Find companies:
Penske
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
297 reviews

Penske Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place to work
Office Clerk (Current Employee), Lockbourne, OHMarch 13, 2014
I love the excitement of being able to multitask. It makes my days move quickly when there is so much to do. Always keeps me on my toes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day In The Life of A Senior Rental Representative
Senior Rental Representative (Current Employee), Philadelphia,PAMarch 1, 2014
A typical day at work for this company consists of working the rental counter and performing the day to day tasks such as scheduling reservations for both household and commercial truck rental customers. Answering phones, qualifying the call, and going above and beyond in order to earn the business or customers is one of the most important if not THE – more... most important part of the job. Other duties include coordinating with other locations and district hiking coordinators in terms of scheduling and moving equipment from location to location in order to fill customer reservations. Fleet management and preventative maintenance coordination are another daily component for this position. In addition, performing inbound and outbound inspections on rental equipment on rental trucks ranging from cargo vans all the way up to tandem axle sleeper. Cleaning the equipment and getting them up to company standards is also required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics
SALES & OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT (SOM) (Current Employee), Riviera Beach, FLMarch 1, 2014
Manage/Balance large extensive inventory/fleet of world class/nationally recognized vehicles to meet and exceed productivity, profitability, customers’ expectations/satisfaction in a fast-paced dynamic workspace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work People are wonderful
Shop Administrator / Billing Corranditor (Former Employee), Earth City, MOFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: everything
Best place ever always a pleasure to go to work, enviroment and fellow employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preventative Maintenance
Preventative Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Irving, TXFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: managed to accommodate to my school schedule
Cons: union shop lowest senority.
Steam clean engine and frame. Provide a 120 point inspection. Check tires lights power train components check fluids etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3rd Party Logistics
General Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: flexibility to manage the business
Cons: change managment.
As a General Manager, a typical day would involve daily interactions with associates, customers, and team members to ensure on-time, safe deliveries in the most efficient manner.

Responsibilities would include building partnerships to grow the top line business revenue, seek means of driving cost out of the business creating business strategy plans – more... with measurement through Key indicators.

Penske possess a strong management team with emphasis on customer retention. The atmosphere is one of "family" oriented.

The hardest part of being a General Manager is driving change in a fast manner. Whether it is changing internally or soliciting customer by-in for change.

What I enjoy most in the Penske culture is the flexibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok at best
Warehouse Receiving Clerk (Current Employee), Norcross, GAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: an hour total break for a 12-14 hour shift. horrible management and disciplinary action
A typical day of work for me consists of extreme communication between myself and superiors, more than half of the time just reporting incoming and or missed appointments as well as inventory adjustments. I learned how to drive a Reach truck very very well there, which was something I really wanted to do. The management is terrible. The General Manager – more... has thrown things at employee vehicles, cursed at them, cursed at incoming delivery drivers and nothing was ever done. The supervisors spend most of their time in their offices, never witnessing the majority of what was happening on the floor of the warehouse. Co-workers were often left to figure things out on their own due to minimal supervision or direction from supervisors. This was the hardest part of the job. The easiest part of the job was actually Receiving the loads and doing the paperwork. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice training
Service Technician (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 13, 2014
Love the training, Nice company to work for. Very organize shop area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Special Billing Clerk (Former Employee), Brea, CAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: exciting environment
Cons: healthcare
A typical day at work would be reviewing invoices and entering them into our database. I learned how to handle a high volume of invoices. Management was very engaging. My co-workers were very enjoyable to work with. The hardest part of the job was the commute in traffic. The most enjoyable part of the job, was getting great reviews from my management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, Great employees
A worldwide leader (Former Employee), Reading, PAFebruary 7, 2014
Great employees, very good benefits. Enjoyed one on one time with employees. Disliked SOP were not established where it was necessary to be established. Micromanaging employees that were productive and ignoring employees that were not pulling their weight. That was primarily done by Mid-level manager who was wanting to standardize to his way of thinking, – more... not regulatory. This was not a company wide practice, but happened to be my personal experience with the company. Also, Safety Department was primarily comprised of individuals that had no where to fit within the organization but did not want to terminate them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, busy, and great co-workers to work with.
Senior Rental Representative (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: keep busy and make day go by faster.
Cons: don't get off work on time.
Typical day at work is open rental office, count and record all vehicles on the lot. count cash in drawer, Input reservations into computer, check vehicles in and out and inspect vehicles, deposit daily sales into bank, did account receivables, answer phone calls, parked trucks into lot, call lease customers to bring trucks in for services, created – more... long term rental agreement to rental customers, and faxed and filed documents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job with great people
Customer Service Representative Tech (Former Employee), Morrisville, NCFebruary 2, 2014
getting the rental trucks gassed and cleaned up for the next customer . coworkers and management were the best i ever worked with .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Shipping/Receiving Supervisor (Former Employee), Batavia, ILFebruary 2, 2014
Penske was third party logistics for Accuride Corporation. I enjoyed using the knowledge I had already gained and leading the new team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Albany, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Penske is a great place to start your future in the field of renting Trucks and getting to know your customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team member support and great training
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Spring Hill, TNJanuary 28, 2014
Energetic team players and willing to go above and beyond to deliver quality results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Logistics
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Brownstown, MIJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: nice global company, room for growth, no glass ceiling
Cons: long hours, union, contacts
Just like most logistics company they are at the mercy of the fleet. What I mean by that is the truck loads are what really makes the company move, both the inbound from the suppliers and our own out bound shuttles. Adding to that it is a union facility so there is unnecessary politics always a mist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discriminative and Unwilling to train
Rental Agent (Current Employee), Denver, COJanuary 24, 2014
I worked for Penske for 8 months never recieved real training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good dispatchers
Auto Parts Delivery Truck Driver (Former Employee), Flint, MIJanuary 21, 2014
good dispatchers and good runs if u can get them. friendly co-workers ok trucks some new and not so new....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Penske. Pay was acceptable, raises annually, great benefits.
Secretary to District Manager (Former Employee), East Lee Street, Greensboro, NCJanuary 19, 2014
I had a very happy work environment at Penske Truck Leasing. I was transferred from working in the Colfax location when the District Manager Secretary position was eliminated. When I moves to East Lee Street in Greensboro, once again it was a very comfortable environment. I had different but fulfilling work responsibilities. I enjoyed the training on – more... new software. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place, somewhat stuck in their ways
Management Trainee (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: lunch break, decent pay
Cons: working weekends, people dont care
Lots of things could be done better, but overall not a bad place to work. Better organization and planning could benefit completely, and those who earn being promoted should be promoted, not just longest tenured employees.

About Penske

Penske Truck Leasing Co., L.P., headquartered in Reading, Pa., is a joint venture of Penske Corporation and General Electric. – Read more