Find companies:
Penske
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
362 reviews

Penske Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst!
warehouse clerk (Former Employee), aurora, coJuly 23, 2014
Cons: company owns you.
When hired they say occasionally overtime. That's not the case. You will work 4:30pm-4:00 am 6 days a week! Also they will switch your weekend day from Sat to Sunday and back to thee original day with out notice. Also your overtime day is usually is morning hours 8am. Don't expect any family or personal time at this company at all! Your outside life – more... is meaningless to management. Turn around is high its ridiculous! Worst place to work! Every single employee is looking elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Selector (Current Employee), Shelbyville, INJuly 18, 2014
Cons: almost getting run over because people drive crazy to make rate. also the rate system in general.
They demand 100% rate or they deem you too lazy and fire you. Orientation was a joke. They discussed the money you COULD earn...that was all they talked about. Never mentioned had to run 100% or job loss. While they demand 100% they throw every obstacle in the way to prevent people from running over 100 (theres extra pay). Also coworkers are shitbags. – more... They steal pallet jacks, wrap, labels just to make THEIR rate go up but it drops your rate drastically. Anytime you need to do ANYTHING (tie a shoe, or go to the bathroom) your percentage is lowered. Its every man for himself here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy atmosphere with customers, assisting as many as possible
Administrative/Service Assistant (Current Employee), Cranston, RIJuly 16, 2014
Pros: it is close to home
Cons: medical benefits could be better
I have learned through working at Penske A/R and A/P which is something I have not done in my professional career. I assist customers both in person, and on the phone, which I feel is one of my best attributes. I am a friendly, outgoing person, so it does suit me. The most enjoyable part of my job is assisting a customer, and the final outcome is they – more... are satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be prepared to work your life away
Management (Former Employee), South Plainfield, NJJuly 15, 2014
Pros: company car, fellow employees
Cons: no life, long hours, management is unrealistic
Let me start with the good...ok I'm done. No I'm not a bitter former employee but upper management needs a serious overhaul, at least at this branch. First off they think they are better than you and really don't care what your input is. The management at this branch lacks the management skills needed to motivate their own employees. A good manager – more... takes an employee under their wings and guides them, but here they just give you an action plan and set you up for failure. They barely say Hi to you in passing, they lack people skills as well. All management does is "pass the buck" through hundreds of senseless emails when an issue could have been resolved by picking up a phone. They are unrealistic in their goals. I spent more time in pointless meetings and covering peoples shifts and then they wonder why all my work couldn't get complete. Oh and be prepared to get a phone call at 2am, then 3am, then 4am for a broken down truck. If you miss one phone call in the middle of the night they grill you about it and ask you why you didn't answer. Hmmmm maybe it was because I was sleeping at 3am!! I could go on and on with the negative.

I did like the employees I worked with though, that was probably the best part. Vacation time is good too. Penske itself is a good company, but the management at this location is terrible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an easy place to work.
Class A Driver (Current Employee), Chino, CAJuly 15, 2014
Cons: working nights and the travel.
The hardest part the job was working nights and the travel. Start off a casual driver.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ITS ALL GOOD
Clamp Truck Driver (Former Employee), ALUM CREEK RD OHIOJuly 14, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
IT WAS AN ON GOING JOB THAT I ENJOYED BUT NEED BETTER PAY IT WAS A BORING PLACE AND HOT AREA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unproductive
Relief Driver/Dispatcher (Former Employee), Lathrop, CAJuly 7, 2014
no leadership. small company no room for growth aand they moved cnter far away
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall the job was ok
Material planning and logistics (Former Employee), Swaythling, ENGJuly 1, 2014
The people i worked with were great to work with.
the only bad point was the finishing time on the late shift
As i was team leader i had to print out the work sheets for the others in my team then we would go out and count the stock we used to have about 25 counts a shift but they could be nuts and bolts that go to a lot of different locations then – more... the last part of the shift was entering the figures into the Ford CMMS system.
I learned how to use the Ford system and basic use of Microsoft Exel and word and how to communicate with outside stock holders through email and over the telephone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
tech II (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJune 27, 2014
lacking in some basic shop equipment . management is fair. split days off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use you up, burn you out, throw you away
Employed (Current Employee), USAJune 17, 2014
Pros: above average number of pto days (especially for new hires), decent retirement benefits, recognizable name
Cons: quite literally everything else
Horrible company culture dominated by backwards thinking "good ole' boy" white, male management stuck in the mentality of "well that's the way we've always done things." Zero innovation and creative thinking. Vast majority of promotions are from within, which might give a positive outlook to career advancement at first glance, but really only serves – more... to perpetuate the group-think and lack of new ideas. Turnover rate in rental department is astounding. All departments of company are massively encumbered by draconian policies, poor business practices, inefficient processes, and zero desire by anyone to improve these issues... because we're Penske and we're never wrong - it's the customer that's wrong, it's the industry that's wrong, it's anyone that says otherwise that's wrong.

If that's the culture you want to work in, this place is for you! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
several opportunities for career moves
CREDENTIALING SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Green Hills, PAJune 17, 2014
opportunity to learn how upkeep on thier trucks put them in a class above the most common truck you see on the side of the road (remember on the side of the road instead of destination B)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Account Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 16, 2014
Pros: company car
Cons: always on call
• Create and maintain strong working relationships with company partners and vendors
• Develop strong working relationships with company partners, vendors and clientele
• Utilize marketing tools including brochures, sales calls, and site visits to identify and recruit potential corporate clients
• Work closely with the National Rental Account teams – more... with identifying new customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great training not so good pay rate
Branch Rental Manager (Former Employee), El Paso TXMay 30, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: salary
Busy all the time, all customer service issues go through the Branch manager. We have to be monitoring inventories and expenses. Great training at this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Logistics Analyst (Current Employee), dearborn, miMay 27, 2014
Good work environment. Open office culture. Work with suppliers, plants and carriers to ensure the customer's logistics network runs efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Route delivery driver
ROUTE DELIVERY DRIVER (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 25, 2014
Route driver for the Starbucks account in San Diego. Delivery of all the merchandise, coffee and milk to the store on the specific routes day to day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your a White Male...Forget It !
Operations applicant (Former Employee), Macedonia, Beachwood OhioMay 25, 2014
Pros: noe
Cons: being white male, experienced
They will throw your experience right out the window....they want minorities and women only....Dont waste your time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work and grow
Customer Service Representative, technician 3 (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXMay 21, 2014
great instructors and co workers. great opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible job
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 19, 2014
Pros: nothing good about here
Cons: management and policies and procedures.
Management horrible and they don't train you.
Horrible policies for employees. Don't work here, I agree with all of the negative reviews because I have seen them all first hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Earth City, MOMay 15, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: schedule flexibility
Really enjoyed all of the employees and type of work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A team environment at the location with corn hole at breaktime
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Durham, NCMay 9, 2014
Pros: relaxed and fun atmosphere
Cons: temp seems to always be set around 68 degrees inside and i get cold easily lol.
Responsible for safe and on-time delivery of customer goods.

Treat people with respect, get respect.

Always give 110% in all aspects of your life, your efforts will pay off.

Bring enthusiasm and develop trust in your team to do the job right and all see and feel the rewards.

About Penske

Penske Truck Leasing Co., L.P., headquartered in Reading, Pa., is a joint venture of Penske Corporation and General Electric. – Read more