it is a local community bank so you really get to know all your clients very well. Management is great they are very understanding and accommodating when it comes to work and personal life. It was a great experience and all extra achievers are noticed and rewarded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what they make you think it is.....
Former Financial Service Associate (Former Employee), MassachusettsSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: great co-workers(before taken over) we were like family
Cons: upper management stink, comp is awful, everyone is replaceable.
I was with them for 4 years, well we got bought out by them(very typical) They seemed awesome at first, very friendly, very interested in YOU....it all went downhill from there. They got rid off people and never replaced them, which meant, more workload for you. They will take you and squeeze every little bit of you, and make promises, which will NEVER – more... come true. They train every employee to be flexible in every area without compensating them for it. I was doing a Supervisors roll with a teller salary. Had the responsibilities of one but that was pretty much it. Like some people have said, the turnover of their workers is ridiculous. Just in 6 months, we had 4 managers. We lost so many customers because of this. The only reason some of them stayed was because of us. Which, by the way, the employees that are there now, are looking to leave soon. They want us to do sales but their products truly do stink. Upper management doesn't care about their employees. We are all replaceable. I really wouldn't lie about his bank, it just isn't what I thought it would be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not something I would consider again
Lead Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Bangor, MESeptember 17, 2013
Pros: great co workers and customers
Cons: no room for advancement, managers could not do their job
Typical day would be assisting customers with deposits, new accounts, loans and mortgages as well as coaching staff to sell, sell, sell.
I learned that even though I may have been told I would go higher it would never happen. I was made many promises and nothing ever came of it, In my last few years there management did not do their job and it made – more... more work for me. It also created tension in the branch but no one would listen to or fix the issues. Co workers were great - they put up with so many changes and issues but still continued to wait on their customers with a smile on their face.
Hardest part of my job was not having any help in my duties and still having to help others with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), MAAugust 28, 2013
It's a good bank. Management is always encouraging employee development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment.
CDD\EDD Compliance Analyst (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTAugust 27, 2013
Pros: flexible, volunteer opportunities
A typical day will include reviewing 200-400 new accounts to insure the branches are following bank policy\procedures. Some days we also reviews high risk business accounts to determine if the business would be a risk to the bank before the account is opened. My co-workers are a fun group of individuals, we keep each entertained with laughter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A driven, innovative Customer Service Manager
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Medford, N.YAugust 24, 2013
Cons: non competitive salary
10 Hour work day, seven day work week. Last of standing. The environment is very streesful being that it is very short staffed.

About People's United Bank

People's United Financial is the holding company for People's United Bank (formerly People's Bank), which was founded in 1842. – Read more

People's United Bank Photos