Pella Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 67 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my time at pella
senior window builder (Former Employee) –  pella, iowaSeptember 13, 2014
My time with pella was a learning experience. working with such an old company has its many rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay with free lunch sometimes
tenonor operator (Current Employee) –  Macomb, ILSeptember 1, 2014
go in a little early get area ready. help co-worker and make window parts
Pros
good pay in summer
Cons
bad pay in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company to Grow with
Supply Chain Manager (Former Employee) –  Story City, IowaAugust 25, 2014
I started out as an hourly team member and worked my way up through the ranks very quickly. Pella is the place that I learned how to become a leader that understands metrics and how to get what is needed. I thought I would retire with Pella and would have if the housing market didn't play a role in shutting down my plant in Iowa. I very much respect Pella and wish nothing but the best for them!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
assmebly (Former Employee) –  Pella, IAAugust 20, 2014
going to the line and start making window frames and door frames
Pros
good job
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
operator (Former Employee) –  Murray kyJuly 3, 2014
Horrible place to work. Unstable hours... don't get paid near as much as you should for the work you do.
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees
Quality Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Pella, IAJune 25, 2014
Good company to work for, employees are engaged and want to do a good job. Company offers bonus and profit sharing annually
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed everyday at this facility a fabulous work environment.
Saw Machine Operator/Production Assembler (Former Employee) –  West Columbia, SCJune 5, 2014
Management and the employees were on the same page for getting our numbers in a safe manner. The only hard part of the job was that it got a really hot in the summer. But i left there everyday with a smile.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with an excellent culture
HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGER/PRODUCTION MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Macomb, ILApril 27, 2014
Pella Corporation is a fantastic place to work with great people. Excellent manufacturing environment with great leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of coworkers
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Pella, IAMarch 11, 2014
semi seasonal work. winters were usually slow so you could get a lot of time off or work reduced hours. summer months were very busy so it was hard to take time off and usually work 50+ hours per week.
Pros
compensation was awesome, great coworkers
Cons
long hours, a lot of weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People focused culture
Distribution Development Specialist (Current Employee) –  Pella, IAJanuary 22, 2014
Great company that focuses on their employees while maintaining its status as a top notch manufacturer of windows and doors.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce place to work
Sales & Installation (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, OHJanuary 20, 2014
I enjoyed going to work, however the company relocated and move out of state.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible hours and terrible management
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Murray, KyJanuary 7, 2014
decent company to work for if you absolutely have to work there, if other options are available take them.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, well paid
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Pella, IADecember 18, 2013
Extremely hard work. Fast paced. Heavy lifting. Extremely hot in the summer... Having said that, it is one of the highest paid employers in the area.

6 days a week during busy season/summer
Very slow during slow season, employees encouraged to take time off.

Constant management changes. Always someone new.

Co workers were great, they were happy for the most part and easy to work with.

Always an opportunity to change positions, learn something new, or change departments.

Drama free. Management doesn't bother with nonsense found in other companies. All they care about is numbers and productivity.
Pros
wages, room for growth
Cons
hiring managers fresh out of college with little to no work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Window builder
Window builder (Former Employee) –  Sioux Center IowaDecember 13, 2013
Built all parts of the window. Rolled screens, did quality checks, followed safe and standard work procedures.
Pros
the pay and benefits
Cons
working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Pella, IAOctober 31, 2013
Company that help employees with in house class to help them in there jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job helped me get work experiance and buy my first vehicle
assembly line worker (Former Employee) –  Murray, KYSeptember 23, 2013
This job had me running all day long but I made

some great friends
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Utility Operator (Former Employee) –  Murray kyAugust 19, 2013
The job was great but very hard physically on my body..... because of the housing market crashing in 08 work hours became unstable and I needed a straight schedule that didn't change.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they dont care about their employees.
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Murray, KYJuly 1, 2013
I worked their 8 yrs. I only made .35 cents over a new hire. They took my raise away because I got sick n then trained me everywhere in the plant. Their health ins isn't that good. If u get hurt ( like a back or shoulder injury) they try to get rid of u.
Pros
has flex spend
Cons
to many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes21No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all good work place clean had to resign due to lack of work becoming more and more slow each year
Assembly and Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Gettysburg, PAJune 1, 2013
started 7 am did our stretches in the morning. Out look of work for the week ahead. I learned many different machine operations. I really enjoyed my co-workers got along well with the team. rolling and building screens was the hardest but I kept up well with it. most enjoyable was the fast paced environment. i like to keep busy
Pros
benefits
Cons
short breaks and short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and sometimes fun place to work. Lots of overtime
Lead (Current Employee) –  Murray, KYMay 20, 2013
When working overtime with this company the hours can be long and rough. When working a straight 40 hour work week, the job can be fullfilling and fun. The pay is decent, but it is often hard to balance work and family life depending on the shift you work.
Pros
decent pay and benefits
Cons
long hard hours, physical labor.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4