Find companies:
Penske
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
305 reviews

Penske Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great People Best Job Ever
Lead Tech 1 Master Level (Current Employee), Chino, CAMarch 28, 2014
Pros: great place to work
I always look forward to going to work, I usually get there early to open the shop and start the air compressor, I check the shop notes on the computer Daily Planner from the previous shift to find out the status of any units in the shop or of any parts on order. I proceed to check the job assignments usually set up by the Service Manager. I also check – more... with the Service Manager to check on any special projects or assistance he may need before starting my first assigned job. A great place to work always something new and different to do. Penske has a very Good Online Training Programs and Techinican Certification ASE Programs with Completion Bonuses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work.
Rental Sales Representative (Former Employee), Upstate South CarolinaMarch 26, 2014
Spent most days cold calling on businesses.I also spent a lot of time managing accounts to keep them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional company
Truck Driver (Former Employee), West Chester, OHMarch 25, 2014
Set route knowing what to expect each and every day. Management very professional and decisive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving two masters
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMarch 24, 2014
Pros: day shifts
Cons: 24 hour on call
My job for Penske was very intriguing, educational, and demanding.
As to pleasing two masters. Working as a Penske employee was very rewarding at times. But I found out that did not always satify the need s of the client contract. I was required to save the client money in their transportation budget. Unfortunately, my duties also conflicted with my – more... responsibilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rental Representative
Rental Representative (Current Employee), Green Hills, PAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: hours, benefits
Cons: advancement
Good company to work for. Little opportunity to advance without a degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy atmosphere but satisfying work
Management Trainee (Current Employee), Charlottesville, VAMarch 16, 2014
Cons: 24/7 on call
The typical day to day is very busy. I am generally the only one working the rental department so there tends to be high daily stress. I have learned to monitor and work well independently under this pressure. Good company to work for altogether, very large company with plenty of room to move within it. My only issue is that I cannot find myself being – more... passionate about trucks.

The management has been very helpful along the way and they are great people to work for.

My professional passion is marketing however, so I would like to find myself in an internet marketing field or a market research position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place to work
Office Clerk (Current Employee), Lockbourne, OHMarch 13, 2014
I love the excitement of being able to multitask. It makes my days move quickly when there is so much to do. Always keeps me on my toes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day In The Life of A Senior Rental Representative
Senior Rental Representative (Current Employee), Philadelphia,PAMarch 1, 2014
A typical day at work for this company consists of working the rental counter and performing the day to day tasks such as scheduling reservations for both household and commercial truck rental customers. Answering phones, qualifying the call, and going above and beyond in order to earn the business or customers is one of the most important if not THE – more... most important part of the job. Other duties include coordinating with other locations and district hiking coordinators in terms of scheduling and moving equipment from location to location in order to fill customer reservations. Fleet management and preventative maintenance coordination are another daily component for this position. In addition, performing inbound and outbound inspections on rental equipment on rental trucks ranging from cargo vans all the way up to tandem axle sleeper. Cleaning the equipment and getting them up to company standards is also required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics
SALES & OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT (SOM) (Current Employee), Riviera Beach, FLMarch 1, 2014
Manage/Balance large extensive inventory/fleet of world class/nationally recognized vehicles to meet and exceed productivity, profitability, customers’ expectations/satisfaction in a fast-paced dynamic workspace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work People are wonderful
Shop Administrator / Billing Corranditor (Former Employee), Earth City, MOFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: everything
Best place ever always a pleasure to go to work, enviroment and fellow employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preventative Maintenance
Preventative Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Irving, TXFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: managed to accommodate to my school schedule
Cons: union shop lowest senority.
Steam clean engine and frame. Provide a 120 point inspection. Check tires lights power train components check fluids etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3rd Party Logistics
General Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: flexibility to manage the business
Cons: change managment.
As a General Manager, a typical day would involve daily interactions with associates, customers, and team members to ensure on-time, safe deliveries in the most efficient manner.

Responsibilities would include building partnerships to grow the top line business revenue, seek means of driving cost out of the business creating business strategy plans – more... with measurement through Key indicators.

Penske possess a strong management team with emphasis on customer retention. The atmosphere is one of "family" oriented.

The hardest part of being a General Manager is driving change in a fast manner. Whether it is changing internally or soliciting customer by-in for change.

What I enjoy most in the Penske culture is the flexibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok at best
Warehouse Receiving Clerk (Current Employee), Norcross, GAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: an hour total break for a 12-14 hour shift. horrible management and disciplinary action
A typical day of work for me consists of extreme communication between myself and superiors, more than half of the time just reporting incoming and or missed appointments as well as inventory adjustments. I learned how to drive a Reach truck very very well there, which was something I really wanted to do. The management is terrible. The General Manager – more... has thrown things at employee vehicles, cursed at them, cursed at incoming delivery drivers and nothing was ever done. The supervisors spend most of their time in their offices, never witnessing the majority of what was happening on the floor of the warehouse. Co-workers were often left to figure things out on their own due to minimal supervision or direction from supervisors. This was the hardest part of the job. The easiest part of the job was actually Receiving the loads and doing the paperwork. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice training
Service Technician (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 13, 2014
Love the training, Nice company to work for. Very organize shop area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Special Billing Clerk (Former Employee), Brea, CAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: exciting environment
Cons: healthcare
A typical day at work would be reviewing invoices and entering them into our database. I learned how to handle a high volume of invoices. Management was very engaging. My co-workers were very enjoyable to work with. The hardest part of the job was the commute in traffic. The most enjoyable part of the job, was getting great reviews from my management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, Great employees
A worldwide leader (Former Employee), Reading, PAFebruary 7, 2014
Great employees, very good benefits. Enjoyed one on one time with employees. Disliked SOP were not established where it was necessary to be established. Micromanaging employees that were productive and ignoring employees that were not pulling their weight. That was primarily done by Mid-level manager who was wanting to standardize to his way of thinking, – more... not regulatory. This was not a company wide practice, but happened to be my personal experience with the company. Also, Safety Department was primarily comprised of individuals that had no where to fit within the organization but did not want to terminate them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, busy, and great co-workers to work with.
Senior Rental Representative (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: keep busy and make day go by faster.
Cons: don't get off work on time.
Typical day at work is open rental office, count and record all vehicles on the lot. count cash in drawer, Input reservations into computer, check vehicles in and out and inspect vehicles, deposit daily sales into bank, did account receivables, answer phone calls, parked trucks into lot, call lease customers to bring trucks in for services, created – more... long term rental agreement to rental customers, and faxed and filed documents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job with great people
Customer Service Representative Tech (Former Employee), Morrisville, NCFebruary 2, 2014
getting the rental trucks gassed and cleaned up for the next customer . coworkers and management were the best i ever worked with .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Shipping/Receiving Supervisor (Former Employee), Batavia, ILFebruary 2, 2014
Penske was third party logistics for Accuride Corporation. I enjoyed using the knowledge I had already gained and leading the new team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Albany, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Penske is a great place to start your future in the field of renting Trucks and getting to know your customers

About Penske

Penske Truck Leasing Co., L.P., headquartered in Reading, Pa., is a joint venture of Penske Corporation and General Electric. – Read more