Pella Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 74 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, OR3 April 2015
Pella Corporation is a great place to work and was a good opportunity to work for such an active company. Their focus on CI was intense and it really made a daily difference.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow
Sr. Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  Murray, KY15 February 2015
I don't regret any aspect of my 20 years at Pella. The learning environment is awesome. They provided or assisted with any training I was up for to help my career.

I would be happy to work for them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large corporation with lots of career options
Conferencing Administrator (Former Employee) –  Pella, IA8 January 2015
A great company to work for. The culture is one of it's best aspects. The management was always open to new ideas and excellent communication.
Pros
Great place to grow as an individual in a given area
Cons
You can get stuck in one field
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TYPICAL DAY AT WORK
LABOR (Current Employee) –  MURRAY, KY11 December 2014
I BEEN IN MANAGEMENT FOR A LONG TIME BEFORE COMING TO PELLA. THE BIG PROBLEM IS THE MANAGEMENT MAKES YOU FEEL LIKE YOUR NOT EVEN THERE. THERE IS NO TEAM WORK AND I SURE THEY DONT KNOW HOW TO BUILD THAT WITH THE EMPLOYEES. IT STARTS FROM THE TOP AND THEY ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT, IT FEELS LIKE IF WE GET THOUGH THE DAY ITS GOOD ENOUGH. THE TURN OVER % IS AROUND 75% SO THAT ALONE SHOULD TELL THEM SOMETHING. THE EMPLOYEES ARE SO UNHAPPY AND THERE MAD ALL THE TIME. I DON"T FEEL ANY JOB IS HARD, BUT MANAGEMENT MAKES IT HARD BY THE WAY YOUR TREATED. THE BAD PART IS YOU CAN DRIVE TO WORK AND YOU DON,T KNOW IF YOU ARE GOING TO EVEN WORK TILL YOU GET THERE AND THEN YOU MIGHT WORK 3 OR 4 HOURS. BUT IN THE SUMMER YOU CAN WORK ALL THE HOURS YOU WANT, BUT YOU WILL NOT HAVE A FAMILY LIFE. THE SAD PART IT CAN BE BETTER WITH TEAM BUILDING EVENTS FOR MANAGEMENT. THEY NEED TO TALK TO THERE EMPOYEES WITH OUT THEM FEELING THERE JOB IS ON THE LINE FOR SAYING SOMETHING.
Pros
IT CAN BE BETTER
Was this review helpful?Yes21No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always food somewhere
Factory Laborer (Former Employee) –  Pella, IA21 November 2014
I would complete orders to the best of my ability. Customer satisfaction and safety are top priorities. I have met a lot of wonderful people at Pella Corp. and I was very proud to let people know that I was a member of the Pella team. A lot of labor was in my job description but that made the day go fast. Management was professional.
Pros
Always dinners, potlucks etc...
Cons
You could tell you had a work out by the end of the day
Was this review helpful?Yes4No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall, a wonderful place of employment
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Sioux Center, IA12 October 2014
enjoyed fellow employees and working with computer assisted machines and assembling final parts. Had a large turnover in the management side which had a minimal effect on the employees I was working with. I was laid off during one of the company downsizings they had in that period and bega retirement.
Pros
extremely clean envoiornment for machining materials.
Cons
never knew exactly how long this manager would be there
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
National Accounts Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Pella, IA21 September 2014
Every day is different which I love. It keeps you on your toes and never gets boring. Very challenging work that requires successful multitasking.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my time at pella
senior window builder (Former Employee) –  pella, iowa13 September 2014
My time with pella was a learning experience. working with such an old company has its many rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay with free lunch sometimes
tenonor operator (Current Employee) –  Macomb, IL1 September 2014
go in a little early get area ready. help co-worker and make window parts
Pros
good pay in summer
Cons
bad pay in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company to Grow with
Supply Chain Manager (Former Employee) –  Story City, Iowa25 August 2014
I started out as an hourly team member and worked my way up through the ranks very quickly. Pella is the place that I learned how to become a leader that understands metrics and how to get what is needed. I thought I would retire with Pella and would have if the housing market didn't play a role in shutting down my plant in Iowa. I very much respect Pella and wish nothing but the best for them!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
assmebly (Former Employee) –  Pella, IA20 August 2014
going to the line and start making window frames and door frames
Pros
good job
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
operator (Former Employee) –  Murray ky3 July 2014
Horrible place to work. Unstable hours... don't get paid near as much as you should for the work you do.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees
Quality Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Pella, IA25 June 2014
Good company to work for, employees are engaged and want to do a good job. Company offers bonus and profit sharing annually
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed everyday at this facility a fabulous work environment.
Saw Machine Operator/Production Assembler (Former Employee) –  West Columbia, SC5 June 2014
Management and the employees were on the same page for getting our numbers in a safe manner. The only hard part of the job was that it got a really hot in the summer. But i left there everyday with a smile.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with an excellent culture
HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGER/PRODUCTION MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Macomb, IL27 April 2014
Pella Corporation is a fantastic place to work with great people. Excellent manufacturing environment with great leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of coworkers
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Pella, IA11 March 2014
semi seasonal work. winters were usually slow so you could get a lot of time off or work reduced hours. summer months were very busy so it was hard to take time off and usually work 50+ hours per week.
Pros
compensation was awesome, great coworkers
Cons
long hours, a lot of weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People focused culture
Distribution Development Specialist (Current Employee) –  Pella, IA22 January 2014
Great company that focuses on their employees while maintaining its status as a top notch manufacturer of windows and doors.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce place to work
Sales & Installation (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, OH20 January 2014
I enjoyed going to work, however the company relocated and move out of state.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible hours and terrible management
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Murray, Ky7 January 2014
decent company to work for if you absolutely have to work there, if other options are available take them.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, well paid
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Pella, IA18 December 2013
Extremely hard work. Fast paced. Heavy lifting. Extremely hot in the summer... Having said that, it is one of the highest paid employers in the area.

6 days a week during busy season/summer
Very slow during slow season, employees encouraged to take time off.

Constant management changes. Always someone new.

Co workers were great, they were happy for the most part and easy to work with.

Always an opportunity to change positions, learn something new, or change departments.

Drama free. Management doesn't bother with nonsense found in other companies. All they care about is numbers and productivity.
Pros
Wages, room for growth
Cons
Hiring managers fresh out of college with little to no work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 74 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.0
Culture
3.5