People's United Bank

131 reviews

People's United Bank Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Middle market Bank. Nice complex in Downtown Bridgeport?
Senior Asset Liability Analyst, Treasury (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTFebruary 10, 2016
Pros: Nice building, friendly environment, Staple jobs
Cons: Hard to advance, salary
Relaxed environment. Standard medium sized bank. Not alot of opportunity to move up. Stable environment. A little cheap.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap
Financial Service Associate (Current Employee), Trumbull, CTFebruary 9, 2016
The only problem with People's is the fact that they are cheap but preach superior customer service which becomes more and more difficult to achieve when procedures are made more difficult just to lower cost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to Start Career in Banking
Bank Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJanuary 29, 2016
A Good Company to start career in banking and develop great customer service and financial skills. Nice Structure if you want to move up the ladder to become a FSA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance, behind on technology
Online (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTJanuary 28, 2016
Pros:
- great work/life balance
- my team is a great team to be a part of
- good benefits
- job security is good, retention rate is awesome, definitely not a revolving door

Cons:
- Advancement opportunities depend on which team you end up working for, sometimes there are no advancement opportunities for you and you have to move to a different team
- Behind on technology, never innovators, always catching up because they lag behind in features in comparison to other banks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome internship experience
Commercial Banking Intern (Former Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 24, 2016
i interned with the company during summer 2015, and it was an awesome experience. i learned more than i ever thought possible, and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a strong resume experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong customer service values
Financial Services Associate (Current Employee), Levittown, NYJanuary 24, 2016
Pros: promotional incentives
Cons: inadequate staffing, little work/life balance
Your title only means as much as you can do within the confines of the company but not how little you may do -although entitled for many to understand as a banker, still take on teller transactions, however am also licensed for residential lending and can generate business lines as well -giving the customer the full 360 effect of you being their personal banker

coworkers are energetic and always willing to help -not just the customer but the team

hardest part of the job is really delving in to a person's finances and reasons as to why and how they want their money handled -tend to get a greater story than expected and they
re not particularly present ones

best part- finding the perfect financial solution for your customer , very rewarding to watch people receive whaqt they never thought they could get, help people achieve their various financial goals in a multitude of ways

management- varies branch to branch, but ultimately , based on upper management -market and regional managers -that make the job a little more difficult -the promise of moving up "quickly" in the company sometimes leads to empty promises, some HR standards are simply double-edge swords of rules and penalties
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee), New Fairfield, CTDecember 21, 2015
Good start for the financial field if that you want to start a career. Plenty room for advancement. Management could be better and encouraging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too boring and you have to take too much from the callers
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Burlington, VTDecember 16, 2015
Pros: Nice office space with a view
Cons: Almost everything else
Drudgery is the best description of this job. Awful. Inflexible schedule. Horrible pay. Management doesn't do much more than train new people coming through the revolving door of this institution. Customers must bear with out of date technology and you are the one who gets to explain to them why the bank gets so much of their money in fees. (Even though it's the bank's fault.) Bad culture for customers.
If this is your first job you may not get how awful it is, so go for it. But if you've had other jobs that paid more with less aggravation from customers, then you should avoid it. Not a good place to work unless you want to be sworn at all day and get a fat rear end from sitting all day literally attached to a phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage client account, review weekly sales repoert, update projections for upcoming P&L numbers.
financial (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 24, 2015
Pros: motivation
Cons: short employees
I had a great experience working for this employer. The DM was very motivative and always theer for the employee. I have earned lots of experience managing high volume data, communicating with client with busienss and financial related matter. worked closely with the IT team and also the financial advisor for investement related products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Java/J2EE Developer (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTNovember 18, 2015
Good company to work.

I learned java Knowledge.

Good management.

Co-workers are good.

I love this company.

Every one can enjoy in this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great introduction
Customer Service Associate- Teller (Former Employee), Hamden, CTNovember 13, 2015
Pros: Great intro into banking
Cons: low pay wages for the work required
Great introduction into banking. Does not pay as much as other companies do. large work load for lack of pay. Great culture but management should sharpen leadership skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day as a market manager
Market Manager AVP (Current Employee), Rocky Point, NYNovember 11, 2015
Pros: great place to work
Cons: high amount of red tape and politics
It's refreshing and motivating to start my day by visiting my branches and attend their sales meeting where I can learn about the sales successes from the prior week and their plans to replicate that success or close production gaps for the period. I truly enjoy the one on one coaching sessions with my direct reports and skip level colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work Environment
BUSINESS BANKING CUSTOMER SERVICE (Current Employee), Brattleboro, VTOctober 15, 2015
Pros: Employee Rock Day
Cons: Health Insurance
Overall, this is a good plave to work. My only complaint would be I do not feel our benefiets are up to snuff. Management is good and so are the PTO time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyone did and learned everthing from teller work and banker
sr. csa (customer service associate) (Former Employee), Mount Vernon, NYOctober 9, 2015
Pros: healthcare
Cons: short breaks, extra work without pay
Assisting customer with their everyday financial needs.
I've learned that a lot of customers don't know what's needed for them.
Being a manager or being managed over is important to have things work out smoothly
Working with your co-workers is important that all are on the same page.
The hardest part of the job I've found is getting out on time from work.
The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
room for adancement
Customer Service Associate- Bank Teller (Current Employee), North Haven, CTSeptember 28, 2015
Cons: not the greatest insurance benefits
Plenty of room for advancement and growth within the company.
The health benefits could use some improvement along with the pay for the employees. However there are good incentives and possible quarterly bonuses as welll
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very prouctive place to work.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Fairfield, CTSeptember 19, 2015
It is a very productive place to work, I enjoy working with customers in order to help their financial needs. The hardest part is matching the customer with the right product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYSeptember 14, 2015
The most rewarding part of my job is building the relationships I have with my customers and being able to help them. Fellow colleagues are very supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldn't go back
Financial Services Associate (Former Employee), MassachusettsAugust 11, 2015
Whole focus is on selling customers more products. They forget that banking is a service and put selling ahead of everything else. Lots of pressure to reach sales goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Lead Debit Card Loss Prevention (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTAugust 8, 2015
There was a constant change in management from the Vice Presidents to the various sections in management throughout the company. It created culture of hostility because there was a constant change in management styles that clashed with any remnants of consistency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), waterbury ctAugust 3, 2015
Pros: nice
Cons: short breaks
Fun work place with supportive management,
nice place to work
i recommend to all
nice managment
fun place for work
its small place but good