Penske Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a great place to work if you have good managers and a good economy...
Lease Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 October 2017
A good manager makes all the difference at Penske - no matter what role, someone who motivates you and recognizes your achievements will make you want to move up and work hard for the company. The atmosphere is best when the company does well and is more willing to give back to the employees via team building events, luncheons, and contests. The job itself can be overwhelming at times, but can be very rewarding when you win business both personally and financially.
Pros
Success is highly rewarded
Cons
Potentially Long Hours, 24/7 on call, retention issues for supporting roles
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poorly managed, understaffed by a bunch of monkeys
310T Heavy Diesel Apprentice Technician (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON4 October 2017
Management does not protect the employees, they only protect themselves, will walk all over you you let them. Poorly staffed. some nights only apprentices on floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON5 September 2017
Absolutely horrible company to work for..... worked for them for 2 1/2 years and drivers get treated like garbage.... have to constantly chase down your pay cheque cause they could never get it right.... management is an absolute joke at the Cambridge location they don't know what they are doing..... they nickel and dime you at every turn they also took away pay raises and management says that "Penske does not give raises" so badly I strongly suggest to stay away from Penske....
Cons
Everything about this company sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with overtime
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  woodstock on4 September 2017
there is usually a large amount of overtime available. many courses on line to learn with Penske from basic computer skills to people skills.
room for advancement within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting workplace
Customer (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON29 August 2017
Provided me with good opportunities and experiences that I will be able to carry with me throughout my career, sadly my branch got closed down because I really enjoyed working for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here.
Audit Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON11 July 2017
Very good place to work for. Lots of advancement options.
I started on the floor and moved up to lover management within a few years. Almost upper management but company closed its doors.
Pros
Fun and exciting work place.
Cons
Late nights and job pressures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Yard Administrator (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ON29 May 2017
Shift work
Schedule tends to change, often
pays more then minimum wage
management changes often but provides some support
if you need to work a day shift there is not a lot of room to move up in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good outlets but management is horrible
HEAVY EQUIPMENT TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 May 2017
Avoid to work for Penske, its a salve-monger place, no holidays, to take a couple days off is impossible, management threads people
like dirt.

To boost the moral they buy cheap junk food, -so miserable they can't even give their slaves a half way decent Christmas party.
Pros
they give you a tool box to work with
Cons
A lot!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsure
Truck trailer mechanic (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 April 2017
Training they probidad for different brands like freightliner volvo cummins Detroit is good! I will probably not recommend to Work there i will say management due has issue running both shops
Pros
Training is good
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company has lost its customer focus
Service (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON19 April 2017
It is a job that isn't for everyone. It is fast-paced. The longer I have worked the more resentful I have become to the company. The sales staff sign contracts promising the world but the District staff works to make things as hard as possible to do things well.

Currently management preaches that Penske has a strong customer focus yet the same management has put a high priority to sell off trucks off the books over all their everyday customers so customer service is only getting worse. It is very clear that management is just a puppet for the larger management in the US and are only focused at doing anything to get a short term profit to justify their jobs. Stay away if you enjoy your mental health.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor management organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to start
Truck and Coach Mechanic's apprentice (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2017
Good company to start as a truck and coach apprentice. Friendly environment and medium work load. The wages are low though, been with company for more than 2 years and still pay me as 1st year apprentice
Pros
Oem trainings
Cons
low pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team players
Technician Assistant/C.S.R (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON14 December 2016
I was promised an apprenticeship position that was false, I worked for 2 years with false hopes of moving up internally and geting the opportunity to go through school
Pros
Good People
Cons
Unkept commitments
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 November 2016
Management is strong,they train their staff well.
I enjoyed the freedom and independence to establish and maintain my career
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive easy going
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON23 November 2016
Decent place to work nice and clean environment good addittude managers and HR very friendly and approachable benefits are great the company is on top of all types of paper work for anything needed for their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dull repetative work. horrible politics and management. no steady schedule
310T technician (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON28 September 2016
management is difficult to work with, higher up politics are a mess and scandal. work schedule is all over the place due to lack of help and unsteady work planning. overtime never offered and unpaid if worked unrequested. every man for himself environments. any new employee has no chance , leave your dignity at home. there is no help from HR when needed, you are on your own
Pros
decent pay and good benefits
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très agréable
Superviseur des opérations (Former Employee) –  Boucherville, QC11 September 2016
Une journée de travail chez Penske était tout un défi chaque jour. Je devais fréquemment gérer les urgences et au besoin revoir la planification en plus de devoir être moins même responsable de la mécanique sur certains camions car aucun membre de mon personnel avait l'expertise pour des diagnostiques moteurs, etc. Je devais organiser et planifier le personnel en place et voir a répondre tel que précisé ci-haut aux urgences et aux besoins du personnel, tel que pièces a commander, bons de commandes a préparer, etc. Le seul point négatif est que cette entreprise est Américaine donc la culture et la gestion est bien différente.
Pros
Environnement de travail agréable
Cons
Compagnie Américaine
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgrace to the industry! Stay away
Truck and Coach Technician (Former Employee) –  Ontario11 August 2016
Where do I start? Managers and corporate personnel are not from the trade. They know nothing about the industry or what physically can be done in a shop. Demands are asinine and shop is planned on what what corporate wishes they can achieve with no room for error. They made up thier own estimated labour times for techs that are nowhere close to the labour times in the industry and most of the times are ridiculous. If you break a bolt on something you're pretty much written up. No appreciation is given for beating these times day in and day out , but if you go .1 over one job in no word of a lie yelled at. The entire mind set of the company is focused heavily on money. So bad in fact some of these managers would sell their kid to 3 time convicted pedophile to save 3 cents a year! It's disgusting. Everybody who works there developed health problems from the horrendous stress levels that never go away. Mine diminished as soon as I left there. Is like being three weeks behind everyday of the year, for years. You make a list of defects on a truck you just serviced , but none of it gets done because 14 more services have to get done that day and so unsafe trucks are released back onto the roads because there's no time to fix them.I could go on for ever. Worst place ever.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Your health will be ruined
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work.
Shop Clerk/Administrative (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, Toronto14 July 2016
My immediate boss was fantastic. Fast paced environment but loved the job. Was a mix of customer service/financing/secretarial. Liked my co-workers very much.
Pros
Friendly, Comfortable Environment to Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Truck Technician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON2 May 2016
I was a Apprentice Diesel Mechanic Helper for my College Co-op Term. Because of my time at Penske I have gain a lot of confidence in the truck and coach mechanics field.
Pros
Everything was Great
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
entreprise
Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 April 2016
tres belle entreprise a travailler pour
mais on oublie souvent les gens qui sont la pour aller chercher des gens de l exterieur qui n ont aucune idee de la culture de l entreorise a l interne
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Penske. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,136 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4