Find companies:
People's United Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
105 reviews

People's United Bank Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
champainge taste on a beer budget
Lead Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), New Haven,CTApril 18, 2015
The experience that you get working at Peoples United is great. You can get ample training within the company if the tight scheduling will allow it. Working at a traditional branch is ideal, the Stop and Shop branch hours are very convenient for the customers, not so much for the employees. The day to day daily tasks that are asked of the employees are more than what you are compensated for. Employees are often asked to work long 10 hour day, open and maintain personal and business accounts, open and close the branches, audit boxes and ATM. You are often expected to perform management tasks only being compensated for teller pay. It’s very hard to balance work and home life with PUB. It’s a great place to start and take advantage of the training; however it is not a career for most by any means.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great....
Customer Service (Former Employee), Nashua, NHApril 17, 2015
This bank has turned into such a corporate bank that all of it's employees despise working there. The pressure to sell banking products placed upon the tellers is deplorable and embarassing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much politics within the organization
Wealth Management Account Service Rep (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTMarch 30, 2015
I learned a lot while I worked there for 3 1/2 years. The most enjoyable part of my job was communicating with various administrators across New England.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Tarrytown, NYMarch 29, 2015
Don't feel valued as an employee. The pay is ok. Upper management is heavily involved in your day to day activities. Micro managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect in all positions
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Commack, NYMarch 20, 2015
Pros: work life balance
Cons: no support
Set individual goals for large staff. Get daily focus for the day interact with all types of clients. Assist them with banking transactions such as lending & consumer & business deposits. Solve issues with accounts. Enjoyed the clients every day!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing pains but great learning opportunities
Customer Service Branch Manager (Current Employee), New YorkMarch 16, 2015
Pros: many certifications/trainings to be had
Cons: get pulled in many different and changing directions
Prior to the acquisition of ~60 branches of Citizens Bank, the company was run a certain way. Since then many things have changed in terms of management, goals, and overall focus.

The system of two managers, one operational and one sales, has intertwined their overall assignments without maintaining purpose for both roles.

In a Branch management role you are afforded many new items to learn/leverage/required thresholds such as; Mortgage lending, consumer lending, business lending, life insurance sales, investment sales, and Notary. While the trainings and licensing are great growth potentials, each new license/topic requires individual thresholds or goals to be met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Senior Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Avon, CTMarch 12, 2015
It was a great learning experience and the people I worked with were extremely friendly. I really enjoyed my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Intern (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CtJanuary 27, 2015
I would learn how different facets of the bank worked. As a intern I had to do a lot of the dirty work but enjoyed it. A typical day would be filing papers, or putting numbers on spreadsheets. Many of my co-workers were older then me so it was hard to relate but as a sports fan I was able to bond with many of the males about sports. The hardest part of the job was the monotonous day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little bank with a big bank attitude
Lead Customer Service Associate (Supervisor) (Current Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 22, 2015
Pros: nice hours
Cons: benefits suck, management has lost their way, you'll work hard but get 0 credit.
People's United Bank was a dream come true when I first started her 3 years ago. However; since starting here the culture has changed and everyone, especially the customers are suffering because of it.

The Boston market has focused a lot on hiring people from BOA so that they can bring that BOA attitude of selling and apply it here and while I believe change can be good, it has hurt this company. New managers are not trained on the culture or even how to process transactions or open accounts. No one is ever held accountable and customers are always given wrong information because people in management don't want to admit they're wrong.

There used to be a lot of opertunity to grow but the growth manager won't promote anyone internally because he thinks everyone is lazy and tries to bully you into working for free until he is basically out of options and has to promote people out of pure nessacity.

If you're looking for a job this place will help to pay your bills but if you're looking for a career you might want to consider looking elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's really what you make of the experience.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), MassachusettsJanuary 15, 2015
Pros: pto, worklife balance, numerous opportunities for growth
Cons: prevalent petty politics
Great work life balance and benefits. Largely sales oriented. You will do fine if you are not overwhelmed by the politics.
Know what you want to specialize in and know the right people and you'll gain great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
LEAD CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), TorringtonJanuary 7, 2015
work day is filled with sales, good co-workers, driven team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Customer Service Rep (CSA) (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJanuary 3, 2015
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
i love what i do at the bank. i learn everyday something new. i love working with my co-workers. its all about team work, there is always someone there to help with problems. i enjoy working with coworkers and customers. manager is always there to help and teach new things. i dont think i call hardest part of my job when i dont know how to help customer because i learn and use for next time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company focused on the community.
ONLINE CONTENT MANAGER (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTJanuary 1, 2015
Pros: management
People's United has a professional, community-or, it was oriented management staff. Each department, with whom I developed web content, had management with a forward focus. At every level ways to enable a positive customer experience was a priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Flood Insurance Monitoring Representative (Current Employee), Essex Junction, VTDecember 30, 2014
Great working environment and great people.
Worked with FIS and other banking software.
Management are friendly and constantly encouraging.
Best part of job is the relaxed and friendly environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training and preparation for success, but erronious business model
Branch Manager & Licensed Investment Advisor (Former Employee), Hamden, CTDecember 27, 2014
Pros: great experience in many areas of banking
Cons: poor management, micromanagement
Great management and retail training program, where great direction and hands on training is performed through stages.
Business model flawed, dual management creates one sided enviroment where many inconsistencies and discrepencies are constant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Bank
Commercial Credit Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 15, 2014
Pros: good location
Small Bank with a low key team. Very nice and small office.
Typical day at work involves taking in real estate deals and analyzing financials for different borrowers. Work also includes going to real estate properties and doing a site inspection.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr. Customer Service Associate
Sr. Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Hartford, CTDecember 4, 2014
Working for People's is ok. They tend to promote and give you new responsibilities relatively quickly with out compensating you well for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Cultivating Environment
Supervisor, Collateral Monitoring & Release (Former Employee), Burlington, VTDecember 1, 2014
People's United Bank offers a professional and cultivating environment for any professional. They truly value their employees and offer competitive compensation and benefit packages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Lead Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Hyde Park, NYNovember 18, 2014
Coaching, supervising, training, operations, sales, daily, weekly, monthly reports, business development, community involvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but limited
Financial Service Associate/ Personal Banker (Current Employee), East Hills, NYNovember 11, 2014
• This position is the first line of sales and service contact for customers, contributing to branch profitability.
• Provide customers with all aspects of product openings, servicing, and problem resolution.
• Proactively seek needs based sales/referral opportunities of the organization’s financial products through relationship building with the branches customer base.
• Partnered with Market Manager and Small Business Relationship Manager to cultivate new commercial lending opportunities
• Assigned existing book of business and expected to increase both deposit and lending relationships
• Experienced in making outbound sales calls both in person and via telephone

1 2 3 4 5

About People's United Bank

People's United Financial is the holding company for People's United Bank (formerly People's Bank), which was founded in 1842. – Read more

People's United Bank Photos

With co-workers